DETAILED ACTION
The claims 1-20 are pending and presented for the examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2024 and 08/19/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (US 20190300422 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guo et al teaches an ion-exchange strengthened glass that comprises SiO2, Al2O3, B2O3, MgO, CaO, Li2O, Na2O, and ZrO2 in amount ranges that each overlap the corresponding range of the instant claim (see claims 1 and 4). Guo et al teaches embodiments wherein the contents of SiO2, Al2O3, B2O3, MgO, CaO, Li2O, and Na2O each fall within the ranges of the instant claim, and wherein the ratio of (Li2O+Na2O+MgO+CaO)/(Al2O3+ZrO2) is within the range of 0.98-1.2 (see Table 1, sample W, wherein the ratio (Li2O+Na2O+MgO+CaO)/(Al2O3+ZrO2) is 0.99; Table 1, sample BR, wherein the ratio is 0.98; Table 1, sample BT, and wherein the ratio is 0.98).
Guo et al does not teach an exemplary embodiment wherein the ZrO2 content is within the range of the instant claims. However, Guo et al teaches that the content range for this component overlaps and is very similar to that of the instant claims (0-2.5 mol%, see claim 4). Because of this, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had motivation to produce glasses having these amounts of ZrO2 through routine optimization and experimentation within the Guo et al inventive range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, when general conditions are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by changing the size, the proportion, the shape, and/or the sequence of added ingredients through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A) - In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 and MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A) - In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).
As such, each limitation of the instant claim 1 is met by the teachings of Guo et al, and the claim is obvious and not patentably distinct over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned Guo et al samples W, BR, and BT each contain MgO in amounts falling within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned Guo et al samples W and BR each contain CaO in amounts falling within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claims 4-5, Guo et al teaches that the inventive glasses can comprise ZnO in a non-zero amount that overlaps the ranges of the instant claims (see claim 17). Per MPEP 2144.05, overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. The further limitations of claims 4-5 are thus met by the teachings of the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned Guo et al samples W, BR, and BT each contain Li2O in amounts falling within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, the aforementioned Guo et al samples W and BR each contain Na2O in amounts falling within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, the aforementioned Guo et al sample W contains K2O in amounts falling within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Guo et al does not teach an exemplary embodiment containing Y-2O3 in an amount falling within the instant claim range. However, Guo et al teaches that Y2O3 is contained in the inventive glasses in an amount of 0-2 mol% (see claim 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05. Each limitation of claim 9 is thus met by the Guo et al teachings, and the claim is not patentably distinct over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 10, as above, Guo et al teaches that the Y2O3 content of the inventive glasses is 0-2 mol%; this overlapping range therefore renders obvious the further limitation of said instant claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, the aforementioned Guo et al samples W, BR, and BT each contain SnO2 in amounts falling within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 12, Guo et al does not teach an exemplary embodiment containing TiO2 in an amount falling within the instant claim range. However, Guo et al teaches that TiO2 is contained in the inventive glasses in an amount of 0-2 mol% (see claim 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05. Each limitation of claim 12 is thus met by the Guo et al teachings, and the claim is not patentably distinct over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 13, in the aforementioned Guo et al samples W, BR, and BT have (Li2O+Na2O+MgO+CaO)/(Al2O3+ZrO2) ratios falling within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 14, Guo et al does not teach an exemplary embodiment wherein the amount of each component falls within the corresponding range of the instant claim. However, Guo et al teaches that the inventive glass comprises SiO2, Al2O3, B2O3, MgO, CaO, Li2O, Na2O, ZnO, Y2O3, and ZrO2 in amount ranges that each overlap the corresponding range of the instant claim (see claims 1, 4, and 6). Guo et al further teaches that the glass can contain K2O (see claim 7) in an amount overlapping the instant claim range (see paragraph 0068). As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had motivation to produce glasses having contents of the aforementioned components selected from the Guo et al ranges through routine optimization and experimentation, and such optimization would thus lead to glasses wherein each component falls within the range of the instant claim. Per MPEP 2144.05, overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
Claim 14 is therefore obvious and not patentably distinct over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 15, Guo et al does not teach an exemplary embodiment wherein the amount of each component falls within the corresponding range of the instant claim. However, Guo et al teaches that the inventive glass comprises SiO2, Al2O3, B2O3, MgO, CaO, Li2O, Na2O, ZnO, Y2O3, and ZrO2 in amount ranges that each overlap the corresponding range of the instant claim (see claims 1, 4, and 6). Guo et al further teaches that the glass can contain K2O (see claim 7) in an amount overlapping the instant claim range (see paragraph 0068). As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had motivation to produce glasses having contents of the aforementioned components selected from the Guo et al ranges through routine optimization and experimentation, and such optimization would thus lead to glasses wherein each component falls within the range of the instant claim. Per MPEP 2144.05, overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
Claim 15 is therefore obvious and not patentably distinct over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 16, Guo et al teaches that the fracture toughness of the inventive glasses is greater than 0.7 (see Table 1, example W and claim 16).
Regarding claim 17, Guo et al does not teach a 107.6 P softening point of the inventive glass. However, as discussed above, Guo et al teaches glasses that would be compositionally equivalent to those of the instant claims. It necessarily follows that these compositionally equivalent glasses would also have equivalent properties, and as such would have a 107.6 P softening point of 750-850 °C. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding claim 18, Guo et al does not teach a liquidus viscosity of the inventive glass. However, as discussed above, Guo et al teaches glasses that would be compositionally equivalent to those of the instant claims. It necessarily follows that these compositionally equivalent glasses would also have equivalent properties, and as such would have a liquidus viscosity of 200-4000 poise.
Regarding claim 19, Guo et al teaches an ion-exchange strengthened glass and article comprising the same. The glass substrate of said article comprises SiO2, Al2O3, B2O3, MgO, CaO, Li2O, Na2O, and ZrO2 in amount ranges that each overlap the corresponding range of the instant claim (see claims 1 and 4). Guo et al teaches embodiments wherein the contents of SiO2, Al2O3, B2O3, MgO, CaO, Li2O, and Na2O each fall within the ranges of the instant claim, and wherein the ratio of (Li2O+Na2O+MgO+CaO)/(Al2O3+ZrO2) is within the range of 0.98-1.2 (see Table 1, sample W, wherein the ratio (Li2O+Na2O+MgO+CaO)/(Al2O3+ZrO2) is 0.99; Table 1, sample BR, wherein the ratio is 0.98; Table 1, sample BT, and wherein the ratio is 0.98).
Guo et al does not teach an exemplary embodiment wherein the ZrO2 content is within the range of the instant claims. However, Guo et al teaches that the content range for this component overlaps and is very similar to that of the instant claims (0-2.5 mol%, see claim 4). Because of this, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had motivation to produce glasses having these amounts of ZrO2 through routine optimization and experimentation within the Guo et al inventive range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, when general conditions are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by changing the size, the proportion, the shape, and/or the sequence of added ingredients through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A) - In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 and MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A) - In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).
The Guo et al glass article comprises a substrate having a compressive stress layer and central tensile region.
As such, each limitation of the instant claim 19 is met by the teachings of Guo et al, and the claim is obvious and not patentably distinct over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 20, Guo et al teaches that the inventive glass is used as a substrate in a consumer electronic device comprising a housing with a front surface, back surface, and side surfaces, electronic components within said housing, and a glass substrate. The electronic components comprise a controller, a memory, and a display (see paragraph 0107).
Conclusion
8. No claim is allowed.
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NOAH S WIESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
NSW17 September 2026