DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 “the transcowl forward with respect to the cascade assembly from the first position to a third position at least partially within the fan cowl” is unclear if the italicized text refers to the third position being at least partially within the fan cowl or if it refers to the transcowl or cascade assembly.
Claim 2 “transcowl is positioned within an interior area the fan cowl” does not grammatical sense and is unclear.
Claim 13, “a cascade assembly” is unclear if applicant is claiming the same cascade assembly now in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 11-14, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stearns (3829020). Stearns teaches A turbofan [col. 3, lines 39+ teaches fan, turbofan, bypass passage] engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine comprising: a core cowl 34; a nacelle assembly 21 positioned radially outward of the core cowl defining a bypass airflow passage 30 between the core cowl and the nacelle assembly, the bypass airflow passage 30 having a fan exit nozzle 25, the nacelle assembly comprising: a fan cowl 21; a transcowl 22 positioned aft of the fan cowl; and a thrust reverser assembly having a cascade assembly 26; and an actuation assembly 42 operably connected to at least one of the transcowl or the thrust reverser assembly, wherein the actuation assembly 42 is actuatable to move the transcowl aft with respect to the cascade assembly [note this does not require the cascade assembly to be stationary] from a first position [Fig. 2] where the cascade assembly is covered [by 28] to a second position [Fig. 2] where the cascade assembly is uncovered [Fig. 3], the actuation assembly 42 further actuatable to move the transcowl forward with respect to the cascade assembly [note this does not require the cascade assembly to be stationary] from the first position [Fig. 2] to a third position [Fig. 1] at least partially within the fan cowl to reduce an area 24 of the fan exit nozzle. (2) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within an interior area the fan cowl when the transcowl is in the third position [Fig. 1]. (7) wherein the cascade assembly is covered when the transcowl is in the third position [Fig. 1]. (8) wherein the actuation assembly 42 is actuatable to move the transcowl aft from the third position [Fig. 1] to the first position [Fig. 2] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft. (9) wherein the actuation assembly 42 is actuatable to move the transcowl forward from the first position [Fig. 2] to the third position [Fig. 1] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft. (11) A turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine comprising: a core cowl 34; a nacelle assembly positioned radially outward of the core cowl defining a bypass airflow passage 30 between the core cowl and the nacelle assembly 21, the nacelle assembly comprising: a fan cowl 21; a transcowl 22 positioned aft of the fan cowl; and a thrust reverser assembly 30 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 30 in response to aft movement of the transcowl with respect to the fan cowl, the thrust reverser assembly comprising a cascade assembly 28; and an actuation assembly 42 operably connected to the transcowl, wherein the actuation assembly 42 is actuatable to move the transcowl forward with respect to the cascade assembly [note this does not require the cascade assembly to be stationary] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft to a position at least partially within the fan cowl. (12) wherein the bypass airflow passage 30 has a fan exit nozzle 25 defined between the core cowl and the nacelle assembly, and wherein the actuation assembly 42 is actuatable to move the transcowl forward during the cruise flight phase to reduce an area 24 of the fan exit nozzle. (13) wherein the thrust reverser assembly includes a cascade assembly 26, and wherein the cascade assembly 26 is covered when the transcowl 22 is moved forward during the cruise flight phase. (14) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl 22 is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl when the transcowl is moved forward [Fig. 1]. (17) A method for operating a turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine including a core cowl 34 and a nacelle assembly 21 positioned radially outward of the core cowl defining a bypass airflow passage 30 having a fan exit nozzle 35 between the core cowl and the nacelle assembly, wherein the nacelle assembly includes a fan cowl 21, a transcowl 22, and a thrust reverser assembly 30 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 30 in response to aft movement [Fig. 4] of the transcowl, the thrust reverser assembly including a cascade assembly 28, the method comprising: operating the turbofan engine in a cruise flight phase of the aircraft [Fig. 2]; and while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase, moving, via a controller 42, the transcowl forward with respect to the cascade assembly [note this does not require the cascade assembly to be stationary] to a position where at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle [Fig. 1]. (18) wherein moving the transcowl forward comprises positioning at least a portion of the transcowl 22 within an interior area of the fan cowl 21 [Fig. 1].
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 11-15, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Newton (4716724). Newton teaches A turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine comprising: a core cowl 12; a nacelle assembly positioned radially outward of the core cowl 12 defining a bypass airflow passage 30 between the core cowl 12 and the nacelle assembly, the bypass airflow passage 30 having a fan exit nozzle 32, the nacelle assembly comprising: a fan cowl 20; a transcowl 22 positioned aft of the fan cowl 20; and a thrust reverser assembly having a cascade assembly 24; and an actuation assembly 24 operably connected to at least one of the transcowl 22 or the thrust reverser assembly, wherein the actuation assembly 24 is actuatable to move the transcowl 22 aft with respect to the cascade assembly [note this does not require the cascade assembly to be stationary] from a first position [Fig. 3] where the cascade assembly 24 is covered to a second position [Fig. 4] where the cascade assembly 24 is uncovered, the actuation assembly 24 further actuatable to move the transcowl 22 forward with respect to the cascade assembly [note this does not require the cascade assembly to be stationary] from the first position [Fig. 3] to a third position [Fig. 2] at least partially within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle 32 [broadly, see annotations]. (2) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl 22 is positioned within an interior area [note this does not precisely define the interior area, and the annotated Figs. broadly read on this being within an interior area] the fan cowl when the transcowl is in the third position [Fig. 2]. (3) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 44 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 30 when the transcowl 22 is moved from the first position [Fig. 3] to the second position; and one or more drag links 46 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 44 via one or more slot joints. (7) wherein the cascade assembly 24 is covered when the transcowl 22 is in the third position [Fig. 2]. (8) wherein the actuation assembly 24 is actuatable to move the transcowl 22 aft from the third position [Fig. 2] to the first position [Fig. 3] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft. (9) wherein the actuation assembly 24 is actuatable to move the transcowl 22 forward from the first position [Fig. 3] to the third position [Fig. 2] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft [Fig. 3 from takeoff until the beginning of cruise]. (11) A turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine comprising: a core cowl 12; a nacelle assembly positioned radially outward of the core cowl 12 defining a bypass airflow passage 30 between the core cowl 12 and the nacelle assembly, the nacelle assembly comprising: a fan cowl 20; a transcowl 22 positioned aft of the fan cowl 20; and a thrust reverser assembly deployable into the bypass airflow passage 30 in response to aft movement of the transcowl 22 with respect to the fan cowl 20, the thrust reverser assembly comprising a cascade assembly 24; and an actuation assembly 24 operably connected to the transcowl 22, wherein the actuation assembly 24 is actuatable to move the transcowl 22 forward with respect to the cascade assembly [note this does not require the cascade assembly to be stationary] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft [Fig. 3 from takeoff until the beginning of cruise, which becomes Fig. 2] to a position at least partially within the fan cowl [broadly, see annotations].. (12) wherein the bypass airflow passage 30 has a fan exit nozzle 32 defined between the core cowl 12 and the nacelle assembly, and wherein the actuation assembly 24 is actuatable to move the transcowl 22 forward during the cruise flight phase to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle 32. (13) wherein the thrust reverser assembly includes a cascade assembly 24, and wherein the cascade assembly 24 is covered when the transcowl 22 is moved forward during the cruise flight phase. (14) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl 22 is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl when the transcowl is moved forward [note this does not precisely define the interior area, and the annotated Figs. broadly read on this being within an interior area]. (15) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 44 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 30; and one or more drag links 46 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 44 via one or more slot joints 44. (17) A method for operating a turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine including a core cowl 12 and a nacelle assembly positioned radially outward of the core cowl 12 defining a bypass airflow passage 30 having a fan exit nozzle 32 between the core cowl 12 and the nacelle assembly, wherein the nacelle assembly includes a fan cowl, a transcowl 22, and a thrust reverser assembly 44 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 30 in response to aft movement of the transcowl 22, the thrust reverser assembly including a cascade assembly 24, the method comprising: operating the turbofan engine in a cruise flight phase of the aircraft; and while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase, moving, via a controller 24, the transcowl 22 forward with respect to the cascade assembly to a position where at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within the fan cowl [broadly, see annotations] to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle 32. (18) wherein moving the transcowl 22 forward comprises positioning at least a portion of the transcowl 22 within an interior area of the fan cowl [note this does not precisely define the interior area, and the annotated Figs. broadly read on this being within an interior area]. (20) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 44 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 30; and one or more drag links 46 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 44 via one or more slot joints 44; and wherein moving the transcowl 22 forward comprises moving the transcowl 22 along the one or more slot joints 44.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 11-14, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vauchel (2011/0030338). Vauchel et al ‘338 teach A turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine comprising: a core cowl 2; a nacelle assembly positioned radially outward of the core cowl 2 defining a bypass airflow passage 3 between the core cowl 2 and the nacelle assembly, the bypass airflow passage 3 having a fan exit nozzle, the nacelle assembly comprising: a fan cowl 5; a transcowl positioned aft of the fan cowl 5; and a thrust reverser assembly having a cascade assembly 70; and an actuation assembly operably connected to at least one of the transcowl 6, 7 or the thrust reverser assembly, wherein the actuation assembly [¶ 0009, not shown] is actuatable to move the transcowl 6, 7 [¶ 0050] aft with respect to the cascade assembly from a first position [Fig. 6] where the cascade assembly 70 is covered to a second position [Fig. 8] where the cascade assembly 70 is uncovered, the actuation assembly further actuatable to move the transcowl 6, 7 forward with respect to the cascade assembly from the first position [Fig. 6] to a third position [Fig. 9] at least partially within the fan cowl [note that in Fig. 12, 318 and 9 are part of the transcowl and at least partially within the fan cowl 5, 16] to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (2) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl 6, 7 is positioned within an interior area the fan cowl 5 [note that in Fig. 12, 318 and 9 are part of the transcowl and at least partially within the fan cowl 5, 16] when the transcowl 6, 7 is in the third position [Fig. 9, 12]. (7) wherein the cascade assembly 70 is covered when the transcowl 6, 7 is in the third position [Fig. 9]. (8) wherein the actuation assembly is actuatable to move the transcowl 6, 7 aft from the third position [Fig. 9] to the first position [Fig. 6] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft. (9) wherein the actuation assembly is actuatable to move the transcowl 6, 7 forward from the first position [Fig. 6] to the third position [Fig. 9] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft [¶ 0046-0050]. (11) A turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine comprising: a core cowl 2; a nacelle assembly positioned radially outward of the core cowl 2 defining a bypass airflow passage 3 between the core cowl 2 and the nacelle assembly, the nacelle assembly comprising: a fan cowl 5; a transcowl 6, 7 positioned aft of the fan cowl 5; and a thrust reverser assembly deployable into the bypass airflow passage 3 in response to aft movement of the transcowl 6, 7 with respect to the fan cowl 5, the thrust reverser assembly comprising a cascade assembly 70; and an actuation assembly operably connected to the transcowl 6, 7, wherein the actuation assembly is actuatable to move the transcowl 6, 7 forward with respect to the cascade assembly during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft to a position [Fig. 9] at least partially within the fan cowl [note that in Fig. 12, 318 and 9 are part of the transcowl and at least partially within the fan cowl 5, 16; movement of Fig. 6 to Fig. 9 during cruise condition ¶ 0046-0050]. (12) wherein the bypass airflow passage 3 has a fan exit nozzle defined between the core cowl 2 and the nacelle assembly, and wherein the actuation assembly is actuatable to move the transcowl 6, 7 forward during the cruise flight phase to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (13) wherein the thrust reverser assembly includes a cascade assembly 70, and wherein the cascade assembly 70 is covered when the transcowl 6, 7 is moved forward during the cruise flight phase. (14) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl 6, 7 is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl 5 when the transcowl 6, 7 is moved forward. (17) A method for operating a turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine including a core cowl 2 and a nacelle assembly positioned radially outward of the core cowl 2 defining a bypass airflow passage 3 having a fan exit nozzle between the core cowl 2 and the nacelle assembly, wherein the nacelle assembly includes a fan cowl 5, a transcowl 6, 7 , and a thrust reverser assembly deployable into the bypass airflow passage 3 in response to aft movement of the transcowl 6, 7, the thrust reverser assembly including a cascade assembly 70, the method comprising: operating the turbofan engine in a cruise flight phase of the aircraft; and while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase [¶ 0046-0050], moving, via a controller [¶ 0014], the transcowl 6, 7 forward with respect to the cascade assembly to a position [Fig. 9] where at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle 5 [note that in Fig. 12, 318 and 9 are part of the transcowl and at least partially within the fan cowl 5, 16]. (18) wherein moving the transcowl 6, 7 forward comprises positioning at least a portion of the transcowl 6, 7 within an interior area of the fan cowl 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 11-15, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newton (4716724) in view of Vauchel (2010/0269511)1. Newton already taught the actuation assembly 24 further actuatable to move the transcowl 22 forward with respect to the cascade assembly [note this does not require the cascade assembly to be stationary] from the first position [Fig. 3] to a third position [Fig. 2] at least partially within the fan cowl [broadly] to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle 32 [broadly, see annotations]. (2) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl 22 is positioned within an interior area [note this does not precisely define the interior area, and the annotated Figs. broadly read on this being within an interior area] the fan cowl when the transcowl is in the third position [Fig. 2]. (14) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl when the transcowl is moved forward. (17) moving … to a position at least partially within the fan cowl. (17) where at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (18) wherein moving the transcowl forward comprises positioning at least a portion of the transcowl within an interior area of the fan cowl. For an narrower interpretation of the transcowl / third position / position at least partially within the fan cowl / within an interior area of the fan cowl of the above claims, Vauchel ‘511 [see e.g. Figs. 4-11] teaches (1) a third position [e.g. Fig. 5] at least partially 11, 1a within the fan cowl 5, 25 to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (2) wherein at least a portion 11 of the transcowl 1a is positioned within an interior area 25 the fan cowl 1, 25 when the transcowl 1a is in the third position. (11) to a position at least partially within the fan cowl 1, 25. (14) wherein at least a portion 11 of the transcowl 1a is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl 1, 25 when the transcowl 1a is moved forward [Fig. 5 from Fig. 6 or 7]. (17) to a position [e.g. Fig. 5] at least partially within the fan cowl 1, 25. (17) where at least a portion 11 of the transcowl 1a is positioned within the fan cowl 1, 25 to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (18) wherein moving the transcowl 1a forward [e.g. Fig. 6 or 7 to Fig. 5] comprises positioning at least a portion 11 of the transcowl within an interior area of the fan cowl 1, 25. Vauchel ‘511 also teaches varying the thrust reverser area using movement of the transcowl and teaches that the use of the of the intermediate member 25 of the fan cowl allows for enhanced aerodynamic continuity during variable area changes and reduces deformation and jamming [see ¶ 0017, 0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a position where the a third position at least partially within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle; (2) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within an interior area the fan cowl when the transcowl is in the third position (14) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl when the transcowl is moved forward. (17) to a position at least partially within the fan cowl; (17) where at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle; (18) wherein moving the transcowl forward comprises positioning at least a portion of the transcowl within an interior area of the fan cowl, by using the intermediate member and upstream member of Vauchel ‘511, in order to enhance aerodynamic continuity during variable area changes and reduce deformation and jamming.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 11-14, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vauchel (2011/0030338) in view of Vauchel (2010/0269511). Vauchel et al ‘338 already a broad interpretation of (1) third position at least partially within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle(14) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl when the transcowl is moved forward. (17) to a position at least partially within the fan cowl. (17) where at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (18) wherein moving the transcowl forward comprises positioning at least a portion of the transcowl within an interior area of the fan cowl. For an narrower interpretation of the transcowl / third position /position at least partially within the fan cowl / within an interior area of the fan cowl / transcowl of the above claims, Vauchel ‘511 [see e.g. Figs. 4-11] teaches (1) a third position [e.g. Fig. 5] at least partially 11, 1a within the fan cowl 5, 25 to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (2) wherein at least a portion 11 of the transcowl 1a is positioned within an interior area 25 the fan cowl 1, 25 when the transcowl 1a is in the third position. (11) to a position at least partially within the fan cowl 1, 25. (14) wherein at least a portion 11 of the transcowl 1a is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl 1, 25 when the transcowl 1a is moved forward [Fig. 5 from Fig. 6 or 7]. (17) to a position [e.g. Fig. 5] at least partially within the fan cowl 1, 25. (17) where at least a portion 11 of the transcowl 1a is positioned within the fan cowl 1, 25 to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (18) wherein moving the transcowl 1a forward [e.g. Fig. 6 or 7 to Fig. 5] comprises positioning at least a portion 11 of the transcowl within an interior area of the fan cowl 1, 25. Vauchel ‘511 also teaches varying the thrust reverser area using movement of the transcowl and teaches that the use of the of the intermediate member 25 of the fan cowl allows for enhanced aerodynamic continuity during variable area changes and reduces deformation and jamming [see ¶ 0017, 0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a position where the a third position at least partially within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle; (2) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within an interior area the fan cowl when the transcowl is in the third position (14) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl when the transcowl is moved forward. (17) to a position at least partially within the fan cowl; (17) where at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle; (18) wherein moving the transcowl forward comprises positioning at least a portion of the transcowl within an interior area of the fan cowl, by using the intermediate member and upstream member of Vauchel ‘511, in order to enhance aerodynamic continuity during variable area changes and reduce deformation and jamming.
Claim(s) 3, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vauchel (2011/0030338) with or without in view of Vauchel (2010/0269511) in view of Marshall (2010/0005777)2. Vauchel et al ‘338 teach (3) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 8 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 3 when the transcowl 6, 7 is moved from the first position [Fig. 6] to the second position [Fig. 1 or 9]; and one or more drag links 9 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 8; (20) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 8 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 3; and one or more drag links 9 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 8; and wherein moving the transcowl 6, 7 forward comprises moving the transcowl. Vauchel et al ‘338 do not teach using one or more slot joints for coupling / coupled the drag links to the blocker doors. Marshall teaches that it is well known in the art to employ one or more slot joints 66 for coupling / coupled the drag links 64 to the blocker doors 62 and that this type of slot joint is used for the transcowl of a variable area fan nozzle [see title, ¶ 0027] and facilitates sliding movement of the drag link without moving the door into the deployed position during the variable area condition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ one or more slot joints, i.e. one or more drag links, pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors via one or more slot joints, one or more drag links pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors via one or more slot joints; and moving the transcowl 6, 7 forward comprises moving the transcowl along the one or more slot joints, as taught by Marshall, in order to facilitate sliding movement of the drag link without moving the door into the deployed position [¶ 0027].
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 11-15, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall (2010/0005777) in view of Vauchel (2011/0030338) and Vauchel (2010/0269511) and/or Newton (4716724)3. Marshall teaches A turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine comprising: a core cowl 34; a nacelle assembly positioned radially outward of the core cowl 34 defining a bypass airflow passage 32 between the core cowl 34 and the nacelle assembly, the bypass airflow passage 32 having a fan exit nozzle, the nacelle assembly comprising: a fan cowl 28; a transcowl 40 positioned aft of the fan cowl 28; and a thrust reverser assembly having a cascade assembly 46; and an actuation assembly 48 operably connected to at least one of the transcowl 40 or the thrust reverser assembly, wherein the actuation assembly 48 is actuatable to move the transcowl 40 aft with respect to the cascade assembly from a first position [Fig. 3B] where the cascade assembly 46 is covered [mostly] to a second position [3C] where the cascade assembly 46 is uncovered, the actuation assembly 48 further actuatable to move the transcowl 40 forward from the first position [Fig. 3B] to a third position [Fig. 3A] at least partially within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (2) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl 40 is positioned within an interior area the fan cowl 28 when the transcowl 40 is in the third position [Fig. 3A]. (3) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 62 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 32 when the transcowl 40 is moved from the first position [Fig. 3B] to the second position [Fig. 3C]; and one or more drag links 64 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 62 via one or more slot joints 66. (7) wherein the cascade assembly 46 is covered when the transcowl 40 is in the third position [Fig. 3A]. (8) wherein the actuation assembly 48 is actuatable to move the transcowl 40 aft from the third position [Fig. 3A] to the first position [Fig. 3B] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft. (9) wherein the actuation assembly 48 is actuatable to move the transcowl 40 forward from the first position [Fig. 3B] to the third position [Fig. 3A] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft. (11) A turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine comprising: a core cowl 34; a nacelle assembly positioned radially outward of the core cowl 34 defining a bypass airflow passage 32 between the core cowl 34 and the nacelle assembly, the nacelle assembly comprising: a fan cowl 28; a transcowl 40 positioned aft of the fan cowl 28; and a thrust reverser assembly deployable into the bypass airflow passage 32 in response to aft movement of the transcowl 40 with respect to the fan cowl 28, the thrust reverser assembly comprising a cascade assembly; and an actuation assembly 48 operably connected to the transcowl 40, wherein the actuation assembly 48 is actuatable to move the transcowl 40 forward with respect to the cascade assembly during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft to a position at least partially within the fan cowl. (12) wherein the bypass airflow passage 32 has a fan exit nozzle defined between the core cowl 34 and the nacelle assembly, and wherein the actuation assembly 48 is actuatable to move the transcowl 40 forward during the cruise flight phase to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (13) wherein the thrust reverser assembly includes a cascade assembly 46, and wherein the cascade assembly 46 is covered when the transcowl 40 is moved forward during the cruise flight phase [Fig. 3A is minimum area]. (14) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl 40 is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl 28 when the transcowl 40 is moved forward. (15) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 62 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 32; and one or more drag links 64 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 62 via one or more slot joints 66 . (16) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl 40 aft to deploy the thrust reverser assembly without a weight on wheels indication. (17) A method for operating a turbofan engine for an aircraft, the turbofan engine including a core cowl 34 and a nacelle assembly positioned radially outward of the core cowl 34 defining a bypass airflow passage 32 having a fan exit nozzle between the core cowl 34 and the nacelle assembly, wherein the nacelle assembly includes a fan cowl 28, a transcowl 40, and a thrust reverser assembly deployable into the bypass airflow passage 32 in response to aft movement of the transcowl 40, the thrust reverser assembly including a cascade assembly, the method comprising: operating the turbofan engine in a cruise flight phase of the aircraft; and while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase, moving, via a controller, the transcowl 40 forward with respect to the cascade assembly to a position where at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (18) wherein moving the transcowl 40 forward comprises positioning at least a portion of the transcowl 40 within an interior area of the fan cowl 28. (20) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 62 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 32; and one or more drag links 64 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 62 via one or more slot joints 66; and wherein moving the transcowl 40 forward comprises moving the transcowl 40 along the one or more slot joints 66.
Note that Fig. 3A is the first position, which is the minimum area position and Fig. 3B is second position, which is the maximum area position. Marshall does not teach wherein the actuation assembly 48 is actuatable to move the transcowl 40 forward from the first position [Fig. 3B] to the third position [Fig. 3A] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft [see also italicized limitations above, which are not repeated for conciseness but also pertaining to cruise flight phase]. Vauchel et al ‘338 teach the first [Fig. 1] and third [Fig. 9] positions can be both be utilized during cruise condition [¶ 0046-0050]. Newton teaches (8) wherein the actuation assembly 24 is actuatable to move the transcowl 22 aft from the third position [Fig. 2] to the first position [Fig. 3] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft; (9) wherein the actuation assembly 24 is actuatable to move the transcowl 22 forward from the first position [Fig. 3] to the third position [Fig. 2] during a cruise flight phase of the aircraft [Fig. 3 from takeoff until the beginning of cruise which becomes Fig. 2]; (12) wherein the bypass airflow passage 30 has a fan exit nozzle 32 defined between the core cowl 12 and the nacelle assembly, and wherein the actuation assembly 24 is actuatable to move the transcowl 22 forward during the cruise flight phase to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle 32 [Fig. 3 from takeoff until the beginning of cruise, which becomes Fig. 2]; operating the turbofan engine in a cruise flight phase of the aircraft; and while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase, moving, via a controller 24, the transcowl 22 forward to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle 32. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the actuation assembly / controller to move between the first and third positions (and vice versa) or to move the transcowl forward during the cruise flight phase, as taught by either Vauchel et al ‘338 or Newton, as they teach the minimum area position corresponds to the desired cruise position which is transitioned from the maximum area position which is used during takeoff. In claim 1, Marshall teach that in the first position where the cascade assembly is mostly covered [Fig. 3B]. Alternately, Vauchel et al ‘338 teaches that a small movement / translation may be utilized to keep the cascades covered in the first position [see ¶ 0050] as well as duct sealing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a small movement / translation may be utilized to keep the cascades covered in the first position, as taught by Vauchel et al ‘338, in order to keep duct sealing. Marshal et al already a broad interpretation of (1) third position at least partially within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle(14) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl when the transcowl is moved forward. (17) to a position at least partially within the fan cowl. (17) where at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (18) wherein moving the transcowl forward comprises positioning at least a portion of the transcowl within an interior area of the fan cowl. For an narrower interpretation of the transcowl / third position /position at least partially within the fan cowl / within an interior area of the fan cowl / transcowl of the above claims, Vauchel ‘511 [see e.g. Figs. 4-11] teaches (1) a third position [e.g. Fig. 5] at least partially 11, 1a within the fan cowl 5, 25 to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (2) wherein at least a portion 11 of the transcowl 1a is positioned within an interior area 25 the fan cowl 1, 25 when the transcowl 1a is in the third position. (11) to a position at least partially within the fan cowl 1, 25. (14) wherein at least a portion 11 of the transcowl 1a is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl 1, 25 when the transcowl 1a is moved forward [Fig. 5 from Fig. 6 or 7]. (17) to a position [e.g. Fig. 5] at least partially within the fan cowl 1, 25. (17) where at least a portion 11 of the transcowl 1a is positioned within the fan cowl 1, 25 to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle. (18) wherein moving the transcowl 1a forward [e.g. Fig. 6 or 7 to Fig. 5] comprises positioning at least a portion 11 of the transcowl within an interior area of the fan cowl 1, 25. Vauchel ‘511 also teaches varying the thrust reverser area using movement of the transcowl and teaches that the use of the of the intermediate member 25 of the fan cowl allows for enhanced aerodynamic continuity during variable area changes and reduces deformation and jamming [see ¶ 0017, 0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a position where the a third position at least partially within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle; (2) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within an interior area the fan cowl when the transcowl is in the third position (14) wherein at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within an interior area of the fan cowl when the transcowl is moved forward. (17) to a position at least partially within the fan cowl; (17) where at least a portion of the transcowl is positioned within the fan cowl to reduce an area of the fan exit nozzle; (18) wherein moving the transcowl forward comprises positioning at least a portion of the transcowl within an interior area of the fan cowl, by using the intermediate member and upstream member of Vauchel ‘511, in order to enhance aerodynamic continuity during variable area changes and reduce deformation and jamming.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the prior art, as applied above, and further in view of West et al (2013/0312387). The prior art do not teach wherein, in response to detecting a failure indication corresponding to the thrust reverser assembly, the actuation assembly is configured to move the transcowl from the third position to the first position. West et al teach [¶ 0071, 0087] wherein, in response to detecting a failure indication corresponding to the thrust reverser assembly 32, 33 [Fig. 20], the actuation assembly is configured to move the nozzle from the third position [retracted] to the first position [extended position]. West et al teach the extended position is the fail-safe position [¶ 0087]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize in response to detecting a failure indication corresponding to the thrust reverser assembly, the actuation assembly is configured to move the transcowl from the third position to the first position, as taught by West, where the first position is the first position to be used as fail safe position.
Claim(s) 4, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the prior art, as applied above, and further in view of Goudard et al (2020/0332742) and/or Johnson (2003/0019206). The prior art do not teach (4) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl to the second position without a weight on wheels indication; (16) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl aft to deploy the thrust reverser assembly without a weight on wheels indication; (19) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl to deploy the thrust reverser assembly while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase, the method further comprising: de-actuating, via the controller, the stop mechanism in response to detecting a weight on wheels indication. Goudard et al teach (4) at least one stop mechanism [lock] configured to prevent movement of the transcowl to the second position [thrust reverser deployed] without a weight on wheels indication [see ¶ 0004]; (16) at least one stop mechanism [lock] configured to prevent movement of the transcowl aft to deploy the thrust reverser assembly without a weight on wheels indication [¶ 0004]; (19) at least one stop mechanism [lock] configured to prevent movement of the transcowl to deploy the thrust reverser assembly while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase, the method further comprising: de-actuating, via the controller, the stop mechanism [lock] in response to detecting a weight on wheels indication [¶ 0004].
Johnson [see ¶ 0052] teaches (4) at least one stop mechanism [46 or 50] configured to prevent movement of the transcowl 12 to the second position without a weight on wheels indication WOW 53; (5) wherein the at least one stop mechanism 46 is coupled to the actuation assembly; (16) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl aft to deploy the thrust reverser assembly without a weight on wheels indication WOW 53; (19) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl to deploy the thrust reverser assembly while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase, the method further comprising: de-actuating, via the controller, the stop mechanism in response to detecting a weight on wheels indication WOW 53. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (4) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl to the second position without a weight on wheels indication; (5) wherein the at least one stop mechanism is coupled to the actuation assembly; (16) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl aft to deploy the thrust reverser assembly without a weight on wheels indication; (19) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl to deploy the thrust reverser assembly while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase, the method further comprising: de-actuating, via the controller, (20) the stop mechanism in response to detecting a weight on wheels indication, as taught by Goudard et al and/or Johnson, as a the typical practice in the art to prevent the transcowl from actuating the thrust reversal without a weight on wheels indication that verifies the aircraft is on the ground. In other words, in order to prevent actuation of the transcowl / thrust reverser during flight as a safety measure.
Claim(s) 4-6, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Newton combination, Vauchel combination, and Marshall combination [note these are a more specific set of references of the “any of the prior art” previously listed], and further in view of Goudard et al (2020/0332742) and/or Johnson (2003/0019206), as applied above to claim 4, 16, 19, and further in view of Hapke (4030687).
For claim 5, Marshall teaches (5) wherein the at least one stop mechanism comprises a slot joint 66 defined in a blocker door 44 of the thrust reverser assembly. Newton teaches (5) wherein the at least one stop mechanism comprises a slot joint [between 44 and 46 ]defined in a blocker door of the thrust reverser assembly. The Vauchel combination teach (5) the at least one stop mechanism comprises a slot joint [as modified above] defined in a blocker door 8 of the thrust reverser assembly.
The prior art do not teach (5) an actuator; a pin coupled to the actuator; the pin movably positionable with respect to the slot joint via the actuator. Hapke teaches an actuator 82; a pin 78 coupled to the actuator; the pin 78 movably positionable with respect to the slot joint 76 via the actuator 82; where the actuator releases the stop mechanism to unlock movement in the slot joint to allow movement of nozzle components [see col. 4, lines 43-58]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ an actuator; a pin coupled to the actuator; the pin movably positionable with respect to the slot joint via the actuator, in order to stop movement of the pin / slider in the slot joint used in the prior art, and lock the pin in place when movement of the nozzle, i.e. the transcowl of the prior art, is not desired
For claim 6, Marshall teaches (6) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 62 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 32 when the transcowl 40 is moved from the first position [Fig. 3B] to the second position [3C]; and one or more drag links 64 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 62 via one or more slot joints 66. Newton teaches (6) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 44 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 30 when the transcowl 22 is moved from the first position [Fig. 3] to the second position [Fig. 4]; and one or more drag links 46 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 44 via one or more slot joints [between 44 and 46]. The Vauchel combination teach (6) wherein the thrust reverser assembly comprises: one or more blocker doors 8 deployable into the bypass airflow passage 3 when the transcowl 6, 7 is moved from the first position [Fig. 6] to the second position [Fig. 1 or 9]; and one or more drag links 9 pivotally coupled to the one or more blocker doors 8 via one or more slot joints (as modified above). The prior art do not teach wherein the at least one stop mechanism is coupled to the one or more slot joints. Hapke teaches [Fig. 7A-7D] a wherein the at least one stop mechanism 82, 80, 84 is coupled to the one or more slot joints 78, 76 where the actuator releases the stop mechanism to unlock movement in the slot joint to allow movement of nozzle components [see col. 4, lines 43-58]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the at least one stop mechanism is coupled to the one or more slot joints, as taught by Hapke, in order to stop movement of the pin / slider in the slot joint used in the prior art, and lock the pin in place when movement of the nozzle, i.e. the transcowl of the prior art, is not desired. Furthermore, for an alternate treatment of claims 4, 5, 16, 19, it is noted that Hapke teach (4) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the nozzle to the second position; (5) an actuator 82; a pin 78 coupled to the actuator; the pin 78 movably positionable with respect to the slot joint 76 via the actuator 82; where the actuator releases the stop mechanism to unlock movement in the slot joint to allow movement of nozzle components [see col. 4, lines 43-58]; (16) at least one stop mechanism 80, 82, 84 configured to prevent movement of the nozzle unless desired; (19) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the nozzle unless desired, the method further comprising: de-actuating, via the controller, the stop mechanism in response to desired nozzle actuation.. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the stop mechanism of Hapke rather than Goudard or Johnson, in the following limitations (4) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl to the second position without a weight on wheels indication; (5) an actuator; a pin coupled to the actuator; where the actuator releases the stop mechanism to unlock movement in the slot joint to allow movement of nozzle components [see col. 4, lines 43-58], the pin movably positionable with respect to the slot joint via the actuator; (16) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl aft to deploy the thrust reverser assembly without a weight on wheels indication; (19) at least one stop mechanism configured to prevent movement of the transcowl to deploy the thrust reverser assembly while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase, the method further comprising: de-actuating, via the controller, the stop mechanism in response to detecting a weight on wheels indication, as the stop mechanism of Hapke combined with the slot joints of the prior art, which would allow locking the transcowl in place when movement is not desired and allow movement when it is desired, i.e. prevent movement of the transcowl to the second position, i.e. aft to deploy the thrust reverser assembly, prevent movement of the transcowl to deploy the thrust reverser assembly while the aircraft is in the cruise flight phase and de-actuating the stop mechanism allows for deploying the thrust reverser, and it is only when the aircraft is on the ground [sensed by weight on wheels] that the thrust reverser transcowl is desired to deploy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments focus on the limitations added by amendment. With respect to Sterns, applicant argues
“the cascade assembly appears to move aft with the transcowl”
thus not meeting the requirement added by amendment that
“’actuation assembly’ that is actuatable to "move the transcowl aft with respect to the cascade assembly" from a first position where the cascade assembly is covered to a second position where the cascade assembly is uncovered as set forth in claim 1.”
In rebuttal, there is nothing in the claim that requires with cascade assembly to be stationary and thus having a different spacing between the transcowl and cascade assembly by the “move[ment]”. Note that “move the transcowl aft with respect to the cascade assembly” may be interpreted broader than as the transcowl does move aft with respect to the cascade, even if both elements move aft, as “move … aft [or forward] with respect to the cascade assembly” limitation may refer to a direction vs varying the spacing between the two elements. Similarly, the forward movement with respect to the cascade assembly are interpreted similarly, as both elements move forward, the transcowl moves forward with respect to the cascade assembly. Furthermore, as applicant’s specification [¶ 0037] indicates that both cascade assemblies that move aft / forward as well as stationary cascades were disclosed, applicant’s claims do not present sufficient structure or structural relationships to prevent a broad interpretation.
As for applicant’s arguments with regard to Newton and Vauchel ‘338, applicant appears to focus on [transcowl] “a position at least partially within the fan cowl” However, it is noted that as treated by Newton, the limitation is considerably broader than argued by applicant. Note that to be “within the fan cowl”, only requires part of the transcowl to the “within” or located in an area, circumscribed by any part of the fan cowl. Newton [see annotations below] clearly meets this requirement.
Furthermore, similar rationale applies to Vauchel et al ‘338.
However, to address applicant’s concerns, the newly applied Vauchel ‘511 also teaches the transcowl at least partially within the fan cowl in a more limiting manner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
July 10, 2026
1 Newton combination
2 Vauchel combination
3 Marshall combination