DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of Japan Application No. 2023-170077 was received on 16 April 2025 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 August 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12 August 2024 are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata (US PGPub 2015/0266309 A1), in view of Boleda et al. (US 6,203,152, B1), hereinafter Boleda, and further in view of Schwiebert et al. (US 5,406,316), hereinafter Schwiebert.
With regard to Claim 1, Nakata discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig. 1; ¶0016) comprising:
a recording portion configured to eject ink onto a sheet to form an image (¶0043, head 4; Fig. 1);
a conveying portion facing the recording portion (Fig. 1; ¶0041), and configured to convey the sheet (¶0041); and
an exhaust fan unit (Fig. 9; mist collector 25; Figs. 17-18; mist collector 34) attached to an apparatus body (Fig. 3; carriage 6; Figs. 17-18; ¶0086-0089), the exhaust fan unit being detachable from the apparatus body (¶0057), wherein the exhaust fan unit (Figs. 9-18; 25/34) includes:
an exterior cover having an exhaust port through which air passes to the outside (Fig. 8; ¶0066; ¶0090, Fig. 20C, opening 39);
an exhaust fan (¶0057-0058, fan 26; Figs. 17-18, ¶0088-0090, fan 35) configured to generate an air flow toward the outside (¶0057-0058, fan 26; Figs. 17-18, ¶0088-0090, fan 35);
a filter (filter 27/36); and
Nakata discloses a case, however does not explicitly disclose a case configured to integrally hold the exterior cover, the exhaust fan, and the filter so that the exhaust fan is disposed between the exterior cover and the filter.
The secondary reference of Boleda discloses a case (housing 5; Fig. 3) configured to integrally hold the exterior cover (Figs. 3-4, 6, bottom part of fan 22), the exhaust fan (fan 22), and the filter (filter 23; Fig. 4) so that the exhaust fan (Fig. 4; fan 22) is disposed between the exterior cover (bottom part beneath fan 22; Fig. 4) and the filter (23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cover, fan and filter of Boleda, with the image forming apparatus of Nakata, in order to prevent the possible toxicity of the printer's emissions or so as to reduce deposits on the walls or the floor of the area where the printer is located, as taught by Boleda (Col. 5, Line 57 to Col. 6, Line 3).
The tertiary reference of Schwiebert discloses a case configured to integrally hold the exterior cover and exhaust fan (Fig. 3, exterior cover 53,housing 52; Col. 13, Line 67 to Col. 14, Line 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the case having external cover of Schwiebert, with the combination of Nakata-Boleda, in order to have a reduction in fan noise, as taught by Schwiebert (Col. 13, Line 64-66).
With regard to Claim 3, Nakata further discloses wherein the exhaust fan unit is provided above a sheet conveyance surface of the conveying portion in a vertical direction (Figs. 1 and 7).
With regard to Claim 4, Nakata further discloses wherein the exhaust fan unit is disposed on a top surface of the apparatus body (Fig. 3; Fig. 17).
With regard to Claim 5, Nakata does not explicitly disclose an exterior member having an intake port through which air is introduced from the outside, wherein the intake port of the exterior member is disposed below a sheet conveyance surface of the conveying portion in a vertical direction.
The secondary reference of Boleda discloses an exterior member having an intake port through which air is introduced from the outside (Figs. 2-3; arrow 14), wherein the intake port of the exterior member is disposed below a sheet conveyance surface of the conveying portion in a vertical direction (Figs. 2-3; arrow 14).
With regard to Claim 6, Nakata further discloses wherein the case includes:
a first holding portion having a first air passage hole, and configured to hold the filter with a first surface side of the filter (Figs. 7-11; ¶0056-0059, bottom side of holding portion – duct 28; filter 27); and
a second holding portion having a second air passage hole (Figs. 7-11; ¶0056-0059; Fig. 10; section 32), disposed between the exhaust fan (26) and the first holding portion (28; Fig. 10), and configured to hold the filter (27) with a second surface side of the filter (Figs. 7-11), the second surface side being opposite to the first surface side (Figs. 7-11), the first holding portion and the second holding portion hold the filter (Figs. 7-11), with both surfaces of the filter sandwiched therebetween (Fig. 11), and an opening area of the first air passage hole (Fig. 11; opening area fits filter size as shown) is equal to or larger than an opening area of the second air passage hole (Fig. 11; opening area fits filter size as shown).
With regard to Claim 7, Nakata does not explicitly disclose wherein the exhaust fan is disposed between the exterior cover and the second holding portion of the case with a gap from the second holding portion of the case.
The secondary reference of Boleda discloses wherein the exhaust fan (Figs. 4, 6; fan 22) is disposed between the exterior cover (housing 5 surrounds and encloses the fan 22) and the second holding portion of the case (Fig. 4, casing enclosing the fan 22) with a gap from the second holding portion of the case (the angled bottom portion of casing 21 creates a natural gap between casing 21 and housing 5).
With regard to Claim 11, Nakata further discloses wherein the image forming apparatus has an installation hole communicating from the outside of the apparatus to the inside of the apparatus (Figs. 8-10), and a landing surface provided in the installation hole for the exhaust fan unit to land thereon (Figs. 8-10), the installation hole is an opening corresponding to an area of an external appearance surface of the exterior cover of the exhaust fan unit (Figs. 8-10), and the landing surface has a shape to covers the exhaust fan unit and not to obstruct an air passage of the exhaust fan unit (Figs. 8-10).
With regard to Claim 16, Nakata further discloses wherein the exhaust fan unit sucks ink mist originating from the recording portion (¶0006).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata, in view of Boleda, in view of Schwiebert, and further in view of Shin et al. (US PGPub 2023/0243868 A1), hereinafter Shin.
With regard to Claim 2, Nakata-Boleda-Schwiebert do not explicitly disclose wherein the exhaust fan unit includes a wire member disposed outside the exterior cover to cover the exhaust port of the exterior cover, and the wire member includes a first portion extending in a direction along an exterior surface of the exterior cover, a second portion extending from a first end of the first portion toward the exterior surface, and a third portion extending from a second end of the first portion toward the exterior surface.
The quaternary reference of Shin discloses wherein the exhaust fan unit includes a wire member disposed outside the exterior cover to cover the exhaust port of the exterior cover (Figs. 1-3; exhaust fan bracket 162, fan safety net 151; ¶0121; ¶0080-0081; Note: bracket is labeled 163 in the drawings, but references as 162 in the spec), and the wire member includes a first portion extending in a direction along an exterior surface of the exterior cover (Figs. 1-3; exhaust fan bracket 162, fan safety net 151; ¶0121; ¶0080-0081; Note: bracket is labeled 163 in the drawings, but references as 162 in the spec), a second portion extending from a first end of the first portion toward the exterior surface (Figs. 1-3; exhaust fan bracket 162, fan safety net 151; ¶0121; ¶0080-0081; Note: bracket is labeled 163 in the drawings, but references as 162 in the spec), and a third portion extending from a second end of the first portion toward the exterior surface (Figs. 1-3; multiple ends extending in all directions as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the wiring member of Shin, with the combination of Nakata-Boleda-Schwiebert, in order to increase the flow rate according to Bernoulli's principle while minimizing the inflow of external jamming waves so that the air inside the shield box main body 180 may be quickly discharged to the outside and to protect the fan blades, as taught by Shin (¶0081).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata, in view of Boleda, in view of Schwiebert, and further in view of Alexander et al. (US Patent 10,167,137 B2), hereinafter Alexander.
With regard to Claim 8, Nakata-Boleda-Schwiebert does not explicitly disclose wherein the filter includes an elastic body, and the filter is held in the case in a compressed state.
The quaternary reference of Alexander discloses wherein the filter includes an elastic body (Col. 5, Line 13 to 55; Col. 6), and the filter is held in the case in a compressed state (Col. 8, Lines 8-13, compressed assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the filter of Alexander, with the combination of Nakata-Boleda-Schwiebert, in order to be biodegradable and, as such, can be easily disposed of while minimally affecting the environment, as taught by Alexander (Col. 7, Lines 22-25).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata, in view of Boleda, in view of Schwiebert, and further in view of Yamashita et al. (US PGPub 2016/0004215 A1), hereinafter Yamashita.
With regard to Claim 12, Nakata-Boleda-Schwiebert do not explicitly disclose wherein the exhaust port of the exterior cover has a louver shape.
The quaternary reference of Yamashita discloses wherein the exhaust port of the exterior cover has a louver shape (¶0026, louver 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the louver of Yamashita, with the combination of Nakata-Boleda-Schwiebert, in order to provide an inexpensive configuration for discharging heat from the inside of the housing, while preventing high-temperature air from remaining around the heat generating equipments, as taught by Yamashita (¶0010).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata, in view of Boleda, in view of Schwiebert, and further in view of Tsutada (US PGPub 2003/0156850 A1).
With regard to Claim 15, Nakata-Boleda-Schwiebert do not explicitly disclose wherein the image forming apparatus includes: a first module including the recording portion and the conveying portion; and a second module connected to the first module in a conveyance direction in which the sheet is conveyed by the conveying portion, and the exhaust fan unit is attached to the first module.
The quaternary reference of Tsutada discloses wherein the image forming apparatus (Fig. 23) includes: a first module including the recording portion (module 300; Fig. 23; ¶0243) and the conveying portion (¶0245); and a second module (module 200; ¶0244) connected to the first module in a conveyance direction in which the sheet is conveyed by the conveying portion (¶0244-0246; Fig. 23), and the exhaust fan unit (110) is attached to the first module (Fig. 23; ¶0246).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the modules of Tsutada, with the combination of Nakata-Boleda-Schwiebert, in order to have a discharge path for the image forming apparatus, as taught by Tsutada (¶0266).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 9 is that applicants claimed invention includes an image forming apparatus wherein the case and the exhaust fan are integrally fixed to the exterior cover by a screw inserted from an inner side of the exterior cover. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 10 is that applicants claimed invention includes an image forming apparatus wherein the exhaust fan unit includes a fixing screw fixing the exhaust fan unit to the image forming apparatus, and a washer having an inner diameter smaller than an outer diameter of the fixing screw and having an engagement portion engaged with the fixing screw, and the washer functions to prevent the fixing screw from coming off the exhaust fan unit as the engagement portion is engaged with a groove of the fixing screw. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 13 is that applicants claimed invention includes an image forming apparatus wherein a distance between the exterior surface of the exterior cover and the first portion of the wire member is 25 mm or more. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 14 is that applicants claimed invention includes an image forming apparatus wherein an operator’s hand is allowed to be put between the exterior surface of the exterior cover and the first portion of the wire member. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/SCOTT A RICHMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853