DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a CONTINUATION of U.S. Patent Application No. 16/849,694, filed 08/10/2024. Acknowledgement is made of the applicant’s claim for benefit to prior-filed U.S. patent applications 16/849,694, which was filed 04/15/2020.
Claim Objections
Claims 20-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The formality of alphabetic sequencing in claims 20, 22 and 23 is not consistent. For instance, claims 20 recites step f), while claim 22 recites step (f) in line 2.
Claim 21 recites “€” should be “e)”.
Claim 23 recites step h) after step j), it should be step k) in line 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Instant claims are directed to a bioprosthetic heart valve assembly (a product), the bioprosthetic heart valve assembly has a plurality of leaflets, wherein each of the plurality of leaflets is a collagen-based pericardial tissue made by a process as recited in instant claims. The claims are product-by-process claims. MPEP 2113 states: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In instant case, the disclosure of the structure is a bioprosthetic heart valve assembly comprising a plurality of leaflets, wherein each of the plurality of leaflets is a collagen-based pericardial tissue (having glutaraldehyde crosslinking).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Cali et al. (US 2012/0035720 A1), as evidenced by Sizeland et al. (Biomed Res Int. 2014;2014:189197).
As stated above, claims 20-23 are product-by-process claims, which are directed to a bioprosthetic heart valve assembly (a product), the bioprosthetic heart valve assembly has a plurality of leaflets, wherein each of the plurality of leaflets is a collagen-based pericardial tissue (having glutaraldehyde crosslinking).
Cali et al. teach a prosthetic heart valve assembly comprises a plurality of leaflets configured to replace the function of a native heart valve. Each leaflet comprises laminar pericardium tissue (Abstract).
Regarding claims 20-23, Cali et al. teach a prosthetic heart valve assembly comprises a plurality of leaflets configured to replace the function of a native heart valve (Abstract), which is a replacement heart valve having one or more leaflets that are cut from a source material and assembled to form the valve (parag 0021). This teaching reads on “a bioprosthetic heart valve assembly having a plurality of leaflets” as recited in instant claims. Cali et al. teach leaflets can be formed from the flexible material comprises equine pericardium that has been crosslinked and fixed in a low-concentration, buffered glutaraldehyde solution (see parag 0030). Pericardium is a collagen-based tissue, which is evidenced by Sizeland et al.. Sizeland et al. teach pericardium is a fibrous collagen extracellular matrix material with structural similarities to skin and other tissues (p1, left column). This teaching reads on “each of the plurality of leaflets is a collagen-based pericardial tissue” as recited in instant claims. Therefore Cali et al. anticipate the bioprosthetic heart valve assembly having a plurality of leaflets, wherein each of the plurality of leaflets is a collagen-based pericardial tissue, as recited in instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 20-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,083,009 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims render obvious the instant claims.
Instant claims 20-23 are directed to a bioprosthetic heart valve assembly having a plurality of leaflets, wherein each of the plurality of leaflets is a collagen-based pericardial tissue made by a method comprising steps a) to k) as recited in instant claims. Patent claims 1-4 teach a method for preparing a collagen-based pericardial tissue that is used for a bioprosthetic heart valve assembly comprising the method as recited in steps a)-k). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated by the method in the patent and produce the bioprosthetic heart valve assembly as recited in instant claims. There would be a reasonable expectation of success of producing the bioprosthetic heart valve assembly as recited in instant claims since the patent teaches the method of making said product.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/Q.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/FEREYDOUN G SAJJADI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1699