DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (Figures 1-4 and 6-11; Claims 1-11 and 13-18) in the reply filed on 11/06/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lindberg et al. (US 10364077 B2; hereinafter Lindberg).
Regarding claims 1-4, 8, and 15, Lindberg discloses a protective wrapping, or sealant, for a cylindrical object (Examiner considers reel 120 to be a “workpiece”) the sealant comprising a skin (102) having a perimeter, an outer surface and an inner surface, the skin dimensioned to at least partly cover the workpiece (see Figures 1-4); a body comprising a tacky, non-hardening, elastomeric polymer (Col 8 lines 3-26), the body engaging at least part of the inner surface of said skin (242); and closure means engaging at least a first portion of the perimeter for releasably engaging a second portion of the perimeter when said skin at least partly covers the workpiece (Col 5 lines 20-35). Examiner considers the plastic protective wrapping to be impervious to fluids.
Regarding claim 5, Lindberg discloses a protective wrapping wherein said closure means includes pressure sensitive adhesive (Col 5 lines 25-30).
Regarding claim 6, Lindberg discloses a protective wrapping wherein said closure means is continuous (Col 5 lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 7, Lindberg discloses a protective wrapping wherein said closure means is discontinuous (Col 5 lines 21-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindberg in view of Kaufman (US 4860893 A).
Regarding claims 14, 16, and 18, Lindberg discloses the claimed invention except for the closure being a snap or Velcro. Kaufman teaches a cover for a cylindrical workpiece wherein a closure means is hook and pile (i.e. Velcro) or snaps (Col 7 lines 52-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Lindberg’s cover closure to alternatively employ Velcro or snaps as a known means of closure for cylindrical wraps, as taught by Kaufman.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 13, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734