Response to amendments
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the previous 112(b) rejection of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hare et al. [US 2005/0267488 A1, hereinafter “Hare”] in view of Pikus et al. [US 2015/0105715 A1, hereinafter “Pikus”].
Re. claim 1, Hare discloses a lithotripsy device [11, Fig. 1] comprising:
a longitudinal shaft [63] extending between a proximal portion [31] and distal portion [24];
a basket [struts/tines 65, taken together] extending along the distal portion of the longitudinal shaft [Fig. 1], the basket configured to catch a target calculus [Par. 0013];
wherein at least one of the longitudinal shaft and the basket is configured to vibrate in response to an acoustic energy input [“a transverse ultrasonic vibration is created along the longitudinal axis of the ultrasonic probe 15. In a preferred embodiment of the present invention, the ultrasonic probe 15 including the wire body 63 and the plurality of tines 65 vibrate,” Par. 0085] to dislodge a target calculus that is sized to be caught and retained in the basket [“to dislodge” is the intended use of the vibration and not given further patentable weight. The calculus is caught and retained in the basket, Par. 0073], and
rotating the probe [see Hare claim 42] to position the basket around the target calculus to catch and retain the target calculus [Par. 0073].
Hare fails to explicitly teach a rotational driver operably coupled to the longitudinal shaft and the basket, the rotational driver actuatable for rotating the longitudinal shaft and the basket. However, Pikus teaches in a medical device with a shaft and basket,
a rotational driver [drive shaft, Par. 0055] operably coupled to the longitudinal shaft and the basket, the rotational driver actuatable for rotating the longitudinal shaft and the basket [Par. 0055]. Adding a rotational driver which rotates the shaft and basket would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, because this allows the basket to be readily rotated either automatically or by some actuator, allowing for easier and more controlled rotation which allows the basket to be positioned as desired and as taught by Hare.
Re. claim 2, Hare discloses at least one acoustic transducer that is acoustically coupled to at least one of the longitudinal shaft or the basket [“transducer within the handle 88… transmits the ultrasonic energy to the ultrasonic probe 15,” Par. 0054].
Re. claim 3, Hare discloses acoustic generator [99] operably coupled to the acoustic transducer, the acoustic generator actuatable for producing an acoustic waveform [Par. 0067].
Re. claim 4, Hare discloses the basket is acoustically-transmissive [the tines vibrate in response to the acoustic waves, Par. 0085].
Re. claim 5, Hare discloses the basket comprises nitinol or titanium [titanium, Par. 0062].
Re. claim 6, Hare is silent regarding a plurality of acoustic transducers located on the basket. However, Pikus teaches a basket comprising a plurality of acoustic transducers thereon [“the expandable basket 212 may include one or more…transducers disposed along the struts,” Par. 0047]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Hare to include transducers located on the basket as taught by Pikus in order to cause further vibration in the basket.
Re. claim 8, Hare discloses the longitudinal shaft comprises nitinol or titanium [titanium, Par. 0062].
Re. claim 9, selecting the above-modified rotational driver to be manual would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because this allows a user greater control over the rotation.
Re. claim 10, selecting the above-modified rotational driver to be automatic would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because this amounts to automating a manual activity.
Re. claim 11, Hare discloses the basket comprises a proximal end configured to vibrate according to a waveform [Par. 0085, where the waveform is that transmitted by the transducer].
Re. claim 12, Hare discloses the basket is configured to vibrate with a waveform [Par. 0085, where the waveform is that transmitted by the transducer].
Re. claim 13, Hare discloses the longitudinal shaft is configured to vibrate with a waveform [Par. 0085, where the waveform is that transmitted by the transducer].
Re. claim 14, Hare discloses an ultrasonic probe [11, Fig. 1] comprising:
a longitudinal shaft [63] extending between a proximal portion [31] and distal portion [24];
a basket [struts/tines 65, taken together] extending along the distal portion of the longitudinal shaft [Fig. 1], the basket configured to catch a target calculus [Par. 0013];
a transducer [Par. 0054] acoustically coupled to at least one of the shaft and the basket [Par. 0085], the transducer configured to produce an ultrasonic waveform to vibrate the basket [Par. 0054, 0084-0085] to dislodge a target calculus that is sized to be caught and retained in the basket [“to dislodge” is the intended use of the vibration and not given further patentable weight. The calculus is caught and retained in the basket, Par. 0073],
wherein the basket is configured to vibrate in response to an acoustic energy input [“a transverse ultrasonic vibration is created along the longitudinal axis of the ultrasonic probe 15. In a preferred embodiment of the present invention, the ultrasonic probe 15 including the wire body 63 and the plurality of tines 65 vibrate,” Par. 0085],
rotating the probe [see Hare claim 42] to position the basket around the target calculus to catch and retain the target calculus [Par. 0073].
Hare fails to explicitly teach a rotational driver operably coupled to the longitudinal shaft and the basket, the rotational driver actuatable for rotating the longitudinal shaft and the basket. However, Pikus teaches in a medical device with a shaft and basket, a rotational driver [drive shaft, Par. 0055] operably coupled to the longitudinal shaft and the basket, the rotational driver actuatable for rotating the longitudinal shaft and the basket [Par. 0055]. Adding a rotational driver which rotates the shaft and basket would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, because this allows the basket to be readily rotated either automatically or by some actuator, allowing for easier and more controlled rotation which allows the basket to be positioned as desired and as taught by Hare.
Re. claim 15, Hare discloses the transducer is in the handle. However, Pikus teaches the transducer is on the shaft [Par. 0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Hare such that the transducer is on the shaft as taught by Pikus because this amounts to a simple rearrangement of parts which does not affect the function of the device [the transducer located in the handle or on the shaft will cause the shaft/basket to vibrate].
Re. claim 16, Hare discloses the invention substantially as set forth with respect to claim 13 above.
Re. claim 17, Hare-Pikus discloses the invention substantially as set forth with respect to claim 6 above.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hare view of Pikus, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of St. George [US 2014/0121673 A1]
Re. claim 7, Hare-Pikus discloses the invention as set forth above, including the acoustic transducer is configured to propagate a waveform down the longitudinal shaft [Hare Par. 0085] but Hare is silent regarding the frequency range of the ultrasonic waveform. However, St George teaches, in a lithotripsy device, the acoustic transducer is configured to propagate a waveform of greater than 20 kHz down the longitudinal shaft [“In the case of ultrasonic driving power, the frequency of operation would be greater than 20 kHz,” Par. 0054]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of the modified Hare such that the transducer propagates a wave with a frequency of greater than 20 kHz in order to “reduce the discomfort from excessive audible noise,” St. George Par. 0054. In the case of overlapping ranges, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First, Applicant argues that, since Hare breaks the calculus into small pieces, these pieces cannot be retained in the basket and removed, and, since Hare teaches dissolving the small pieces, Hare does not teach removing the calculus as in the instant application.
The examiner respectfully disagrees that the amendments overcome the rejection over Hare in view of Pikus. Hare does teach a different method of removing the calculus (breaking the calculus into pieces small enough to be dissolved), but this different use of the device is not patentable in an apparatus claim. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument that Hare fails to teach the basket catching and retaining the calculus. See e.g. Hare, Par. 0073: “The probe…is moved to place the stone…between adjacent tines of the plurality of tines…and inside the plurality of tines….The stone…is passively constrained within the plurality of tines.” Thus, Hare explicitly discloses that the basket tines are configured to “constrain” the stone “within” the tines of the basket, at least for a period of time, when it is at its largest, for example.
It is suggested Applicant provide claimed structural features, not related to the use of the device, which distinguish over Hare-Pikus.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN MCGRATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771