DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities: The preamble of the claims uses the claim terminology of “improved beverage cooling apparatus.” The preamble implies that there is an improvement wherein the apparatus. However, the applicant needs to amend the preamble of the claims to conform to the rules when an improvement of an apparatus is recited. See MPEP 1.75 Claim(s). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure is silent as to what materials are thermally conductive.
By virtue of dependency, claims 2-5 are also rejected.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “thermally conductive material,” however, the claims are silent as to what materials are thermally conductive or can be considered thermally conductive. The claim is therefore unclear and indefinite.
For purposes of examination, the term is broadly interpretated as any material limiting heat transfer. By virtue of dependency, claims 2-5 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 2017/0234610 A1) in view of Giattino et al. (6,123,226), hereafter referred to as “Giattino.”
Regarding Claim 1: Jones teaches an improved beverage cooling apparatus (10) comprising: a refrigeration source (paragraph [0005]); a cold plate heat exchanger block thermally connected to said refrigeration source (paragraph [0005]), wherein said refrigeration source (paragraph [0005]) cools said cold plate heat exchanger block; a track (channels created by 116g, Figure 5G or 124a, 124 in Figure 5F) composed of thermally conductive material (paragraph [0030]), having an input (14) and an output (22), in contact with said cold plate heat exchanger block (36) which traverses a serpentine path (see Figures 5F and 5G) across said cold plate heat exchanger block (36), such that at all points along the length of said track (paragraph [0024]), said track has a downward slope (see Figure 3), wherein said cold plate heat exchanger block (36) cools said track (paragraph [0024]), and wherein all liquid deposited at said input (14) passes along said track from said input to said output (paragraph [0024]).
Jones fails to teach a top housing which can be attached to said track to form a seal to contain liquid within said track during use, or removed to facilitate cleaning of said track.
Giattino teaches a top housing (40, 41) which can be attached to a track (21) to form a seal (via 43) to contain liquid within said track during use (functional limitation), or removed to facilitate cleaning of said track (functional limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a top housing which can be attached to said track to form a seal to contain liquid within said track during use, or removed to facilitate cleaning of said track to the structure of Jones as taught by Giattino in order to advantageously provide the ability to readily attach/detach beverage bottles to the apparatus (see Giattino, Column 3, lines 23-46).
Regarding Claim 2: Jones further teaches further comprising a main housing (30) forming a bottom and walls for the improved beverage cooling apparatus (10).
Regarding Claim 4: Jones fails to teach further comprising a top cap which is placed over said input, whereby the insulation for the improved beverage cooling apparatus is improved.
Giattino teaches a top cap (43) which is placed over an input 22, whereby insulation for an improved beverage cooling apparatus (10) is improved (functional limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a top cap which is placed over said input, whereby the insulation for the improved beverage cooling apparatus is improved to the structure of Jones as taught by Giattino in order to advantageously provide the control of the fluid flow over the plate (see Giattino, Column 3, lines 28-46).
Regarding Claim 5: Jones fails to teach further comprising said top housing having an insulating layer.
Giattino teaches a top housing (40) having an insulating layer (61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided said top housing having an insulating layer to the structure of Jones as taught by Giattino in order to advantageously provide the insulated glass to retain cooled air in the top housing (see Giattino, Column 5, lines 10-23).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 2017/0234610 A1) in view of Giattino et al. (6,123,226), hereafter referred to as “Giattino,” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hart (US 2004/0195262 A1).
Regarding Claim 3: Jones modified supra fails to teach further comprising an exit valve connected to said output which can be set either to allow fluid from the track to exit the improved beverage cooling apparatus or contain said fluid within the improved beverage cooling apparatus.
Hart teaches an exit valve (150) connected to an output (142, 149) which can be set either to allow fluid from a track (145) to exit an improved beverage cooling apparatus or contain said fluid within the improved beverage cooling apparatus (paragraphs [0027], [0033]-[0034], functional limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an exit valve connected to said output which can be set either to allow fluid from the track to exit the improved beverage cooling apparatus or contain said fluid within the improved beverage cooling apparatus to the structure of Jones modified supra as taught by Hart in order to advantageously control the flow fluid and the dispensing of the fluid (see Hart, paragraph [0033]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Luther (US 2010/0218517 A1).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763