DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claim 20) in the reply filed on 8/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/21/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Figure 5 does not include reference sign “516” mentioned in the specification at [0098].
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Figure 1A includes reference signs 103 and 113 which are not described in the specification.
Figure 1B includes reference sign 113 which is not described in the specification.
Figure 7 includes reference sign 700 which is not described in the specification.
[0040] recites “disease, disorder, or condition on set in a prophylactic manner to inhibit or slow down onset or subsequent progression” instead of “onset”.
Paragraphs 0010 and 0015; 0012 and 0017; 0013 and 0018; and 0014 and 0019 appear to be duplicates.
Appropriate correction is required.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. US 2022/0047777 A1 (published 2/17/2022, cited on the 6/24/2025 IDS).
Zhang teaches a method of reducing a risk of an adverse effect associated with implanting a medical device in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising: inserting the medical device to be implanted into the subject into an encasement structure, the encasement structure comprising at least one sheet comprising a bioscaffold material, the at least one sheet configured to define an internal region that is sized and shaped to hold the medical device therein; applying one or more depots to the encasement structure to form an encased medical device; and implanting the encased medical device into the subject [claim 62].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn et al. US 2013/0144356 A1 (published 6/6/2013, cited on the 6/24/2025 IDS).
Horn teaches a method of treating a patient comprising placing an implantable pocket structure comprising remodelable extracellular matrix (ECM) sheet material (reads on bioscaffold material), which provides an initial pocket structure for receipt of an implantable electronic medical device (reads on encasement structure), into a body location [0011]. An implantable electronic medical device is placed in the initial pocket structure [0011]. Figure 2A depicts an exemplary implantable pocket with top and bottom sheets comprising of harvested remodelable ECM material. An implantable electronic device is positioned between the two sheets, and peripheral regions of the respective sheets are fused together to fully contain the device between the two sheets [0033]. The device is shown to fit snugly between the sheets with some void space in the interior of the pocket [0033] (reads on sheet configured to define an internal region sized and shaped to hold the medical device). The implantable pocket structure may further comprise additional materials or substances that are introduced into the void spaces of the construct and/or into the bioscaffold material prior to competing the implantation procedures [0030]. These may include therapeutic/drug agents [0030]. Drug agents may be incorporated into a bioabsorbable polymer incorporated within or coated on the ECM material of the pocket construct [0040] (reads on depots, see instant specification paragraphs 0018; 0020).
Horn teaches that the remodelable ECM material retains some native collagen microarchitecture of the source extracellular matrix, which provides a scaffold to facilitate and support tissue ingrowth following implantation [0024]. This leads to the regeneration of a newly-remodeled, functional tissue structure providing a pocket-like structure around the implantable medical device [0024]. Horn further teaches that the newly generated functional tissue structure reduces adverse effects such as encapsulation of the medical device in non-functional, rigid, fibrotic scar tissue, which can deform the device and cause irritation and discomfort to the patient [0025].
Double Patenting
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,514,958 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite a method of reducing a risk of an adverse effect associated with implanting a medical device in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising inserting the medical device into an encasement structure to form an encased medical device, the encasement structure comprising: at least one sheet comprising a bioscaffold material, the at least one sheet configured to define an internal region that is sized and shaped to hold the medical device therein, depots associated with the encasement structure; and implanting the encased medical device into the subject.
Claim 20 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/902,069 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to an implantable medical product comprising bioabsorbable material, configured with an internal region or cavity to encase a medical device therein. The reference claims teach that the encasement structure reduces biological responses (i.e. adverse effects) associated with conventionally implanted medical devices when implanted into a mammalian body; thus, it would be obvious to use the reference invention in a method for that purpose.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/AMANDA LYNN CHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613