CTNF 18/799,821 CTNF 90009 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Information Disclosure Statement 2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 08/09/2024. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA 3. Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 should be replaced with "An image processing circuitry" to refer to the image processing circuitry in the claims . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 4. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 5. Claim s 1, 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kang, (“ Kang ”) [US-2021/0027685-A1] Regarding claim 1 , Kang discloses a system (Kang- Fig.1 and ¶0026-0027, at least disclose the electronic device 100 may be one of electronic devices such as a portable communication terminal, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable media player (PMP), a smartphone, a tablet computer, and a wearable device) comprising: an electronic display configured to display image content (Kang- Fig.1 and ¶0026, at least disclose an electronic device 100 may include a main processor 110, a display driver 120, and a panel 130 ; Fig.1 and ¶0033-0035, at least disclose The display driver 120 may output a signal IDAT indicating the image data to the panel 130 […] The panel 130 may display an image corresponding to image data based on the signal IDAT. The panel 130 may display an image to provide image information to the user.) ; and image processing circuitry configured to generate blended image data (Kang- ¶0033, at least discloses The display driver 120 may receive the command signal CMD1 from the main processor 110. The display driver 120 may generate image layers indicating an image in response to the command signal CMD1. The display driver 120 may blend the image layers to generate image data) , on which the image content to be displayed on the electronic display, based using a process that comprises combining first image data and second image data via a blend operation (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0052, at least disclose The display driver 120 may receive the command signal CMD1 from the main processor 110. The display driver 120 may generate image layers indicating an image in response to the command signal CMD1. The display driver 120 may blend the image layers to generate image data […] The graphic blender 124 may obtain image layers based on the signals LDAT1 to LDATn. The graphic blender 124 may blend the obtained image layers [combining first image data and second image data via a blend operation] […] The graphic blender 124 may generate image data indicating a combined image . The graphic blender 124 may output the signal IDAT indicating image data of the combined image to the panel 130) , wherein the blend operation comprises: generating a first layer of the blend operation based on alpha data indicative of a transparency factor applied to the first image data (Kang- ¶0048, at least discloses Image data of each of the signals BDAT1 to BDATn may include alpha data associated with the transparency of an image and pixel data associated with physical values of the image. The alpha data and the pixel data may constitute one data block; Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0052, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn. Each of the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may generate an image layer [a first layer] based on image data. Each of the image layers may have transparency corresponding to alpha data and a pixel value. For example, corresponding transparency may refer to a brightness value or an RGB color value. The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 [the blend operation]; ¶0069, at least discloses The graphic plane block 123 may analyze alpha data values included in a data burst of the image data “ first BDAT ” [first image data]. In a specification, a reference value of alpha data may correspond to a maximum value of the transparency of an image to be displayed by the panel 130. For example, in a case where the alpha data are expressed by 8 bits, the alpha data may have one of values from “0” to “255” . In a case where an alpha data value of “0” indicates the highest transparency and an alpha data value of “255” indicates the lowest transparency , the reference value of the alpha data may be “0” [alpha data indicative of a transparency factor]; ¶0093, at least discloses the pixel data PDAT may be associated with brightness values of an image layer , and the alpha data ADAT may be associated with transparency of an image layer [generating a first layer based on alpha data indicative of a transparency factor]; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer […] the first image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_1 [generating a first layer of the blend operation], and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) ; and combining, via the blend operation, the first layer with a second layer of the blend operation (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0053, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn […] The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 [the blend operation] […] The graphic blender 124 may receive the signals LDAT1 to LDATn from the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n. The graphic blender 124 may obtain image layers based on the signals LDAT1 to LDATn. The graphic blender 124 may blend the obtained image layers […] The graphic blender 124 may generate image data indicating a combined image . The graphic blender 124 may output the signal IDAT indicating image data of the combined image to the panel 130; ¶0088, at least discloses the graphic blender 124 may generate image data by sorting the first image layer to the n-th image layer according to a sorting order, and blending image layers in the sorting order; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer, and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 may correspond to a second image layer […] and the second image layer [second layer of the blend operation] may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) , wherein the second layer is based on the second image data (Kang- ¶0063, at least discloses The image data “first BDAT” and the image data “second BDAT” may be respectively associated with images of different frames, which are to be displayed by a certain display region of the panel 130; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer, and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 may correspond to a second image layer [the second layer is based on the second image data]. In priorities of a display operation, the priority of the first image layer may be higher than the priority of the second image layer […] the first image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_1, and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) . Regarding claim 4 , Kang discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein combining the first layer and the second layer (see Claim 1 rejection for detailed analysis) comprises combining first pixel values of the first image data to second pixel values of the second image data to generate blended pixel values of the blended image data (Kang- ¶0051, at least discloses Each of the image layers may have transparency corresponding to alpha data and a pixel value […] The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 […] The graphic blender 124 may obtain image layers based on the signals LDAT1 to LDATn. The graphic blender 124 may blend the obtained image layers; ¶0115-0116, at least disclose displaying images includes receiving a first alpha data value and a first pixel data value (i.e., for first subregion DA2_1), and a second alpha data value and a second pixel data value (i.e., for second subregion DA2_2) from a memory) , wherein the first pixel values of the first image data are augmented by the transparency factor (Kang- ¶0048, at least discloses Image data of each of the signals BDAT1 to BDATn may include alpha data associated with the transparency of an image and pixel data associated with physical values of the image. The alpha data and the pixel data may constitute one data block; Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0052, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn. Each of the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may generate an image layer based on image data. Each of the image layers may have transparency corresponding to alpha data and a pixel value. For example, corresponding transparency may refer to a brightness value or an RGB color value; ¶0069, at least discloses The graphic plane block 123 may analyze alpha data values included in a data burst of the image data “ first BDAT ” [first image data]. In a specification, a reference value of alpha data may correspond to a maximum value of the transparency of an image to be displayed by the panel 130. For example, in a case where the alpha data are expressed by 8 bits, the alpha data may have one of values from “0” to “255” . In a case where an alpha data value of “0” indicates the highest transparency and an alpha data value of “255” indicates the lowest transparency , the reference value of the alpha data may be “0” [transparency factor]; ¶0093, at least discloses the pixel data PDAT may be associated with brightness values of an image layer , and the alpha data ADAT may be associated with transparency of an image layer; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer […] the first image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_1 , and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2)) . Regarding claim 9 , Kang discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the image processing circuitry is configured to generate the alpha data based on the first image data (Kang- ¶0048, at least discloses Image data of each of the signals BDAT1 to BDATn may include alpha data associated with the transparency of an image and pixel data associated with physical values of the image. The alpha data and the pixel data may constitute one data block; Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0052, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn. Each of the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may generate an image layer based on image data . Each of the image layers may have transparency corresponding to alpha data and a pixel value. For example, corresponding transparency may refer to a brightness value or an RGB color value. The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 ; ¶0069, at least discloses The graphic plane block 123 may analyze alpha data values included in a data burst of the image data “ first BDAT ” [first image data]. In a specification, a reference value of alpha data may correspond to a maximum value of the transparency of an image to be displayed by the panel 130. For example, in a case where the alpha data are expressed by 8 bits, the alpha data may have one of values from “0” to “255” . In a case where an alpha data value of “0” indicates the highest transparency and an alpha data value of “255” indicates the lowest transparency , the reference value of the alpha data may be “0” [alpha data indicative of a transparency factor]; ¶0093, at least discloses the pixel data PDAT may be associated with brightness values of an image layer , and the alpha data ADAT may be associated with transparency of an image layer; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer […] the first image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_1 , and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 3. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim s 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Eble et al. (“ Eble ”) [US-2021/0142443-A1] Regarding claim 2 , Kang discloses the system of claim 1, and though Kang discloses wherein the first layer and the second layer are combined in a display image space different from an input image space (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0045, at least disclose Each of the image layers may be rendered in the unit of frame. For example, the number of frames to be rendered at the memory 122 may be determined based on the usage scenario indicated by the command signal CMD2 […] The memory 122 may store the rendered image layers based on the signal RDAT. The memory 122 may generate image data respectively indicating the image layers to transfer the rendered image layers; Fig. 4 and ¶0051-0053, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 […] The graphic blender 124 may receive the signals LDAT1 to LDATn from the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n. The graphic blender 124 may obtain image layers based on the signals LDAT1 to LDATn. The graphic blender 124 may blend the obtained image layer […] The graphic blender 124 may generate image data indicating a combined image . The graphic blender 124 may output the signal IDAT indicating image data of the combined image to the panel 130 ) , and Kang does not explicitly disclose, but Eble discloses wherein the image processing circuitry (Eble- Fig. 2 and ¶0062, at least disclose an SR pipeline 200) is configured to: warp first source image data from the input image space to the display image space, generating the first image data (Eble- ¶0045, at least discloses receiving a warped image representing simulated reality (SR) content to be displayed in a display space , the warped image having a plurality of pixels at respective locations uniformly spaced in a grid pattern in a warped space, wherein the plurality of pixels are respectively associated with a plurality of respective pixel values and a plurality of respective scaling factors indicating a plurality of respective resolutions at a plurality of respective locations in the display space. The method includes processing the warped image in the warped space based on the plurality of respective scaling factors to generate a processed warped image and transmitting the processed warped image) ; warp second source image data from the input image space to the display image space, generating the second image data (Eble- ¶0045, at least discloses receiving a warped image representing simulated reality (SR) content to be displayed in a display space , the warped image having a plurality of pixels at respective locations uniformly spaced in a grid pattern in a warped space, wherein the plurality of pixels are respectively associated with a plurality of respective pixel values and a plurality of respective scaling factors indicating a plurality of respective resolutions at a plurality of respective locations in the display space. The method includes processing the warped image in the warped space based on the plurality of respective scaling factors to generate a processed warped image and transmitting the processed warped image) ; or both. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang to incorporate the teachings of Eble, and apply receiving a warped image representing simulated reality (SR) content to be displayed in a display space into Kang’s teaching in order to warp first source image data from the input image space to the display image space, generating the first image data; warp second source image data from the input image space to the display image space, generating the second image data; or both. Doing so would rendering images for simulated reality with a varying amount of detail. Regarding claim 3 , Kang in view of Eble, discloses the system of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the display image space is configured to compensate for a lensing effect associated with the electronic display (Eble- ¶0059, at least discloses The display module 230 includes a lens compensation module 232 that compensates for distortion caused by an eyepiece 242 of the HMD. For example, in various implementations, the lens compensation module 232 predistorts the decompressed image in an inverse relationship to the distortion caused by the eyepiece 242 such that the displayed image, when viewed through the eyepiece 242 by a user 250, appears undistorted; ¶0209, at least discloses The method 2000 continues at block 2020 with the display module generating, based on the warped image (particularly, the plurality of respective pixels values thereof), the plurality of respective scaling factors, and a distortion function describing distortion caused by an eyepiece, a lens-compensated warped image that is a version of the warped image distorted in an inverse relationship to the distortion caused by the eyepiece) , and wherein the blended image data is not warped after the blend operation before being displayed via the electronic display (Eble- ¶0209, at least discloses the lens-compensated warped image, when viewed by a user on a display panel (possibly unwarped after lens-compensation) through the eyepiece, appears undistorted) . 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim s 6-7, 10-11, 13, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Da Silva Quelhas et al. (“ Quelhas ”) [US-2020/0410642-A1] Regarding claim 6 , Kang discloses the system of claim 4, and does not explicitly disclose, but Quelhas discloses wherein the transparency factor comprises a per-pixel transparency weighting associated with the first image data (Quelhas- ¶0044, at least discloses the image combining unit 346 is configured to generate, for a particular pixel of an image, a combined pixel value as a weighted average of a real pixel value and a virtual pixel value, the weighting being based on at least one of a first alpha and a second alpha ; ¶0093, at least discloses The method 1000 continues, at block 1050, with the HMD generating, for the particular pixel, a combined pixel value as a weighted average of the real pixel value and the virtual pixel value, the weighting being based on at least one of the first alpha and the second alpha; ¶0073, at least discloses The pixel value includes a transparency value (e.g., an alpha) for the particular pixel of the VR image) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang to incorporate the teachings of Quelhas, and apply the pixel value as a weighted average and weighting based on the alpha into Kang’s teachings in order the transparency factor comprises a per-pixel transparency weighting associated with the first image data. Doing so would combine images for augmented reality or mixed reality providing video see-through. Regarding claim 7 , Kang discloses the system of claim 1, and does not explicitly disclose, but Quelhas discloses wherein the blend operation comprises generating matting data based on the second image data, wherein the matting data is indicative of a first portion of the second image data to be included in the second layer of the blend operation and a second portion of the second image data to be included in a third layer of the blend operation (Quelhas- ¶0019-0020, at least disclose In order to present the virtual objects in the foreground or background of the scene, blending of real image data and virtual image data is performed based on an alpha matting […] the matting is performed on streaming data such that the representation of the scene is presented in near real-time; ¶0072, at least discloses The matte alpha generator 943 generates, based on the real image and the upscaled matting parameters matrix, a matte alpha matrix . The matte alpha matrix includes a matrix of pixels, each having a corresponding pixel value (a matte alpha) […] the matte alpha is constrained (and/or scaled) between 0 and 1, where 0 indicates complete transparency and 1 indicates complete opacity) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang to incorporate the teachings of Quelhas, and apply the alpha matting and matte alpha into performing the blend operation, as taught by Kang for the blend operation comprises generating matting data based on the second image data, wherein the matting data is indicative of a first portion of the second image data to be included in the second layer of the blend operation and a second portion of the second image data to be included in a third layer of the blend operation. The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 6 applies equally to this claim. Regarding claim 10 , Kang discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first image data comprises digitally rendered content (Kang- 0009, at least discloses an electronic device may include a processing engine, a memory, and a plane circuit. The processing engine may render first alpha data values and first pixel data values for a first frame of a target display region and may render second alpha data values and second pixel data values for a second frame of the target display region; 0044, at least discloses The graphic processing engine 121 may perform rendering of an image to be displayed by the panel 130 in response to the command signal CMD2. For example, the graphic processing engine 121 may output the signal RDAT to render images displayed by the panel 130) and does not explicitly disclose, but Quelhas discloses the second image data comprises camera-captured content (Quelhas- 0085, at least discloses the real pixel value is a pixel value of a real image based on, derived from, or a transform of a camera image of a scene captured by a camera . For example, in various implementations, obtaining the real pixel value includes capturing, via a camera, a camera image and transforming the camera image into a real image, the real image having, for the particular pixel, the real pixel value) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang to incorporate the teachings of Quelhas, and apply the camera image of a scene captured by a camera into Kang’s teachings in order the first image data comprises digitally rendered content and the second image data comprises camera-captured content a second portion of the second image data to be included in a third layer of the blend operation. The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 6 applies equally to this claim. Regarding claim 11 , Kang discloses image processing circuitry (Kang- 0009, at least discloses an electronic device may include a processing engine, a memory, and a plane circuit ; 0034, at least discloses the panel 130 may include a pixel array including a plurality of pixels and a driver circuit for operating the pixel array […] The driver circuit of the panel 130 may include various types of electronic circuits for an operation of the pixel array; Fig. 2 and 0039, at least discloses each of the graphic processing engine 121, the memory 122, the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n , and the graphic blender 124 may be implemented with a hardware circuit (e.g., an analog circuit and a logic circuit) to perform operations) configured to: obtain first image data corresponding to first image content (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0052, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn. Each of the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may generate an image layer [first image content] based on image data. Each of the image layers may have transparency corresponding to alpha data and a pixel value [first image data corresponding to first image content]. For example, corresponding transparency may refer to a brightness value or an RGB color value; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer […] the first image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_1 , and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) ; obtain alpha data indicative of a transparency factor to be applied to the first image data to generate a first layer of a blend operation (Kang- ¶0048, at least discloses Image data of each of the signals BDAT1 to BDATn may include alpha data associated with the transparency of an image and pixel data associated with physical values of the image [obtain alpha data indicative of a transparency factor]. The alpha data and the pixel data may constitute one data block; Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0052, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn. Each of the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may generate an image layer [a first layer] based on image data. Each of the image layers may have transparency corresponding to alpha data and a pixel value. For example, corresponding transparency may refer to a brightness value or an RGB color value. The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 [the blend operation]; ¶0069, at least discloses The graphic plane block 123 may analyze alpha data values included in a data burst of the image data “ first BDAT ” [first image data]. In a specification, a reference value of alpha data may correspond to a maximum value of the transparency of an image to be displayed by the panel 130. For example, in a case where the alpha data are expressed by 8 bits, the alpha data may have one of values from “0” to “255” . In a case where an alpha data value of “0” indicates the highest transparency and an alpha data value of “255” indicates the lowest transparency , the reference value of the alpha data may be “0” [alpha data indicative of a transparency factor]; ¶0093, at least discloses the pixel data PDAT may be associated with brightness values of an image layer , and the alpha data ADAT may be associated with transparency of an image layer [obtain alpha data indicative of a transparency factor to be applied to the first image data to generate a first layer of a blend operation]; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer […] the first image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_1 [generate a first layer], and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) ; obtain second image data corresponding to second image content different from the first image content (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0053, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn […] The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 [the blend operation] […] The graphic blender 124 may receive the signals LDAT1 to LDATn from the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer, and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 may correspond to a second image layer […] and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2 [second image data corresponding to second image content]) , wherein a second layer of the blend operation is based on the second image data (Kang- ¶0063, at least discloses The image data “first BDAT” and the image data “second BDAT” may be respectively associated with images of different frames, which are to be displayed by a certain display region of the panel 130; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer, and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 may correspond to a second image layer [a second layer of the blend operation is based on the second image data]. In priorities of a display operation, the priority of the first image layer may be higher than the priority of the second image layer […] the first image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_1, and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) ; and perform the blend operation to generate blended image data at least in part by combining the first image data and the second image data such that the blended image data corresponds to third image content comprising at least a portion of the first image content and at least a portion of the second image content (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0053, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn […] The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 [the blend operation] […] The graphic blender 124 may receive the signals LDAT1 to LDATn from the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n. The graphic blender 124 may obtain image layers based on the signals LDAT1 to LDATn. The graphic blender 124 may blend the obtained image layers [perform the blend operation to generate blended image data at least in part by combining the first image data and the second image data such that the blended image] […] The graphic blender 124 may generate image data indicating a combined image [the blended image data corresponds to third image content]. The graphic blender 124 may output the signal IDAT indicating image data of the combined image to the panel 130; ¶0088, at least discloses the graphic blender 124 may generate image data by sorting the first image layer to the n-th image layer [the blended image data corresponds to third image content] according to a sorting order, and blending image layers in the sorting order; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer, and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 [a portion of the first image content and at least a portion of the second image content] may correspond to a second image layer […] and the second image layer [second layer of the blend operation] may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) , wherein combining the first image data and the second image data comprises a weighted summation of pixel values of the first image data and corresponding pixel values of the second image data based on the alpha data . Kang does not explicitly disclose combining the first image data and the second image data comprises a weighted summation of pixel values of the first image data and corresponding pixel values of the second image data based on the alpha data. However, Quelhas discloses a weighted summation of pixel values of the first image data and corresponding pixel values of the second image data based on the alpha data (Quelhas- ¶0016, at least discloses generating, for the particular pixel of the image, a combined pixel value as a weighted average of the real pixel value and the virtual pixel value, the weighting being based on at least one of the first alpha and the second alpha ; ¶0044, at least discloses the image combining unit 346 is configured to generate, for a particular pixel of an image, a combined pixel value as a weighted average of a real pixel value and a virtual pixel value, the weighting being based on at least one of a first alpha and a second alpha […] the data obtaining unit 342 is configured to obtain, for the particular pixel of the image , the first alpha, the second alpha, the real pixel value, and the virtual pixel value; ¶0081, at least discloses For a particular pixel of the combined image, the image combiner determines the pixel value as sum of the pixel values of the corresponding pixels of the real image and the virtual image, weighted by the combined alpha [weighted summation of pixel values]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang to incorporate the teachings of Quelhas, and apply the sum of the pixel values of the corresponding pixels into performing the blend operation, as taught by Kang in order to perform the blend operation to generate blended image data at least in part by combining the first image data and the second image data such that the blended image data corresponds to third image content comprising at least a portion of the first image content and at least a portion of the second image content, wherein combining the first image data and the second image data comprises a weighted summation of pixel values of the first image data and corresponding pixel values of the second image data based on the alpha data. Doing so would combine images for augmented reality or mixed reality providing video see-through. Regarding claim 13 , Kang in view of Quelhas, discloses the image processing circuitry of claim 11, and further discloses wherein the image processing circuitry is configured to generate second alpha data based on the second image data (Kang- ¶0009, at least discloses The memory may output the first alpha data values and the first pixel data values in response to a first request signal and may output the second alpha data values and the second pixel data values in response to a second request signal; ¶0016, at least discloses The first alpha data value, the first pixel data value, the second alpha data value , and the second pixel data value may be output in response to one request signal.) that, when applied to the second image data, differentiates a first portion of the second image content to be included in the second layer of the blend operation and a second portion of the second image content to be included in a third layer of the blend operation (Kang- ¶0110, at least discloses an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer, and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 may correspond to a second image layer. In priorities of a display operation, the priority of the first image layer may be higher than the priority of the second image layer) such that, when combined via the weighted summation (Quelhas- ¶0016, at least discloses generating, for the particular pixel of the image, a combined pixel value as a weighted average of the real pixel value and the virtual pixel value, the weighting being based on at least one of the first alpha and the second alpha; ¶0044, at least discloses the image combining unit 346 is configured to generate, for a particular pixel of an image, a combined pixel value as a weighted average of a real pixel value and a virtual pixel value, the weighting being based on at least one of a first alpha and a second alpha […] the data obtaining unit 342 is configured to obtain, for the particular pixel of the image, the first alpha, the second alpha, the real pixel value, and the virtual pixel value; ¶0081, at least discloses For a particular pixel of the combined image, the image combiner determines the pixel value as sum of the pixel values of the corresponding pixels of the real image and the virtual image, weighted by the combined alpha [weighted summation]) , the third image content depicts the first image content between the first portion of the second image content and the second portion of the second image content (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0053, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn […] The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 […] The graphic blender 124 may obtain image layers based on the signals LDAT1 to LDATn. The graphic blender 124 may blend the obtained image layers […] The graphic blender 124 may generate image data indicating a combined image [third image content]; ¶0088, at least discloses the graphic blender 124 may generate image data by sorting the first image layer to the n-th image layer [third image content] according to a sorting order, and blending image layers in the sorting order; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer, and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 may correspond to a second image layer […] and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang to incorporate the teachings of Quelhas, and apply the sum of the pixel values of the corresponding pixels into Kang’s teachings in order the image processing circuitry is configured to generate second alpha data based on the second image data that, when applied to the second image data, differentiates a first portion of the second image content to be included in the second layer of the blend operation and a second portion of the second image content to be included in a third layer of the blend operation such that, when combined via the weighted summation, the third image content depicts the first image content between the first portion of the second image content and the second portion of the second image content. The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 11 applies equally to this claim. Regarding claim 17 , Kang discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations or to control image processing circuitry to perform the operations (Kang- Fig. 1 and ¶0028-0032, at least disclose The main processor 110 may control/manage operations of the components of the electronic device 100. For example, the main processor 110 may be implemented with a general-purpose processor, a special-purpose processor, or an application processor; Fig. 2 and ¶0037-0047, at least disclose the display driver 120 may include a graphic processing engine 121 , a memory 122 , graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, and a graphic blender 124 […] the graphic processing engine 121, the memory 122, the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, and the graphic blender 124 may be executed by one of various types of processing devices such as a general-purpose processor, a workstation processor, or an application processor […] The memory 122 may receive the command signal CMD1 from the main processor 110 . The memory 122 may store data of a command generated by the main processor 110 based on the command signal CMD1. The memory 122 may generate a command signal CMD2 indicating the data of the command transferred from the main processor 110. The memory 122 may output the command signal CMD2 to the graphic processing engine 121) , wherein the operations comprise: receiving first image data corresponding to first image content (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0052, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn. Each of the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may generate an image layer [first image content] based on image data. Each of the image layers may have transparency corresponding to alpha data and a pixel value [receiving first image data corresponding to first image content]. For example, corresponding transparency may refer to a brightness value or an RGB color value; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer […] the first image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_1 , and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) ; generating matting data indicative of a portion of the first image content to be included in a first layer of a blend operation; receiving second image data corresponding to second image content to be included in a second layer of the blend operation (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0053, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn […] The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 [the blend operation] […] The graphic blender 124 may receive the signals LDAT1 to LDATn from the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer, and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 may correspond to a second image layer […] and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2 [second image data corresponding to second image content]) ; and performing the blend operation at least in part by combining the first layer and the second layer (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0053, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn […] The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 [the blend operation] […] The graphic blender 124 may receive the signals LDAT1 to LDATn from the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n. The graphic blender 124 may obtain image layers based on the signals LDAT1 to LDATn. The graphic blender 124 may blend the obtained image layers [performing the blend operation at least in part by combining the first layer and the second layer] […] The graphic blender 124 may generate image data indicating a combined image . The graphic blender 124 may output the signal IDAT indicating image data of the combined image to the panel 130; ¶0088, at least discloses the graphic blender 124 may generate image data by sorting the first image layer to the n-th image layer according to a sorting order, and blending image layers in the sorting order; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer , and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 may correspond to a second image layer […] and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2) , wherein combining the first layer and the second layer comprises a weighted summation of first pixel values of the first image data and second pixel values of the second image data based on the matting data (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0053, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn […] The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 […] The graphic blender 124 may receive the signals LDAT1 to LDATn from the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n. The graphic blender 124 may obtain image layers based on the signals LDAT1 to LDATn. The graphic blender 124 may blend the obtained image layers […] The graphic blender 124 may generate image data indicating a combined image ; ¶0088, at least discloses the graphic blender 124 may generate image data by sorting the first image layer to the n-th image layer according to a sorting order, and blending image layers in the sorting order; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer, and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 may correspond to a second image layer ) . Kang does not explicitly disclose generating matting data indicative of a portion of the first image content to be included in a first layer of a blend operation; combining the first layer and the second layer comprises a weighted summation of first pixel values of the first image data and second pixel values of the second image data based on the matting data. However, Quelhas discloses generating matting data indicative of a portion of the first image content to be included in a first layer of a blend operation (Quelhas- ¶0019-0020, at least disclose In order to present the virtual objects in the foreground or background of the scene, blending of real image data and virtual image data is performed based on an alpha matting […] the matting is performed on streaming data such that the representation of the scene is presented in near real-time; ¶0072, at least discloses The matte alpha generator 943 generates, based on the real image and the upscaled matting parameters matrix, a matte alpha matrix . The matte alpha matrix includes a matrix of pixels, each having a corresponding pixel value (a matte alpha) […] the matte alpha is constrained (and/or scaled) between 0 and 1, where 0 indicates complete transparency and 1 indicates complete opacity) ; a weighted summation of first pixel values of the first image data and second pixel values of the second image data based on the matting data (Quelhas- ¶0016, at least discloses generating, for the particular pixel of the image, a combined pixel value as a weighted average of the real pixel value and the virtual pixel value, the weighting being based on at least one of the first alpha and the second alpha ; ¶0019-0020, at least disclose In order to present the virtual objects in the foreground or background of the scene, blending of real image data and virtual image data is performed based on an alpha matting […] the matting is performed on streaming data such that the representation of the scene is presented in near real-time; ¶0044, at least discloses the image combining unit 346 is configured to generate, for a particular pixel of an image, a combined pixel value as a weighted average of a real pixel value and a virtual pixel value, the weighting being based on at least one of a first alpha and a second alpha […] the data obtaining unit 342 is configured to obtain, for the particular pixel of the image , the first alpha, the second alpha, the real pixel value, and the virtual pixel value; ¶0072, at least discloses for a particular pixel, the matte alpha generator 943 generates the pixel value as a sum of the color component pixel values of the particular pixel of the real image weighted by respective color component parameters of the upsampled matting parameter image (with an offset, b). For example, in various implementations, the pixel value is arR+agG+abB+b, where R, G, and B, are red, green, and blue color component values of the particular pixel of the real image and ar, ag, ab, and b are the matting parameters of the particular pixel of the upscaled matting parameters matrix. In one embodiment, the matte alpha matrix is 2800×2500 (e.g., the same size as the real image and/or the upscaled matting parameters matrix). In various implementations, the matte alpha is constrained (and/or scaled) between 0 and 1, where 0 indicates complete transparency and 1 indicates complete opacity; ¶0081, at least discloses For a particular pixel of the combined image, the image combiner determines the pixel value as sum of the pixel values of the corresponding pixels of the real image and the virtual image, weighted by the combined alpha [weighted summation]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang to incorporate the teachings of Quelhas, and apply the sum of the pixel values of the corresponding pixels and matte alpha into performing the blend operation, as taught by Kang for generating matting data indicative of a portion of the first image content to be included in a first layer of a blend operation; performing the blend operation at least in part by combining the first layer and the second layer, wherein combining the first layer and the second layer comprises a weighted summation of first pixel values of the first image data and second pixel values of the second image data based on the matting data Doing so would combine images for augmented reality or mixed reality providing video see-through. Regarding claim 20 , Kang in view of Quelhas, discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, and further discloses wherein the first image data comprises captured image content of a real-time camera feed (Quelhas- 0085, at least discloses the real pixel value is a pixel value of a real image based on, derived from, or a transform of a camera image of a scene captured by a camera . For example, in various implementations, obtaining the real pixel value includes capturing, via a camera, a camera image and transforming the camera image into a real image, the real image having, for the particular pixel, the real pixel value) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang to incorporate the teachings of Quelhas, and apply the camera image of a scene captured by a camera into Kang’s teachings in order the first image data comprises captured image content of a real-time camera feed. The same motivation that was utilized in the rejection of claim 17 applies equally to this claim . 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Da Silva Quelhas et al. (“ Quelhas ”) [US-2020/0410642-A1], further in view of Eble et al. (“ Eble ”) [US-2021/0142443-A1] Regarding claim 12 , Kang in view of Quelhas, discloses the image processing circuitry of claim 11, and further discloses wherein the image processing circuitry is configured to receive input image data corresponding to the second image data (Kang- Fig. 2 and ¶0051-0053, at least disclose The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n, respectively, may obtain image data corresponding to image layers based on the signals BDAT1 to BDATn […] The graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n may respectively output signals LDAT1 to LDATn indicating the image layers to the graphic blender 124 [the blend operation] […] The graphic blender 124 may receive the signals LDAT1 to LDATn from the graphic plane blocks 123_1 to 123_n; Fig. 2 and ¶0110-0111, at least disclose an image of the first region DA1 may correspond to a first image layer, and an image of the remaining region of the display region DAR other than the first region DA1 may correspond to a second image layer […] and the second image layer may be generated by the graphic plane block 123_2 [second image data corresponding to second image content]) and does not explicitly disclose, but Eble discloses warp the input image data to a common image space of the first image data to generate the second image data (Eble- ¶0045, at least discloses receiving a warped image representing simulated reality (SR) content to be displayed in a display space , the warped image having a plurality of pixels at respective locations uniformly spaced in a grid pattern in a warped space, wherein the plurality of pixels are respectively associated with a plurality of respective pixel values and a plurality of respective scaling factors indicating a plurality of respective resolutions at a plurality of respective locations in the display space. The method includes processing the warped image in the warped space based on the plurality of respective scaling factors to generate a processed warped image and transmitting the processed warped image) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang/Quelhas to incorporate the teachings of Eble, and apply receiving a warped image representing simulated reality (SR) content to be displayed in a display space into Kang/Quelhas’s teaching in order the image processing circuitry is configured to receive input image data corresponding to the second image data and warp the input image data to a common image space of the first image data to generate the second image data. Doing so would rendering images for simulated reality with a varying amount of detail . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 9. Claims 5, 8, 14-16 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA 10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 5 , the combination of prior arts teaches the method of Claim 1. However in the context of claim 1, 4 and 5 as a whole, the combination of prior arts does not teach the first pixel values, the second pixel values, or both comprise negative pixel values. Therefore, Claim 5 in the context of claim 1, 4 as a whole does comprise allowable subject matter. Regarding Claim 8 , the combination of prior arts teaches the method of Claim 1. However in the context of claim 1, 7 and 8 as a whole, the combination of prior arts does not teach the blend operation comprises overlaying the third layer onto the first layer and the second layer, wherein overlaying the third layer onto the first layer and the second layer comprises using pixel values of the second portion of the second image data as the blended image data at pixel locations associated with the third layer. Therefore, Claim 8 in the context of claim 1, 7 as a whole does comprise allowable subject matter. Regarding Claim 14 , the combination of prior arts teaches the method of Claim 11. However in the context of claim 11 and 14 as a whole, the combination of prior arts does not teach the first image data comprises positive pixel values and negative pixel values, wherein the transparency factor is different for the positive pixel values and the negative pixel values. Therefore, Claim 14 in the context of claim 11 as a whole does comprise allowable subject matter. The dependent claims 15-16 depend directly or indirectly from Claim 14, and therefore also contain allowable subject matter. Regarding Claim 18 , the combination of prior arts teaches the method of Claim 17. However in the context of claim 17 and 18 as a whole, the combination of prior arts does not teach combining the matting data and the first image data to generate matting alpha data comprising transparency information that designates the portion of the first image data as opaque; and generating alpha data indicative of a transparency factor corresponding to portions of the second image data to be included in the second layer, wherein the weighted summation is based on the matting alpha data and the alpha data. Therefore, Claim 18 in the context of claim 17 as a whole does comprise allowable subject matter. The dependent claim 19 depend directly or indirectly from Claim 17, and therefore also contain allowable subject matter . Conclusion 07-96 AIA 11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. They are as recited in the attached PTO-892 form . 12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL LE whose telephone number is (571)272-5330. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kent Chang can be reached at (571) 272-7667. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 2 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 3 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 4 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 5 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 6 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 7 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 8 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 9 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 10 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 11 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 12 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 13 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 14 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 15 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 16 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 17 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 18 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 19 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 20 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 21 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 22 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 23 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 24 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 25 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 26 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 27 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 28 Art Unit: 2614 Application/Control Number: 18/799,821 Page 29 Art Unit: 2614