DETAILED ACTION
Currently pending claims are 1 – 20.
Response to Arguments
As per claim 1, 8 & 15, the rejections of 35 U.S.C. 101 as submitted on 10/18/2025 has been withdrawn in view of the remarks and claim amendments filed on 3/4/2026.
As per claim 1, 8 & 15, Applicant's arguments with respect to instant claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendment – please see the following section for the detail of rationale to make the corresponding prior-art(s) rejections as set forth below.
As per claim 1, 8 & 15, Applicant asserts prior-art(s) does not teach “assigning the first DISC score to the first indicator based on the similarity between the first indicator and the second indicator” because Masaki’s teaching at its Paragraph [0048] regarding a degree of similarity between sentences included in attack information pieces isn't the same as assigning the first DISC score to the first indicator based on the similarity between the first indicator and the second indicator (Remarks: Page 10 / Paras 5 – 7). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the following rationale.
(a) Based upon the Principles of Patent Law, according to MPEP §2145, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See Keller, 642 F.2d at 425 and (b) the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference (i.e., assigning the first DISC score to the first indicator based on the similarity), but rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art (i.e., assigning the first DISC score to the first indicator based on the similarity between the first indicator and the second indicator). See Keller, 642 F.2d at 425.
(b) In light of that, the primary reference Sanchez teaches that
(b-1) sending a query with an IOC indicator, (i.e., as a threat indicator), to a security knowledge base (Sanchez: Col. 18 Line 54 – 65 and Col. 2 Line 49 – 51); and
(b-2) first, determining whether the IOC indicator (i.e. threat indicator) has been seen in the security knowledge base and if so, to what extent (Sanchez: Col. 20 Line 37 – 39: i.e. determining whether it has been assigned a threat level including a severity, a deterministic likelihood and a confidence score of the threat level, and
(b-3) in order to predict and determine the target malicious data of the first indicator is associated with an active spear phishing (malware) campaign (i.e. an identification of a campaign) (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 32 – 34), the determination is first based on (A) an initial affectedness score regarding to what extent (i.e. a likelihood) a system is affected by such a malicious entity (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 12 – 18), as a current / instant deterministic indicator, and then adjusted by (B) a relative weightings(s) assigned to the source of knowledge bases, i.e., as a deterministic indicator of confidence scoring (DISC) score of a creditability (weighting) of the source of the indicator (Sanchez: Col. 16 Line 61 – 65 & Col. 22 Line 44 – 67) and accordingly, in light of that – the secondary reference Masaki teaches determining a degree of similarity between a series of occurrences of malicious events illustrated by sentences when compared an instant malicious attack information with reference information of attack data records such as a frequency of occurrence or an order of occurrence as illustrated in a sentence of the attack information, statistical information thereof, or the like (Masaki: Para [0048]) – and thereby,
(b-4) the associated scoring level associated with the target malicious data of the first indicator can be divided into the following three categories:
(i) a severity of the threat (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 14 – 18) as a lethality component;
(ii) a likelihood of a use of the IOC that is meant for the attack as determinism component (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 12 – 18); and
(iii) ultimately – a creditability level (weighting) of a source of an intelligent base (1st - primary reference) incorporated with a degree of similarity (2nd - secondary reference) as one type of malicious analytical indicator designated as a deterministic indicator of confidence scoring (DISC) score – i.e. assigning a DISC score to a first indicator based on a degree of similarity in order to predict and determine whether the target malicious data of the first indicator is associated with an active spear phishing (malware) campaign (e.g., an identification of a campaign) (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 32 – 34 & Col. 16 Line 61 – 65) || (Masaki: see above) to meet the recited claim language and besides, this is also consistent with the disclosure of the instant specification (SPEC-PG.PUB: Para [0024]). As such, Applicant's arguments are respectfully traversed.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory (or provisional) double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the conflicting application or patent is shown to be commonly owned with this application. See 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,093,382. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other such as determine a similarity between the first indicator and the second indicator; however, this feature is disclosed by the Masaki et al. (WO 2021/144954) (see below) – accordingly, because the listed claims of U.S. Patent virtually contain(s) every element of the listed claims of the instant application and thus anticipate the claim(s) of the instant application. Claim(s) of the instant application therefore is/are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim(s) and as such is/are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez et al. (U.S. Patent 11,194,905), in view of Masaki et al. (WO 2021/144954), and in view of Cazazos (U.S. Patent 2017/0068816).
As per claim 1, 8 & 15, Sanchez teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one memory (Sanchez: Figure 2);
machine-readable instructions (Sanchez: Figure 2); and
at least one processor circuit to be programmed by the machine-readable instructions (Sanchez: Figure 2) to:
obtain a first indicator (Sanchez: see above & FIG. 8 / E-816 & Col. 4 Line 11 – 22: collecting and obtaining a first indicator (IOC1) as a first cyber-threat indicator associated with target malicious data from a set of IOCs (Indicator of Compromise) such as IOC1, IOC2, … & IOCn);
determine whether the first indicator has a deterministic indicator and confidence model (DISC) score assigned to the first indicator in an indicator database (Sanchez: see above & Col. 18 Line 54 – 65, Col. 20 Line 37 – 39, Col. 2 Line 49 – 51, Col. 19 Line 8 – 21 / Line 26 – 39, Col. 16 Line 61 – 65 and Col. 22 Line 44 – 67:
(a) sending a query with an IOC indicator, (i.e., as a threat indicator), to a security knowledge base (Sanchez: Col. 18 Line 54 – 65 and Col. 2 Line 49 – 51); and
(b) first, determining whether the IOC indicator (i.e. threat indicator) has been seen in the security knowledge base and if so, to what extent (Sanchez: Col. 20 Line 37 – 39: i.e. determining whether it has been assigned a threat level including a severity, a deterministic likelihood and a confidence score of the threat level – see below for detail):
(c) in order to predict and determine the target malicious data of the first indicator (e.g.) a malicious IP address (or a link of an URL address) is associated with an active spear phishing (malware) campaign (i.e. an identification of a campaign) (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 32 – 34), the determination is first based on (c-1) an initial affectedness score regarding to what extent (i.e. a likelihood) a system is affected by such a malicious entity (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 12 – 18), as a current / instant deterministic indicator, and then adjusted by (c-2) a relative weightings(s) assigned to the source of knowledge bases, i.e., as a confidence scoring (DISC) score of a creditability (weighting) of the source of the indicator (Sanchez: Col. 16 Line 61 – 65 & Col. 22 Line 44 – 67) – Accordingly,
(d) the associated scoring level associated with the target malicious data of the first indicator can be divided into the following three categories:
(d-1) a severity of the threat (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 14 – 18) as a lethality component;
(d-2) a likelihood of a use of the IOC that is meant for the attack as determinism component (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 12 – 18); and
(d-3) a creditability (weighting) of a source of an intelligent base as a confidence scoring (DISC) score (Sanchez: Col. 16 Line 61 – 65); and thereby this is consistent with the disclosure of the instant specification (SPEC-PG.PUB: Para [0024]).
in response to a determination that the first indicator does not have the DISC score, compute a first DISC score for the first indicator, wherein to compute the first DISC score the at least one processor circuit is to (see below):
compare the first indicator to a second indicator in the indicator database to determine a similarity (see below: Masaki) between the first indicator and the second indicator (Sanchez: see above & Col. 19 Line 53 – 60 and Col. 20 Line 39 – 43: determining the accuracy of a target IOC indicator that is associated with a particular attack campaign based on the relative impact level of affectedness as compared with any other stored indicator(s), across (from) many different customer environments, in the intelligent (indicator) database).
However, Sanchez does not disclose expressly (i) determining a similarity between the first indicator and the second indicator, wherein (ii) the similarity is determined using a neural network.
First, Masaki (& Sanchez) teaches to determine a similarity between the first indicator and the second indicator (Sanchez: see above) || (Masaki: Para [0048] & Para [0051] Line 1 – 6: (a) a similarity of the attack information pieces (i.e. one type of threat indicators) is determined based on a result of comparison between a degree of a similarity and a predetermined threshold and (b) when exceeding (greater than) the threshold, determining a plurality of attack information pieces (e.g. between the 1st and the 2nd ones) are similar to each other).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of determining a similarity between the first indicator and the second indicator because Masaki teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely determine a similarity of the attack information pieces (i.e. one type of threat indicators) based on a result of comparison between a degree of a similarity and a predetermined threshold and when exceeding (greater than) the threshold, determining a plurality of attack information pieces (e.g. between the 1st and the 2nd ones) are similar to each other (see above) within the Sanchez’s system of determining the accuracy of a target IOC indicator that is associated with a particular attack campaign based on the relative impact level of affectedness as compared with any other stored indicator(s), across (from) many different customer environments, in the intelligent (indicator) database (see above).
Besides, Cazazos (& Sanchez as modified) teaches determining a similarity using a neural network (Sanchez | Masaki: see above) || (Cazazos: Para [0004] Line 12 – 20: determining a similarity between two object entities by applying a machine learning algorithm such as a deep neural network (DNN) algorithm and subsequently identifying whether a target executable software is malware by applying a built malware detection model accordingly).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of determining a similarity using a neural network because Cazazos teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely determine similarities between two object entities by applying a machine learning algorithm such as a deep neural network (DNN) algorithm and subsequently identifying whether a target executable software is malware by applying a built malware detection model accordingly (see above) within the Sanchez’s system of determining the accuracy of a target IOC indicator that is associated with a particular attack campaign based on the relative impact level of affectedness as compared with any other stored indicator(s), across (from) many different customer environments, in the intelligent (indicator) database (see above)
assigning the first DISC score to the first indicator based on the similarity between the first indicator and the second indicator (Sanchez | Cazazos: see above) ||
(a) a similarity of the attack information pieces (i.e. one type of threat indicators) is determined based on a result of comparison between a degree of a similarity and a predetermined threshold and (b) when exceeding (greater than) the threshold, determining a plurality of attack information pieces (e.g. between the 1st and the 2nd ones) are similar to each other (Masaki: Para [0048] & Para [0051] Line 1 – 6); and
(b) in order to predict and determine the target malicious data of the first indicator (e.g.) a malicious IP address (or a link of an URL address) is associated with an active spear phishing (malware) campaign (i.e. an identification of a campaign) (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 32 – 34), the determination is first based on (b-1) an initial affectedness score regarding to what extent (i.e. a likelihood) a system is affected by such a malicious entity (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 12 – 18), as a current / instant deterministic indicator, and then adjusted by (b-2) a relative weightings(s) assigned to the source of knowledge bases, i.e., as a confidence scoring (DISC) score of a creditability (weighting) of the source of the indicator (Sanchez: Col. 16 Line 61 – 65 & Col. 22 Line 44 – 67) – Accordingly,
(c) the associated scoring level associated with the target malicious data of the first indicator can be divided into the following three categories:
(c-1) a severity of the threat (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 14 – 18) as a lethality component;
(c-2) a likelihood of a use of the IOC that is meant for the attack as determinism component (Sanchez: Col. 19 Line 12 – 18); and
(c-3) a creditability (weighting) of a source of an intelligent base as a confidence scoring (DISC) score (Sanchez: Col. 16 Line 61 – 65); and thereby this is consistent with the disclosure of the instant specification (SPEC-PG.PUB: Para [0024]).
As per claim 2 – 3, 9 – 10 & 16 – 17, Sanchez as modified using a neural network to determine a code similarity between the first indicator and the second indicator (Sanchez: see above) || (Cazazos: Para [0004] Line 12 – 20: determining similarities between call graphs by applying a machine learning algorithm such as a deep neural network (DNN) algorithm to the determined (code) similarity, and identifying whether a target executable code is malware by applying the built malware detection model to the target executable code).
As per claim 4, 11 & 18, Sanchez as modified teaches selecting a current DISC score from the indicator database, the selection based on a difference between the current DISC score and the DISC score of the first indicator; determine whether the difference between the current DISC score and the DISC score of the first indicator exceeds a threshold, the threshold based on at least one of a lethality component, a determinism component, or a confidence component; and in response to a determination that the difference does not exceed the threshold, report the identification of the campaign to an entity (Masaki: Para [0048] & Para [0051] Line 1 – 6: (a) a similarity of the attack information pieces (i.e. one type of threat indicators) is determined based on a result of comparison between a degree of a similarity and a predetermined threshold and (b) when exceeding (greater than) the threshold, determining a plurality of attack information pieces (e.g. between the 1st and the 2nd ones) are similar to each other).
As per claim 5 – 6, 12 – 13 & 19 – 20, the instant claim is directed to a claimed content having functionality corresponding to the Claims 1, and are rejected by a similar rationale.
As per claim 7 & 14, Sanchez as modified teaches wherein the determination that the first indicator does not have the DISC score includes at least one of a failed query to the indicator database or a value of a query to the indicator database being zero (Sanchez: see above & Col. 18 Line 54 – 65, Col. 20 Line 37 – 39, Col. 2 Line 49 – 51, Col. 19 Line 8 – 21 / Line 26 – 39, Col. 16 Line 61 – 65 and Col. 22 Line 44 – 67: (a) sending a query with an IOC indicator, (also as a threat indicator), to a security knowledge base (Sanchez: Col. 18 Line 54 – 65 and Col. 2 Line 49 – 51); and (b) first, determining whether the IOC indicator (i.e. threat indicator) has been seen in the security knowledge base and if so, to what extent (Sanchez: Col. 20 Line 37 – 39: i.e. determining whether it has (& what it is) an assigned threat level including a severity, a deterministic likelihood and a confidence score of the threat level (see more above))
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
---------------------------------------------------
/Longbit Chai/
Longbit Chai E.E. Ph.D.
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431
No. #2540 – 2026 ---------------------------------------------------