1. This communication in response to application filed 09/20/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed after the filing date of the instant application on March 05, 2004. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12 and 15-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (Pub.No.: 2021/0366456 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches an apparatus (reads on display apparatus 10, see [0057], [0249] and [0250]), comprising:
a vibration member (reads on display panel 100 [0057-0058] and Figs. 12C and 12D, configured to display image, see [0250]);
a vibration apparatus configured to vibrate the vibration member (a vibration generating device at a rear surface of the display to vibrate the display panel, see [0250]);
a supporting member disposed at a rear surface of the vibration apparatus and the vibration member (reads on the supporting member at the rear surface of the display panel, see [0250] also Figs. 1, 12C and 12D), wherein the supporting member includes a hole region overlapping the vibration apparatus (reads on supporting member may include a first hole corresponding to the vibration generating device, see [0250] and [0261]);
an enclosure disposed between the vibration member and the supporting member and surrounding the vibration apparatus (reads on partition 600... maybe an air gap... a sound box... and enclosure... surrounding the vibration generating device, see [0197] and [0180]); and
a pad member disposed between the vibration apparatus (note that adhesive layers ...disposed between vibration generating devices and layers, see [0179] and [0180]),
wherein the pad member is connected to one or more of the rear surface of the vibration apparatus and the supporting member (reads on adhesive layer ... may be connected ...to surfaces of the vibration generating devices, see [0179] and [0180]).
Note that Jeong teaches adhesive layers between components, but it does not explicitly tie adhesive to hole region of the supporting member
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose an adhesive layer (pad member) between the vibration generating device and the hole region of the supporting member, as taught by the adhesive layer arrangements in [0179]-[0180] in order to secure components and maintain structural stability around openings corresponding to the vibration generating device.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong teaches wherein the pad member contacts the rear surface of the vibration apparatus (reads on the first adhesive layer 270 may be disposed on the first surface of each of the plurality of vibration generating devices and the second adhesive layer 280 may be disposed on the second surface, see [0177] and [0178]).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong teaches
a first adhesive member disposed between the pad member and the supporting member (reads on the first adhesive layer 270 may be disposed on the first surface ... and coupled to ... layers, see discussion [0177] and [0179]); and
a second adhesive disposed member between the pad member and the rear surface of the vibration apparatus (reads on the second adhesive layer 280 may be disposed on the second surface ...of the plurality of vibration generating devise, see [0178] and [0179]).
Regarding claim 4, Jeong teaches wherein the enclosure comprises a polygonal ring shape or a circular ring shape surrounding the vibration apparatus and the hole region (reads on partition 610 may have a rectangular shape ... or a circular shape... surrounding the vibration generating device, see [0201]), wherein the polygonal ring shape comprises a plurality of internal angles (reads on rectangular shape... square shape, see [0201]). Note that Jeong does not specifically teach “wherein each of the plurality of internal angles is an obtuse angle” as recited in claim 4, however it would have been obvious to modify the polygonal shape (e.g., rectangular) to include obtuse internal angles as a design choice of the enclosure/partition geometry for acoustic tuning or structural variation.
Regarding claim 5, Jeong teaches wherein the hole region comprises a plurality of holes disposed to have a predetermined interval (reads on the first hole...second hole...disposed at a first region...second region... number of holes and arrangement, see [0253]-[0255]). Jeong does not specifically teach “wherein the pad member covers one or more of the plurality of holes”, however an adhesive (pad member) to cover one or more holes to provide sealing, support or pressure control in the hole region corresponding to the vibration generating device.
Claim 6, recites “wherein the pad member comprises a plurality of pads spaced apart from one another, and wherein one or more of the plurality of pads cover one or more of the plurality of holes”. Note that Jeong teaches supporting member including a plurality of holes (see [0253]-[0255]) and adhesive layers disposed with respect to vibration generating devices (see [0177]-[0179]) which correspond to the claimed pad member. Jeong does not specifically teach “recites “wherein the pad member comprises a plurality of pads spaced apart from one another, and wherein one or more of the plurality of pads cover one or more of the plurality of holes”, yet, it is obvious to modify the adhesive layer to comprise a plurality of spaced pads and to position one or more of the pads to cover corresponding holes, as a matter of providing selective coverage , material efficiency and localized acoustic control in regions corresponding to the holes.
Regarding claim 7, Jeong teaches wherein a center portion of the vibration apparatus is disposed at a center portion of the hole region (reads on the first hole corresponding to the vibration generating device, see [0250] and [0251]).
Regarding claim 12, Jeong teaches wherein the enclosure comprises a polygonal ring shape or a circular ring shape surrounding the vibration apparatus and the hole region, wherein the polygonal ring shape comprises a plurality of internal angles (reads on partition rectangular/circular surrounding device, see [0201]).
Jeong does not specifically teach “wherein each of the plurality of internal angles is an obtuse angle”.
it would have been obvious for one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polygonal shape (e.g., rectangular) to include obtuse internal angles as a design choice of the enclosure/partition geometry for acoustic tuning or structural variation.
Regarding claim 15, Jeong teaches wherein the pad member includes a plastic material or a metal material (reads on adhesive layers...epoxy resin...acrylic resin... urethane resin, see [0180]).
Regarding claim 16, Jeong teaches wherein the vibration apparatus comprises a center portion including a center point and a periphery portion (see [0144]) surrounding the center portion, and wherein the pad member is disposed at the center portion of the vibration apparatus (adhesive layer disposed on surface regions of vibration generating device, see [0177]-[0179]).
Regarding claim 17, Jeong teaches wherein the pad member comprises a plurality of pads spaced apart from one another (reads on plurality of adhesive regions across multiple devices/areas, see [0143] and [0179]).
Regarding claim 18, Jeong teaches wherein the center portion of the vibration apparatus comprises
a first region including the center point, and a second region and a third region parallel to each other with the first region therebetween (reads on multiple regions A1, A2... and arrangement of vibration generating devices, see [0143]), and
wherein the number of pads at the first region is greater than or equal to the number of pads at each of the second region and the third region (reads on distribution of adhesive/vibration structures across regions, see [0143] and [0179]).
Regarding claim 19, Jeong teaches wherein the center portion of the vibration apparatus comprises:
a first vertical region including the center point (reads on multiple regions A1, A2... and arrangement of vibration generating devices, see [0143]);
a second vertical region at one side of the first vertical region (reads on multiple regions A1, A2... and arrangement of vibration generating devices, see [0143]); and
a third vertical region at another side of the first vertical region opposite to the one side of the first vertical region (reads on multiple regions A1, A2... and arrangement of vibration generating devices, see [0143]), and
wherein the number of pads at the first vertical region is greater than the number of pads at each of the second vertical region and the third vertical region (reads on distribution of adhesive/vibration structures, see [0179]).
Regarding claim 20, Jeong teaches wherein the center portion of the vibration apparatus comprises:
a first horizontal region including the center point (spatial arrangement along orthogonal directions, see [0143] and [0144]);
a second horizontal region at one side of the first horizontal region (spatial arrangement along orthogonal directions, see [0143] and [0144]); and
a third horizontal region at another side of the first horizontal region opposite to the one side of the first horizontal region (spatial arrangement along orthogonal directions, see [0143] and [0144]), and
wherein the number of pads at the first horizontal region is greater than or equal to the number of pads at each of the second horizontal region and the third horizontal region (see distribution of adhesive/vibration structures [0179]).
Regarding claim 21, Jeong teaches wherein the vibration member comprises a first region and a second region (reads on display panel ... divided into a first region A1 and a second region A2, see [0143] and [0145]), and
wherein the vibration apparatus comprises:
a first vibration apparatus configured to vibrate the first region of the vibration member (see first vibration generating device, discussion in [0143]); and
a second vibration apparatus configured to vibrate the second region of the vibration member (see second vibration generating device, discussion in [0143]).
Regarding claim 22, Jeong teaches wherein the hole region comprises: a first hole region (reads on holes 301 in A1 region, see Figs. 12C and 12D) having a size greater than a size of the first vibration apparatus (reads on plurality of holes span a region greater than the size 200, see Figs. 12C and 12D); and a second hole region (reads on holes 301 in A1 region, see Figs. 12C and 12D) having a size greater than a size of the second vibration apparatus (reads on plurality of holes span a region greater than the size 201, see Figs. 12C and 12D).
Regarding claim 23, Jeong teaches wherein the pad member comprises:
a plurality of first pad members spaced apart from one another between the first hole region and the first vibration apparatus (reads on the center of 201 and the center of AG1 rectangle are different, see Fig. 12C); and
a plurality of second pad members spaced apart from one another between the second hole region and the second vibration apparatus (reads on the center of 202 and the center of AG1 rectangle are different, see Fig. 12C.
Regarding claim 24, Jeong teaches wherein the enclosure comprises:
a first enclosure disposed between the vibration member and the supporting member to surround the first vibration apparatus and the first hole region (Partition ...disposed between the display panel and the supporting member...surrounding the vibration generating device, see [0197] and [0201]); and
a second enclosure disposed between the vibration member and the supporting member to surround the second vibration apparatus and the second hole region (the first vibration generating device disposed at first region A1... second vibration generating device disposed at second region A2...partition structures corresponding to regions, see [0143] and [0197]).
Regarding claim 25, Jeong teaches wherein the vibration apparatus comprises a vibration generating part (see vibration apparatus 200), and wherein the vibration generating part (see Figs. 3 or 9) comprises:
a first cover member (see element 250 in Fig. 3 or 9);
a second cover member (see element 260 in Fig. 3 or 9); and
a vibration part disposed between the first cover member and the second cover member, the vibration part including a piezoelectric material (see discussion [0091] and Fig. 3 or 9).
Regarding claim 26, Jeong teaches wherein the vibration part includes a plurality of first portions (element 210 in Fig. 3) and one or more second portions (element 220 in Fig. 3) disposed between the plurality of first portions (see Fig. 3),
wherein each of the plurality of first portions includes at least one or more of a piezoelectric inorganic material and a piezoelectric organic material (see [0080]), and wherein the one or more second portions include an organic material (see [0081]).
Regarding claim 27, Jeong teaches wherein the vibration generating part further comprises a signal supply member (PL1, see Fig. 9) electrically connected to the vibration part (PCL, See Fig. 9), and
wherein a portion of the signal supply member is accommodated between the first cover member (element 250, Fig. 9) and the second cover member (element 260, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 28, Jeong teaches wherein the vibration apparatus comprises: a plurality of vibration generators (reads on 210A -210D, see [0177]); and an adhesive member (reads on element 270) between the plurality of vibration generators (see Fig. 9 and [0177]).
Regarding claim 29, Jeong teaches wherein the vibration member (element 100) comprises a display panel (100) including a pixel configured to display an image (see [0060]).
Regarding claim 30, Jeong teaches wherein the vibration member (reads on element 900 instead of 100, see Fig. 14) comprises one or more materials of metal, plastic, fiber, leather, wood, cloth, rubber, carbon, glass, and paper (see [0245]).
Regarding claim 31, Jeong teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a vibration member configured to generate vibration or sound (reads on display panel generating a sound by vibration, see [0249]-[0250]);
a vibration apparatus configured to vibrate or sound the vibration member based on a displacement of the vibration member (reads on vibration generating device vibrates the display panel, see [0143] and [0192]);
a supporting member accommodating the vibration member and the vibration apparatus (reads on supporting member... at rear surface ...with vibration generating device, see [0143]);
a low-pitched sound band expander surrounding the vibration apparatus (reads on partition/air gap... surrounding the vibration generating device, see [0200]); and
a high-pitched sound band adjustor connecting the vibration apparatus and the supporting member (reads on adhesive layers...connecting vibration generating device and supporting structures, see [0179]-[0180]).
Jeong does not specifically teach the partition/air gap structure functions as “low-pitched sound band expander” configured to “optimizing a vibration region of the vibration member to increase a low-pitched sound band of the vibration apparatus” nor that the adhesive structure functions as “a high-pitched sound band adjustor” configured to “preventing the vibration of a center portion of the vibration apparatus to decrease a high-pitched sound band of the vibration apparatus”.
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the partition/air gap structure to define and optimize a vibration region for enhancing low-frequency characteristics, and to use the adhesive coupling to constrain vibration behavior, including reducing vibration at certain portions of the device, since controlling vibration distribution and frequency response is a recognized design consideration in vibration-based sound generating display devices.
Regarding claim 32, Jeong teaches a plurality of holes in the supporting member (reads on hole 31 and multiple holes arrangements in supporting member, see [0199] and [0253]-[0255]); and
a pad member connected to one or more of the rear surface of the vibration apparatus and the supporting member (reads on adhesive layers connecting vibration generating device to supporting member, see [0179]-[0180]).
Regarding claim 33, Jeong teaches wherein the pad member covers one or more of the plurality of holes (reads on first and second hole arrangement, number and distribution, see complete discussion [0253]-[0255]).
Regarding claim 34, Jeong teaches wherein the high-pitched sound band adjustor includes the pad member (reads on adhesive layer/pad structure controlling vibration behavior (frequency response control), see [0179]-[0180] and [0225]).
Regarding claim 35, Jeong teaches wherein the low-pitched sound band expander is between the vibration member and the supporting member (reads on partition air/gap disposed between display panel and supporting member, see [0200] and [0204]) and surrounds the vibration apparatus (reads on partition air/gap surrounding vibration generating device region, see [0200]) and the pad member (reads on adhesive/pad located within same region between panel and supporting member, see [0179]-[0180]).
Regarding claim 36, Jeong teaches wherein the high-pitched sound band adjustor includes a plastic material or a metal material (reads on adhesive layers...epoxy resin...acrylic resin... urethane resin, see [0180]).
Regarding claim 37, Jeong teaches wherein the low-pitched sound band expander is between the vibration member and the supporting member and comprises a polygonal ring shape or a circular ring shape surrounding the vibration apparatus (reads on enclosure/partition surrounding device (ring-like surrounding structure implied by surrounding configuration, see [0200]).
Claim 38 recites “wherein the polygonal ring shape comprises a plurality of internal angles”, note that Jeong teaches that part and it reads on partition rectangular/circular surrounding device (see [0201]).
However, Jeong does not specifically teach “wherein each of the plurality of internal angles is an obtuse angle”.
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polygonal shape (e.g., rectangular) to include obtuse internal angles as a design choice of the enclosure/partition geometry for acoustic tuning or structural variation.
Regarding claim 39, Jeong teaches wherein the vibration member (element 100) comprises a display panel (element 100) including a pixel configured to display an image (see [0060]).
Regarding claim 40, Jeong teaches wherein the vibration member (reads on element 900 instead of 100, see Fig. 14) comprises one or more materials of metal, plastic, fiber, leather, wood, cloth, rubber, carbon, glass, and paper (see [0245]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (Pub.No.: 2021/0366456 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Jeong teaches an apparatus (reads on display apparatus 10, see [0057], [0249] and [0250]), comprising:
a vibration member (reads on display member acting as vibration-generating structure, see [0143] and [0249]);
a supporting member disposed at a rear surface of the vibration member (reads on supporting member disposed at rear surface of display panel, see [0143] and [0249])), wherein the supporting member has a hole region (reads on first hole 301, formed in supporting member corresponding to vibration generating device, see [0143], [0199] and [0251]);
an enclosure providing a gap space between the vibration member and the hole region of the supporting member (partition/enclosure forming air gap AG between display panel and supporting structure, see [0197] and [0200]);
a vibration apparatus disposed at the gap space and configured to vibrate the vibration member (reads on vibration generating device disposed at rear surface/gap region to vibrate display panel, see [0143] and [0249]); and
a pad member disposed at the gap space (reads on adhesive layer/cushioning layer/pad-like member between vibration device and supporting structure, see [0179]-[0180]).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the pad member is connected to the hole region of the supporting member to support a center portion of the vibration apparatus (see [0179]).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong teaches wherein the pad member is connected to one or more of the rear surface of the vibration apparatus and the supporting member by an adhesive member (reads on adhesive layers connecting components, see [0177]-[0179]).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong teaches wherein the pad member is connected to one or more of the rear surface of the vibration apparatus and the supporting member by an adhesive member (reads on adhesive layers connecting components, see [0177]-[0179]).
Regarding claim 11, Jeong teaches further comprising:
a first adhesive member disposed between the pad member and the supporting member (adhesive layer disposed on first surface, see [0177]); and
a second adhesive member disposed between the pad member and the rear surface of the vibration apparatus (adhesive layer disposed on second surface, see [0178]).
Regarding claim 13, Jeong teaches wherein the hole region comprises a plurality of holes disposed to have a predetermined interval (reads on first and second hole arrangement, number and distribution, see complete discussion [0253]-[0255]), and wherein the pad member covers one or more of the plurality of holes (reads on adhesive layer disposed over corresponding regions, see [0179]).
Regarding claim 14, Jeong teaches wherein the pad member comprises a plurality of pads spaced apart from one another (reads on adhesive layers distributed across multiple vibration generating devices/regions, see [0143] and [0179]), and wherein one or more of the plurality of pads cover one or more of the plurality of holes (coverage of corresponding regions aligned with holes, see [0250] and [0179]).
Conclusion
/RASHA S AL AUBAIDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693