DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note: The claim amendments filed on June 25, 2026 do not comply with 37 CFR 1.121 as not every change has been marked (i.e. see for example, claim 1, wherein the limitation “said non radio frequency radiation sensor comprising at least one of a blood pressure sensor, an optical blood saturation detector, a pulse oximeter” was not underlined though it was a newly added limitation). In order to expediate prosecution, the claims have been examined. Applicant should ensure that claim amendments comply with 37 CFR 1.121 in the next response.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-12, 14-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bouton et al. (US Pub No. 2003/0036713) in view of Arad (US Pub No. 2005/0107719) and Martin (US Patent No. 5,390,679).
With regards to claim 1, Bouton et al. disclose a wearable monitoring apparatus for monitoring at least one biological parameter of an internal tissue of an ambulatory user, comprising:
at least one transducer having at least one antenna configured for at least one of delivering radio frequency -radiation having a plurality of different frequencies between 900 MHz and 2.5 GHz to the internal tissue and intercepting said radio frequency radiation from said internal tissue, in a plurality of transmission sessions during a period of at least 24 hours (paragraphs [0020], [0080] referring to applying electromagnetic energy in the range of 300 MHz to 30 GHz, wherein the claimed range falls within the disclosed range; paragraphs [0027]-[0028], [0031], [0034], [0081], referring to the electromagnetic energy being transmitted with an antenna and a receiver (i.e. antenna) measuring a returned signal; note that the transducer is capable of delivering radiofrequency radiation over a period of time, including a period of at least 24 hours);
a memory storing code (paragraph [0031], referring to the memory) ;
a data interface (50) coupled to a display (i.e. monitor) (paragraph [0082], referring to the user interface (50) which can be for a monitor); and
at least one processor (40, “computer”) operatively coupled to the memory for executing the code (paragraphs [0031], [0082], referring to the data processing and control unit (40)) comprising instructions for;
analyzing said intercepted radio frequency radiation to determine a dielectric[-related] property of said internal tissue (paragraphs [0021]-[0021]; [0024]-[0025], [0031], [0087]-[0090], referring to comparing the returned signal to the reference signal, wherein the reference signal can be “one or more other signal measurements…of one or more other signal measurements resulting from application of electromagnetic energy to the first volume a predetermined amount of time earlier”; further, in paragraphs [0087]-[0089], wherein it is disclosed that “received signals(s)” (i.e. plurality of signals of the intercepted radio frequency radiation) are compared to reference signals, wherein a deviation/change/difference (i.e. differential signal) in the signals is identified via being measured and the differential signal is used to determine if an abnormal (for example elevated) level of fluid is present in the area of tissue being monitored, wherein, as is set forth in paragraph [0026], the measured signal is altered by changes in the bulk value or specific makeup of dielectric properties, wherein dielectric properties of tissue can change measurably in the case that fluid levels become elevated within the tissue and sub-regions of fluid that are introduced or removed can cause movement of boundaries where differing dielectric properties meet in the region or volume-being monitored and change the path and nature of the received signal, and therefore the change in the signals correspond to a “dielectric-related” property of said internal tissue);
identifying a change in the at least one biological parameter (i.e. fluid levels in tissue/edema) by said dielectric related property determined from said intercepted radio frequency radiation (paragraph [0019], referring to the device/methods being used for detecting elevated or otherwise abnormal levels of fluids in living tissue, for example, as a result of edema, etc.; paragraph [0020], referring to detecting a change in the level of fluid in tissue by applying the electromagnetic energy and measuring a resultant or returned signal and comparing the signal to a reference signal to determine if the fluid level in the tissue has changed; paragraphs [0087]-[0089], wherein it is disclosed that “received signals(s)” (i.e. plurality of signals of the intercepted radio frequency radiation) are compared to reference signals, wherein a deviation/change/difference (i.e. differential signal) in the signals is identified via being measured and the differential signal is used to determine if an abnormal (for example elevated) level of fluid is present in the area of tissue being monitored, wherein, as is set forth in paragraph [0026], the measured signal is altered by changes in the bulk value or specific makeup of dielectric properties, wherein dielectric properties of tissue can change measurably in the case that fluid levels become elevated within the tissue and sub-regions of fluid that are introduced or removed can cause movement of boundaries where differing dielectric properties meet in the region or volume-being monitored and change the path and nature of the received signal, and therefore the change in the signals correspond to a “dielectric-related” property of said internal tissue) and
sending said change to the data interface for presentation on the display (paragraphs [0031], [0081]-[0082], referring to the signal processor (70) comparing the returned signal to the reference signal to determine if the level of fluid in the tissue of the body has changed, wherein the signal processor (70) is in communication with the data processing and control unit (40), which is in communication with the user interface (50), such as a monitor/display, and an alarm (60); paragraph [0087], referring to, if the measured signal deviates from the reference signal by a predetermined amount or in a predetermined manner, alarm (60) can be activated; Figure 1).
However, Bouton et al. do not specifically disclose that the apparatus further comprises a non radio frequency radiation sensor configured for evaluating an indicator of a physical condition of said user, said non radio frequency radiation sensor comprising at least one of a blood pressure sensor, an optical blood saturation detector, a pulse oximeter, an ultrasound transducer, and a coagulometer, said indicator comprising a vital sign of said user, wherein the at least one processor further comprises instructions for analyzing said indicator from said non-radio frequency radiation sensor and wherein the change in the at least one biological parameter is identified by a combination of said dielectric related property and said vital sign from said non-radiofrequency radiation sensor, said dielectric related property and said vital sign each contributing to said identifying of the change, thereby improving accuracy of said monitoring compared to use of said intercepted radio frequency radiation alone.
Arad discloses using an electrocardiograph (i.e. non-radio frequency radiation sensor) to measure the depth, frequency and/or timing of the breathing cycle (i.e. pattern of physiological activity), in order to be able to correct for the effect of breathing on the chest impedance, which would otherwise mask the effects of pulmonary edema and other symptoms of congestive heart failure on the chest impedance (paragraph [0009]). The ECG data is used together with impedance imaging (i.e. data inherently associated with dielectric properties) to evaluate the condition of congestive heart failure and used to measure the breathing cycle to correct the impedance imaging (paragraphs [0011]-[0012]). Change in the impedance of the lungs associated with a pulmonary edema is correlated with the cardiac cycle (i.e. a vital sign), and images taken at one phase in the cardiac cycle may be subtracted from images taken 180 degrees apart in the cardiac cycle, wherein such a procedure may emphasize pulmonary edemas in the resulting canonical image (paragraph [0138]).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the apparatus of the Bouton et al. further comprise a non-radiofrequency radiation sensor (i.e. ECG which detects a pattern of physiological activity) configured for evaluating an indicator of a physical condition of said user, said indicator comprising a vital sign (i.e. cardiac cycle) of said user, and further have the at least one processor of Bouton et al. further comprise instructions for analyzing said indicator from said non-radio frequency radiation sensor and wherein the change in the at least one biological parameter is identified by a combination of said dielectric related property and said vital sign from said non-radiofrequency radiation sensor, said dielectric related property and said vital sign each contributing to said identifying of the change, thereby improving accuracy of said monitoring compared to use of said intercepted radio frequency radiation alone, as taught by Arad, in order to avoid masking the effects of pulmonary edema and other symptoms of congestive heart failure and instead accurately emphasize pulmonary edemas/fluid level changes (paragraphs [0009], [0011]-[0012], [0138]).
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that said non radio frequency radiation sensor [that is configured for evaluating the vital sign (i.e. cardiac cycle) of the user] comprises at least one of a blood pressure sensor, an optical blood saturation detector, a pulse oximeter, an ultrasound transducer, and a coagulometer.
Martin discloses using a blood pressure sensor (22) and converting the blood pressure signal into a digitized pressure signal in order to extract cardiac cycle features, such as the time at the end of diastole, the time of systolic pressure, the time of the dicrotic notch, the period/phase of the cardiac cycle, etc. (Abstract; column 5, lines 3-10, column 5, line 55-column 6, line 2; column 3, lines 8-28; column 7, line 26-48; Figures 1-2, 7).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the non radio frequency radiation sensor that is configured for evaluating the vital sign (i.e. cardiac cycle) of the user of the above combined references comprise at least one of a blood pressure sensor, an optical blood saturation detector, a pulse oximeter, an ultrasound transducer, and a coagulometer, as taught by Martin, as the substitution of one known non radio frequency radiation sensor that is configured for evaluating the vital sign/cardiac cycle of the user for another yields predictable results (i.e. providing an evaluation of the cardiac cycle) to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results are reasonably predictable.
With regards to claim 3, Bouton et al. disclose that said processing unit is configured for identifying said change by detecting at least one of a trend, a biological process, and a pattern according to said intercepted radio frequency radiation of said plurality of transmission sessions (paragraphs [0031], [0082], [0090]).
With regards to claim 4, Bouton et al. disclose that said processing unit is configured for evaluating a property change in a dielectric related property of the internal tissue in at least one of said plurality of transmission sessions and performing said identification according to said property change (paragraph [0026]).
With regards to claim 8, Bouton et al. disclose that said reporting unit is configured for generating said report in real time (paragraph [0087], note that alarm is generated in real time).
With regards to claim 9, Bouton et al. disclose that said at least one biological parameter is indicative of a fluid content in the internal tissue during said period (Abstract; paragraph [0087]).
With regards to claims 10 and 16-17, Bouton et al. disclose that said processing unit is configured for detecting a pattern of at least one physiological activity (i.e. and thus detect a physiological activity) of the user, said processing unit being configured for calculating a clinical state of said user (i.e. performing said analyzing) with respect to said fluid content and to said pattern, wherein said at least one intercepted radio frequency radiation is being changed as an outcome of at least one thoracic movement during said period (paragraphs [0020], [0024], [0077], [0082], [0087]; Figure 1, note that fluid level changes and edema, hematomas, etc. are associated with patterns of at least one physiological activity of the user).
With regards to claim 11, Bouton et al. disclose that said at least one biological parameter is indicative of a member of a group consisting of a trauma, etc. (paragraphs [0003]-[0007], [0015], [0077]).
With regards to claim 12, Bouton et al. disclose that their apparatus further comprises a repository configured for storing information pertaining to said user, said processing unit being configured for performing said analyzing with respect to said information, wherein said information comprises at least one of physiological, anatomical, and clinical data related to said user (paragraphs [0020], [0024]-[0025], [0087], referring to the measured signal).
With regards to claim 14, Arad discloses that the apparatus further comprises a second non radio frequency radiation sensor being a member of a group consisting of ECG, etc. (paragraphs [0011]-[0012]).
With regards to claim 15, Arad discloses that said non EM radiation sensor is configured for detecting a pattern of a physiological activity (i.e. breathing cycle, cardiac cycle) of the user, said processor executes a code for performing said analyzing said indicator with respect to said pattern (paragraphs [0009], [0011]-[0012]).
With regards to claims 19 and 20, Bouton et al. disclose that said at least one biological parameter is indicative of a concentration of a solute (i.e. salt) in the internal tissue (paragraph [0031], referring to detecting changes in fluid levels, wherein changes in fluid content in tissue inherently results in changes in solute, such as inherently present salt, concentration as well).
Claim 2 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bouton et al. in view of Arad and Martin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mawhinney (US Patent No. 4,991,585).
With regards to claim 2, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1. However, they do not disclose that said processing unit further comprises a communication module for communicating with a remote processing unit thereby allowing performing of at least one of said analyzing and said identifying by said remote processing unit.
Mawhinney disclose a system for determining whether or not an abnormal condition exists by using a non-invasive monitor that makes use of the interferometric effects on a phase-modulated carrier signal caused by movement within certain tissue of an individual, such as the thorax of the patient (Abstract; column 1, lines 47-62). An antenna and processing means for analyzing a signal, such as an envelope detector (218) may be situated within the same housing (i.e. and thus disposed on the body as the housing of the monitor is placed adjacent the body), or the envelope detector (218) may be situated with and be considered as part of a remove alarm-control means (column 5, lines 9-38; Figure 2). Mawhinney discloses a communication module for communicating with a remote processing unit thereby allowing performing of at least one of said analyzing and said identifying by said remote processing unit (column 5, lines 25-38).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the processing unit of the above combined references comprise a communication module for communicating with a remote processing unit thereby allowing performing of at least one of said analyzing and said identifying by said remote processing unit, as taught by Mawhinney, as performing signal analysis either at the body of the user or remotely are known effective alternative techniques for analyzing signals (column 5, lines 25-38).
Claims 5-7 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bouton et al. in view of Arad and Martin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hatlestad (US Pub No. 2004/0073093).
With regards to claims 5 and 18, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1. However, they do not specifically disclose that said plurality of transmission sessions are performed in an adaptive rate or are intermittent. Further, they do not specifically disclose that the processing unit is configured for performing at least the step of identifying a period suitable for performing a data acquisition session. Additionally, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that their apparatus further comprises a posture detection unit configured for detecting a posture of the user, said processing unit being configured for analyzing said intercepted radio frequency radiation with respect to said posture.
Hatlestad discloses detecting a context when monitoring a physiological condition of a patient, wherein the context may be used to control when the measurement of physiological conditions occurs (pg. 1, paragraph [0007]; pg. 2, paragraphs [0022-[0023]; pgs. 2-3, paragraphs [0026]-[0029]). By taking physiological measurements with regards to context, the measurements may be made with a high degree of certainty when assessing the health of a patient (pg. 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0005]). Hatlestad further discloses that their apparatus further comprises a posture detection unit configured for detecting a posture of the user (i.e. a change of posture movement), said adaptive rate being determined according to said posture, which can be used to control a particular mode of therapy (pgs. 2-3, paragraphs [0026]-[0029]; pg. 3, paragraph [0033]).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of transmission sessions of the above combined references be performed in an adaptive rate and further include identifying a period suitable for performing a data acquisition session, and further have the apparatus of the above combined references further comprise a posture detection unit configured for detecting a posture of the user, said processing unit being configured for analyzing said intercepted radio frequency radiation with respect to said posture, as taught by Hatlestad, in order to obtain measurements with a high degree of certainty (pg. 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0005]) and control a particular mode of therapy (paragraphs [0026]-[0029], [0033]).
With regards to claim 6, Bouton et al. disclose that said processing unit is configured for calculating a clinical state according to at least one output of a non radio frequency radiation sensor and said intercepted radio frequency radiation (paragraph [0087], referring to determine an abnormal clinical state). Further, Hatlestad discloses that said adaptive rate is determined according to a clinical state of the user (pg. 1, paragraph [0007]; pg. 2, paragraphs [0022-[0023]; pgs. 2-3, paragraphs [0026]-[0029]).
With regards to claim 7, Hatlestad discloses that their apparatus further comprises a posture detection unit configured for detecting a posture of the user (i.e. a change of posture movement), said adaptive rate being determined according to said posture (pgs. 2-3, paragraphs [0026]-[0029]; pg. 3, paragraph [0033]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12, 14-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,758,150. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 13-14 of the Patent. That is, claims 1 and 13-14 of the Patent falls entirely within the scope of instant claim 1, or in other words, instant claim 1 is anticipated by claims 1 and 13-14 of the Patent. Specifically, because claim 1 of the Patent claims the same structure (i.e. at least one transducer having at least one antenna configured for at least one of delivering radio frequency radiation having a plurality of different frequencies between 900 MHz and 2.5GHz, a non radio frequency radiation sensor comprising at least one of a blood pressure sensor, etc., a processing unit (i.e. at least one processor) configured for analyzing said intercepted radio frequency and identifying a change (i.e. code instructions for computing a differential signal and identifying a change (i.e. change) from a plurality of signals of the intercepted radio frequency radiation), a reporting unit (i.e. at least one processor with code instructions for generating an output), wherein said at least one antenna is configured for being disposed on the body, etc.) and a non-radiofrequency radiation sensor configured for evaluating an indicator of a physical condition, etc. [claim 13], as claimed in instant claim 1, the system of instant claim 1 is anticipated by claims 1, 13-14 of the Patent.
With regards to claim 2, claim 2 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 3, claim 3 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 4, claim 4 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 5, claim 5 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 6, claim 6 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 7, claim 7 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 8, claim 8 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 9, claim 9 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 10, claim 10 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 11, claim 11 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 12, claim 12 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 14, claim 14 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 15, claims 1 (wherein the differential signal represents a pattern of physiological activity) and 14 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 16, claim 1 (wherein the differential signal represents a pattern of physiological activity) of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 17, claim 15 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 18, claim 16 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 19, claim 17 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 20, claim 18 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 21, claim 1 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 22, claims 14 and 15 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
Claims 1-12, 14-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,238.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 13-14 of the Patent. That is, claims 1 and 13-14 of the Patent falls entirely within the scope of instant claim 1, or in other words, instant claim 1 is anticipated by claims 1 and 13-14 of the Patent. Specifically, because claims 1 and 13-14 of the Patent claims the same structure (i.e. at least one transducer having at least one antenna configured for at least one of delivering radio frequency radiation having a plurality of different frequencies between 900 MHz and 2.5GHz, a processing unit (i.e. at least one processor) configured for analyzing said intercepted radio frequency and identifying a change (i.e. code instructions for computing a differential signal and identifying a change (i.e. change) from a plurality of signals of the intercepted radio frequency radiation), a reporting unit (i.e. at least one processor with code instructions for generating an output), wherein said at least one antenna is configured for being disposed on the body and thus at least temporary fixed to a location on the body, etc. and further a non radio frequency radiation sensor configured for evaluating an indicator, etc. [claim 13]), as claimed in instant claim 1, the system of instant claim 1 is anticipated by claims 1 and 13-14 of the Patent.
With regards to claim 2, claim 2 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 3, claim 3 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 4, claim 4 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 5, claim 5 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 6, claim 6 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 7, claim 7 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 8, claim 8 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 9, claim 9 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 10, claim 10 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 11, claim 11 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 12, claim 12 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 14, claim 14 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 15, claims 1 (wherein the differential signal represents a pattern of physiological activity) and 14 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 16, claim 1 (wherein the differential signal represents a pattern of physiological activity) of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 17, claim 15 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 18, claim 16 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 19, claim 17 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 20, claim 18 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 21, claim 1 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
With regards to claim 22, claim 14 and 15 of the Patent sets forth the same limitations.
Examiner’s Note
Claims 21-22 are currently not rejected over prior art as the prior art does not teach or suggest that said dielectric related property is determined from a differential of said intercepted radio frequency radiation measured across a systole-diastole cardiac cycle from a reflection at an interface between a lung and a heart of said user (i.e. limitations of claim 21). Note that claims 21-22 are currently rejected under Double Patenting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Martin has been introduced to teach the non radio frequency radiation sensor comprising at least one of a blood pressure sensor, etc..
With regards to Arad, Applicant argues that the impedance imaging and the electrocardiograph parameters are maintained as separate outputs feeding a clinical evaluation, rather than being combined so that each contributes to the identification of the change.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and refers to paragraph [0138] of Arad, which discloses that a change in the impedance (i.e. data inherently associated with dielectric properties) of the lungs associated with a pulmonary edema is correlated with the cardiac cycle, etc., and thus a change in the at least one biological parameter (i.e. fluid level changes associated with edema analysis) is ultimately identified by a combination (i.e. via said correlation of the change in impedance with the cardiac cycle) of said dielectric related property and said vital sign (i.e. cardiac cycle), said dielectric related property and said vital sign each contributing (i.e. via the correlation) to said identifying of the change.
Further, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 remain rejected.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798