Election/Restrictions
The applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1 (claims 1-2) in the reply filed on 31 March 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, “the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper”. Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
See [0005], which cites CN 115229203 A. This document is not listed in any information disclosure statement of record.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0001], “claims to the benefit of priority” should be replaced with “claims the benefit of priority”.
In [0010], “Each of the supports is provided with a motor bracket, a first sliding groove, and the second sliding groove, the motor bracket is fixedly connected to an upper side of one of the supports” is internally inconsistent, in that the motor bracket is first recited as being provided on each support and is then recited as being fixed to only one of the supports. Consistent with the moving device, which includes a single second stepper motor mounted on the motor bracket (see [0056]), “Each of the supports is provided with a motor bracket, a first sliding groove, and the second sliding groove” should be replaced with “Each of the supports is provided with a first sliding groove and the second sliding groove”.
In [0050], “Each of the supports 5 is provided with a motor bracket 501, a first sliding groove 502, and the second sliding groove 504” should be replaced with “Each of the supports 5 is provided with a first sliding groove 502 and the second sliding groove 504”, for the same reason provided above in connection with [0010].
In [0064], “After passing through the ultrasonic rolling device 7” should be replaced with “After passing through the ultrasonic rolling device 4”. Reference numeral 4 designates the ultrasonic rolling device. Reference numeral 7 designates the compaction device.
In [0065], “Theintegrated device” should be replaced with “The integrated device”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “the first powder scraper (705)” (first occurrence) should be replaced with “a first powder scraper (705)”, and “the second powder scraper (706)” (first occurrence) should be replaced with “a second powder scraper (706)”, to provide antecedent basis.
In claim 1, “the connecting rod (505)” should be replaced with “a connecting rod (505)”, to provide antecedent basis.
In claim 1, each occurrence of “the bearing (703)” should be replaced with “the bearings (703)” for consistency with “bearings (703)” as recited earlier in the claim, and the associated verbs should be conformed. For example, “the bearing (703) is sleeved at both ends of the compression roller (704)” should read “the bearings (703) are sleeved at both ends of the compression roller (704)”, consistent with [0058].
In claim 1, “the bearing groove for placing the bearing (703)” should be replaced with “the bearing grooves for placing the bearings (703)” for consistency with “bearing grooves” as recited earlier in the claim.
In claim 1, the second recitation of “a first lead screw nut(204)” should be replaced with “the first lead screw nut (204)”. The first lead screw nut (204) is introduced earlier in the claim, and the omitted space should be inserted.
In claim 1, “a 45 ° angle” should be replaced with “a 45° angle” to remove the extraneous space.
In claim 2, the second recitation of “the connecting rod protection shell” should be replaced with “the connecting rod protection shell (503)” for consistency with the other recitations of that element in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the working box (9)”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Beyond the lack of antecedent basis, it is unclear whether the working box (9) is a positively recited element of the claimed device. The preamble recites a device “comprising an integrated device of ultrasonic rolling and powder spreading (1) and a platform lifting device (2)”, which does not recite the working box (9). Claim 1 nonetheless requires that both of those elements be “arranged inside the working box (9)”, and further requires that “the powder collection box (2032) is fixedly connected to two sides of a bottom of the working box (9)”, which affirmatively recites a structural connection between a claimed element and the working box (9). One of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised with reasonable certainty whether the working box (9) falls within the scope of the claimed device. For purposes of examination, claim 1 is being interpreted as reciting “a working box (9)” as a positively recited element of the claimed device.
Claim 1 recites that “the gas reflux channel (307) is upward at a 45 ° angle”. It is unclear what reference plane or datum the recited 45-degree angle is measured from. Neither the claim nor the specification identifies the reference from which the angle is measured, and the recited angle would differ depending on whether it is measured from horizontal, from vertical, from the bottom surface of the feeding box (302), or from the adjacent wall of the powder channel (305). Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined. For purposes of examination, claim 1 is being interpreted as requiring that the gas reflux channel (307) extend upwardly at an angle of approximately 45 degrees measured from horizontal.
Claim 2 is rejected based on its dependency from claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites a number of elements designated as a “device” or a “unit”, including a “feeding device (3)”, an “ultrasonic rolling device (4)”, a “moving device (6)”, a “compaction device (7)”, a “platform lifting device (2)”, a “horizontal moving unit”, and a “vertical moving unit for driving a movement of the feeding device (3)”. These limitations are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because persons of ordinary skill in the art reading the specification would understand the terms to have a sufficiently definite meaning, and because claim 1 recites the structure that performs each recited function. See MPEP 2181(I)(A). For example, claim 1 recites that the vertical moving unit “comprises a first stepper motor (601), a second coupling (602), a second lead screw (603), and a second lead screw nut (604)”, and that the horizontal moving unit “comprises a second stepper motor (605), a third coupling (606), a third lead screw nut (607), and a third lead screw (608)”.
Claim 1 recites that “the ultrasonic rolling device (4) is located at a front end of the compaction device (7) in a direction of movement”. The claimed device is bi-directional, and the specification describes the ultrasonic rolling device (4) as being repositioned along the second sliding groove (504) upon each reversal of travel so that it leads the compaction device (7) in either direction. See [0062]. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as requiring that the ultrasonic rolling device (4) be positioned ahead of the compaction device (7) with respect to the direction in which the integrated device of ultrasonic rolling and powder spreading (1) is traveling at a given time, rather than as fixing the ultrasonic rolling device (4) to one particular side of the compaction device (7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0368054 ("Ng") in view of WO 2022/186704 ("Moodie"), KR 10-2363741 ("Bae"), US 2015/0054191 ("Ljungblad"), CN 113665116 ("Yuan"), US 2020/0215614 ("Jiang"), US 2020/0001364 ("Short"), CN 116160024 ("Huang '024"), CN 113953527 ("Zhang") (cited in an IDS), and CN 115042431 ("Huang '431").
Regarding claim 1, Ng discloses an integrated device of bi-directional ultrasonic rolling, powder spreading, and compaction for additive manufacturing (an apparatus for material dispensing and compaction in additive manufacturing, comprising a support, a first dispenser, a second dispenser, an energy source, and a controller coupled to each; see the Abstract and [0086]), comprising an integrated device of ultrasonic rolling and powder spreading (1) (the powder delivery system 132, which carries the main roller or blade 116, the secondary roller 118, and the dispensing array 122; see [0054] and [0078]) and a platform lifting device (2) (the support 142 carrying the fabrication powder bed 106; see [0038]), wherein the integrated device of ultrasonic rolling and powder spreading (1) is arranged above the platform lifting device (2) (the powder delivery system 132 is driven back and forth parallel to the top surface of the fabrication powder bed 106 in the direction indicated by arrow 134; see [0054]);
the integrated device of ultrasonic rolling and powder spreading (1) comprises a feeding device (3) (the dispensing array 122, which in one embodiment is integrated with the main roller 116 or with a secondary roller 118; see [0059]), a support (5) (the frame of the powder delivery system 132, supported on the rails 136a and 136b; see [0054]), a moving device (6) (the linear actuator 146 that drives the powder delivery system 132 along the rails, together with the motors 140a and 140b that rotate the rollers; see [0054]), and a compaction device (7) (the secondary roller 118, which compacts the dispensed powder particles; see [0078]), wherein the moving device (6) is located on one side of the feeding device (3) (the linear actuator 146 and the rails 136a and 136b are laterally offset from the dispensing array 122; see [0054]);
the first powder scraper (705) and the second powder scraper (706) are symmetrically arranged with respect to a compression roller (704) (the secondary rollers 318a and 318b are provided on both sides of the primary roller or blade 204, the dispensing arrays 308a and 308b are likewise provided on both sides, and the dispensing array for the second powder particles resides in between the secondary rollers; see [0065]);
the platform lifting device (2) comprises a printing platform (202) (the fabrication powder bed 106 carried on the support 142; see [0038]) and a powder collection device (203) located on both sides of the printing platform (202) (the powder delivery beds 102a and 102b positioned on both sides of the primary roller or blade 204; see [0038] and [0065]);
and the moving device (6) further comprises a sliding rail (613) fixedly connected to both sides of the platform lifting device (2), the support (5) being provided above the sliding rail (613) and connected thereto by a sliding block (614) movably clamped on the sliding rail (613) (the powder delivery system 132 is supported by the rails 136a and 136b positioned on either side and is driven along them by the linear actuator 146; see [0054]).
Ng further discloses that the compaction device (7) performs productive work in both directions of travel, and that the element performing work is the trailing element with respect to the current direction of travel (the apparatus dispenses the second powder particles using the dispensing array that trails the roller or blade, and compacts those particles using the trailing secondary roller 318a or 318b; see [0067] and [0068]), the apparatus then changing direction and repeating the sequence (see [0069]), such that a first layer is formed by pushing the first particles laterally with a first roller and compacting with a second roller while both move in a first direction, and a second layer is formed by pushing with the second roller and compacting with the first roller while both move in a second direction opposite the first (see the Abstract and [0086]).
Ng does not disclose the recited carriage drive train or the recited platform lifting drive train, namely the moving connecting plate (615) slidably connected to a polished shaft (609), the horizontal and vertical moving units each comprising a stepper motor, a coupling, a lead screw and a lead screw nut, the third stepper motor (610), synchronous wheels (611) and synchronous belt (612), or the first lead screw (205), first lead screw nut (204), first coupling (206) and servo motor (207) supporting the printing platform (202).
Moodie is directed to a bi-directional three-dimensional printer in which a print bar carries two roller spreaders, one on each side, that transfer build material to the build surface and spread it, and that may also compact the build layer as they spread. Moodie discloses that the print bar is moved using linear motion modules driven by lead screws, belts, or linear motors, that each lead screw includes a threaded rod rotated by a stepper motor, and that a slider comprising the nut of the lead screw and a mounting plate connects the nut to the print bar (see Figure 1 and the description of the linear motion modules and lead screws 170, stepper motors 172, and sliders 171; page 7, line 24 to page 8, line 10). Moodie further discloses that the build platform and the reservoir platforms move in the vertical direction by means of lead screws, each including a stepper motor and a threaded rod, and that the build platform is provided with guide rods to keep it horizontal as it is raised and lowered (see Figure 3 and the description of the lead screws 17, stepper motors 18, threaded rods 19, and guide rods 185; page 10, lines 8-19). Moodie further discloses overflow chutes at the ends of the printer that receive excess build material still being carried by the spreader as the print bar passes the end of the build surface (see Figures 1 and 2 and the description of the overflow chutes 4; page 7, lines 10-13 and page 9, lines 24-26), and that the rollers are mounted to their common mount, and the mount to the print bar, by roller bearings (see Figure 4 and the description of the mount 16 and pivot point 8; page 12, lines 5-28 and page 13, lines 5-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have driven Ng's powder delivery system along its rails, and to have raised and lowered Ng's fabrication powder bed, using the lead screw and stepper motor drive trains and the belt drive alternative taught by Moodie, and to have mounted Ng's rollers by way of roller bearings as taught by Moodie. Moodie teaches these drive trains and mountings for exactly the same tasks that Ng's apparatus performs, namely traversing a spreader carriage back and forth above a build surface and positioning a build platform in the height direction, and the substitution of one known linear drive train for another to obtain the predictable result of controlled linear positioning is a simple substitution of one known element for another. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
With respect to the particular number and arrangement of drive axes recited in claim 1, namely three stepper motors, two lead screw axes and one synchronous belt axis distributed among a horizontal moving unit, a vertical moving unit and a rail traverse, and with respect to the first and second sliding grooves (502, 504), the motor bracket (501) provided on one of the supports, the first connection hole (303), and the fixing holes (506, 507), the specification identifies no criticality for any of these particulars and describes no result attributable to the recited arrangement that is not equally obtained by any other arrangement of conventional linear drives and fastening features affording the same degrees of freedom. Accordingly, the particular number, placement and interconnection of these conventional drive and fastening elements would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). The first coupling (206) and the second and third couplings (602, 606) are likewise conventional means for joining a motor output shaft to a lead screw, and their inclusion for that purpose would have been obvious.
Ng as modified does not disclose the feeding device (3) comprising a negative pressure pump (301) connected to a top of a feeding box (302), a separation gate (304) horizontally inserted into the feeding box (302), a feeding port (308) provided on an upper side of the feeding box (302), a material storage box (309) installed on a storage box platform (201) and connected to the feeding port (308) through a feeding pipeline (310), a powder channel (305) located inside the feeding box (302), or an isolation plate (306) located inside the feeding box (302).
Bae is directed to a powder supply device for a three-dimensional printer and to a printer including the same. Bae identifies the problem that as the printer becomes larger in order to produce large products, the powder supply unit that drops powder material into the printing area of the work table is located at a high position, so that it is difficult for a worker to transport powder material to it (see [0004] of the provided translation), and that when a worker manually replenishes the powder supply unit the powder material is not formed evenly within its internal space but is formed unevenly to one side, which has a negative effect on the powder material falling in an accurate and consistent amount (see [0005]). To address this, Bae discloses a powder hopper (110), a vacuum generating unit (120) installed on one side of the powder hopper that supplies powder material from the outside by vacuuming it into the hopper (see [0035]), the vacuum generating unit including a vacuum generator (121) formed in a tubular shape with at least a portion of the lower side open and installed on the upper surface of the powder hopper (110), which forms a vacuum atmosphere inside and sucks in powder material from the outside (see [0036]), wherein air inside the vacuum generator (121) is continuously sucked in and discharged to the outside by a vacuum pump installed on one side of the vacuum generator so as to form the vacuum atmosphere (see [0037]), and a flap door (122) installed at the bottom of the vacuum generator and elastically supported so as to open under the accumulated weight of powder (see [0038]).
Bae further discloses a powder conveying unit (150) formed in a circular tube shape and installed at an angle from the bottom of the powder hopper (110) toward the top of the powder supply unit (130), the powder supply unit being installed at a position higher than the powder hopper, the powder material being conveyed to that higher position by a conveying screw (151) (see [0039] and [0040]). Bae further discloses that the powder supply unit (130) is installed so as to be linearly movable above the work table (210), receives powder material from the powder hopper (110) through the powder conveying unit (150), and selectively drops the powder material onto one side of the printing area (see [0042]), and that the powder supply unit (130) includes a supply chamber (131) in which an internal space (A) capable of receiving the powder material is formed, a material supply port (131a) for supplying the powder material formed on one side of the upper portion of the supply chamber, a coating slit through which the powder material is dropped, and a metering screw (132) rotatably installed within the internal space (see [0043]). Bae further discloses a shutter unit (133) comprising a shutter body (133a) formed in a shape corresponding to the lower surface of the supply chamber (131) in which the coating slit is formed and installed so as to be slidably movable on that lower surface, and a driving motor (133b) that slides the shutter body so as to selectively open and close the coating slit (see [0044]). Bae further discloses a recoater device (400) that applies powder material onto the printing area (PA) while advancing and then moves backward so as to push the powder material that has overflowed outside the printing area to a powder recovery port (230) located at the rear of the printing area, thereby allowing the remaining powder to be recovered (see [0029]), and a molding box (300) including a molding stage (310) provided so as to be vertically movable within the molding space (see [0026]).
Ljungblad is directed to powder distribution in additive manufacturing and discloses rotatable powder containers provided above a work table, wherein at least one of the powder containers comprises a heating element for heating the powder and thereby removing moisture, and wherein moisture is removed from the powder container via vacuum pumps connected to each and every powder container, or with one pump connected to the stack of containers (see [0087]). Ljungblad further discloses that means for lowering the build platform may for instance be a servo engine equipped with a gear, adjusting screws, or the like (see [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have supplied Ng's dispensing array from a lower storage hopper by way of Bae's inclined conveying conduit and material supply port, to have provided Ng's dispenser with Bae's slidably installed shutter body as a separation gate controlling discharge, and to have connected a negative pressure source to the top of that dispenser as taught by Bae and by Ljungblad. Ng's dispensing array is carried on a traversing carriage above the powder bed and therefore presents the very replenishment and dosing problem that Bae identifies at [0004] and [0005] and solves, and Bae and Ljungblad each teach that connecting a vacuum source to the upper portion of a powder container is a known and effective means of drawing powder into and conditioning powder within such a container. Applying these known techniques to Ng's dispenser in order to obtain the predictable results of automated replenishment and controlled discharge would have been obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
With respect to the powder channel (305) and the isolation plate (306), claim 1 recites each of these elements solely by its location inside the feeding box (302) and recites no structure, function, or cooperative relationship for either, and the specification likewise describes each solely as being located inside the feeding box. The internal space (A) of Bae's supply chamber (131), through which powder passes from the material supply port (131a) to the coating slit, corresponds to the recited powder channel (see [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a plate disposed inboard of Bae's material supply port (131a) so as to close that port and thereby control the admission of powder material into the internal space (A), such a plate constituting the recited isolation plate located inside the feeding box, since providing a closure member at a material inlet is a well-known expedient for regulating the entry of material into a container and would have yielded no more than the predictable result of controlling that entry. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Ng as modified does not disclose a gas reflux channel (307) located inside a bottom of the feeding box (302) and directed upward at a 45 ° angle, or an air inlet channel (311) provided at a top of the feeding box (302).
Yuan is directed to a powder feeding device of three-dimensional printing equipment and identifies the problem that, where the moisture content of the powder material is high, the powder material has poor flowability and, under the action of gravity, is prone to squeeze and pile up together (see [n0002] of the provided translation). To address this, Yuan discloses a device comprising a storage hopper, an air film suspension structure disposed on the inner wall of the hopper to separate the powder material from the inner wall, a vibration breaking structure disposed on the outer wall of the hopper to vibrate the powder material, and a cyclone structure disposed on the inner side of the hopper at the lower end of the air film suspension structure so as to guide the powder material downward (see [n0005]). Yuan discloses that the air film suspension structure includes an air butterfly (7) attached to the inner wall of the storage hopper (6) together with an air supply system, the interior of the air butterfly being a cavity structure having multiple evenly distributed air outlets (71) on the side directed away from the inner wall (see [n0006], [n0039], and [n0040]), that the air butterflies are arranged in layers distributed from bottom to top on the inner wall with each layer connected to the air supply system (see [n0041] and [n0042]), and that the vibration breaking structure includes an excitation vibrator (1) fixed to the outer wall of the storage hopper (see [n0011] and [n0043]).
Yuan further discloses that the cyclone structure includes a backflush ring (8) and an air supply system, the backflush ring including an annular portion and a connecting portion, wherein the annular portion is disposed at the lower part of the inner wall of the storage hopper, the inner wall of the storage hopper is provided with a through hole matching the connecting portion, and one end of the connecting portion is connected to the annular portion while the other end passes through the through hole and is connected to the air supply system (see [n0012] and [n0044]). Yuan discloses that multiple evenly distributed air holes are opened on the inner side of the annular portion (see [n0013]), and that the angle between the central axis of the vent and the central axis of the annular portion is 15° to 85° (see [n0014]). Yuan discloses that in operation the cyclone structure causes compressed air to rotate and be sprayed in a spiral upward state, and that when the gas encounters the suspended powder material the gas flows downward from the hopper opening and thereby carries the powder material away from the hopper, so that the high-humidity powder material is dispensed more evenly and smoothly and clogging is prevented (see [n0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the interior of the bottom of the feeding box of Ng as modified with Yuan's backflush ring, so as to direct gas upward within the box, and to have provided the top of that box with an air inlet channel supplying gas to that structure as taught by Yuan. Ng's dispenser discharges powder onto the build surface under gravity and therefore presents the same risk of uneven and obstructed discharge that Yuan identifies and solves, and Yuan teaches that an upwardly directed gas stream issuing from the lower portion of a powder container is an effective means of obtaining uniform and unobstructed discharge. Applying this known technique to the dispenser of Ng as modified would have yielded no more than the predictable result of more uniform powder discharge. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding the recited 45° angle, Yuan discloses that the angle between the central axis of the vent and the central axis of the annular portion is 15° to 85° (see [n0014]). The claimed value of 45° lies entirely within this disclosed range, and it is noted that a value of 45° lies within the disclosed range whether the angle is measured from the horizontal or from the vertical. Where the claimed value lies inside a range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Further, the specification identifies no criticality for the value of 45° and reports no result obtained at 45° that is not obtained at other angles, so that the selection of a particular angle within Yuan's disclosed range would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
It is further noted, in anticipation of the argument, that claim 1 recites the gas reflux channel (307) solely in structural terms, namely as being located inside a bottom of the feeding box (302) and directed upward at a 45° angle. Claim 1 recites no function for the reflux gas, and in particular does not recite that the reflux gas reduces the falling speed of denser particles of a composite powder or that it reduces layering caused by differences in particle density. Those statements appear in the specification at paragraph [0027] and in the abstract but form no part of claim 1. An apparatus claim is limited by the structure it recites and not by a function or intended use, and a prior art apparatus that structurally corresponds to the claimed apparatus meets the claim even where that apparatus is employed for a different purpose. See MPEP 2114(II).
Ng as modified does not disclose the ultrasonic rolling device (4) comprising a transducer (401), a horn (402), a second sliding rod (403), a vibration roller (404) and a vibration roller fixing bracket (405), wherein the transducer (401) is connected to the horn (402), the horn (402) is in contact with the vibration roller (404), the vibration roller (404) is located inside the vibration roller fixing bracket (405), and two ends of the vibration roller (404) are connected to the second sliding rod (403).
Jiang is directed to a combined ultrasonic micro-forging device for improving the microstructure and mechanical properties of additively manufactured metal parts and to a related additive manufacturing method. Jiang discloses a transducer (11) provided in a transducer housing (3), an amplitude transformer (10) connected under the transducer, a tool head (8) connected under the transducer, and a roller (6) located between the tool head and the workpiece, the assembly being carried on a pneumatic sliding table (4) connected to the transducer housing and the amplitude transformer through a connecting frame (see [0031]). Jiang discloses that a groove (13) is provided on the bottom of the tool head (8) to receive the roller and that a limit stopper is provided on the bottom of the tool head (see [0034] and [0050]), and that the transducer, the amplitude transformer and the tool head are connected to one another by a threaded rod (see [0036]). Jiang discloses that the amplitude transformer amplifies the amplitude of the transducer and that the ultrasonic wave so amplified acts on the roller (6), which functions as the radiation end of the ultrasonic wave, thereby producing a composite action of ultrasonic impact and continuous rolling micro-forging (see [0049]). Jiang further discloses that after each layer is deposited an ultrasonic micro-forging treatment is conducted on the surface of that layer (see [0037]).
Short is directed to ultrasonically assisted powder bed additive manufacturing. Short identifies the problem that, owing to anomalies in the size and shape of the powder grains, individual grains clump together and drag across the build surface or within the powder bed, generating peaks or valleys of material within the bed, and that such inconsistent patterns result in the creation of voids during bonding (see [0006]). To address this, Short discloses a powder bed fusion additive manufacturing system comprising a recoater arm or roller for spreading material powder across the powder bed layer by layer, together with an ultrasonic device adapted to function in cooperation with the recoater arm or roller for compacting the material powder in each layer, the ultrasonic device comprising at least one ultrasonic transducer and at least one sonotrode connected to the transducer, the transducer and sonotrode being mounted on the recoater arm or roller and acoustically tuned so as to be in resonance therewith (see [0010]). Short discloses an embodiment in which the recoater arm is itself designed as a resonant body with the transducer integrated therewith, thereby dispensing material powder while simultaneously ultrasonically exciting the grains of the material powder (see [0026] and Figures 4A-4B), and an embodiment in which sonotrodes are attached to both sides of the recoater arm (see [0027] and Figures 5A-5B). Short teaches that integrating high power ultrasonics into conventional powder bed additive manufacturing systems for enhancing powder distribution promotes improved build density and surface finish (see [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have mounted Jiang's ultrasonic assembly, comprising the transducer, the amplitude transformer, and the roller received in the grooved tool head, upon the traversing carriage of Ng as modified, as taught by Short. Ng's apparatus is a conventional powder bed dispensing and compacting system and therefore presents precisely the grain clumping and consequent bed non-uniformity that Short identifies at [0006]. Short teaches that mounting an ultrasonic transducer and sonotrode upon the recoater arm or roller and acoustically tuning them to resonance therewith addresses that problem and promotes improved build density and surface finish, and Jiang teaches that supplying the amplified ultrasonic wave to a roller acting as the radiation end produces the beneficial composite action of ultrasonic impact and continuous rolling micro-forging upon the deposited layer. The combination applies known techniques to a known device ready for improvement in order to obtain predictable results, and one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in view of the fact that Ng's compaction roller and Jiang's rolling tool act upon the same deposited layer. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Ng as modified does not disclose the compaction device (7) comprising a compression spring (701) and a compression block (702), one end of the compression spring (701) being connected to the bearing groove for placing the bearing (703) and the other end being connected to the compression block (702), the compression block (702) being in contact with the bearing (703), nor does Ng disclose a first powder scraper (705) and a second powder scraper (706) as such connected to the support (5) through fixing holes for powder scraper (506).
Huang '024 is directed to a scraper-roller combined powder spreading device for selective laser melting and a working method therefor. Huang '024 identifies that where rollers are used for powder spreading the powder bed formed has good density owing to the squeezing effect of the roller rotation upon the loose powder, but that during the compaction process the powder is easily adhered to the roller surface, which readily leads to pits in the powder spreading plane of the powder bed (see [n0006] of the provided translation), and teaches that combining a scraper with a roller effectively improves both the density and the uniformity of powder spreading (see [0025]). Huang '024 discloses a powder spreading mechanism (1) comprising a first scraper (11), a roller (12), a second scraper (13), a spiral fine-tuning device (15) and a mounting base (17), wherein the first scraper and the roller are connected to the mounting base through the spiral fine-tuning device, the height of the first scraper and the roller in the vertical direction is adjustable through that device, and the roller is rotatably hinged to a connecting block (156) (see Figure 2 and [n0027]). Huang '024 discloses that the spiral fine-tuning device (15) includes a dial wheel (151), a gear (152), a screw (154) and a spring (155), that the connecting block (156) is connected above the first scraper (11) and the roller (12) with its upper part fixedly connected to the screw (154) (see [n0031]), and that the spring (155) is located between the mounting base (17) and the corresponding scraper or roller and is sleeved on the screw (154) (see [n0032]). Huang '024 further discloses that the connecting block is provided with a slot for locking and fixing the first scraper or the second scraper (see [n0016] and [n0027]), and that the second scraper (13) is fixedly connected to the mounting base (17) by way of four sets of connecting rods (16) (see [n0035]).
Moodie further discloses that one or more springs may be provided to bias the spreaders, and that for that purpose one or more linear springs may be connected between the spreader mount and the print bar, or alternatively one or more torsion springs may be connected between the mount and the print bar about the pivot point (see Figure 4 and the description of the mount 16, print bar 5, and pivot point 8; page 12, lines 23-28). Moodie further discloses a linkage coupling the two rollers in which springs bias the linkage into a rest configuration (see Figure 5 and the description of the linkage 39 and springs 29; page 15, line 25 to page 16, line 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the compaction roller of Ng as modified with a scraper on each side, and to have interposed a spring between the frame of the carriage and a block bearing upon the mounting of that roller, as taught by Huang '024 and Moodie. Huang '024 expressly teaches that combining a scraper with a roller obtains both the density afforded by the squeezing effect of the roller and the uniformity afforded by the scraper, and discloses a spring interposed between the mounting base and the block carrying the roller. Moodie expressly teaches providing springs to bias a roller spreader mount relative to the structure carrying it. It is noted in this regard that claim 1 recites the compression spring (701) and the compression block (702) solely in structural terms and recites no function for either element, so that any difference between the purpose for which Huang '024 provides its spring and the purpose described in the present specification does not serve to distinguish claim 1. See MPEP 2114(II). Providing the spring so as to bear against the bearing groove and the compression block, rather than against the mounting base as in Huang '024, is a rearrangement of these same elements achieving the same resilient interposition between the support and the roller mounting, and would have been an obvious matter of design choice, the specification identifying no criticality for the recited placement. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). It would further have been obvious to have secured those scrapers to the frame of the carriage by way of fixing holes, since Huang '024 teaches a slot for locking and fixing each scraper and the use of apertures to receive fasteners is a well-known expedient for mounting such components.
Ng as modified does not disclose that the ultrasonic rolling device (4) is connected to a second sliding groove (504) of the support (5) through a second sliding rod (403) such that the ultrasonic rolling device (4) is moved along that groove to the leading position upon each reversal of travel, nor that an outer surface of the support (5) is fixedly connected to a steering engine (616) connected to two ends of a connecting rod (505).
Zhang is directed to a self-adaptive layering method for additive manufacturing with synchronous ultrasonic treatment. Zhang discloses using a rotating platform to adjust the relative position between the ultrasonic processing device and the laser deposition head so that the ultrasonic processing device is always behind the laser molten pool in the direction of movement (see [0010] of the provided translation), the rotating platform being capable of rotating 360° (see [n0008]), and that the rotating platform (2) is adjusted so that the ultrasonic processing device (5) is located behind the laser deposition head (7) during deposition (see [0033]). Zhang further discloses that where the deposition direction of the second layer is opposite to that of the first layer the rotating platform (2) is rotated 180°, whereas where the deposition direction of the next layer does not change no rotation is required (see [0038]).
Moodie further discloses, with respect to bi-directional operation, that the spreaders are configured for each pass by putting the leading spreader into a spreading configuration and the trailing spreader into a non-spreading configuration, and that upon the following pass the print bar and spreaders move in the opposite direction across the build surface with the trailing spreader becoming the leading one and vice versa (see Figure 2, steps 203 to 205, and the description of the printing method 200; page 9, line 7 to page 10, line 7). Moodie discloses that the two spreaders are carried on a common mount pivotable about a pivot point on the print bar and that a linear actuator coupled to that mount drives the movement of the spreaders between the spreading and non-spreading configurations (see Figure 4 and the description of the mount 16 and linear actuator 22; page 12, lines 5-19). Moodie further discloses an alternative in which a single spreader is carried upon a carriage on a guide in the form of a rail, the guide having sections that hold the spreader in a non-spreading location at each end of travel and a section that retains it in a spreading location as it travels across the build surface, so that a single spreader may be used with a bi-directional printer to spread build material ahead of the print bar in each direction of travel (see Figure 6 and the description of the roller 34, carriage 32, and guide sections 33a, 33b, and 33c; page 17, line 15 to page 18, line 2).
Huang '431 is directed to a bi-directional three-dimensional printing scraper system with active switching and detection, and teaches that a bi-directional scraper structure not only assists in the flattening of the material but also enables bidirectional scraping during the reciprocating motion of the scraper on the printing platform, thereby ensuring printing efficiency and reducing time cost (see [n0003] of the provided translation). Huang '431 discloses a scraper device comprising a rocker frame (3) with scrapers (4) disposed on both sides thereof, a pin (5) located in the middle of the end face of the rocker frame by which the rocker frame is connected to the slide plate device so as to swing about that pin (see [n0009], [n0036], and [n0037]), together with a drive mechanism for driving the scraper device to swing, the drive mechanism comprising a motor (12), a rotating rod (13), a connecting rod (14), a pressure plate (15), a spring (16) and a piston (17) (see [n0010] and [n0047]), wherein one end of the rotating rod (13) is connected to the power output end of the motor (12) and the other end is hinged to the connecting rod (14) (see [n0048]). Huang '431 discloses that the motor (12), the rotating rod (13), the connecting rod (14) and the piston (17) form a crank-connecting rod mechanism which converts the rotational motion of the motor into the linear motion of the piston, and that the piston in moving drives the rocker frame so as to switch the scrapers on the two sides (see [n0049] and [n0072]). Huang '431 further discloses a positioning device comprising a fine-tuning bolt (8) and a positioning block (9) that serve as a limit and by which the spacing between the scraper and the printing platform is set (see [n0013], [n0042], and [n0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have mounted the ultrasonic rolling device of Ng as modified so as to be movable along a groove in the carriage frame between two positions, and to have driven that movement by a motor coupled to a connecting rod as taught by Huang '431, such that the ultrasonic rolling device occupies the leading position with respect to whichever direction the carriage is travelling. Ng expressly teaches that in bi-directional operation the element performing work is the trailing element with respect to the current direction of travel and that the roles of the two flanking elements reverse when the carriage changes direction, and Moodie expressly teaches configuring a leading tool and a trailing tool for each pass and interchanging those roles upon the following pass, including the alternative of translating a single tool along a guide so that a single tool may lead in each direction. Zhang expressly teaches that the ultrasonic processing device in particular is to be maintained on a prescribed side of the working zone with respect to the direction of movement, and is repositioned where the direction of the next layer is opposite. One of ordinary skill in the art, seeking to obtain productive ultrasonic treatment upon both passes of Ng's reciprocating carriage rather than upon alternate passes only, would therefore have been led by Ng, Moodie and Zhang to reposition the single ultrasonic rolling device between two positions upon each reversal, and would have looked to Huang '431 for the mechanism, since Huang '431 teaches a motor and connecting rod crank mechanism for precisely the purpose of repositioning a layer application tool between two working positions upon a reciprocating carriage of a three-dimensional printer. Substituting Huang '431's motor and connecting rod mechanism for the linear actuator of Moodie, or for the duplication and selection of flanking elements taught by Ng, is a simple substitution of one known actuation means for another in order to obtain the predictable result of moving the tool between two defined positions. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Although Huang '431 is directed to a printer that solidifies a slurry rather than to a powder bed apparatus, Huang '431 is analogous art. Huang '431 is classified with the claimed invention in B29C 64/214 and B33Y 30/00, is within the same field of endeavor of layer application devices for additive manufacturing, and is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned, namely obtaining productive work from a layer application tool in both directions of travel of a reciprocating carriage. See MPEP 2141.01(a).
Ng as modified does not expressly disclose that the powder material comprises a composite powder having particles of differing density.
Ljungblad further discloses providing a first type of material in a first powder container and a second type of material in a second powder container, wherein the first and second types of material may differ in powder grain size only (see [0021]), or may alternatively differ in material composition so that the article may be built with a graded material (see [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have operated the apparatus of Ng as modified with a powder comprising particles differing in grain size or in composition, as taught by Ljungblad, since Ljungblad teaches that doing so permits the manufacture of graded materials, and since Ng itself discloses dispensing first powder particles and second powder particles of differing mean diameter onto the same layer. It is noted, however, that claim 1 is drawn to an apparatus and does not recite the powder worked upon, so that the composition of the powder does not serve to distinguish claim 1 from the prior art in any event. See MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 2, Ng as modified does not disclose that the support (5) further comprises a connecting rod protection shell (503) arranged in a semi-circular ring shape and fixedly connected to a periphery of the second sliding groove (504). Huang '431 discloses that in the prior art the switching of scrapers required friction and collision between parts, and that after repeated friction and collisions over a long period the switching mechanism suffers loss of parts, shortening its working life and requiring frequent inspection, testing and replacement (see [n0050] of the provided translation). Moodie discloses providing capping over the lead screw of its linear motion module in order to prevent extraneous material such as build powder from interfering with the operation of that mechanism, the capping being shaped to extend around the mechanism (see Figure 1 and the description of the capping provided on the lead screw 170; page 7, line 24 to page 8, line 10).
The specification of the present application identifies no function or result for the protection shell beyond its shape and location. Accordingly, providing a guard or cover over the moving connecting rod in order to protect it from the ingress of process material and from incidental contact would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and conforming the shape of such a guard to the arcuate path swept by the connecting rod (505) about the second sliding groove (504), thereby arriving at a semi-circular ring shape, would have been an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) and MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Specifically, see the abstract of US 2025/0073782 and the abstract and [0012] of US 2017/0252860.
/John J DeRusso/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744