DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 1 is allowable. The restriction requirement between Cap species, as set forth in the Office action mailed on July 28, 2025, has been reconsidered in view of the allowability of claims to the elected invention pursuant to MPEP § 821.04(a). The restriction requirement is hereby withdrawn as to any claim that requires all the limitations of an allowable claim. Specifically, the restriction requirement of July 28, 2025 is partially withdrawn. Claims 6-9, directed to non-elected Cap species, are no longer withdrawn from consideration because the claim(s) requires all the limitations of an allowable claim.
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites “the cap comprises a load-carrying portion protruding outward from the first lattice structure within which the first lattice structure is absent.” It is unclear how the first lattice structure is absent from within the first lattice structure. The Examiner believes that claim 19 should recite that the first lattice structure is absent from within the load-carrying portion. As such, the Examiner suggests amending claim 19 to recite “the cap comprises a load-carrying portion within which the first lattice structure is absent, wherein the load-carrying portion protrudes outward from the first lattice structure
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duggal et al. (US 2013/0123848 A1) in view of Akallal et al. (US 2022/0249083 A1) and Casey et al. (US 2019/0282367 A1).
Duggal discloses a facet fixation system, the system comprising:
a cap (cap 10) configured to span a vertebral facet joint (see abstract), the cap comprising a distal surface (bone engaging side 3 having teeth 14 and tooth 4) configured to seat against a bone proximate the vertebral facet joint (see para. 0068); and
a fastener (fastener 50) configured to secure the cap to the vertebral facet joint (see abstract) (Figs. 1A-1H, 5A-5B, 10-13, and 16A-16C; paras. 0067-0070, 0077-0078, and 0082).
Duggal fails to disclose wherein the cap comprises an indicator configured to move from a first position to a second position in response to engagement of the distal surface with the bone and wherein the indicator comprises a blunt bone contacting surface that is enlarged relative to a body of the indicator.
However, Duggal also discloses that the distal surface includes projections (teeth 14 and tooth 4) for fixing the cap to bone (see para. 0068), wherein some of the projections (teeth 14) are located at a perimeter of the cap and another projection (tooth 4) is located interior of the perimeter of the cap (see Fig. 1C) (Figs. 1A-1H, 5A-5B, 10-13, and 16A-16C; paras. 0067-0070, 0077-0078, and 0082).
Akallal teaches a cap (device 10) comprising a distal surface (apposition surface 24), wherein the distal surface includes projections (anchors 22 and indicators 26) for fixing the cap to bone (see para. 0094), wherein some of the projections (anchors 22) are located at a perimeter of the cap and other projections (indicators 26) are located interior of the perimeter of the cap (see Fig. 3), wherein the interior projections are each in the form of an indicator (indicator 26) configured to move from a first position (see Fig. 7A) to a second position (see Figs. 5, 6, and 7B) in response to engagement of the distal surface with the bone (see paras. 0103-0104), wherein the indicators provide a visual indicator that the cap is seated as desired against the bone (see para. 0104) (Figs. 3-7B; paras. 0097-0104).
Casey teaches a movable projection (tooth 202) comprising a blunt contacting surface (surface contacted by axial force 220) that is enlarged relative to a body (the remainder of tooth 202) of the projection (Fig. 25; para. 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Duggal such that the projection (tooth 4) located interior of the perimeter of the cap is configured as an indicator as taught by Akallal, wherein the indicator is configured to move from a first position to a second position in response to engagement of the distal surface with the bone, as suggested by Akallal, as such can provide a visual indicator that the cap is seated as desired against the bone. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Duggal such that the indicator comprises a blunt bone contacting surface that is enlarged relative to a body of the indicator, as suggested by Casey, in order to better receive axial force acting on the indicator and better seat the indicator on the bone.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duggal et al. (US 2013/0123848 A1) in view of Akallal et al. (US 2022/0249083 A1) and Casey et al. (US 2019/0282367 A1) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Yeh (US 2015/0080951 A1).
Duggal, Akallal, and Casey fail to teach wherein the cap comprises a lattice structure configured to promote bone growth into the cap.
Yeh teaches a cap (apparatus 10) configured to span a joint (see Fig. 3), wherein the cap comprises a distal surface (surface seated against vertebrae S and S’ as shown in Fig. 3) configured to seat against a bone, wherein the cap comprises a lattice structure (micro-lattice hollow structure 10’) configured to promote bone growth into the cap (see para. 0035) in order to enhance vertebral or spinal strength (see para. 0035) (Figs. 1-4; paras. 0022-0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Duggal such that the cap comprises a lattice structure configured to promote bone growth into the cap, as suggested by Yeh, in order to enhance vertebral or spinal strength.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-18 and 26 are allowed. Note that any amendment to claim 1 may result in claims 6-9 being withdrawn from consideration.
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773