DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in the first paragraph, the continuity data should be updated to indicate that US App. No. 18/330,820 is now US Patent No. 12,083,350.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 161, 162, 168-172, 175 and 177-181 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,712,574. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the current claims.
Claims 163-166 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the patented claims in view of Jensen et al. (US 9,844,658, hereinafter Jensen).
Regarding claims 163-166, the patented claims disclose the applicant’s basic invention but is silent as to the connection between the electrode and the defibrillators being a short-range wireless connection. Attention is directed to the Jensen reference, which discloses that defibrillation electrodes can utilize a Bluetooth connection to communicate ECG timing signals with defibrillation devices (Col. 9, lines 22-61 and Col. 20, lines 32-41). Bluetooth is a battery powered system that inherently works by detecting the presence of, and establishing a connection with, nearby Bluetooth devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the patented claims to utilize the Bluetooth connection of Jensen as substituting the wireless connection of Jensen for the connection of the patented claims would not affect the overall operation or purpose of the patented claims.
Claims 161, 162, 168-172, 175 and 179-181 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,083,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the current claims.
Claims 163-166, 177 and 178 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the patented claims in view of Jensen et al. (US 9,844,658, hereinafter Jensen).
Regarding claims 163-166, 177 and 178, the patented claims disclose the applicant’s basic invention but is silent as to the connection between the electrode and the defibrillators being a short-range wireless connection. Attention is directed to the Jensen reference, which discloses that defibrillation electrodes can utilize a Bluetooth connection to communicate ECG timing signals with defibrillation devices (Col. 9, lines 22-61 and Col. 20, lines 32-41). Bluetooth is a battery powered system that inherently works by detecting the presence of, and establishing a connection with, nearby Bluetooth devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the patented claims to utilize the Bluetooth connection of Jensen as substituting the wireless connection of Jensen for the connection of the patented claims would not affect the overall operation or purpose of the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 161-162, 168-171, 175 and 181 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prew et al. (US 2015/0094782, hereinafter Prew).
Regarding claims 161-162, 168-171, 175 and 181, Prew discloses a patient-coupled treatment device 250/310 for use with a plurality of medical devices 300 (par. 0038-0039, 0044). The treatment device includes a defibrillation electrode 250/310 with a skin contacting portion configured to provide treatment to a patient (par. 0037-0039). A connector 315/320/415 is configured to electrically connect the patient-coupled treatment device to one or more medical devices, including a first defibrillator 300 and a second defibrillator 400 (par. 0039, 0044-0045). A housing of the treatment device includes a non-volatile memory 290 and associated circuitry 275 (par. 0037 and figure 2). Using a first communication connection with the first defibrillator, the memory and circuitry are configured to record and store a device identifier of the treatment device [including storing a type and model/serial number of the treatment device (par. 0036-0037)] readable by the first and/or second defibrillators, as well as treatment information received from the first defibrillator prior to and/or during treatment of the patient, including shock information (i.e., “rescuer treatment information”) (par. 0017, 0037-0038, 0041). The stored information can be transferred to the second defibrillator upon detecting a second communication conneciton with the second defibrillator (par. 0041, 0045-0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 163-166, 177 and 178 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prew in view of Jensen et al. (US 9,844,658, hereinafter Jensen).
Regarding claims 163-166, Prew discloses the applicant’s basic invention but is silent as to the connection between the electrode and the defibrillators being a short-range wireless connection. Attention is directed to the Jensen reference, which discloses that defibrillation electrodes can utilize a Bluetooth connection to communicate ECG timing signals with defibrillation devices (Col. 9, lines 22-61 and Col. 20, lines 32-41). Bluetooth is a battery powered system that inherently works by detecting the presence of, and establishing a connection with, nearby Bluetooth devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Prew to utilize the Bluetooth connection of Jensen as substituting the wireless connection of Jensen for the connection of Prew would not affect the overall operation or purpose of Prew.
Claims 172 and 179-180 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prew in view of Powers et al. (US 6,360,120, hereinafter Powers).
Regarding claims 172 and 179-180, Prew discloses a patient-coupled treatment device 250/310 (i.e., an electrode) for use with a plurality of medical devices 300 (par. 0038-0039, 0044). The treatment device includes a defibrillation electrode 250/310 configured to provide treatment to a patient (par. 0037-0039). A connector 315/320/415 is configured to electrically connect the patient-coupled treatment device to one or more medical devices, including a first defibrillator 300 and a second defibrillator 400 (par. 0039, 0044-0045). A housing of the treatment device includes a non-volatile memory 290 and associated circuitry 275 (par. 0037 and figure 2). The memory and circuitry are configured to record and store a device identifier of the treatment device readable by the first and/or second defibrillators, as well as treatment information received from the first defibrillator prior to and/or during treatment of the patient, including shock information (i.e., “rescuer treatment information”) (par. 0017, 0037-0038, 0041). The stored information can be transferred to the second defibrillator upon detecting an electrical connection with the second defibrillator (par. 0041, 0045-0046). Furthermore, Prew discloses that the electrodes can be used to record ECG signals from the patient (par. 0038). As is known to one of ordinary skill in the art, ECG signals are continuous, sequential electrical signals. Therefore, an ECG signal necessarily includes timing information, as it will, for example, show a Q wave occurring after a P wave, and it will show each individual heart beat in sequence. The claims do not define the timing information as being separate/distinct from the medical treatment information. However, Prew does not explicitly recite that the ECG signals are received by the connector.
Attention is directed to Powers, which also discloses a patient-coupled treatment device 36 (i.e., an electrode) for use with a plurality of medical devices 10/100, and thus is analogous art with Prew (figure 1a and Col. 3, lines 50-55). The treatment device includes a patient-coupled portion 28 configured to provide treatment to a patient (Col. 3, lines 59-64). A connector 26 is configured to electrically connect the patient-coupled treatment device to one or more medical devices 10/100 (Col. 3, lines 49-55). A housing of the treatment device includes a non-volatile memory 32 and associated circuitry (Fig. 1a and Col. 3, lines 31-43, Col. 4, lines 7-30 and Col. 5, lines 3-20). The memory and circuitry are configured to record and store treatment information received from the medical device, including ECG data (i.e., patient history information) over an elapsed time period and treatment delivered, as well as the inherent timing of the ECG data, as described above (Col. 4, lines 7-30). The stored information can be transferred to a second medical device for retrieval and use by advanced caregivers (Col. 6, lines 59-63). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Prew to record and store the ECG signal of the medical treatment information in the connector as taught by Powers in order to provide as much data as possible to by the advanced caregiver (Col. 6, lines 55-64 of Powers for motivation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 167 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if a Terminal Disclaimer were filed to overcome the double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 especially US 7,016,726 which discloses communicating with electrodes.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796