DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 09/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-24 have been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 08/12/2024 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting
a) Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,062,207. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. All of the features and limitations recited in patent claims 1-9 are present in claims 1-9 of the current application. Similarly, all of the features and limitations in patent claims 15-20 are present in claims 10-15 of the current application.
b) Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,749,027. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The present claims disclose all of the features of the patent claims but are a broader version of the patent claims since the pose information of the patent claims indicate a position of a body portion of a person whereas in the present application, the pose information is based on an object.
c) Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 18 and 20 U.S. Patent No. 10,810,415 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Patent claim 1 recites obtaining images corresponding to a scene containing a person, generating pose information from the images, and transmitting the pose information in accordance with a bandwidth utilization criterion. Claims 2-4 further recite determining the pose information using neural networks, extracting features, forming a feature vector, and using a CNN, capsule network or RNN. Claims 5-6 recite positional and angular pose information. Claim 19 recites obtaining pose information using a first amount of bandwidth that is less than a second amount associated with receiving a video stream, and claim 20 recites a device configured to obtain images, generate pose information, and transmit the pose information in accordance with the bandwidth utilization criterion. The present claims generalize the patented person implementation to an object implementation and state the bandwidth saving relationship already reflected in the patented claims. These differences are obvious variants.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 7–12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandella (US 2016/0252965 A1) in view of Nijholt (“Mixed Reality Participants in Smart Meeting Rooms and Smart Home Environments”).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Mandella discloses a method comprising:
at a processor (Mandella discloses processor 120 for preparing pose data 118, see paragraph 109);
receiving, from a sensor, sensor data that corresponds to a physical environment that includes an object (Mandella discloses an optical measuring arrangement including optical sensor 116, wherein the sensor images the real 3D environment and may comprise a CCD or CMOS image sensor; see paragraphs 106 and 112–115);
determining pose information for the object based on the sensor data (Mandella discloses processing raw image data obtained from sensor 116 to determine absolute pose data 118, including position parameters (x, y, z) and orientation parameters (φ, θ, ψ); see paragraphs 116, 118, 120, and 122); and
transmitting the pose information (Mandella discloses transmitting fully processed absolute pose data 118 in final numerical form over wireless communication link 132; see paragraphs 111 and 114).
Mandella fails to specifically disclose transmitting the pose information using a first amount of bandwidth that is less than a second amount of bandwidth associated with transmitting the sensor data.
In related art, Nijholt discloses capturing meeting participants using cameras and transforming the captured video data into a representation of the participants' poses and gestures. Nijholt teaches representing poses of the human body as skeleton poses and communicating the resulting skeleton data rather than transmitting the video data itself. Nijholt states that “communicating skeleton data requires substantially less bandwidth than video data.” Nijholt further explains that the body-posture information is estimated using a video camera. See Nijholt, Section 5.2, “VMR for distributed meeting assistance.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Nijholt into the teachings of Mandella to effectively reduce communication bandwidth while preserving the information needed to represent the object’s pose.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Mandella, as modified by Nijholt, discloses the claimed invention wherein the sensor comprises an image sensor; wherein receiving the sensor data comprises receiving a set of one or more images captured by the image sensor; and wherein determining the pose information includes generating the pose information based on the set of one or more images captured by the image sensor. (Mandella, see paragraphs 113, 115-116, 118, 120 and 122)
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Mandella, as modified by Nijholt, discloses the claimed invention wherein forgoing transmission of the sensor data. (Nijholt, see section 5.2)
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Mandella, as modified by Nijholt, discloses the claimed invention wherein receiving the sensor data comprises receiving the sensor data from a wearable computing device that a person is wearing. (Mandella, see paragraphs 243-246 and figure 23)
Regarding claims 8, 9 and 14, Mandella, as modified by Nijholt, discloses the claimed invention wherein determining the pose information for the object comprises determining a position and orientation of the object within the physical environment. (Mandella, paragraphs 107, 109, 118 and 122)
Claims 4–6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandella in view of Nijholt, and further in view of Walch et al (“Image-Based Localization Using LSTMs for Structured Feature Correlation”).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Mandella, as modified by Nijholt, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein wherein determining the pose information comprises: providing the sensor data to a neural network system; and determining, by the neural network system, the pose information for the object.
In related art, Walch discloses providing the sensor data to a neural network system; and determining, by the neural network system, the pose information for the object. (sections 2.1, 2.2, also see figure 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Walch into the teachings of Mandella and Nijholt to effectively provide a way to determine pose from the received sensor data.
Regarding claim 5, Mandella, as modified by Nijholt and Walch, discloses the claimed invention wherein providing the sensor data to the neural network system comprises: generating a feature vector based on features extracted from the sensor data; and inputting the feature vector into the neural network system. (sections 2.1, 2.2, also see figure 3)
Regarding claim 6, Mandella, as modified by Nijholt and Walch, discloses the claimed invention wherein the neural network system comprises a convolution neural network (CNN), a capsule network, or a recurrent neural network (RNN). (sections 2.1, 2.2, also see figure 3)
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665