DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 02/11/2025, and 08/09/2024 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moussa et al. (WO-2024065100-A1), as PCT priority filed on Sep. 26, 2022, in view of Wang et al. (WO-2025010548-A1), as PCT priority filed on Jul 07, 2023, please, refer to citation of “U” and “V” in the PTO-892 that classified PE2E and Google translation of (WO-2025010548-A1) and its cited figures.
As to claims 1-4 see similar rejections to claims 8-14 respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 8, Moussa teaches a network entity for operating a sensing network function in a communication system supporting integrated sensing and communication (ISAC) (Figs. 4 , 8, [0003] and [0055] states “Integrated sensing and communication (ISAC) is a new paradigm that enables the mobile network to sense the surrounding via radar-like function.” The abstract describes that the current invention discloses a new network entity/network function, a sensing manager SM. The SM handles the sensing functionality of the network node gNB as well as the attached (registered) external sensors. That implies the network entity, which can be SM or gNB, can be used operating the sensing network function that supporting ISAC, as stated in [0012], [0014], [0036] and [0110] ), the network entity comprising: a transceiver; and a controller operably coupled to the transceiver; the controller configured to (Figs. 1 and 11, [0043], and [0142]-[0143] describe that the apparatus includes a processor 111, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU) or specialized processors such as a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or other such processor unit, memory 140, non-transitory mass storage 112, I/O interface 115, network interface 113, and a transceiver 116, all of which are communicatively coupled via bi-directional bus 117. The computer program product configured to store data and machine executable program code. According to certain embodiments, the memory 114 or mass storage 112 may have recorded thereon statements and instructions executable by the processor 111 for performing any of the aforementioned method operations described. That provides the network entity may include controller (processor) operably coupled to the transceiver, where the controller/processor configured to perform the functions related to the method): receive, from a user equipment (UE) or an application function (AF), a first request message for a sensing service ([0009] states “a system for enabling sensing operations. Embodiments address the task of receiving and fulfilling a request for sensing service from a UE“ see also claim 35 which indicates that the UE can send a message, to the network node, regarding networked sensing service and a networked communication service,
However, Moussa does not teach, but Wang teaches transmit, to a unified data repository (UDR), a second request message for requesting sensing policy data based on the first request message (Para. 2 Page 11, states “the first network element may discover the corresponding terminal device according to the first message and obtain the capability information of the terminal device. For example, the first network element may query other network elements (such as AMF/UDR/unified data management, UDM)) and the like discover the terminal device.” and Embodiment 2 states the first perception service is associated with one or more PCFs, and one or more PCFs obtain user plane configuration based on UDR information. Fig. 7 (Steps 710-714), refer to citation of “V” in the PTO-892 of the clarified Google translation of Figs. 7-8, and Paras 4-6 Page 18 provide that after receiving the session request, the SMF initiates a policy request to PCF2 and policy request may be used to request the session policy of the first perception service from PCF2, and the policy request may include the identifier of the first perception service. In step S712, the PCF subscribes to the UDR for notifications related to the first perception service (or the identifier of the first perception service). That implies the UDR may receive a request message related the sensing policy data based on the first request, as shown in Steps 710-714 in Fig. 7, see also Embodiment 2.2 which states “Embodiment 2.2: The first network element is a UDR, and the second network element is a network element requesting a sensing service”, see also Paras. 2-3, 8, and 10 Page 15, and Para. 9 Page 17), and receive, from the UDR, a response message in response to transmitting the second request message, wherein the response message includes sensing service quality (SSQ) information (Para. 9 Page 17 states “FIG7 shows that the configuration information of the first perception service granularity is issued and updated through the UDR. In the example of FIG7 , the configuration information associated with the first perception service and the identifier of the first perception service can be stored in the UDR, and the PCF subscribes to the UDR for the configuration information corresponding to the identifier of the first perception service. After obtaining the configuration information, the user plane can be configured or adjusted by issuing a PCC rule.” That implies the when the network entity transmits the request to the UDR (e.g., to subscribe to update /fetch configuration/policy data,), the UDR response to that with a message that includes configuration information associated with the request sensing service as shown in Step 714 and 716 in Fig. 7. Claim 6 also confirms that “The method according to claim 6 is characterized in that the first network element is the UDR, the second network element is one of the one or more PCFs, and the first message is used to subscribe to a notification associated with an identifier of the first perception service”. Step 714 Page 18 explicitly states “The configuration information may include QoS-related parameters, local diversion-related information, and perception requirement parameters of the first perception service. The QoS-related parameters may include, for example, one or more of transmission rate, maximum delay, packet error rate, etc.” and Step 716 Page 18 states “ the UDR sends a data notification to the PCF according to the subscription request of the PCF. The data notification may include the first sense the identifier of the first perceived service and the configuration information associated with the first perceived service” where the configuration information , as described Para. 7 Page 13, may include the SSQ parameters. See also Paras. 10-13 Page 26 and Paras. 4-7 Page 28, that confirms the configuration information included QoS for sensing service or SSQ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moussa to incorporate the teachings of Wang (in analogous art) by adding transmit, to a unified data repository (UDR), a second request message for requesting sensing policy data based on the first request message, and receive, from the UDR, a response message in response to transmitting the second request message, wherein the response message includes sensing service quality (SSQ) information since the QoS-related parameters, transmission rate, maximum delay, packet error rate, local diversion requirements (such as local diversion of data packets to reduce delay and improve processing efficiency, etc.). (Wang, Para. 2 Page 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Moussa and Wang teach the network entity of claim 8,
Moussa further teaches wherein the first request message includes at least one of a UE identifier, an AF identifier, ISAC service type, ISAC service identifier, ISAC service target area, and SSQ information indicating required ISAC service quality information (Fig. 4 illustrates that the first request from the UE, Sensing Service Request SSR, to the network gNB as stated in [0076]. [0082] and [0120] states “After the UE 6 is authenticated by the AMF 9, the current network node gNB 7 may assign a unique job ID (e.g. an integer vector containing a temp ID, when mixed with the UE ID, becomes substantially unique) to be used by the UE 6 and gNB 7 for labelling and tracking interactions related to the requested sensing service.” That implies the UE identifier can be included. [0076]-[0077] states “A few bits of the sensing format can be utilized as indication bits to differentiate between a request for communication service and a sensing service request.” That implies the using of sensing format for ISAC service type. [0023] states “[0123]-[0124] states “The details of the sensing service request may include one or both of: a location/area to be subjected to sensing; and sensing-related information required to fulfill the sensing service request.” Which confirms using location information in the request message for sensing.).
Regarding claim 10, Moussa and Wang teach the network entity of claim 8,
Moussa further teaches wherein the second request message includes at least one of identifier information for the sensing service, requested sensing service quality information, or information regarding a sensing target area (Figs 4-6 and [0064] and [0080] provides a series of process among the gNB, SM 8 and AMF 9 as shown in Figs 4-6 to handle the sensing service request, which including the second message and more, see also [0123] that states “Responsive to the message 83a, the gNB 7 sends to the assigned SM-F 8-2 a message 83b. The message 83b comprises the job ID together with the SSR details. The SSR details may comprise the location that needs to be sensed, and sensing-related information required to fulfill the sensing service request. “ [0120] states “ After the UE 6 message SSR is authenticated by the AMF 9, the current network node gNB 7 may assign a unique job ID” which is identifier information for the sensing service, see also [0085]. [0110]-[0111] describe who the method collects the data about the sensing target area/coverage area using group of sensors, as shown in the figures.).
Regarding claim 11, Moussa and Wang teach the network entity of claim 8,
Moussa further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: perform a negotiation operation for sensing service quality information after receiving the response message ([0015] states “the SM may handle and monitor the QoS (both the communication and sensing) by the current standardized 3GPP architecture. The SM, may work together with the gNB to fulfill the sensing service request, while the SM may also facilitate meeting of the QoS requirements.” That means the SM exchange the messages to fulfill the service request with insuring the sensing service meets the required QoS. [0095] states “the UE (or the SM) may indicate that the received sensed data does not fulfill the sensing service request. In such an event, the UE may notify the SM that the sensing service request is not fulfilled. Subsequently, upon direction of the UE, the sensing service may end without fulfillment, or the sensing service may be re-attempted, with an indication to the SM to improve on the reported sensed data.” Which confirms the negotiation between the UE and the network regarding the service quality. [0137] states “the SM may configure one or more sensors to fulfill a sensing service request with an adequate (e.g. highest possible) quality of service.” [0138] states “ the SM may adjust or optimize the configuration, location, orientation, and/or angle of a sensor which is already registered with the SM” and other example in [0139] states “the SM may adjust (e.g. optimize) the sensing capability of a network node by causing additional sensors to be registered for association or attachment to the network node. These additional sensors can be owned by one or more sensor providers, such as a network operator or one or more third parties.”, see also [0140]. All these Paras. Confirm that the controller/SM may perform a negotiation operation for sensing service quality information after receiving the response message).
5. Claims 5-7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moussa et al. (WO-2024065100-A1), as PCT priority filed on Sep. 26, 2022, in view of Wang et al. (WO-2025010548-A1), as PCT priority filed on Jul 07, 2023, refer to citation of “U” and “V” in the PTO-892 that classified PE2E and Google translation of (WO-2025010548-A1) and its cited figures, and further in view of Liu et al. (US-20240406690-A1).
As to claims 5-7 see similar rejections to claims 12-14 respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 12, Moussa and Wang teach the network entity of claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to:
Moussa and Wang do not explicitly teach, but Liu teaches transmit, to a unified data management (UDM), a message for requesting sensing policy data or sensing service profile information for the UE ([02003] states “sending request information to a User Data Management (UDM); in which the request information at least includes the identifier information of the UE; and [0205] receiving feedback information returned, based on the identifier information, from the UDM, in which the feedback information indicates whether the UE is subscribed to the sensing service.” That implies applying the rules and constraints like policy that allowed for specific sensing service. [0206], [0378], [381], and [393] provide the information that may send to the UDM, which include sensing service identifier/profile of the UE and the subscription with the sensing model for further processing by the UDM, see also claims 14 and 19), and receive, from the UDM, subscribed sensing service quality (SSQ) information ([0205] states “receiving feedback information returned, based on the identifier information, from the UDM, in which the feedback information indicates whether the UE is subscribed to the sensing service.” [0206] provides the request information to the UDM is to check whether the UE is subscribed to the sensing service or whether the UE has the sensing service meeting the QoS requested by the UE. See also [0380] and claim 14 describes the process by sending request information to a user data management (UDM); wherein the request information at least comprises identifier information of the UE; and receiving feedback information returned, based on the identifier information, from the UDM, wherein the feedback information is configured to indicate whether the UE is subscribed to the sensing service; wherein the request information further comprises at least one of quality of service (QoS) information or sensing model information contained in the sensing request; the QoS information is used for the UDM to determine whether the UE is subscribed to a sensing service meeting the QoS information; and the sensing model information is used for the UDM to determine whether the UE is subscribed to a sensing service using a sensing model indicated by the sensing model information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moussa in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Liu (in analogous art) by adding wherein transmit, to a unified data management (UDM), a message for requesting sensing policy data or sensing service profile information for the UE and receive, from the UDM, subscribed sensing service quality (SSQ) information for QoS verification, authentication verification and privacy security verification (Liu, [0089], [0269]-[0272]).
Regarding claim 13, Moussa and Wang teach the network entity of claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to:
Moussa and Wang do not explicitly teach, but Liu teaches transmit, to the UE, a sensing service policy including at least one of information for application SSQ information, ISAC service identifier, ISAC service type, application space range, or application time range ([0247] states “After receiving the sensing request of the UE forwarded by the AMF, the SF may determine the sensing parameters based on the sensing request, and return the determined sensing parameters to the UE for the UE to provide the sensing service.” See also [0437]. That means the UE can receive information regarding the sensing services, determined sensing parameters, based on the sensing request, which include: [0125] For example, the sensing parameters may also include at least one of the following: [0126] a sensing duration for providing the sensing service, a sensing region, and an accuracy requirement of the sensing result. [0127] The transmission parameters include, but are not limited to, a transmission power of the sensing signal, or a transmission frequency of the sensing signal. [0128] The receiving parameters include, but are not limited to, a frequency of a receiving carrier of the sensing signal or a receiving duration. That confirms the information received associated with service type, application time range and space range, and the quality QoS of sensing service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moussa in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Liu (in analogous art) by adding wherein transmit, to a unified data management (UDM), a message for requesting sensing policy data or sensing service profile information for the UE and receive, from the UDM, subscribed sensing service quality (SSQ) information for QoS verification, authentication verification and privacy security verification (Liu, [0089], [0269]-[0272]).
Regarding claim 14, Moussa and Wang teach the network entity of claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to:
Moussa and Wang do not explicitly teach, but Liu teaches perform authentication on sensing service requester through interworking with a unified data management (UDM) or a network exposure function (NEF) ([0258]-[0261] explicitly state “The SF may perform a local verification or request the UDM to perform a remote verification. [0259] When the remote verification is performed by the UDM, performing the verification based on the identifier information of the UE includes: [0260] sending a subscription check request to the UDM based on the sensing request, in which the subscription check request at least includes the identifier information of the UE; and [0261] receiving a check result returned by the UDM.” That provides performing of authentication on sensing service requester through interworking with UDM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moussa in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Liu (in analogous art) by adding wherein transmit, to a unified data management (UDM), a message for requesting sensing policy data or sensing service profile information for the UE and receive, from the UDM, subscribed sensing service quality (SSQ) information for QoS verification, authentication verification and privacy security verification (Liu, [0089], [0269]-[0272]).
Relevant Prior Art
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Duan et al. (US-20240426972-A1), Hu et al. (US-20210075868-A1), Xiang et al. (WO-2024130272-A2), and Walker et al. (WO-2023111169-A1) teach methods for improving the quality of integrated sensing and communication, or ISAC, service in network communication systems.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463