Detailed Action
This action is responsive to the 8/11/2024 communication(s). As per the claims filed 8/11/2024:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 18, 20 is/are independent claim(s).
Note Regarding Prior Art
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Note Regarding AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the signal repeater" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by John E. Price et al. (US PG Pub No. 2024/03224527; Priority: 03/28/2023) (hereinafter: Price)..
Claim 20:
As per independent claim 1, Price discloses a method of lawn irrigation which utilizes sensors and machine learning, comprising the steps: providing an ongoing learning system, the ongoing learning system having a predetermined set of rules; the ongoing learning system having a database; wherein the database is configured to accept information [[0039] the data analysis unit 121 may comprise a control circuit 1204, a memory 1206, an I/O interface 1208, a transceiver, and an optional trained machine learning model 1210. In some embodiments, the data analysis unit 121 is coupled to one or more databases 1212.]. Rules are implicit in an irrigation system controlling schedules and timings.
the ongoing learning system having rule changes; the ongoing learning system having a plurality of variables; the ongoing learning system having machine learning; providing a writer; providing a scheduler; [[0185] the analyzing data such as steps 1408, 1506, 1606, 1904 and/or the determining irrigation schedules, changes and/or adjustments such as steps 1410, 1508, 1608, 1706, 1906, 1908 may be provided using an algorithm and/or the trained machine learning model 1210. Data is analyzed in a real-world system]; wherein the writer receives an input based on processing completed by the ongoing learning system; wherein the writer adjusts the scheduler at predetermined intervals of time[[0033] the irrigation system 100 may comprise one or more data analysis unit 121 comprising a data analysis module 116 configured to analyze data such as irrigation related data. The data analyzed by the data analysis module 116 may include, but not be limited to, water flow data collected via the flow meter 110, sensor data collected via the one or more sensors 131, past/previous irrigation schedules, existing/current irrigation schedules, data from a third-party server (e.g., weather data from a weather server), data provided by a user, and so on. In some embodiments, the data analysis module 116 may be further configured to determine an irrigation schedule (i.e., create an irrigation schedule) and/or determine a change/adjustment to an existing irrigation schedule based on the analyzed data.].
wherein the scheduler receives the writing from the writer and schedules irrigation activities for durations of time at particular points in time[[0032] The irrigation control unit 101 may output signals to implement the irrigation schedule or cause the change/adjustment to the existing irrigation schedule. For example, the irrigation control unit 101 may output signals to activate and/or deactivate the one or more valves 104 or the one or more water emitters 108 and/or to control other irrigation implementing components 117.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall Pearson et al. (US PG Pub No. US 2014/0018965; Published: 01/16/2014)(hereinafter: Pearson) in view of Matthew K. Glenn et al (US PG Pub No. US 2007/0208517; Published: 09/06/2007)(hereinafter: Glenn).
Claim 1:
As per independent claim 1, Pearson discloses an irrigation system comprising:
an irrigation controller [[0014] irrigation controller];
the irrigation controller extending a length from a first end to a second end between opposing sides [[0042] FIGS. 5-8 illustrate the controller 100 with the front cover 101 open to reveal the controller console 105.];
the irrigation controller having a top and a bottom forming a hollow interior [[0042] FIGS. 5-8 illustrate the controller 100 with the front cover 101 open to reveal the controller console 105.];
the irrigation controller having a power supply [[0043] Preferably, the fixed terminals 107 include power terminals for connecting a power supply to power the controller 100,];
the irrigation controller having a plurality of zone connections [[0044]single module 123 that spans the entire width of the area 180, as seen in FIG. 10, and includes more irrigation station terminals than both modules 108a (e.g., twelve irrigation station terminals)]
the irrigation controller having a programming port [[0046] As best seen in FIGS. 9 and 10, the console 105 includes a Smart Card adapter port 172 within the body of the console 105 which allows a Smart Card 170 to connect (FIG. 10) and provide additional functionality to the controller 100.];
wherein the moisture sensor detects a moisture level in a soil and relays the moisture level to the irrigation controller [[0046] the Smart Card 170 may include a wireless transceiver for communicating with a weather station, soil moisture sensor, ET data, flow sensor, remote control, or PC.];
wherein the irrigation controller makes adjustments to an irrigation schedule based on the moisture level in the soil [[0046] the controller 100 may receive soil moisture data and similarly adjust the schedule as needed].
Pearson discloses the irrigation controller communicating with a series of sensors including a soil moisture sensor (see 0046). However, Pearson failed to specifically disclose the specifics of such sensor including:
a moisture sensor; the moisture sensor extending a length from a top to a bottom; the moisture sensor having a dome; the moisture sensor having a first plate; the moisture sensor having a plurality of sensors; the moisture sensor having a wand; the wand having a pointed end for ease of installation; wherein the pointed end is configured to provide ease of installation for driving the moisture sensor into soil at a depth; the moisture sensor having a power supply;
Glenn, in the same field of moisture sensors discloses:
a moisture sensor [[0036] Holes near the bottom of stake 330 house soil sensors 848. Soil sensors 848 include a soil moisture content sensor]. the moisture sensor extending a length from a top to a bottom [[0036] Holes near the bottom of stake 330 house soil sensors 848. Soil sensors 848 include a soil moisture content sensor.];
the moisture sensor having a dome [[0034] Turning to FIG. 2, shield 130 is shown in more detail. Shield 130 serves as a protective cap for controller 110, which houses sensitive electronics. Shield 130 is generally semi-hemispherical. Shield 130 has a shell 210 adapted to reduce exposure of controller 110 to environmental hazards, such as thermal radiation, moisture and dirt, when engaged with controller 110.];
the moisture sensor having a first plate [fig 3, element 310];
the moisture sensor having a plurality of sensors [[0036] Soil mount 140 has a protective receptacle 310 with contacts 320 projecting upward therefrom and a stake 330 projecting downward therefrom. Holes near the bottom of stake 330 house soil sensors 848. Soil sensors 848 include a soil moisture content sensor and a soil pH sensor];
the moisture sensor having a wand [[0036] Extending from the bottom of stake 330 below soil sensors 848 is a prong 350.];
the wand having a pointed end for ease of installation [see figure 3, element 350];
wherein the pointed end is configured to provide ease of installation for driving the moisture sensor into soil at a depth [fig 3, stakes are well-known to be easier to stick into soil];
the moisture sensor having a power supply [[0039] Controller 110 also includes a power supply, such as batteries.];
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson’s irrigation controller to receive data from Glenn’s moisture sensor. The motivation for doing so would have been to receive more accurate data from a moisture sensor for use in a computerized system for plant selection and health maintenance (0002).
Claim 2:
As per claim 2, which depends on claim 1, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above. Additionally, Pearson and Glenn disclose further comprising: an irrigation system, Pearson, [[0014] irrigation controller] wherein the irrigation system is configured to deliver water to a landscape. Pearson, [[0003] When the watering schedule calls for irrigation of at least a portion of the landscape, the irrigation controller causes one or more solenoid valves to open so that water flows to their respective sprinklers. When the schedule calls for an end to the irrigation, the irrigation controller causes the solenoid valves to close, stopping the water flow to the sprinklers];
Pearson failed to disclose but Glenn discloses the irrigation system having a global location; wherein the global location is configured through a wireless connection. Glenn, [[0042] In some embodiments controller 110 may further include a GPS receiver. Location information acquired by a GPS receiver may be used, after upload of the location information to a personal computer as hereinafter explained, to identify an appropriate one of regional plant databases 960, provide product and service information targeted to a user's geographic location or provide a map showing where probe 100 is installed.]. GPS is satellite based, thus wireless.
Claim 3:
As per claim 3, which depends on claim 1, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above. Additionally, Pearson and Glenn disclose further comprising: a global positioning system. Glenn [[0042] In some embodiments controller 110 may further include a GPS receiver. Location information acquired by a GPS receiver may be used, after upload of the location information to a personal computer as hereinafter explained, to identify an appropriate one of regional plant databases 960, provide product and service information targeted to a user's geographic location or provide a map showing where probe 100 is installed.].
Claim 4:
As per claim 4, which depends on claim 1, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above. Additionally, Pearson and Glenn disclose further comprising: the moisture sensor having an onboard computing system; the moisture sensor having an onboard processor; the moisture sensor having an onboard memory; the moisture sensor having an onboard transceiver. Glenn [[0011], see figure 8, processor 810, memory 820, [0041] processor 810 processes the environmental data and stores them in memory 820 for later transmission to personal computer via USB interface 860 to facilitate plant selection or plant health diagnostics].
Claim 5:
As per claim 5, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Glenn disclose further comprising: a plurality of batteries. Glenn [[0039] Controller 110 also includes a power supply, such as batteries].
Claim 7:
As per claim 7, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Glenn disclose further comprising: a user. Pearson, [[0017] user interface suggests a user].
Claim 8:
As per claim 8, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Glenn disclose further comprising: a graphical user interface; the graphical user interface having a display; wherein the display of the graphical user interface is a smart device. Pearson, [[0036] FIG. 17A illustrates the "Schedule Screen" for the "Homeowner" user and the "Contactor" user.].
Claim 9:
As per claim 9, which depends on claim 1, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above. Additionally, Pearson and Glenn disclose further comprising: the moisture sensor having a cover. Glenn [[0034] Turning to FIG. 2, shield 130 is shown in more detail. Shield 130 serves as a protective cap for controller 110, which houses sensitive electronics. Shield 130 is generally semi-hemispherical. Shield 130 has a shell 210 adapted to reduce exposure of controller 110 to environmental hazards, such as thermal radiation, moisture and dirt, when engaged with controller 110.]; the moisture sensor having a second plate. Glenn, [fig, element 110]. the moisture sensor having a plurality of attachment features. Glenn, [[0040] In some embodiments, receptacles 230, 310 are made of a rubberized material that ensures a high quality seal between receptacles 230, 310 and controller 110 and prevents scratching of controller 110 during attachment and detachment.].
Claim 10:
As per claim 10, which depends on claim 1, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above. Additionally, Pearson and Glenn disclose further comprising: the moisture sensor having a plurality of indicators; wherein the plurality of indicators are formed of light emitting diodes connected to a PCB. Glenn [[0039] Controller housing 660 also includes a status display 650. In some embodiments status display 650 is a light emitting diode that provides a visual indication of an alarm condition.] PCB implicit see fig 8.
Claim 14:
As per claim 14, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Glenn disclose further comprising: the irrigation controller having a lid [[0041] FIGS. 1-4 illustrate various outer views of a modular controller 100 according to the preset invention. The modular controller 100 includes a front cover 101];
the irrigation controller having a base [[0041] rear housing 102 that protect the components of the controller 100];
the irrigation controller having a plurality of attachment features [[0044] controller can have smaller modules]
wherein the plurality of attachment features are operably connected to the lid and to the base such that the lid can open and close relative to the base [see fig 10, attachments are placed inside the cover and the lid can be closed relative to the base];
the irrigation controller having a clip; wherein the clip is configured to hold the lid in a closed position relative to the base and allow the lid to open relative to the base [0041] FIGS. 1-4 illustrate various outer views of a modular controller 100 according to the preset invention. The modular controller 100 includes a front cover 101 and rear housing 102 that protect the components of the controller 100. The front cover 101 is attached to the rear housing by a hinge 103 which allows the front cover 101 to swing open and closed over the controller console 105 (seen best in FIG. 5).].
the irrigation controller having a plurality of apertures [[0041] Wire apertures 104 allow irrigation station wires to enter the controller 100 and thereby connect to controller terminals.];
the irrigation controller having a plurality of attachment points of the bottom of the base; wherein the plurality of attachment points are configured to attach the irrigation controller to a surface [see fig 9, mounting hole shown with a screw icon];
the irrigation controller having a plurality of feet [see fig 11, feet shown in controller base].
Claim 15:
As per claim 15, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Glenn disclose a computing platform; a remote computing platform; a sensor system; an application server. Pearson [[0065] Once connected with a CSR, the user can explain the issue affecting the system and can be walked through trouble shooting steps and programming instructions. In addition, the data communication aspect allows the user to upload the controller schedule and settings data to a network storage server so that a CSR may review and reprogram the controller 100 remotely. Once the CSR has modified and corrected the controller issue, the modified irrigation schedule and settings may be downloaded from the server back to the controller through the existing installed communication protocol (for example, WiFi) [0068] sensor system].
Claim(s) 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson and Glenn in view of Van Houwelling etl al (US PG Pub No. 2021/0140908; Published: 05/13/2021)(hereinafter: Van Houwelling).
Claim(s) 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson and Glenn in view of Anthony Osburn et al (US PG Pub No. 2023/00225267; Filed: 1/20/2022) (hereinafter: Osburn).
Claim 6:
As per claim 6, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Glenn disclose further comprising: a plurality of batteries. Glenn [[0039] Controller 110 also includes a power supply, such as batteries];
Pearson and Glenn failed to disclose wherein the plurality of batteries are rechargeable batteries.
Osburn, in the same field of moisture sensors discloses this limitation in that [[0023] Each of the sensing units 12 includes a sensing power supply 34 which is integrated into the puck 18, and the sensing power supply 34 is electrically coupled to the sensing control circuit 28. The sensing power supply 34 comprises a rechargeable battery 36 which is positioned within the puck 18, and the rechargeable battery 36 is electrically coupled to the sensing control circuit 28.].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson and Glenn’s irrigation system such that the plurality of batteries are rechargeable batteries as disclosed by Osburn. The motivation for doing so would have been to assure sensors are powered even during blackouts.
Claim(s) 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson and Glenn in view of Van Houwelling et al (US PG Pub No. 2021/0140908; Published: 05/13/2021)(hereinafter: Van Houwelling).
Claim 11:
As per claim 11, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Glenn disclose the wand having multiple sensors but failed to specifically disclose: further comprising: wherein the wand is configured with the plurality of sensors at varying depths from a top to a bottom of the wand; such that the plurality of sensors can detect moisture levels at varying depths of soil.
Van Houweling, in the same field of soil moisture sensors discloses these limitations in that [[0061] A soil moisture and fertility sensor system is presented that includes an elongated probe having a plurality of sensor modules positioned along the length of the probe. Each sensor module includes a co-located moisture sensor assembly, temperature sensor assembly and fertility sensor assembly that take a moisture measurement, a temperature measurement and a fertility measurement at varying depths of the soil.].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson and Glenn’s moisture sensor to configure it with a plurality of sensors at varying depths from a top to a bottom of the wand such that the plurality of sensors can detect moisture levels at varying depths of soil as disclosed by Van Houwelling. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a soil moisture and nutrient sensor system that provides comprehensive nutrient data at varying depths (0017).
Claim(s) 12-13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson and Glenn in view of Peter J. Woytowitz (US PG Pub No. 20210360884; Published: 11/25/2021) (hereinafter: Woytowitz)
Claim 12:
As per claim 12, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Glenn disclose a communication card See Pearson, 0015. (a smart card may provide any combinations of a wireless transceiver for communicating with a weather station, soil moisture sensor, ET data, flow sensor, remote control, or PC).
Pearson and Glenn failed to specifically disclose further comprising: the signal repeater having an onboard computing system; the signal repeater having a plurality of antennae.
Woytowitz, in the same field of irrigation controllers discloses these limitations in that [[0069] the irrigation controller 32 is configured to provide electrical signals over a physical connection 34 to the controller transceiver unit 36, which converts the electrical signals from the irrigation controller 32 to radio-frequency (RF) signals that are sent to the repeater 38 over a wireless link 40. The RF signals are received by the repeater 38 and sent to the valve transceiver unit 44 over a wireless link 46. [0084] FIG. 5 illustrates an example controller transceiver unit module 118 including termination points 120 configured to provide an attachment for an external antenna.[0085] the controller transceiver unit module 126 can contain an internal antenna or other preinstalled antenna, or can include one or more termination points to attach an external antenna.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson and Glenn’s controller to include a signal repeater having an onboard computing system; the signal repeater having a plurality of antennae as disclosed by Woytowitz. The motivation for doing so would have been to configure the controller to provide control signals for wired connections to the irrigation control valves, and include a transceiver that is configured to convert the set of wired control signals to a set of wireless control signals (0006).
Claim 13:
As per claim 13, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Gleen disclose intake signals from the plurality of sensors. Pearson [[0015] smart card may provide any combinations of a wireless transceiver for communicating with a weather station, soil moisture sensor, ET data, flow sensor, remote control, or PC.]
further comprising: a signal repeater; the signal repeater extending a length from a first end to a second end between opposing sides [fig 2, element 38, fig 5]; the signal repeater having a top and a bottom forming a hollow interior [fig. 5]; the signal repeater having at least one transceiver [fig 2, element 36]; wherein the signal repeater [fig 2, element 38,[0069] The RF signals are received by the repeater 38 and sent to the valve transceiver unit 44 over a wireless link 46.]; wherein the signal repeater is configured to repeat signals from the plurality of sensors [[0069]which converts the electrical signals from the irrigation controller 32 to radio-frequency (RF) signals that are sent to the repeater 38 over a wireless link 40. The RF signals are received by the repeater 38 and sent to the valve transceiver unit 44 over a wireless link 46.]; wherein repeating is sending signals from the plurality of sensors[[0182] The controller transceiver unit module 3000 comprises a wireless transceiver circuit 3002, a microcontroller 3004, a power supply 3006, a programming port 3008 and a communication circuit 3010 for inductive communication.]; the signal repeater having a power supply [[0182] The controller transceiver unit module 3000 comprises a wireless transceiver circuit 3002, a microcontroller 3004, a power supply 3006, a programming port 3008 and a communication circuit 3010 for inductive communication.].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson and Glenn’s controller to include a signal repeater with the characteristics disclosed by Woytowitz. The motivation for doing so would have been to configure the controller to provide control signals for wired connections to the irrigation control valves, and include a transceiver that is configured to convert the set of wired control signals to a set of wireless control signals (0006).
Claim(s) 16-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson and Glenn in view of Price.
Claim 16:
As per claim 16, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Gleen failed to specifically disclose the limitations of claim 16.
Price, in the same field of irrigation controllers discloses further comprising: an ongoing learning system; the ongoing learning system having a predetermined set of rules; the ongoing learning system having a database [[0039] the data analysis unit 121 may comprise a control circuit 1204, a memory 1206, an I/O interface 1208, a transceiver, and an optional trained machine learning model 1210. In some embodiments, the data analysis unit 121 is coupled to one or more databases 1212.]; wherein the database is configured to accept information [[0111] the transceiver 1211 of the data analysis unit 121 may further receive or retrieve the past and/or the current irrigation schedule. The past and/or the current irrigation schedule may be transmitted from, but not limited to, at least one of the irrigation control unit 101, the database 139, the server 135, the supervisory controller 137, the irrigation controller, and/or the user computing device 132 or be retrieved from the database 139.] the ongoing learning system having rule changes; the ongoing learning system having a plurality of variables; the ongoing learning system having machine learning [[0185] the analyzing data such as steps 1408, 1506, 1606, 1904 and/or the determining irrigation schedules, changes and/or adjustments such as steps 1410, 1508, 1608, 1706, 1906, 1908 may be provided using an algorithm and/or the trained machine learning model 1210. Data is analyzed in a real-world system].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson and Glenn’s irrigation controller to include an ongoing learning system having a predetermined set of rules, the ongoing learning system having a database wherein the database is configured to accept information ongoing learning system having rule changes, the ongoing learning system having a plurality of variables; the ongoing learning system having machine learning as disclosed by Price. The motivation for doing so would have been to include machine learning as part of the controller to facilitate and maximize irrigation scheduling and adjustments thus increasing efficiency.
Claim 17:
As per claim 17, which depends on claim 1, Pearson and Gleen disclose, further comprising: an ongoing learning system; the ongoing learning system having a writer; the ongoing learning system having a scheduler [[0185] the analyzing data such as steps 1408, 1506, 1606, 1904 and/or the determining irrigation schedules, changes and/or adjustments such as steps 1410, 1508, 1608, 1706, 1906, 1908 may be provided using an algorithm and/or the trained machine learning model 1210.]wherein the writer receives an input based on processing completed by the ongoing learning system; wherein the writer adjusts the scheduler at predetermined intervals of time [[0033] the irrigation system 100 may comprise one or more data analysis unit 121 comprising a data analysis module 116 configured to analyze data such as irrigation related data. The data analyzed by the data analysis module 116 may include, but not be limited to, water flow data collected via the flow meter 110, sensor data collected via the one or more sensors 131, past/previous irrigation schedules, existing/current irrigation schedules, data from a third-party server (e.g., weather data from a weather server), data provided by a user, and so on. In some embodiments, the data analysis module 116 may be further configured to determine an irrigation schedule (i.e., create an irrigation schedule) and/or determine a change/adjustment to an existing irrigation schedule based on the analyzed data.] wherein the scheduler receives the writing from the writer and schedules irrigation activities for durations of time at particular points in time [[0032] The irrigation control unit 101 may output signals to implement the irrigation schedule or cause the change/adjustment to the existing irrigation schedule. For example, the irrigation control unit 101 may output signals to activate and/or deactivate the one or more valves 104 or the one or more water emitters 108 and/or to control other irrigation implementing components 117.].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson and Glenn’s irrigation controller to include an ongoing learning system; the ongoing learning system having a writer; the ongoing learning system having a scheduler; wherein the writer receives an input based on processing completed by the ongoing learning system; wherein the writer adjusts the scheduler at predetermined intervals of time; wherein the scheduler receives the writing from the writer and schedules irrigation activities for durations of time at particular points in time as disclosed by Price. The motivation for doing so would have been to include machine learning as part of the controller to facilitate and maximize irrigation scheduling and adjustments thus increasing efficiency.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson in view of Glenn further in view of Van Houweling further in view of Woytowitz further in view of Price.
Claim 18:
As per independent claim 18, Pearson discloses a smart scheduling and sensing system for irrigation, comprising:
an irrigation system [[0014] irrigation controller];
wherein the irrigation system is configured to deliver water to a landscape [[0003] When the watering schedule calls for irrigation of at least a portion of the landscape, the irrigation controller causes one or more solenoid valves to open so that water flows to their respective sprinklers. When the schedule calls for an end to the irrigation, the irrigation controller causes the solenoid valves to close, stopping the water flow to the sprinklers];
a plurality of moisture sensors [[0046] the controller 100 may receive soil moisture data and similarly adjust the schedule as needed.];
an irrigation controller[[0014] irrigation controller];
the irrigation controller extending a length from a first end to a second end between opposing sides [[0042] FIGS. 5-8 illustrate the controller 100 with the front cover 101 open to reveal the controller console 105.];
the irrigation controller having a top and a bottom forming a hollow interior [[0042] FIGS. 5-8 illustrate the controller 100 with the front cover 101 open to reveal the controller console 105.];
the irrigation controller having a lid; [[0041] FIGS. 1-4 illustrate various outer views of a modular controller 100 according to the preset invention. The modular controller 100 includes a front cover 101];
the irrigation controller having a base [[0041] rear housing 102 that protect the components of the controller 100];
the irrigation controller having a plurality of attachment features [[0044] controller can have smaller modules]
wherein the plurality of attachment features are operably connected to the lid and to the base such that the lid can open and close relative to the base [see fig 10, attachments are placed inside the cover and the lid can be closed relative to the base];
the irrigation controller having a clip; wherein the clip is configured to hold the lid in a closed position relative to the base and allow the lid to open relative to the base [0041] FIGS. 1-4 illustrate various outer views of a modular controller 100 according to the preset invention. The modular controller 100 includes a front cover 101 and rear housing 102 that protect the components of the controller 100. The front cover 101 is attached to the rear housing by a hinge 103 which allows the front cover 101 to swing open and closed over the controller console 105 (seen best in FIG. 5).].
the irrigation controller having a plurality of apertures [[0041] Wire apertures 104 allow irrigation station wires to enter the controller 100 and thereby connect to controller terminals.];
the irrigation controller having a plurality of attachment points of the bottom of the base; wherein the plurality of attachment points are configured to attach the irrigation controller to a surface [see fig 9, mounting hole shown with a screw icon];
the irrigation controller having a plurality of feet [see fig 11, feet shown in controller base].
the irrigation controller having a power supply[[0043] Preferably, the fixed terminals 107 include power terminals for connecting a power supply to power the controller 100,];
the irrigation controller having a plurality of zone connections; [[0044]single module 123 that spans the entire width of the area 180, as seen in FIG. 10, and includes more irrigation station terminals than both modules 108a (e.g., twelve irrigation station terminals)]
the irrigation controller having a programming port; [[0046] As best seen in FIGS. 9 and 10, the console 105 includes a Smart Card adapter port 172 within the body of the console 105 which allows a Smart Card 170 to connect (FIG. 10) and provide additional functionality to the controller 100.];
a computing platform; a remote computing platform; Pearson [[0065] Once connected with a CSR, the user can explain the issue affecting the system and can be walked through trouble shooting steps and programming instructions. In addition, the data communication aspect allows the user to upload the controller schedule and settings data to a network storage server so that a CSR may review and reprogram the controller 100 remotely. Once the CSR has modified and corrected the controller issue, the modified irrigation schedule and settings may be downloaded from the server back to the controller through the existing installed communication protocol (for example, WiFi) [0068] sensor system].
Pearson discloses the irrigation controller communicating with a series of sensors including a soil moisture sensor (see 0046). However, Pearson failed to specifically disclose the specifics of such sensor.
Glenn, in the same field of soil moisture sensors discloses
a global location; wherein the global location is configured through a wireless connection; a global positioning system; [[0042] In some embodiments controller 110 may further include a GPS receiver. Location information acquired by a GPS receiver may be used, after upload of the location information to a personal computer as hereinafter explained, to identify an appropriate one of regional plant databases 960, provide product and service information targeted to a user's geographic location or provide a map showing where probe 100 is installed.]. GPS is satellite based, thus wireless.
the plurality of moisture sensors each extending a length from a top to a bottom [[0036] Holes near the bottom of stake 330 house soil sensors 848. Soil sensors 848 include a soil moisture content sensor.];
the plurality of moisture sensors each having a dome; [[0034] Turning to FIG. 2, shield 130 is shown in more detail. Shield 130 serves as a protective cap for controller 110, which houses sensitive electronics. Shield 130 is generally semi-hemispherical. Shield 130 has a shell 210 adapted to reduce exposure of controller 110 to environmental hazards, such as thermal radiation, moisture and dirt, when engaged with controller 110.];
the plurality of moisture sensors each having a cover [[0034] Turning to FIG. 2, shield 130 is shown in more detail. Shield 130 serves as a protective cap for controller 110, which houses sensitive electronics. Shield 130 is generally semi-hemispherical. Shield 130 has a shell 210 adapted to reduce exposure of controller 110 to environmental hazards, such as thermal radiation, moisture and dirt, when engaged with controller 110.];
the plurality of moisture sensors each having a first plate [fig 3, element 310];
the plurality of moisture sensors each having a second plate[fig, element 110];
the plurality of moisture sensors each having a plurality of attachment features[[0040] In some embodiments, receptacles 230, 310 are made of a rubberized material that ensures a high quality seal between receptacles 230, 310 and controller 110 and prevents scratching of controller 110 during attachment and detachment.].
the plurality of moisture sensors each having a plurality of sensors[[0036] Soil mount 140 has a protective receptacle 310 with contacts 320 projecting upward therefrom and a stake 330 projecting downward therefrom. Holes near the bottom of stake 330 house soil sensors 848. Soil sensors 848 include a soil moisture content sensor and a soil pH sensor];
the plurality of moisture sensors each having a plurality of indicators; wherein the plurality of indicators are formed of light emitting diodes connected to a PCB; [[0039] Controller housing 660 also includes a status display 650. In some embodiments status display 650 is a light emitting diode that provides a visual indication of an alarm condition.] PCB implicit see fig 8.
the plurality of moisture sensors each having a wand [[0036] Extending from the bottom of stake 330 below soil sensors 848 is a prong 350.];
the wand having a pointed end for ease of installation [see figure 3, element 350];
wherein the pointed end is configured to provide ease of installation for driving the plurality of moisture sensors into soil at a depth [fig 3, stakes are well-known to be easier to stick into soil];
the plurality of moisture sensors having an onboard computing system; the plurality of moisture sensors having an onboard processor; the plurality of moisture sensors having an onboard memory; the plurality of moisture sensors having an onboard transceiver; [0011], see figure 8, processor 810, memory 820, [0041] processor 810 processes the environmental data and stores them in memory 820 for later transmission to personal computer via USB interface 860 to facilitate plant selection or plant health diagnostics].
the plurality of moisture sensors having a power supply [[0039] Controller 110 also includes a power supply, such as batteries.];
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson’s irrigation controller to receive data from Glenn’s moisture sensor. The motivation for doing so would have been to receive more accurate data from a moisture sensor for use in a computerized system for plant selection and health maintenance (0002).
Pearson and Glenn disclose the wand having multiple sensors but failed to specifically disclose:
wherein the wand is configured with the plurality of sensors at varying depths from a top to a bottom of the wand; such that the plurality of sensors can detect moisture levels at varying depths of soil;
Van Houweling, in the same field of soil moisture sensors discloses these limitations in that [[0061] A soil moisture and fertility sensor system is presented that includes an elongated probe having a plurality of sensor modules positioned along the length of the probe. Each sensor module includes a co-located moisture sensor assembly, temperature sensor assembly and fertility sensor assembly that take a moisture measurement, a temperature measurement and a fertility measurement at varying depths of the soil.].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson and Glenn’s moisture sensor to configure it with a plurality of sensors at varying depths from a top to a bottom of the wand such that the plurality of sensors can detect moisture levels at varying depths of soil as disclosed by Van Houwelling. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a soil moisture and nutrient sensor system that provides comprehensive nutrient data at varying depths (0017).
Pearson, Glenn and Van Houwelling disclose a communication card See Pearson, 0015. (a smart card may provide any combinations of a wireless transceiver for communicating with a weather station, soil moisture sensor, ET data, flow sensor, remote control, or PC). Pearson, Glenn and Van Houwelling further disclose intake signals from the plurality of sensors. Pearson [[0015] smart card may provide any combinations of a wireless transceiver for communicating with a weather station, soil moisture sensor, ET data, flow sensor, remote control, or PC]. Pearson, Glenn and Van Houwelling failed to disclose the following limitations.
Woytowitz, in the same field of irrigation controllers discloses
a signal repeater; [[0069] the irrigation controller 32 is configured to provide electrical signals over a physical connection 34 to the controller transceiver unit 36, which converts the electrical signals from the irrigation controller 32 to radio-frequency (RF) signals that are sent to the repeater 38 over a wireless link 40. The RF signals are received by the repeater 38 and sent to the valve transceiver unit 44 over a wireless link 46].
the signal repeater extending a length from a first end to a second end between opposing sides [fig 2, element 38, fig 5];
the signal repeater having a top and a bottom forming a hollow interior [fig. 5];
the signal repeater having an onboard computing system [[0084] FIG. 5 illustrates an example controller transceiver unit module 118 including termination points 120 configured to provide an attachment for an external antenna].
the signal repeater having a plurality of antennae [[0085] the controller transceiver unit module 126 can contain an internal antenna or other preinstalled antenna, or can include one or more termination points to attach an external antenna.]
the signal repeater having at least one transceiver [fig 2, element 36];
the signal repeater [fig 2, element 38,[0069] The RF signals are received by the repeater 38 and sent to the valve transceiver unit 44 over a wireless link 46.];
wherein the signal repeater is configured to repeat signals from the plurality of sensors [[0069]which converts the electrical signals from the irrigation controller 32 to radio-frequency (RF) signals that are sent to the repeater 38 over a wireless link 40. The RF signals are received by the repeater 38 and sent to the valve transceiver unit 44 over a wireless link 46.];
wherein repeating is sending signals from the plurality of sensors [[0182] The controller transceiver unit module 3000 comprises a wireless transceiver circuit 3002, a microcontroller 3004, a power supply 3006, a programming port 3008 and a communication circuit 3010 for inductive communication.]; the signal repeater having a power supply[[0182] The controller transceiver unit module 3000 comprises a wireless transceiver circuit 3002, a microcontroller 3004, a power supply 3006, a programming port 3008 and a communication circuit 3010 for inductive communication.].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson, Glenn and Van Houwelling’s controller to include a signal repeater with the characteristics disclosed by Woytowitz. The motivation for doing so would have been to configure the controller to provide control signals for wired connections to the irrigation control valves, and include a transceiver that is configured to convert the set of wired control signals to a set of wireless control signals (0006).
Pearson, Glenn, Van Houwelling and Woytowitz disclose an irrigation controller having rules regarding schedules (Pearson [0046, 0056-0059]). However, Pearson, Glenn, Van Houwelling and Woytowitz failed to disclose the following limitations.
Price, in the same field of irrigation controllers discloses further comprising
an ongoing learning system; the ongoing learning system having a predetermined set of rules; the ongoing learning system having a database; wherein the database is configured to accept information [[0039] the data analysis unit 121 may comprise a control circuit 1204, a memory 1206, an I/O interface 1208, a transceiver, and an optional trained machine learning model 1210. In some embodiments, the data analysis unit 121 is coupled to one or more databases 1212.];
the ongoing learning system having rule changes; the ongoing learning system having a plurality of variables; the variables providing input for the writer in changing the schedule of the scheduler [[0185] the analyzing data such as steps 1408, 1506, 1606, 1904 and/or the determining irrigation schedules, changes and/or adjustments such as steps 1410, 1508, 1608, 1706, 1906, 1908 may be provided using an algorithm and/or the trained machine learning model 1210. Data is analyzed in a real-world system];
the ongoing learning system having machine learning; the ongoing learning system having a writer; the ongoing learning system having a scheduler; [[0185] the analyzing data such as steps 1408, 1506, 1606, 1904 and/or the determining irrigation schedules, changes and/or adjustments such as steps 1410, 1508, 1608, 1706, 1906, 1908 may be provided using an algorithm and/or the trained machine learning model 1210.]
wherein the writer receives an input based on processing completed by the ongoing learning system; wherein the writer adjusts the scheduler at predetermined intervals of time; [[0033] the irrigation system 100 may comprise one or more data analysis unit 121 comprising a data analysis module 116 configured to analyze data such as irrigation related data. The data analyzed by the data analysis module 116 may include, but not be limited to, water flow data collected via the flow meter 110, sensor data collected via the one or more sensors 131, past/previous irrigation schedules, existing/current irrigation schedules, data from a third-party server (e.g., weather data from a weather server), data provided by a user, and so on. In some embodiments, the data analysis module 116 may be further configured to determine an irrigation schedule (i.e., create an irrigation schedule) and/or determine a change/adjustment to an existing irrigation schedule based on the analyzed data.].wherein the scheduler receives the writing from the writer and schedules irrigation activities for durations of time at particular points in time [[0032] The irrigation control unit 101 may output signals to implement the irrigation schedule or cause the change/adjustment to the existing irrigation schedule. For example, the irrigation control unit 101 may output signals to activate and/or deactivate the one or more valves 104 or the one or more water emitters 108 and/or to control other irrigation implementing components 117.].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pearson, Glenn, Van Houwelling and Woytowitz’s irrigation controller to include an ongoing learning system as disclosed by Price. The motivation for doing so would have been to include machine learning as part of the controller to facilitate and maximize irrigation scheduling and adjustments thus increasing efficiency.
Claim 19:
As per claim 19, which depends on claim 18, Pearson, Glenn, Van Houwelling, Woytowitz and Price disclose further comprising: a graphical user interface; the graphical user interface having a display; wherein the display of the graphical user interface is a smart device; a sensor system; an application server. Pearson, [[0036] FIG. 17A illustrates the "Schedule Screen" for the "Homeowner" user and the "Contactor" user. [0065] Once connected with a CSR, the user can explain the issue affecting the system and can be walked through trouble shooting steps and programming instructions. In addition, the data communication aspect allows the user to upload the controller schedule and settings data to a network storage server so that a CSR may review and reprogram the controller 100 remotely. Once the CSR has modified and corrected the controller issue, the modified irrigation schedule and settings may be downloaded from the server back to the controller through the existing installed communication protocol (for example, WiFi) [0068] sensor system].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/HOWARD CORTES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118