DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein the shoulders abut against the frame” of claim 1 and “wherein the at least one arm includes a pair of arms” of claim 10 in addition to the futures of the dependent claims must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 6-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regards to claim 6, the embodiment of figure 10 does not have support for the rotating member being “an obtuse rhomboid”.
In regards to claim 7, the embodiment of figure 10 does not have support for “at least one joint”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, “wherein the shoulders abut against the frame” is unclear. This is because from the figures it doesn’t appear the shoulders 1154VII-A or 1154VII-B abut the frame despite being described as such in para 66. Thus, what is required by the claim is unclear. For the purposes of examination, it is assumed as long as the shoulders at least indirectly abut the frame the limitation is met.
In regards to claim 7, claim 7 recites the limitation " the second end ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it’s unclear if the applicant intended to add the element in this claim or for this claim to depend on a claim which introduces this element. For the purposes of examination, the former is assumed.
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are rejected due to their dependency on the rejected claims above.
Claim Objections
Claims 1,2, and 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 “when the rotating member is in the first position” should read “when the at least one rotating member is in the first position.
In claim 2 “each at least one arm” should read “each of the at least one arm”.
In claim 8 “wherein at least one arm supported by the at least one fulcrum” should read “wherein the at least one arm is supported by the at least one fulcrum”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Froehlich et al. DE 875306 C. (hereinafter Froehlich).
In regards to claim 1, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Froehlich teaches the lock mechanism for at least one puller-equipped fastener comprising a zipper car (see fig 3), the lock mechanism comprising: a frame (1) having a slot (slot occupied by 27 in fig 5) comprising an open end (end right of 27 wrt fig 5) and a closed end (end left of 27 wrt fig 9) and configured for receiving a zipper car (27) between the open and the closed end of the slot (see fig 5); at least one arm (5; see reference image 1) for selectively obstructing and unblocking the slot (see figs 3-4); at least one actuator (9-10); and at least one rotating member that is operationally coupled with the at least one actuator and with the at least one arm (see reference image 1), wherein the at least one rotating member is selectively switchable by the at least one actuator between a first position (see fig 3) when the actuator is in the first state for obstructing the slot and a second position when the actuator is in the second state for unblocking the slot (see figs 3-4), wherein the at least one rotating member comprises a stem with round shoulders (see reference image 1), and wherein the shoulders abut against the frame (at least indirectly) when the rotating member is in the first position (see fig 4).
Reference image 1
In regards to claim 2, Froehlich teaches the lock mechanism of claim 1, wherein the lock mechanism is configured to allow the at least one rotating member in the first position to counterpoise force enacted on the at least one arm coupled thereto to obstruct the slot (see fig 4), and in the second position to allow each at least one arm coupled thereto to unblock the slot (see fig 3).
In regards to claim 3, Froehlich teaches the lock mechanism of claim 1, wherein the actuator is selected from a group consisting of: manually (the actuator is a key), electrically, or electromechanically operable to selectively switch the rotating member between the first and second states (see figs 3-4).
In regards to claim 4, Froehlich teaches the lock mechanism of claim 1, wherein the frame comprises a front panel (19), the front panel comprising an exterior face (face seen in fig 5), an interior face (face facing 11) and the slot (see fig 5), wherein the at least one rotating member and the actuator are situated distal to the slot (at least in a position between figs 3-4), and proximal to the interior face (see figs 4-5).
In regards to claim 5, Froehlich teaches the lock mechanism of claim 1, wherein the at least one arm is movable by the actuator switching the at least one rotating member between the first position and the second position (see figs 3-4).
In regards to claim 7, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Froehlich teaches the lock mechanism of claim 1, further comprising at least one joint (see reference image 1), wherein each of the at least one joint is engaged with one of the at least one rotating member (see reference image 1), and wherein at least one arm has the second end (end nearest the joint) of the at least one arm rotatably engaged with the joint (as it rotates about 2 due to its connection with the joint).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Segal US 1510561 A (hereinafter Segal) in view of Froehlich.
In regards to claim 1, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Segal teaches a mechanism for at least one puller-equipped fastener comprising a zipper car, the lock mechanism comprising: a frame (3) having a slot (see fig 1 for 7) comprising an open end (left end wrt fig 1) and a closed end (right end wrt fig 1) and configured for receiving a member between the open and the closed end of the slot (see fig 3); at least one arm for selectively obstructing and unblocking the slot (15 and/or 14); at least one actuator; and at least one rotating member (23 and portion of 22 inside the housing) that is operationally coupled with the at least one actuator and with the at least one arm, wherein the at least one rotating member is selectively switchable by the at least one actuator (portion of 22 outside of the housing) between a first position when the actuator is in the first state for obstructing the slot (see fig 3) and a second position (with 23 rotated) when the actuator is in the second state for unblocking the slot, wherein the at least one rotating member comprises a stem with round shoulders (see reference image 2), and wherein the shoulders abut against the frame when the rotating member is in the first position (at least indirectly).
However, Segal does not teach the slot configured for receiving a zipper car between the open and the closed end of the slot.
Froehlich teaches his slot configured for receiving a zipper car between the open and the closed end of the slot (see fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have Segal’s slot configured for receiving a zipper car between the open and the closed end of the slot in order to prevent the undesired unzipping of a suitcase (note Froelich para 3 and 12).
Reference image 2
In regards to claim 6, Segal in view of Froehlich teaches a lock mechanism of claim 1, wherein the at least one rotating member is each independently an obtuse rhomboid or is ovaline (Segal see fig 3), and wherein the at least one rotating member is each rotatable and thereby switchable between the first and second positions (Segal: see fig 3).
In regards to claim 8, Segal in view of Froehlich teaches lock mechanism of claim 1, further comprising at least one arm fulcrum (Segal: 17 an/or 19), wherein at least one arm supported by the at least one fulcrum has a first free end (Segal: 14’ and/or 15’) and a second end (end with 17 or 19; at least an end of a section), each of the at least one arm fulcrum is situated at the second end (Segal: see fig 3), wherein each at least one rotating member is coupled to one of the at least one arm between the first free end and the second end (see fig 3), and wherein rotation of the rotating member causes the first free end to slide on the rotating member allowing selectively blocking and unblocking of the slot (see fig 3).
In regards to claim 10, Segal in view of Froehlich teaches the lock mechanism of claim 8, wherein the at least one arm includes a pair of arms (Segal: see fig 3 14 and 15).
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis US 5551793 A in view of Froehlich and William GB 2557502 A (hereinafter William).
In regards to claim 1, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Lewis teaches a lock mechanism for at least one puller-equipped fastener comprising a zipper car, the lock mechanism comprising: a frame (16); at least one arm (20) for selectively obstructing and unblocking (see fig 1); at least one actuator (60); and at least one rotating member (40) that is operationally coupled with the at least one actuator and with the at least one arm (see fig 1), wherein the at least one rotating member is selectively switchable by the at least one actuator between a first position when the actuator is in the first state for obstructing (solid lines of fig 2) and a second position (dashed lines, see fig 2) when the actuator is in the second state for unblocking (see fig 2).
However, Lewis fails to teach the frame having a slot comprising an open end and a closed end and configured for receiving a zipper car between the open and the closed end of the slot.
Froelich teaches a frame having a slot (slot occupied by 27, see fig 5) comprising an open end (end right of 27 wrt fig 5) and a closed end (end left of 27 wrt fig 5) and configured for receiving a zipper car (27) between the open and the closed end of the slot (see fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have modified Lewis with a slot configured for receiving a zipper car between the open and the closed end of the slot in order to prevent the undesired unzipping of a suitcase (note Froelich para 3 and 12).
Additionally, Lewis fails to teach wherein the at least one rotating member comprises a stem with round shoulders, and wherein the shoulders abut against the frame when the rotating member is in the first position.
William teaches at least one rotating member (155) comprises a stem (protrusion with 105 connected) with round shoulders (portion 185 contacts and similar portion), and wherein the shoulders abut against the frame when the rotating member is in the first position (see fig 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have provided Lewis with a stem with round shoulders, and wherein the shoulders abut against the frame when the rotating member is in the first position in order to prevent over rotation (William abstract)
In regards to claim 9, Lewis teaches the lock mechanism of claim 1, further comprising a resilient component (Lewis: 23) engaged with the frame and one of the at least one arms, wherein the resilient component is stretched when the at least one rotating member is at the first position (Lewis: see fig 2) and is relaxed when the at least one rotating member is at the second position (Lewis: see fig 2 note dashed lines).
Conclusion
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675