DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to application filed 08/09/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Andersen et al. (Pub.No.: 2020/0280801 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Andersen teaches a headphone device (reads on headphone 3000, see Fig. 30A), comprising:
an arc-shaped headband having a first end and a second opposite to the first end (reads on headphones 3000 includes earpieces 3002 and 3004, see [0223]);
a pair of joining members slidable close to or away from the first end and the second end respectively (reads on earpiece 3002 and 3004 joined together by headband 3006, see [0223]);
a pair of holding members rotatably joined to the joining members respectively (reads on earpiece 3002 and 3004 are configured to rotate about yaw axis, see [0223]), wherein each of the holding members comprises a first pivot portion rotatably connected to one of the joining members (earpieces 3002 and 3004 include permanent magnet, 3008 Hall Effect sensor 3010 permanent magnet positioned sensor reading and cue headphone flipping earpieces 3002 and 3004 180 degrees, see [0223]) and a holding portion secured to first pivot portion (earpieces 3002 and 3004 joined together by headband, see [0223]); and
a pair of sound generating modules (3006 earpieces 3002 and 3004 support operation of various components, playback of media content, see [0223], also [0214] for earpiece electronics supporting playback]), wherein each of the sound generating modules is detachably disposed in the holding portion (Fig. 30B shows carrying/storage case 3016 recess 3018 to accommodate a headband assembly and two earpieces, the earpieces positioned within recess 3018, see [0224]); wherein the holding members rotate between a stretch position and a fold position (reads on flipping earpieces 3002 and 3004 180 degrees. Headphone 3000 positioned within case enter a lower power mode, earpieces facing upward, off the head configuration, see [0223] and [0224]).
Regarding claim 2, Andersen teaches wherein each of the holding portions is annular, wherein each of the sound generating modules comprises a housing, and wherein each of the sound generating modules is detachably mounted to the holding portion through shape fitting (reads on switching mechanism 3218 allow stem base 3208 to be released from pivot assembly 3202, see [0230]).
Regarding claim 3, Andersen teaches wherein each of the joining members comprises a second pivot portion rotatably connected to the first pivot portion, the second pivot portion comprises a first limiting surface and a limiting end perpendicular to the first limiting surface, and the first pivot portion comprises a second limiting surface and a third limiting surface parallel to the second limiting surface, and the holding member rotates with respect to the joining member from the stretch position until the limiting end contacts the third limiting surface, where the holding member arrives at the fold position (reads on force translation member 3222 that rotates about an axis 3228, see [0231]).
Regarding claim 4, Andersen teaches wherein each of the holding members comprises an abut portion protruding from an outer peripheral surface of the holding portion, and the abut portions of the pair of the holding members abut against each other when the holding members are at the fold position (reads on latch plate 3212 shifts laterally to align aperture 3214 and allows stem base 3208 to be removed, see [0231]).
Regarding claim 5, Andersen teaches wherein each of the joining members comprises a first joining portion slidable close to or away from the first end or the second end and a second joining portion rotatably connected to the holding member, and each of the sound generating modules comprises at least one venting hole (reads on latching mechanism 3300 generally positioned within an earpiece housing, see [0232]).
Regarding claim 6, Andersen teaches wherein the first joining portion and the second joining portion are detachably joined through engagement of an engaging rib and an engaging groove extending along a direction perpendicular to the headband (reads on contact region 3310 that include multiple electrical contacts for interfacing with circuitry and electrical components, see [0232]).
Regarding claim 7, Andersen teaches wherein each of the joining portion further comprises a sliding portion connected to the first joining portion, and the headband further comprises a sliding groove for the sliding portion sliding therein (reads on latch lever 3314 configured to rotate about axis of rotation 3317, see [0233]).
Regarding claim 8, Andersen teaches wherein each of the joining members further comprises a rack portion disposed on one side of the sliding portion, the two rack portions of the pair of joining members are opposite to each other, and wherein the headband further comprises a gear meshing the rack portions, whereby the pair of joining members slide synchronously in opposite directions (reads on torsion spring 3316 opposes rotation of latch lever 3314, see [0233]).
Regarding claim 9, Andersen teaches wherein each of the joining members further comprises a stop portion disposed at one end of each of the rack portions, and the movement of the joining members is limited by contact of the stop portion and the gear (reads on retaining spring 3324 return latch plate 3304 to the position, see [0233]).
Regarding claim 10, Andersen teaches wherein each of the sound generating modules comprises a charging port and an electrical connection portion, a charging cable is inserted into the charging port, and the electrical connection portions of the pair of the sound generating modules contact, whereby the sound generating modules are parallel connected for electrical charging (reads on switch mechanism 3328 can take the form of horizontal slider switch, see [0234]).
Regarding claim 11, Andersen teaches wherein the headband further comprises a pad disposed on one side facing the sound generating modules and between the first end and the second end (reads on the switch mechanism may be “concealed by a removable earpad assembly”, see [0234]).
Regarding claim 12, Andersen teaches wherein each of the joining members comprises an abutting spring sheet and a guiding plate, each of the holding members comprises an abutting plate disposed between the abutting spring sheet and the guiding plate, the guiding plate has a planar portion and an arced portion, the abutting spring sheet abuts on the abutting plate to enable the abutting plate to abut on the planar portion when the holding members are at the stretch position, the abutting plate move along the arced portion when the holding members move toward the fold position, and the abutting spring sheet abuts on an edge of the abutting plate to position the holding members at the fold position after the holding member arrives the fold position (reads on headband housing 1902 accommodate telescoping motion of telescoping member 1904, see [0190]).
Regarding claim 13, Andersen teaches wherein each of the sound generating modules further comprises a joining pin, each of the holding members further comprises a joining hole, the sound generating module is detachably joined to the holding portion through insertion of the joining pin into the joining hole (reads on synchronization cable 1910 accommodate changes in length caused by telescoping, see [0190]).
Regarding claim 14, Andersen teaches a headphone device (reads on headphones 3000, see Fig. 30A), comprising:
an arc-shaped headband having a first end and a second opposite to the first end (headphones 3000 includes earpieces 3002 and 3004 joined together by headband 3006, see [0223]);
a pair of joining members disposed on the head band (earpieces 3002 and 3004 joined together nby headband 3006, earpieces positioned on opposing sides of headband 3006, see [0223]), wherein each of the joining members comprises an upper contact portion (earpieces 3002 and 3004 can include a mix of Hall Effect sensors and permanent magnets, see [0223]), and one of the upper contact portions extends towards another one of the joining members (permanent magnet 3008 generates a magnetic field, sensor readings from Hall Effect sensor 3012 can be sufficient to cue headphones 3000 flipping earpieces 3002 and 3004 180 degrees would result in magnetic field emitted by permanent magnet 3014 saturating Hall Effect sensor 3010, see [0223]); and
a pair of sound generating modules joined to the pair of joining members respectively (earpieces 3002 and 3004 accommodate various electrical components supporting playback of media files received by headphones, see [0214] and [0223]).
Regarding claim 15, Andersen teaches a pair of holding members joined to the pair of joining members respectively, wherein each of the holding members comprises a holding portion for disposing each of the sound generating modules and a first lower extending portion, and one of the first lower extending portions extend towards the other one of the holding members (reads on funnel element 3422 helps align adjacent coils 3410, see [0238]).
Regarding claim 16, Andersen teaches wherein each of the holding members further comprises a first lower contact portion enclosing an outer surface of the first lower extending portion having a shape of bending rod (reads on radial stabilization elements 3432 and 3434 prevent unwanted rotation, see [0238]).
Regarding claim 17, Andersen teaches wherein each of the holding members further comprises a second lower extension portion disposed at the holding portion and opposite to the first lower extension portion, and the second lower extension portion extends towards the other one of the holding members (reads on bearing element 3426 keep telescoping component stabilized, see [0239]).
Regarding claim 18, Andersen teaches wherein the second extension portion comprises a radial wall radially extending from the holding portion and an axial wall perpendicular to the radial wall, and the axial wall is opposite to the first lower extension portion (reads on lower housing component defining multiple axially aligned channels configured to accommodate radial stabilization elements, see [0240]).
Regarding claim 19, Andersen teaches wherein each of the holding members further comprises a second lower contact portion disposed at an edge of the axial wall (reads on multiple channels that reduce total surface area contact, see [0240]).
Regarding claim 20, Andersen teaches a pair of holding members, wherein each of the holding members comprises a holding portion in which the sound generating module is disposed, an abutting portion protruding away from the holding member and a first lower contact portion disposed at an end of abutting portion away from the holding portion, and the abutting portions of the holding members abut against each other when the holding members rotate towards the head band (reads on second stabilizing element provide greater amount of compliance, see [0241]).
Regarding claim 21, Andersen teaches a pair of holding members, wherein each of the holding members comprises a holding portion for disposing each of the sound generating modules, a lower extension portion extending from the holding portion towards the other one of the holding members and a second contact portion disposed at an edge of the lower extension portion, and the lower extension portion has an arced shape (reads on headband assembly 1500 has a bi-stable configuration transitioning between flattened and arched states, see [0186]).
Regarding claim 22, Andersen teaches wherein the headband, the joining members and the sound generating module are integrally formed in one piece (reads on passive linkage hinge 1604 accommodates headphone assembly being folded, see [0188]).
Conclusion
/RASHA S AL AUBAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693