DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 08/09/2024, in which claims 1-5 and 20-34 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed before the mailing date of the Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 20-21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai (US 20220046530 A1) in view of Sasi (US Pub. 20220225093 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lai discloses a method for optimizing selection of a Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) by a User Equipment (UE), the method comprising (Lai; Fig. 1, Para. [0034]. A method is performed to optimize the selection of SNPN by a UE.):
receiving, from a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) or a SNPN, SNPN selection parameters associated with a PLMN subscription list corresponding to one or more Universal Subscriber Identity Modules (USIMs) (Lai; Para. [0034]. A SNPN selection parameters, i.e. prioritized list of SNPNs, HSP selection lists, etc., are received from a PLMN or a SNPN, associated with a PLMN/HSP subscription list corresponding to SUPI’s, which is known to be stored in USIMs.), wherein the SNPN selection parameters comprises a list of SNPNs, and a plurality of configuration parameters supported by the PLMN for the one or more USIMs (Lai; Para. [0034]. The SNPS selection parameters include lists of SNPNs, e.g. HSP selection list, and priority controlled and credential controlled lists with the corresponding credentials and priorities.); and
selecting at least one SNPN from the list of SNPNs based on the PLMN subscription list (Lai; Para. [0034-35]. At least one SNPN is selected from a list of SNPNs in accordance with a PLMN/HSP subscription list.), but storing SNPN selection parameters along with a USIM being associated with the SNPN selection parameters.
However, Sasi teaches storing SNPN selection parameters along with a USIM being associated with the SNPN selection parameters (Sasi; Para. [0036-37]. SNPN selection credentials/parameters are stored with a USIM associated with the SNPN selection credentials/ parameters.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Lai to adapt a Non-Public Network selection approach, by incorporating Sasi’s teaching wherein selection credentials/parameters are stored with associated USIM’s, for the motivation to handle multiple subscriptions when connecting to a Non-Public Network (Sasi; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lai further teaches selecting at least one of a SNPN and a PLMN based on a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) associated with the one or more USIMs (Lai; Para. [0034-35]. At least one of a SNPN and a PLMN is identified/selected in accordance with SUPI for one or more USIMs.).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lai further teaches the SNPN selection parameters and the USIM being associated with the SNPN selection parameters are stored in a non-volatile memory of the UE (Sasi; Para. [0036-37]. SNPN selection credentials/parameters and USIM are stored in a non-volatile storage of UICC.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lai further teaches transmitting, to a network entity, a registration request for the selected at least one SNPN (Lai; Para. [0043]. A UE performs registration or service request by sending it to a network entity, e.g. AMF, for a selected SNPN.);
receiving a rejection request message including a rejection cause (Lai; Para. [0043]. A message of an appropriate cause code is used to prevent UE from performing the selection.); and
invalidating the USIM being associated with the SNPN selection parameters and a corresponding entry of the selected at least one SNPN in the PLMN subscriber list based on the received rejection cause (Lai; Para. [0043]. An entry of a selected SNPN of a PLMN list and the associated USIM are rejected/invalidated in accordance with an appropriate cause code.).
Regarding claim 20, modified Lai further teaches establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with the PLMN or the SNPN (Lai; Para. [0042]. A RRC connection with a PLMN or SNPN is used/established b y a UE.).
Regarding claim 21, modified Lai further teaches the SNPN selection parameter associated with the PLMN subscription list corresponding to the one or more USIMs is preconfigured at the UE (Lai; Para. [0034]. A SNPN selection list/parameters is updated or preconfigured to a UE.).
Regarding claim 25, Lai discloses the plurality of SNPN selection parameters and the USIM being associated with the plurality of SNPN selection parameters (Lai; Para. [0034-35]. SNPS selection parameters and associated SUPI’s of USIM’s.), but the plurality of SNPN selection parameters and the USIM being associated with the plurality of SNPN selection parameters are stored in a non-volatile memory of the UE.
However, Sasi teaches the plurality of SNPN selection parameters and the USIM being associated with the plurality of SNPN selection parameters are stored in a non-volatile memory of the UE (Sasi; Para. [0036-37]. SNPN selection credentials/parameters and USIM are stored in a non-volatile storage of UICC.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Lai to adapt a Non-Public Network selection approach, by incorporating Sasi’s teaching wherein selection credentials/parameters are stored with associated USIM’s, for the motivation to handle multiple subscriptions when connecting to a Non-Public Network (Sasi; Abstract.).
Claim 5 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai (US 20220046530 A1) in view of Sasi (US Pub. 20220225093 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tiwari (US Pub. 20210099968 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lai further teaches the rejection cause (Lai; See remarks regarding claim 4 above.), but the rejection cause comprises at least one of a reject cause #3, a reject cause #6, and a reject cause #7.
However, Tiwari teaches the rejection cause comprises at least one of a reject cause #3, a reject cause #6, and a reject cause #7 (Tiwari; Para. [0055]. A rejection cause includes at least one of a cause #3, #6, and #7.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the communication system of modified Lai to adapt a reject cause code scheme, by incorporating Tiwari’s teaching wherein different reject cause codes are employed, for the motivation to perform SNPN selection from different SNPN’s for supporting LTE communication (Tiwari; Abstract.).
Claim 27 is directed to a method for optimizing selection of a Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) by a User Equipment (UE), the method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 5, and is non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lai (US 20220046530 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Lai discloses, in a first embodiment, a method for optimizing selection of Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) by a User Equipment (UE) of claim 28 (Lai; See remark regarding claim 28.), but transmitting, to a network entity, a registration request for the selected at least one SNPN; receiving a rejection request message including a rejection cause; and marking a current Tracking Area Identity (TAI) or current SNPN forbidden for the corresponding selected entry of the at least one SNPN in the list of subscriber data based on the received rejection cause.
However, Lai teaches, in another embodiment, transmitting, to a network entity, a registration request for the selected at least one SNPN (Lai; Para. [0043]. A UE performs registration or service request by sending it to a network entity, e.g. AMF, for a selected SNPN.);
receiving a rejection request message including a rejection cause (Lai; Para. [0043]. A message of an appropriate cause code is used to prevent UE from performing the selection.); and
marking a current Tracking Area Identity (TAI) or current SNPN forbidden for the corresponding selected entry of the at least one SNPN in the list of subscriber data based on the received rejection cause (Lai; Para. [0043]. An entry of a selected SNPN of a PLMN list and the associated USIM are rejected/marked as rejected, i.e. forbidden, in accordance with an appropriate cause code.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of the first embodiment of Lai to adapt a Non-Public Network selection approach, by incorporating Lai’s teaching of another embodiment wherein rejection cause codes are employed in registration requests, for the motivation to perform access to an SNPN in accordance with a SNPN selection list (Lai; Abstract.).
Claim 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai (US 20220046530 A1) in view of Tiwari (US Pub. 20210099968 A1).
Regarding claim 30, modified Lai further teaches the rejection cause (Lai; See remarks regarding claim 4 above.), but the rejection cause comprises at least one of a reject cause #12, a reject cause #13, a reject cause #15, a reject cause #74, and a reject cause #75.
However, Tiwari teaches the rejection cause comprises at least one of a reject cause #12, a reject cause #13, a reject cause #15, a reject cause #74, and a reject cause #75 (Tiwari; Para. [0055]. A rejection cause includes at least one of a cause #74 and #75.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the communication system of modified Lai to adapt a reject cause code scheme, by incorporating Tiwari’s teaching wherein different reject cause codes are employed, for the motivation to perform SNPN selection from different SNPN’s for supporting LTE communication (Tiwari; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 31, modified Lai further teaches the rejection cause (Lai; See remarks regarding claim 4 above.), but the rejection cause further comprises at least one of a reject cause #3, a reject cause #6, and a reject cause #7.
However, Tiwari teaches the rejection cause further comprises at least one of a reject cause #3, a reject cause #6, and a reject cause #7 (Tiwari; Para. [0055]. A rejection cause includes at least one of a cause #3, #6, and #7.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the communication system of modified Lai to adapt a reject cause code scheme, by incorporating Tiwari’s teaching wherein different reject cause codes are employed, for the motivation to perform SNPN selection from different SNPN’s for supporting LTE communication (Tiwari; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 32, modified Lai further teaches marking a selected entry of the “list of subscriber data” with the SNPN ID of the current SNPN as invalid until the UE is switched off, the entry is updated or a timer T3245 expires, when the rejection cause further comprises at least one of a reject cause #3, a reject cause #6, and a reject cause #7 (Tiwari; Para. [0055]. The parameters, e.g. SNPN IDs, are re-used when a UE is switched off and on so that a selected entry of SNPN ID is marked as invalid until the UE is switched off.).
Regarding claim 33, modified Lai further teaches marking the SNPN ID in “permanently forbidden SNPNs” list maintained for a selected entry, when the rejection cause comprises a reject cause #75 (Tiwari; Para. [0055]. SNPN ID is marked as permanently forbidden/not authorized for a selected entry for a rejection cause includes a reject cause #75.).
Regarding claim 34, modified Lai further teaches marking the SNPN ID in the “temporarily forbidden SNPNs” list maintained for a selected entry, when the rejection cause comprises a reject cause #74 (Tiwari; Para. [0055]. SNPN ID is marked as temporarily forbidden/not authorized for a selected entry for a rejection cause includes a reject cause #74.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-24, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai (US 20220046530 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Lai discloses a method for optimizing selection of a Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) by a User Equipment (UE) (Lai; Fig. 1, Para. [0034]. A method is performed to optimize the selection of SNPN by a UE.),
the method comprising selecting at least one SNPN from a list of SNPNs, based on a PLMN subscription list and associated plurality of SNPN selection parameters (Lai; Para. [0034-35]. At least one SNPN is selected from a list of SNPNs in accordance with a PLMN/HSP subscription list and SNPN selection credentials/parameters.),
wherein the plurality of SNPN selection parameters associated with the PLMN subscription list corresponding to one or more Universal Subscriber Identity Modules (USIMs) are preconfigured at the UE (Lai; Para. [0034]. A SNPN selection list/parameters associated with a PLMN subscription and a USIM is updated or preconfigured to a UE), and
wherein the plurality of SNPN selection parameters comprises the list of SNPNs and a plurality of configuration parameters supported by the PLMN for the one or more USIMs (Lai; Para. [0034]. The SNPN selection parameters include lists of SNPNs, e.g. HSP selection list, and priority controlled and credential controlled lists with the corresponding credentials and priorities of configuration parameters, which are updated by a PLMN for one or more SUPI’s of respective USIMs.).
Regarding claim 23, Lai discloses establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with the PLMN or the SNPN (Lai; Para. [0042]. A RRC connection with a PLMN or SNPN is used/established b y a UE.).
Regarding claim 24, Lai discloses selecting at least one of a SNPN and a PLMN based on a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) associated with the one or more USIMs (Lai; Para. [0034-35]. At least one of a SNPN and a PLMN is identified/selected in accordance with SUPI for one or more USIMs.).
Regarding claim 26, Lai discloses transmitting, to a network entity, a registration request for the selected at least one SNPN (Lai; Para. [0043]. A UE performs registration or service request by sending it to a network entity, e.g. AMF, for a selected SNPN.);
receiving a rejection request message including a rejection cause (Lai; Para. [0043]. A message of an appropriate cause code is used to prevent UE from performing the selection.); and
invalidating the USIM being associated with the plurality of SNPN selection parameters and a corresponding entry of the selected at least one SNPN in the PLMN subscriber list based on the received rejection cause (Lai; Para. [0043]. An entry of a selected SNPN of a PLMN list and the associated USIM are rejected/invalidated in accordance with an appropriate cause code.).
Regarding claim 28, Lai discloses a method for optimizing selection of a Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) by a User Equipment (UE) (Lai; Fig. 1, Para. [0034]. A method is performed to optimize the selection of SNPN by a UE.),
the method comprising selecting at least one SNPN from a list of subscriber data (Lai; Para. [0034-35]. At least one SNPN is selected from a list of SNPNs in accordance with a PLMN/HSP subscription list and SNPN selection credentials/parameters.),
wherein the list of subscriber data comprises a plurality of entries corresponding to each of one or more SNPNs (Lai; Para. [0034-35]. A list of subscription data includes different entries for respective SNPNs.),
wherein each entry comprises at least one of a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI), authentication credentials, an SNPN ID, and a validation status indicator (Lai; Para. [0034-35]. Each entry includes at least one SUPI, credentials and SNPN NIDs.), and
wherein the list of subscriber data is preconfigured at the UE and a corresponding network entity (Lai; Para. [0034-35]. A list of subscription data is updated/preconfigured to a UE and a corresponding network entity, e.g. HSP, PLMN, or another UE.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Starsinic (US Pub. 20240224163 A1) teaches a communication system that perform SNPN onboarding and obtaining SNPN services from a PLMN, relevant to the claimed subject matter of SNPN selection.
Puneet (US Pub. 20240373331 A1) teaches a communication system that perform access to a SNPN based on an access list, relevant to the claimed subject matter of establishing a connection with a selected SNPN.
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485