DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to application filed 08/12/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh et al. (US PAT # 7,350,618 B2) in view of Alva (Pub.No.: 2020/0322714 A1).
Claim 1 recites “An electronic device, comprising a device body and a decorative ring assembly, wherein the device body is provided with a first opening, and the decorative ring assembly is assembled onto the device body through the first opening; and
the decorative ring assembly comprises a cover plate and an expandable connection component, wherein the cover plate corresponds to a sound module of the device body, the expandable connection component has a cavity, a first end of the expandable connection component is connected to the cover plate, a second end of the expandable connection component is connected to the sound module, and the cavity communicates with an acoustic chamber of the sound module; wherein
the cover plate is able to rotate relative to the device body, and a volume of the cavity corresponds to a rotation angle of the cover plate”.
Goh discloses a main chamber, a second chamber, and a third chamber (see col. 1, lines 59-67)
Wherein the main chamber is configured to pivot relative to the second and third chambers (see col. 1, lines 59-67 and col. 5, lines 48-57). Goh further teaches that acoustic properties of the main chamber vary in response to the pivoting movement (see col. 3, lines 33-49) and that expansion and constriction are effected by rotating discs (see col. 7, lines 21-52), thereby changing the chamber configuration and acoustic output.
Goh, however does not specifically teach an electronic device structure including a device body, with an opening and a chamber arranged with a speaker as in a portable device, as recited in claim 1.
However, Alva teaches such a device-level arrangement, because Alva teaches a portable computing device including a speaker port and a collapsible speaker chamber configured relative to the device body (see [0005]), wherein the collapsible speaker chamber transitions between a collapsed state and an expanded state (see [0076]). Elva therefore teaches an electronic device structure in which a chamber is structurally arranged with a sound module and varies in configuration.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the chamber structure of Alva into the system of Goh in order to provide an electronic device in which a cavity is structurally coupled to a sound module, since both references are directed to a acoustic systems and such modification merely applies known structural arrangements to achieve predictable acoustic results.
Claim 2 recites “the combination of Goh and Alva teaches wherein the cover plate comprises a first cover plate and a second cover plate, the first cover plate corresponds to a rear camera of the device body, and the second cover plate corresponds to the sound module; and
the first end of the expandable connection component is connected to the second cover plate; wherein
the second cover plate is able to rotate relative to the device body, and the volume of the cavity corresponds to a rotation angle of the second cover plate”.
Goh teaches rotation (pivoting) of the chamber (see col. 3, lines 15-32) and (col. 5, lines 48-57) with corresponding acoustic variation (see col. 3, lines 33-49) and (col. 7, lines 51-52). Alva teaches a device with a speaker and chamber (see [0005]).
Goh/Alva do not expressly teach first and second cover plates nor a first cover plate corresponding to a rear camera. Providing multiple cover portions in a device housing and associating one with a camera are well-known device design choices and do not change the acoustic operation of the combined system. Note that the recited rotation of the second cover plate and volume corresponding to rotation are met by Goh’s pivoting chamber and its expansion/constriction (see col. 3, lines 15-32), (col. 3, lines 33-49) and (col. 7, lines 51-52).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Goh and Alva teaches wherein during rotation of the second cover plate (see col. 2, lines 7-8), the second cover plate is able to switch between a closed state and an open state (reads on collapsed state and expandable state, see Alva [0076]); and
a volume of the cavity in the closed state is smaller than a volume of the cavity in the open state (reads on the collapsible speaker chamber expands outside the form factor...in an expanded state, see Alva [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Goh and Alva teaches wherein the expandable connection component comprises a first connecting end face connected to the second cover plate and a second connecting end face connected to the sound module; wherein a cross-sectional area of the first connecting end face is larger than a cross- sectional area of the second connecting end face. Goh/Alva do not expressly disclose first/second connecting end faces with specific cross-sectional area relationship. However, varying opening/sections to control acoustic behavior (e.g., Goh’s expansion and constriction via rotating discs (see col. 7, lines 21-22) renders it obvious to provide connection regions with differing effective areas as an implementation choice to realize the variable geometry).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Goh and Alva teaches wherein an expandable body of the expandable connection component is arranged in a tubular shape, and the first connecting end face is hermetically connected to the second cover plate by a sealant. Note that Goh teaches an airtight seal (see col. 3, lines 33-49). Goh/Alva do not expressly disclose a tubular expandable body or sealant at the specific interface. However, providing a sealed connection between parts of an acoustic chamber is a routine engineering implementation to maintain acoustic integrity. Applying a sealant at a connection interface is an obvious variant of Goh’s airtight sealing.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the decorative ring assembly further comprises a decorative ring bracket, the decorative ring bracket is assembled onto the device body through the first opening, and the first cover plate is fixedly connected to the decorative ring bracket and the second cover plate is rotatably connected to the decorative ring bracket”. Goh/Alva dop not expressly disclose a decorative ring bracket with one part fixed and another rotatable. However, Goh teaches relative pivoting (see Col. 3, lines 15-32). Thus, implementing that relative motion using a bracket that fixes one portion and allows another to rotate is a predictable mechanical arrangement (design choice) to realize the taught pivoting relationship.
Claim 7 recites “an audio processing method, applied to an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises a device body and a decorative ring assembly, wherein the device body is provided with a first opening, and the decorative ring assembly is assembled onto the device body through the first opening; and
the decorative ring assembly comprises a cover plate and an expandable connection component, wherein the cover plate corresponds to a sound module of the device body, the expandable connection component has a cavity, a first end of the expandable connection component is connected to the cover plate, a second end of the expandable connection component is connected to the sound module, and the cavity communicates with an acoustic chamber of the sound module; wherein the cover plate is able to rotate relative to the device body, and a volume of the cavity corresponds to a rotation angle of the cover plate, and the method comprises: obtaining position information of the cover plate relative to the device body; and adjusting an audio parameter of the sound module in a case that the position information indicates that the cover plate is in an open state”.
Goh teaches that acoustic properties vary in response to pivoting movement (see col. 3, lines 33-49). Alva teaches distinct chamber states (collapsed/expanded) (see [0076]). Goh/Alva do not expressly disclose obtaining position information or explicitly adjusting an audio parameter based on position. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the position/configuration of the chamber to control audio parameters, since Goh already links configuration to acoustic properties and using position/state information to drive control is a well-known control technique.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the audio parameter is audio output power, and the adjusting an audio parameter of the sound module comprises: reducing the audio output power of the sound module. Note that Goh teaches enhancing or deucing bass effect (see col. 5, line 65 through col. 6, line 21). Interpreting the claimed audio output power reduction as an audio output adjustment, it would have been obvious to reduce output in certain configurations as part of controlling acoustic behavior.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the cover plate comprises a first cover plate and a second cover plate, the first cover plate corresponds to a rear camera of the device body, and the second cover plate corresponds to the sound module; and the first end of the expandable connection component is connected to the second cover plate; wherein the second cover plate is able to rotate relative to the device body, and the volume of the cavity corresponds to a rotation angle of the second cover plate”. Same rational as claim 2 for first/second cover plates and camera association (design choice). Goh providers rotation and configuration-dependent behavior (see Goh col. 5, line 65 through col. 6, line 21, col. 7, lines 21-52) and Alva provides the device + chamber (see [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Goh and Alva teaches wherein during rotation of the second cover plate (reads on main chamber configured to pivot, see col. 2, lines 7-8 and col. 5, lines 48-55), the second cover plate is able to switch between a closed state and an open state (see Alva [0076]); and a volume of the cavity in the closed state is smaller than a volume of the cavity in the open state (see [0076]).
Claim 11 recites “wherein the expandable connection component comprises a first connecting end face connected to the second cover plate and a second connecting end face connected to the sound module; wherein a cross-sectional area of the first connecting end face is larger than a cross- sectional area of the second connecting end face”. Goh/Alva do not expressly disclose first/second connecting end faces with specific area relationships. Providing different effective areas at connection regions to realize variable geometry is an obvious implementation consistent with Goh’s expansion/constriction (see Goh col. 7, lines 21-52).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Goh and Alva teaches wherein an expandable body of the expandable connection component is arranged in a tubular shape, and the first connecting end face is hermetically connected to the second cover plate by a sealant (Note that Goh teaches airtight sealing (see col. 3, lines 33-49) to the specific connection between parts (as claimed) is an obvious implementation detail. A tubular form is not expressly taught and represents a design choice for implementing an expandable chamber).
Claim 13 recites “wherein the decorative ring assembly further comprises a decorative ring bracket, the decorative ring bracket is assembled onto the device body through the first opening, and the first cover plate is fixedly connected to the decorative ring bracket and the second cover plate is rotatably connected to the decorative ring bracket”. Goh/Alva do not expressly disclose a decorative ring bracket with a fixed/rotatable connection. However, using bracket to implement Goh’s relative pivoting (see col. 3, lines 15-32) is a predictable mechanical arrangement (design choice).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Goh and Alva teaches an electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory, and a device body and a cover plate, wherein the cover plate corresponds to a sound module of the device body, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to perform: obtaining position information of the cover plate relative to the device body; and adjusting an audio parameter of the sound module in a case that the position information indicates that the cover plate is in an open state (note that Alva teaches an electronic device with a speaker and chamber, see [0005]. Goh teaches configuration-dependent acoustic behavior (see col. 3, lines 33-49). The combination of Goh/Alva do not expressly disclose processor/memory executing instructions to obtain position information and adjust parameters. However, using processors/memory to implement device control based on component state is well-known and would have been obvious).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Goh and Alva teaches wherein the audio parameter is audio output power, and when adjusting an audio parameter of the sound module, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to perform: reducing the audio output power of the sound module (reads on Goh reducing bass effect, see col. 5, line 65 through col. 6, line 21). Note that implementing this as a reduction in audio output via processor-executed instructions (as in claim 14) is an obvious control implementation.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and when the program or instructions are executed by a processor, the steps of the audio processing method according to claim 7 are implemented”. Neither Goh nor Alva teaches non-transitory storage medium storing instructions., however, storing instructions on medium, to perform known device methods is conventional and obvious.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Goh and Alva teaches wherein the audio parameter is audio output power, and when adjusting an audio parameter of the sound module, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform: reducing the audio output power of the sound module (reads on Goh reduction of bass effect (see col. 5, line 65 through col. 6, line 21). Note that supports the functional results and storage/implementation is conventional).
Claim 18 recites “wherein the program product is stored in a non-volatile storage medium, and the program product is executed by at least one processor to implement the steps of the audio processing method according to claim 7”. The limitations of claim 18 are not disclosed however, implementing known methods as software is well known and obvious feature.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Goh and Alva teaches wherein the audio parameter is audio output power, and when adjusting an audio parameter of the sound module, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform: reducing the audio output power of the sound module (this reads on Goh provides the functional basis (see col. 5, line 65 through col. 6, line 21). Note that implementing a software is conventional).
Claim 20 recites “a chip, wherein the chip comprises a processor and a communication interface, the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or instructions to implement the steps of the audio processing method according to claim 7”. A Chip with a processor and communication interface executing the method is not expressly disclosed, however, using such components to implement device control is well-known and obvious feature.
Conclusion
/RASHA S AL AUBAIDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693