DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendments/remarks filed on 11/03/2025. Claims 1, 3-13, 15-16 are pending; claims 1, 3, 13, 15 have been amended; claims 2 and 14 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/20/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The amendment to the abstract were received on 11/03/2025. The amendment to the abstract are acceptable.
The previous drawing objection have been withdrawn in light of the replacement sheet to Fig.1 and canceling claim 14.
The previous rejections of claims 14-16 under 35 USC 112 (b) have been withdrawn in light of claim 14.
The previous claim rejections of claims 13, 15-16 under 35 USC §103 have been withdrawn in light of incorporating the allowable subject matter renders the claims allowable.
The previous claim rejections of claims 1, 8-9, 11, 13 under 35 USC 102 as anticipated by Guinot and rejections of claims 1,6, 13 under 35 USC 102 Sherman have been withdrawn in light of the amendment to independent claim and remarks on page 14, last paragraph.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Vogtle in view of Tassinger have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
1-Applicant argues “The Office Action interprets the inner region where the rotor 40 is mounted as the "rotor hub," and regarded the portion 235, which contacts the damper 240 at the output side of the engine clutch 160, as the drive shaft in a functional sense. However, the Office Action at pages 10-12 acknowledges that Vogtle fails to disclose a drive shaft provided on the outer circumference of the engine clutch. Tassinger describes a transmission device including an engine clutch 20, a damper 18, and a drive plate, as shown below in Figure 1… Moreover, Claim 1 is further amended to recite the configuration of the engine clutch having an annular shape with inner and outer circumferences. Vogtle and Tassinger fails to disclose or suggest such a configuration of the engine clutch. The deficiencies of Vogtle in this regard are not remedied by the further teachings of Tassinger or Nelson.”
In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees the claim does not require drive shaft provided on the outer circumference of the engine clutch, instead the claim requires “drive plate arranged on an outer circumference of the engine clutch; and drive shaft being coupled with the inner circumference of the engine clutch”. From page 11 of non-final office action, examiner indicated that “Vogtle does not disclose drive plate arranged on an outer circumference of the engine clutch.” Under broadest reasonable interpretation, an annular clutch is a clutch that surrounds rotational axis and thereof necessarily includes a radially inner and outer circumferential boundary. In Vogtle, clutch 160 is disclosed as coaxially arranged separating clutch disposed about the drivetrain axis (see Fig.8). A clutch that is coaxial and surrounds the axis is by definition annular shape. Accordingly, clutch 160 necessarily includes radially inner and outer region. Furthermore, the inner circumference of the clutch 160 is coupled to shaft 300 (via inner disk carrier 295) which transmits torque downstream. This satisfies the claimed coupling limitation.
2-Applicant argues “Tassinger describes a transmission device including an engine clutch 20, a damper 18, and a drive plate, as shown below in Figure 1. The elements indicated by arrows in the above figure, relating to Claim 13, are marked in accordance with the Office Action's assertions on pages 17-20. However, the Office Action acknowledges that Tassinger fails to disclose any "rotor hub."”
In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees the rejection does not rely on Tassinger for the rotor hub. The rotor hub limitation is met by Vogtle, which clearly discloses a rotor mounted assembly enclosing the drive plate and torsional damper (see annotated Fig. under rejection of claim 1 below). Under BRI, a rotor hub” encompasses the structural hub or region supporting and surrounding the rotor-coupled components. Examiner relies on Tassinger to teach drive plate arranged on an outer circumference of an engine clutch (see rejection of claim 1 below). Thereof, the 103 rejection over Vogtle in view of Tassinger are maintained.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Tassinger in view of Nelson have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
1-Applicant argues “Nelson relates to a hybrid drive device including a rotor hub, which is not disclosed in Tassinger. As shown below in Figure 1, Nelson describes a rotor hub 38 (yellow-highlighted region). Moreover, Claim 1 is further amended to recite the configuration of the engine clutch having an annular shape with inner and outer circumferences. Vogtle and Tassinger fails to disclose or suggest such a configuration of the engine clutch. The deficiencies of Vogtle in this regard are not remedied by the further teachings of Tassinger or Nelson.”
In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees in Tassinger a clutch 20 as coaxially arranged, friction plate clutch surrounding a rotational axis and selectively couple to shaft 26 to rotor 14. This configuration define clutch 20 is annular the clutch. The clutch 20 also connects to crankshaft 26 to damper 18/rotor 14. Thereof, the clutch 20 must have inner circumference coupled to drive shaft and outer circumference coupled to the damper/drive plate. Furthermore, Tassinger also discloses wherein the engine clutch (20) is configured to transmit engine torque to the drive plate (as shown in annotated Fig below) when the engine torque is applied to the engine clutch (as shown in annotated fig below, the drive plate is coupled to clutch 20; thereof, when torque transmits from engine to clutch 20 then it would goes to drive plate then springs to output part of damper. See ¶[0022] and ¶[0029]). Nelson is relied to teach drive plate and torsional damper are housed within a rotor hub. Thereof, the 103 rejections over Tassinger in view of Nelson are maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogtle (US 20220397186) in view of TASSINGER (DE 102017214039 A1)
Claim 1: Vogtle discloses a hybrid power transfer module (fig.8) including a drive shaft (300; Fig.8. e.g. 300 connected to 90 for conjoint rotation and 90), a rotor hub (see annotated Fig.8 below), and an engine clutch (160) defined by an annular shape (clutch 160 arranged concentrically about the rotation axis, occupying an annular shape space between the inner rotating component and outer housing component) having an inner circumference (radially inward region surrounding the axis of clutch 160) and outer circumference (radially outward region surrounding the axis of clutch 160) of the engine clutch (160), comprising:
a drive plate (235); and
a torsional damper (240), which is arranged to contact the drive plate (235) and includes a plurality of springs (240); wherein the drive plate (235) and the torsional damper (240) are arranged within the rotor hub (see annotated Fig.8 below);
wherein the engine clutch (160) is configured to transmit engine torque to the drive plate (see annotated fig.1 above) when the engine torque is applied to the engine clutch (160: Vogtle) (¶[0083]: “The first outer disc carrier 290 is connected integrally and in a materially uniform manner to the second input part 235 of the second torsional damper 231.” This paragraph indicates that drive plate is connected to outer carrier of the clutch as torque transmit from engine to clutch 160 then torque comes to drive plate to springs of torsional damper.)
Vogtle at least arguably does not disclose drive plate arranged on an outer circumference of the engine clutch.
TASSINGER teaches transmission device (title) having drive plate (see annotated Fig below) arranged on an outer circumference of an engine clutch (20; Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the drive plate along with torsional damper be to on outer circumference of engine clutch as taught by TASSINGER in the transmission of Vogtle for the purpose of utilizing the annular gap between rotor and damper to provide more compact design and/or to reduce the axial dimension.
As the result, the torsional damper along with the rotor hub of VOGTLE would have the structure as taught by TASSIGNER and pendulum of VOGTLE would be arrange a little more toward the right side.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rotor hub)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Drive plate)]
Claim 3: Vogtle as modified by TASSINGER discloses the hybrid power transfer module of claim 1, wherein the drive plate (see annotated fig.1 above) is configured to transmit engine torque received from the engine clutch (160) to the torsional damper (Springs of 18: TASSINGER) when engine torque is applied to the engine clutch. (¶[0083]: “The first outer disc carrier 290 is connected integrally and in a materially uniform manner to the second input part 235 of the second torsional damper 231.” This implies that drive plate is connected to outer carrier of the clutch as torque transmit from engine to clutch 160 then torque comes to drive plate to springs then output part of torsional damper.)
Claim 7: Vogtle as modified by TASSINGER discloses the hybrid power transfer module of claim 1, further comprising a torque converter (95), wherein the torque converter does not include a torsional damper (as shown in Fig.8 the torque converter does not include torsional damper).
Claim 8: Vogtle as modified by TASSINGER discloses the hybrid power transfer module of claim 1, further comprising an oil passage (shaft 300 contains fluid passage for supplying pressure fluid to chamber 305, see ¶[0085]) in fluid communication with the engine clutch (160) note: this is the “and/or” limitation, thereof, the prior art does not require to apply)
Claim 9: Vogtle as modified by TASSINGER discloses the hybrid power transfer module of claim 8, wherein the oil passage (shaft 300 contains fluid passage for supplying pressure fluid to chamber 305, see ¶[0085]) includes a first oil passage (shaft 300 passage) located radially inward of the engine clutch (160) (as shown in Fig.8:shaft 300 passage is radially inward of clutch 160)
Claim 11: Vogtle as modified by TASSINGER discloses the hybrid power transfer module of claim 9, the first oil passage (shaft 300 passage, see ¶[0085]) is defined in the drive shaft (300).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TASSINGER (DE 102017214039 A1) in view of Nelson (US 11028899 B1)
Claim 1: TASSINGER discloses a hybrid power transfer module including a drive shaft (26), and an engine clutch (20; or alternatively 20 and 24) defined by an annular shape (clutch 20 as coaxially arranged, friction plate clutch surrounding a rotational axis and selectively couple to shaft 26 to rotor 14. This configuration define clutch 20 is annular) having an inner circumference (inner circumference portion of clutch 20) and outer circumference (outer circumference portion of clutch 20) of the engine clutch, the drive shaft (26) being coupled with the inner circumference of the engine clutch, comprising:
a drive plate (see annotated Fig below) arranged on the outer circumference of the engine clutch (20) (as shown in Fig.1, the drive shaft is arranged on outer circumference of clutch 20); and
a torsional damper (springs of 18), which is arranged to contact the drive plate (see annotated Fig below) and includes a plurality of springs (see annotated Fig below);
wherein the engine clutch (20) is configured to transmit engine torque to the drive plate (as shown in annotated Fig below) when the engine torque is applied to the engine clutch (as shown in annotated fig below, the drive plate is coupled to clutch 20; thereof, when torque transmits from engine to clutch 20 then it would goes to drive plate then springs to output part of damper. See ¶[0022] and ¶[0029]).
TASSINGER does not explicitly disclose a rotor hub.
Nelson teaches a system (10; Fig.1) having a rotor hub (38).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the rotor hub as taught by Nelson in the module of TASSINGER in order to support the motor and/or reduce torsion forces on the gears.
As the modified device, the module of TASSINGER would include rotor hub as taught by Nelson such that wherein the drive plate (see annotated Fig below) and the torsional damper (springs of 18) are arranged within the rotor hub.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Drive plate)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 3: TASSINGER as modified by Nelson discloses the hybrid power transfer module of claim 1, wherein the drive plate (as shown in annotated Fig above) is configured to transmit engine torque received from the engine clutch (20) to the torsional damper (springs of 18) when engine torque is applied to the engine clutch (e.g. the drive plate is coupled to clutch 20; thereof, when torque transmits from engine to clutch 20 then it would go to drive plate then springs to output part of damper. See ¶[0022] and ¶[0029]).
Claim 4: TASSINGER as modified by Nelson discloses the hybrid power transfer module of claim 3. Furthermore, Nelson teaches the drive plate (54) has a plurality of hooks (projections- see annotated fig below) that project radially outward to transmit engine torque to a torsional damper (50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the schematic torsional damper of TASSHINGER with the structural torsional damper as taught by Nelson in order to lock springs in place and prevent misalignment under high stress.
Accordingly, the modified structure of TASSINGER would replace the torsional damper 18 of TASSINGER with the torsional damper of Nelson.
[AltContent: textbox (hooks)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 6
TASSINGER as modified by Nelson discloses wherein the engine clutch is a one-way clutch (Tassinger, 24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13, 15-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record alone or in combination neither discloses nor renders obvious a hybrid power transfer module; specifically, “wherein the torsional damper includes a drive plate, one or more springs, and a rotor hub cover, and wherein the rotor hub and the rotor hub cover each includes a plurality of engagement portions configured to receive the springs of the torsional damper.” and in combination with the remaining structure of claim 13.
The closest prior art TASSINGER (DE 102017214039 A1) in view of Nelson (US 11028899 B1) does not have the allowable limitation as indicated above. Specifically, in TASSINGER does not show no rotor hub cover, the damper is external to the rotor. In Nelson, rotor hub 38 engages output flange 58 via splines but not via spring engagement portions. Cover plate 54 have spring recesses 56 but they are not rotor hub cover. Secondly, there is no reasons or disclosure from prior art that would led one skills in the art to include rotor hub cover with spring engagement features.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655A
/STACEY A FLUHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655