DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “the tip sheath” and “the distal end distance” lack antecedent basis. Additionally, “at its second end” is indefinite because it is unclear what “its” refers to. For examination purposes, “at its second end” is being interpreted to mean “at the second end of the cylindrical tip sheath”.
Regarding claim 2, “the distal end distance” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 3, “the distal end distance” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4, “the distal end distance” and “the tip sheath” lack antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 5, “the tip sheath” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 6, “the tip sheath” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 7, “the tip sheath” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 8, “the flat surface is knurled or textured” is indefinite because it is unclear how the surface can be a flat surface while also being knurled or textured.
Regarding claim 10, “the tip sheath” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 11, “the tip sheath”, “the distal end distance”, “the thickness”, and “the foam” lack antecedent basis. Additionally, “at its second end” is indefinite because it is unclear what “its” refers to. For examination purposes, “at its second end” is being interpreted to mean “at the second end of the cylindrical tip sheath”.
Regarding claim 12, “the nailgun” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 13, “the nailgun” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 14, “the nailgun” and “the tip sheath” lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2018/0326567), hereinafter Liu, in view of Peng et al (US 2020/0398414), hereinafter Peng, further in view of Taylor et al (US 2005/0189390), hereinafter Taylor.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a nail gun (Fig. 2) for installing panels with foam or other attachable materials, comprising:
a nailgun body (Fig. 2, item 2) with a front end (Fig. 2) from which a nail or other fastener (Para. 0022) is ejected the trigger is pulled (Para. 0022);
an adjustable tip (Fig. 2, item 4, 23) located on the front end of the nailgun body (Fig. 2), the adjustable tip comprising a cylindrical tip sheath (Fig. 2, item 4, 23) with a first end (Fig. 2, sheath 23 has a first end), a second end (Fig. 2, sheath 23 has a second end), and an interior (Fig. 2, interior runs along axis X) with a channel or hole extending from the second end to the first end (Fig. 2) (Para. 0023-0029), wherein the tip sheath is attached at its second end to the nailgun body (Para. 0023-0029); and
an insertion driver (Fig. 2, item 3, 31) (Para. 0023-0029) with a distal end (Fig. 2) and a proximate end (Fig. 2) (Para. 0023-0029), the insertion driver extending through the channel (Para. 0023-0029) or hole of the tip sheath (Para. 0023-0029), wherein the distal end extends a distance beyond (Fig. 2-3, insertion driver 31 extends beyond end of sheath 23) (Para. 0023-0029) or even with the first end of the tip sheath;
wherein the distal end distance is adjustable (Para. 0030-0035).
Liu does not expressly disclose the nail gun body has a handle, a trigger, and a magazine for holding nails or other fasteners.
However, Peng teaches a nail gun (Peng, Fig. 1, item 10) comprising a nail gun body (Peng, Fig. 1, item 10, 12, 22, 28, 16) having a handle (Peng, Fig. 1, item 22), a trigger (Peng, Fig. 1, item 28), and a magazine (Peng, Fig. 1, item 16) for holding nails or other fasteners (Peng, Para. 0037).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Liu and Peng to modify the nail gun of Liu to include the handle, trigger, and magazine of Peng. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to provide a tool which is capable of driving a fastener to a required depth into materials of different hardnesses (Peng, Para. 0007).
Liu in view of Peng is silent about the nail gun having a locking arm extending from the tip sheath and configured to releasably engage a spring-clip lock on the nailgun body, wherein the spring-clip lock when engaged hold the tip sheath in a fixed position, and the tip sheath is removable when the spring-clip lock is released.
However, Taylor teaches a nail gun (Taylor, Fig. 1, item 12) having a locking arm (Taylor, Fig. 3, item 28) extending from the tip sheath (Taylor, Fig. 3, item 26) and configured to releasably engage a spring-clip lock (Taylor, Fig. 3, item 34) on the nailgun body (Taylor, Para. 0031-0034), wherein the spring-clip lock when engaged (Taylor, Para. 0031-0034) hold the tip sheath in a fixed position (Taylor, Para. 0031-0034), and the tip sheath is removable when the spring-clip lock is released (Taylor, Para. 0031-0034).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Liu, Peng, and Taylor to modify the nail gun of Liu in view of Peng to include the locking arm of Taylor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to allow the user to replace the depth adjustment mechanism of the tool when needed without needed to replace the entire tool (Taylor, Para. 0012).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the nail gun of claim 1, wherein the distal end distance is adjustable in fixed increments (Para. 0030-0035).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the nail gun of claim 1, wherein the distal end distance is continuously adjustable within a fixed range (Para. 0030-0035).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the nail gun of claim 1, wherein the distal end distance is adjustable by movement (Para. 0030-0035, operating member 44 is slides to adjust the movement of insertion driver) of at least a portion of the tip sheath with respect to the insertion driver (Para. 0030-0035).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses the nail gun of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the tip sheath sliding (Para. 0023-0029) moves linearly along a guide rail (Fig. 2, item 424) with stop at preset thicknesses (Para. 0023-0029).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the nail gun of claim 1, wherein the tip sheath is removably attached to the nailgun body (Claim 2, positioning assembly is removable).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses the nail gun of claim 1, wherein the first end of the tip sheath is a flat surface (Fig. 2, first end of tip sheath 23 is flat).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Peng further in view of Taylor does not expressly disclose the nail gun of claim 7, wherein the flat surface is knurled or textured.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the material of the tip sheath with knurled or textured material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claim 9, as combined above, Taylor teaches the nail gun of claim 1, wherein the spring-clip lock (Taylor, Fig. 3, item 34) is released by depressing a button (Taylor, Fig. 3, item 72) on the nailgun body (Taylor, Para. 0031-0034).
Regarding claim 10, as combined above, Taylor teaches the nail gun of claim 1, further comprising pads (Taylor, Para. 0034) that removably attach to the first end of the tip sheath (Taylor, Para. 0034).
Liu in view of Peng further in view of Taylor does not expressly disclose the pads are a plurality of ring-shaped pads. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the pads of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martens (US 2015/0013163) in view of Liu et al (US 2018/0326567), hereinafter Liu, in view of Peng et al (US 2020/0398414), hereinafter Peng, further in view of Taylor et al (US 2005/0189390), hereinafter Taylor.
Regarding claim 11, Martens discloses a system (Fig. 5) for fastening a sheathing panel with a foam layer, comprising:
a sheathing panel (Fig. 5, item 110, 108, 106, 113, 112, 114) with a first face and a second face (Fig. 5), wherein the first face is covered by a foam layer (Para. 0038) of a first thickness (Para. 0038-0040);
a pneumatic nailgun (Fig. 5, item 500) comprising
a nailgun body (Fig. 5, item 500) with a front end (Fig. 5, item 422) from which a nail or other fastener is ejected the trigger is pulled (Para. 0051); the nail gun having a tip sheath (Fig. 4, item 410, 420, 440);
when the nailgun is operated to drive a nail into the sheathing panel (Para. 0038-0040), the insertion driver extends through the foam layer (Para. 0038-0040) such that the distal end is in contact with the sheathing panel (Para. 0038-0040).
Martens does not expressly disclose the pneumatic nail gun comprising an adjustable tip located on the front end of the nailgun body, the adjustable tip comprising a cylindrical tip sheath with a first end, a second end, and an interior with a channel or hole extending from the second end to the first end, wherein the tip sheath is attached at its second end to the nailgun body; and an insertion driver with a distal end and a proximate end, the insertion driver extending through the channel or hole of the tip sheath, wherein the distal end extends a distance beyond or even with the first end of the tip sheath; wherein the distal end distance is adjustable to match the thickness of the foam.
Liu discloses a nail gun (Fig. 2) for installing panels with foam or other attachable materials, comprising:
a nailgun body (Fig. 2, item 2) with a front end (Fig. 2) from which a nail or other fastener (Para. 0022) is ejected the trigger is pulled (Para. 0022);
an adjustable tip (Fig. 2, item 4, 23) located on the front end of the nailgun body (Fig. 2), the adjustable tip comprising a cylindrical tip sheath (Fig. 2, item 4, 23) with a first end (Fig. 2, sheath 23 has a first end), a second end (Fig. 2, sheath 23 has a second end), and an interior (Fig. 2, interior runs along axis X) with a channel or hole extending from the second end to the first end (Fig. 2) (Para. 0023-0029), wherein the tip sheath is attached at its second end to the nailgun body (Para. 0023-0029); and
an insertion driver (Fig. 2, item 3, 31) (Para. 0023-0029) with a distal end (Fig. 2) and a proximate end (Fig. 2) (Para. 0023-0029), the insertion driver extending through the channel (Para. 0023-0029) or hole of the tip sheath (Para. 0023-0029), wherein the distal end extends a distance beyond (Fig. 2-3, insertion driver 31 extends beyond end of sheath 23) (Para. 0023-0029) or even with the first end of the tip sheath;
wherein the distal end distance is adjustable is adjustable to match the thickness of the foam (Para. 0030-0035, distal end distance is adjustable and is capable of matching thickness of foam).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Martens and Liu to modify the system of Martens to include the adjustable tip of Liu. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to provide a adjustable tip of a tool which is convenient, easy to use, and does not get in the way of the tool body (Liu, Para. 0004-0006).
Martens in view of Liu does not expressly disclose the nail gun body has a handle, a trigger, and a magazine for holding nails or other fasteners.
However, Peng teaches a nail gun (Peng, Fig. 1, item 10) comprising a nail gun body (Peng, Fig. 1, item 10, 12, 22, 28, 16) having a handle (Peng, Fig. 1, item 22), a trigger (Peng, Fig. 1, item 28), and a magazine (Peng, Fig. 1, item 16) for holding nails or other fasteners (Peng, Para. 0037).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Martens, Liu and Peng to modify the nail gun of Martens in view of Liu to include the handle, trigger, and magazine of Peng. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to provide a tool which is capable of driving a fastener to a required depth into materials of different hardnesses (Peng, Para. 0007).
Martens in view of Liu in view of Peng is silent about the nail gun having a locking arm extending from the tip sheath and configured to releasably engage a spring-clip lock on the nailgun body, wherein the spring-clip lock when engaged hold the tip sheath in a fixed position, and the tip sheath is removable when the spring-clip lock is released.
However, Taylor teaches a nail gun (Taylor, Fig. 1, item 12) having a locking arm (Taylor, Fig. 3, item 28) extending from the tip sheath (Taylor, Fig. 3, item 26) and configured to releasably engage a spring-clip lock (Taylor, Fig. 3, item 34) on the nailgun body (Taylor, Para. 0031-0034), wherein the spring-clip lock when engaged (Taylor, Para. 0031-0034) hold the tip sheath in a fixed position (Taylor, Para. 0031-0034), and the tip sheath is removable when the spring-clip lock is released (Taylor, Para. 0031-0034).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Martens, Liu, Peng, and Taylor to modify the nail gun of Martens in view of Liu in view of Peng to include the locking arm of Taylor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to allow the user to replace the depth adjustment mechanism of the tool when needed without needed to replace the entire tool (Taylor, Para. 0012).
Regarding claim 12, Martens teaches the system of claim 11, wherein when the nailgun is operated to drive a nail into the sheathing panel, the foam layer is substantially undamaged (Para. 0038-0040, foam layer is substantially undamaged).
Regarding claim 13, Martens teaches the system of claim 11, wherein when the nailgun is operated to drive a nail into the sheathing panel, a portion of the foam layer remains above the nail after being driven into the sheathing panel (Para. 0038-0040) (Fig. 5, portion of foam layer 110 remains above the fastener).
Regarding claim 14, Martens teaches the system of claim 11, when the nailgun is operated to drive a nail into the sheathing panel, the first end of the tip sheath is in contact with the foam layer (Para. 0038-0040) (Fig. 5, tip sheath 410, 420, 440 contacts foam layer 110).
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731