Detailed Action
Overview
This is a first action on the merits (FAOM) to this instant application in which claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10 and 20 are independent and claims 2-9, and 11-19 are dependent.
Independent claim 1 involves MRI data acquisition after obtaining a proper shim setting and each of independent claims 10 and 20 involves MRS data acquisition after obtaining a proper shim setting. Therefore, independent claim 1 is different in scope from independent claims 10 and 20.
Examiner’s search was able locate a reference credited to Dewdney (US-2008/0088306-A1) that meets claim 1. It discloses obtaining proper shim settings for performing MRI imaging. See treatment of claim 1 under 35 USC §102 in this Office action.
Examiner’s search was able to locate a second reference, Weiger (US-20060197526-A1) that discloses features of each of the independent claims 1, 10 and 20 and most dependent claims. See treatment of independent claims 1, 10 and 20 and most dependent claims under 35 USC §102 in this Office action.
Claim Objection
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: a colon should be placed after “to” on line 6 of the respective claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Rejection under 35 USC §102
Claims 1, 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dewdney (US-2008/0088603-A1).
Claim No
Claim feature
Prior art
Dewdney (US-2008/0088306-A1)
1
An MRI apparatus comprising:
See Fig. 1 in Dewdney which shows an MRI apparatus (1).
a static magnetic field magnet configured to generate a static magnetic field;
The MRI apparatus (1) comprises a static magnet (18) that generates a static magnetic field.
a shim coil configured to enhance uniformity of the static magnetic field; and
Shim coil (5a)
processing circuitry configured to:
acquire shimming data for correcting static magnetic field non-uniformity,
processing circuitry (12)
acquire shimming data for correcting static magnetic field non-uniformity, see S2 in Fig. 3
control an electric current value of the shim coil by using the shimming data,
control an electric current value of the shim coil by using the shimming data, see S3 in Fig. 3
acquire MR image generation data by performing an imaging scan in which magnetic resonance signals for generating an image of the object are acquired,
acquire MR image generation data by performing an imaging scan in which magnetic resonance signals for generating an image of the object are acquired, see S41 in Fig. 3.
determine whether to reacquire the shimming data during the imaging scan or not, based on the MR image generation data, and
determine whether to reacquire the shimming data during the imaging scan or not, based on the MR image generation data, see S4-S6, where Dewdney determines if shimming data is to be reacquired, if so the process goes back to beginning of S4 as shown by process flow-path 17.
reacquire the shimming data during the imaging scan if reacquisition is determined, and control the electric current value of the shim coil during the imaging scan based on reacquired shimming data.
reacquire the shimming data during the imaging scan if reacquisition is determined, and control the electric current value of the shim coil during the imaging scan based on reacquired shimming data, see S6 and S7 which meets this last feature of claim 1.
3
The MRI apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to further reacquire part or all of the MR image generation data.
Claim 3 is met by Dewdney as it is understood to acquire image generation data for obtaining field distribution.
4
The MRI apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to reacquire the shimming data when quality of an image to be generated from acquired MR image generation data and MR image generation data under acquisition through the imaging scan does not satisfy a predetermined evaluation criterion.
Claim 4 is met by Dewdney as it obtains optimized shimming data through making multiple attempts, if needed, until it reaches the acceptable optimized shimming data, see S4-S6. This process establishes optimized field homogeneity which requires satisfaction of certain evaluation criterion.
Claims 1-6,8-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiger (US-2006/0197526-A1).
Claim No
Claim feature
Prior art
Weiger (US-2006/0197526-A1)
10
An MRI apparatus comprising:
Weiger discloses an MRI apparatus (1, 2, 3)2, see Fig 1.
a static magnetic field magnet configured to generate a static magnetic field;
a static magnetic field magnet (1) configured to generate a static magnetic field;
a shim coil configured to enhance uniformity of the static magnetic field; and
a shim coil (6) configured to enhance uniformity of the static magnetic field; and
processing circuitry configured to:
acquire shimming data for correcting static magnetic field non-uniformity,
processing circuitry (3) configured to:
acquire shimming data for correcting static magnetic field non-uniformity,
see “start values of shim current” in para [0045] in Weiger.
control an electric current value of the shim coil by using the shimming data,
Weiger meets this claim feature as it sets new shim current by determining a new shimming data3,
acquire MR spectral data by an MRS scan in which a spectrum of the object is detected,
Weiger meets this claim feature as it acquires MR spectral data in the step of “NMR measurement”, see Fig. 2 and also see other figures.
Each of Figs. 5-7 depicts evidence of acquisition of spectral data.
determine whether to reacquire the shimming data during the MRS scan or not, based on the MR spectral data, and
Weiger meets this claim feature as it answer a question “Result Good enough?”
reacquire the shimming data during the MRS scan if reacquisition is determined, and control the electric current value of the shim coil during the MRS scan based on reacquired shimming data.
Weiger meets this claim feature if the answer is “NO”, see Fig. 2 and also see other Figures.
11
The MRI apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the MR spectral data include acquired MR spectral data and MR spectral data under acquisition through the MRS scan.
Weiger meets claim features as it acquires spectral data each cycle of multiple cycles that may be required to arrive at the “optimum” value of shim or “Good Enough” value of the shim current.
Therefore, Weiger includes spectral data acquired in the instant cycle or spectral data acquired in cycle(s) before the instant cycle.
12
The MRI apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to further reacquire part or all of the MR spectral data.
Weiger meets claim 12 as it acquires any spectral data irrespective of partial or full as the claim covers each of them.
13
The MRI apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to reacquire the MR spectral data when quality of a spectrum to be generated from acquired MR spectral data and MR spectral data under acquisition through the MRS scan does not satisfy a predetermined evaluation criterion.
Weiger meets claim 13 as it discloses optimizing shim value for obtaining quality spectral data, see term “quality criterion” for spectrum in the abstract and in other places in Weiger.
14
The MRI apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to use at least one metric among a signal-to-noise ratio, a half bandwidth, and curve fitting accuracy for determining whether the quality of a spectrum satisfies the predetermined evaluation criterion or not.
Weiger meets claim 14 as it discusses obtaining acceptable width of the spectral lines and SNR, see throughout Weiger.
15
The MRI apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: evaluate spectral imperfection of a spectrum to be generated from the MR spectral data during the MRS scan; determine whether to reacquire part or all of the MR spectral data during the MRS scan; and reacquire part or all of the MR spectral data if it is determined that an evaluation criterion regarding the spectral imperfection is not satisfied.
Weiger meets claim 15 as it strives to obtain high quality NMR spectrum by removing magnetic field inhomogeneity by using optimized shim settings.
16
The MRI apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: calculate variance of a spectrum based on the MR spectral data under acquisition with respect to the acquired MR spectral data; and determine whether to reacquire part or all of the MR spectral data or not.
Weiger meets claim 16 as it strives to obtain high quality NMR spectrum by removing magnetic field inhomogeneity by using optimized shim settings.
17
The MRI apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to reacquire the shimming data for correcting the static magnetic field non-uniformity with respect to either an entirety of an imaging region or at least one local region within the imaging region.
Weiger meets claim 17 as it removes magnetic field inhomogeneity by optimized shim settings.
19
The MRI apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to select one of options (a), (b), and (c), the option (a) being an option in which reacquisition of data and integration of reacquired data and acquired data are automatically performed, the option (b) being an option in which reacquisition of data is automatically performed and integration of the reacquired data and the acquired data is determined after the reacquisition, the option (c) being an option in which reacquisition of data is not automatically performed.
Weiger meets claim 19 as it acquires phase sensitive NMR imaging multiple times for optimizing shim settings.
20
An MRI method capable of executing at least one of an MRS scan for detecting a spectrum of an object and an imaging scan that acuquires magnetic resonance signals for generating an image of the object, the MRI method comprising at least two steps of: acquiring shimming data for correcting non-uniformity of a static magnetic field; and controlling an electric current value of a shim coil for enhancing uniformity of the static magnetic field based on the shimming data, wherein, in addition to the at least two steps, the imaging scan further comprises steps of: (i) acquiring MR image generation data by acquiring the magnetic resonance signals for generating an image of the object; (ii) determining whether to reacquire the shimming data or not, based on the MR image generation data; and (iii) reacquiring the shimming data if reacquisition is determined, and controlling the electric current value of the shim coil based on reacquired shimming data, wherein, in addition to the at least two steps, the MRS scan further comprises steps of: (i) acquiring MR spectral data by detecting the spectrum of the object; (ii) determining whether to reacquire the shimming data or not, based on the MR spectral data; and (iii) reacquiring the shimming data if reacquisition is determined, and controlling the electric current value of the shim coil based on reacquired shimming data.
Claim 20 is met by Fig. 2 in Weiger. See also the treatment of claim 10 above as it being shown to be anticipated by Weiger.
1
An MRI apparatus comprising: a static magnetic field magnet configured to generate a static magnetic field; a shim coil configured to enhance uniformity of the static magnetic field; and processing circuitry configured to acquire shimming data for correcting static magnetic field non-uniformity, control an electric current value of the shim coil by using the shimming data, acquire MR image generation data by performing an imaging scan in which magnetic resonance signals for generating an image of the object are acquired, determine whether to reacquire the shimming data during the imaging scan or not, based on the MR image generation data, and reacquire the shimming data during the imaging scan if reacquisition is determined, and control the electric current value of the shim coil during the imaging scan based on reacquired shimming data.
Weiger meets claim 1 as it acquires phase sensitive imaging data multiple times for obtaining optimized shim settings, see Fig. 2 which shows a trial-and-error method to do so.
See fig. 1 in Weiger which shows claimed structural features.
Magnet (1), shim coil (6) and processing circuitry (3).
Weiger acquires MR image generation data as it acquires NMR data of “phase sensitive NMR imaging” for obtaining magnetic field maps for correcting inhomogeneity by optimizing shim settings.
2
The MRI apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the MR image generation data include already acquired MR image generation data and MR image generation data under acquisition through the imaging scan.
Weiger meets claim 2 as it acquires phase sensitive imaging data multiple times for obtaining optimized shim settings, see Fig. 2 which shows a trial-and-error method to do so.
3
The MRI apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to further reacquire part or all of the MR image generation data.
Weiger meets claim 3 as it acquires phase sensitive NMR imaging data.
4
The MRI apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to reacquire the shimming data when quality of an image to be generated from acquired MR image generation data and MR image generation data under acquisition through the imaging scan does not satisfy a predetermined evaluation criterion.
Weiger meets claim 4, see Fig. 2 and other Figures in Weiger.
5
The MRI apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to select at least one of options (a), (b), and (c), the option (a) being an option in which reacquisition of data and integration of reacquired data and acquired data are automatically performed, the option (b) being an option in which reacquisition of data is automatically performed and integration of the reacquired data and the acquired data is determined after the reacquisition, the option (c) being an option in which reacquisition of data is not automatically performed.
Weiger meets claim 5 as it obtains phase sensitive NMR imaging data multiple times for optimizing shim settings.
6
The MRI apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to integrate the reacquired data and the acquired data.
Weiger meets claim 6 as it acquires phase sensitive NMR imaging data multiple times which includes data from the instant acquisition and from previous acquisitions.
8
The MRI apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: evaluate artifacts of an image to be generated from the MR image generation data during the imaging scan; determine whether to reacquire part or all of the MR image generation data during the imaging scan; and reacquire part or all of the MR image generation data if it is determined that an evaluation criterion regarding artifacts is not satisfied.
Weiger meets features of claim 8 as it reaquires phase sensitive NMR imaging data if a set of predetermined criteria is not met, see Fig. 2 and also see other Figures.
9
The MRI apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: calculate variance of a background in an image of at least one of an imaging region and a k-space region to be generated from the MR image generation data; and determine whether to reacquire part or all of the MR image generation data or not.
Weiger meets claim 9 as it acquires phase sensitive NMR imaging data for optimizing shim setting. NMR imaging involves acquisition of k-space data partial or full.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 7 the claim would be allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor reasonably suggests the MRI apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to use at least one metric among an SSIM (Structural Similarity Index Measure), a PSNR (Peak Signal to Noise Ratio), an NMSE (Normalized Mean Squared Error), and an MSE (Mean Squared Error) for determining whether the quality of an image satisfies the predetermined evaluation criterion or not.
As to claim 18 the claim would be allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor reasonably suggests the MRI apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to reacquire part or all of the MR spectral data for at least one of a metabolite spectrum and a water reference spectrum.
Contact Information
G.M. HYDER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/G.M. A HYDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
1Examiner comment: It is well-known in the art that a magnetic field distribution is measured from phase information of MRI image data. Hence, Dewdney understood to perform acquisition of image data for determining field distribution, even though is does not detail measurement of field distribution. Further, in para [0007] Dewdney states the field distribution is measured by the MRI apparatus itself, meaning, by MRI imaging, which provides additional support for Examiner’s position.
2 Examiner comment: The device in Fig. 1 is named NMR spectrometer. The NMR spectrometer, in Fig. 1, can also be understood to be an MRI apparatus, because it includes a gradient coil and it performs phase sensitive NMR imaging (see para [0012] and 0028]) for determining magnetic field map.
3 Examiner comment: The controller (computer 3) sets the start value of sim current in the shim coil, see “Set New Shim Currents” in Fig. 2 and in other figures. This meets the claim feature.