DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 12-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parangattil et al. US 20200067767 A1, hereinafter Parangattil in view of Singla et al. US 20210036918 A1, hereinafter Singla.
Regarding claim 1, Parangattil teaches a location-based zero-touch provisioning system, comprising: (Parangattil: para. [0019] zero touch provisioning and Summary, Fig. 1 network system 100, Fig. 2 and Fig. 6 and para. [0043] processor 602 is coupled to non-transitory machine-readable storage medium 650, which contains instructions 651-657 for provisioning access point 616 with a configuration based on its connected port on switch 614 or its physical location as determined by beacon(s) 615 or controller 608)
a first computing device (new access point 251) that is located at a first location; and
(Parangattil: Fig. 2 and para. [0030] Upon discovery 208 of an address, server connection, or another identifier for new access point 251 in the WLAN, processor 253 issues a location query 209 for new access point 251. The query includes the discovered identifier and enables detection 210 of new access point 251's location by beacon(s) 252. On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration. Fig. 1 and para. [0025] network 100 may detect physical location 116 of new access point 106. In some examples, physical location 116 may be detected over wireless link(s) 125 using one or more beacons 115 within range of new access point 106, Beacons 115 communicate with processor 102 over read/write links 145, which allows the processor to control the beacons and receive data from them.)
a configuration provisioning system (processor 102) that is coupled (provisioning 117) to the first computing device (New access point 106/251),
(Parangattil: Fig. 1 and para. [0023-0025] New access point 106 and its configuration status are discoverable at processor 102, where the discovery triggers automated provisioning 117)
wherein the configuration provisioning system (processor 102) is configured to:
(Parangattil: Fig. 2 step 204 para. [0023-0025] New access point 106 and its configuration status are discoverable at processor 102, where the discovery triggers automated provisioning 117. Processor 102 or network management interface 101 may discover new access point 106 using Domain Name System (DNS), Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP), or any other suitable protocol. In some examples, the automated provisioning 117 and its triggering conditions may be set up or edited through network management interface 101 over read/rite link 111 to processor 102.)
receive, first location information identifying the first location of the first computing device;
(Parangattil: para. [0025 & 0030] network 100 may detect physical location 116 of new access point 106. physical location 116 may be detected over wireless link(s) 125 using one or more beacons 115 within range of new access point 106, Beacons 115 communicate with processor 102 over read/write links 145, which allows the processor to control the beacons and receive data from them. Additionally or alternatively, one or more controllers 108 may ascertain, physical location 116, optionally making it available to the network management interface 101)
identify, in a configuration/location mapping included in a configuration provisioning database, a first configuration that is mapped to the first location information; and
(Parangattil: para. [0025 & 0030] On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration)
provide (provisioning 212 AP with config), to the first computing device, the first configuration to configure the first computing device with the first configuration.
(Parangattil: para. [0025 & 0030] On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration)
It is noted that Parangattil does not explicitly disclose: receive, from the first computing device, first location information identifying the first location of the first computing device.
However, Singla from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: receive, from the first computing device (network devices 102 and 104), first location information identifying the first location of the first computing device;
(Singla: para. [0019] Each of EA asset tags 102A and 104A, and asset tag 106A may communicate information to NMS 110. The information communicated to NMS 110 may include, but is not limited to environmental information representative of environmental conditions at or near network devices 102 and 104, as well as location information pertinent to the location of network devices 102 and 104. Asset tag 106A, being a conventional asset tag, may transmit location information to NMS 110 or to one or more network devices capable of receiving such information, e.g., network device 104) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Singla in the system of Parangattil. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the one or more EA asset tags may transmit location information indicative of the location of the network device in which the one or more asset tags are integrated. In this way, the location information obtained from conventional, non-environmentally aware asset tags can be supplemented with environmental data that the NMS, a user, or other management/controlling network element can use to facilitate or improve operation of the enterprise as a whole (Singla: para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Parangattil and Singla teach the system of claim 1, further comprising: a second computing device
(Parangattil: Fig. 1 and para. [0022] communication network with automated provisioning of access points (corresponds to claim limitation “second computing device”))
that is coupled to the configuration provisioning system (processor 102) and that is located at a second location that is different than the first location,
(Parangattil: Fig. 2 and para. [0030 & 0029] Upon discovery 208 of an address, server connection, or another identifier for new access point 251 in the WLAN, processor 253 issues a location query 209 for new access point 251. The query includes the discovered identifier and enables detection 210 of new access point 251's location by beacon(s) 252. On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration. Para. [0029 & 0036 & 0040] FIG. 2 system automatically provisioning access points based on their locations (corresponds to claim limitation “second location”). Fig. 1 and para. [0025] network 100 may detect physical location 116 of new access point 106. In some examples, physical location 116 may be detected over wireless link(s) 125 using one or more beacons 115 within range of new access point 106, Beacons 115 communicate with processor 102 over read/write links 145, which allows the processor to control the beacons and receive data from them.)
wherein the configuration provisioning system is configured to:
(Parangattil: Fig. 2 step 204 para. [0023-0025] New access point 106 and its configuration status are discoverable at processor 102, where the discovery triggers automated provisioning 117. Processor 102 or network management interface 101 may discover new access point 106 using Domain Name System (DNS), Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP), or any other suitable protocol. In some examples, the automated provisioning 117 and its triggering conditions may be set up or edited through network management interface 101 over read/rite link 111 to processor 102.)
receive, from the second computing device, second location information identifying the second location of the second computing device; (Parangattil: para. [0025 & 0030] network 100 may detect physical location 116 of new access point 106. physical location 116 may be detected over wireless link(s) 125 using one or more beacons 115 within range of new access point 106, Beacons 115 communicate with processor 102 over read/write links 145, which allows the processor to control the beacons and receive data from them. Additionally or alternatively, one or more controllers 108 may ascertain, physical location 116, optionally making it available to the network management interface 101)
identify, in a configuration/location mapping included in a configuration provisioning database, a second configuration that is mapped to the second location; and (Parangattil: para. [0025 & 0030] On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration)
provide, to the second computing device, the second configuration to configure the second computing device with the second configuration. (Parangattil: para. [0025 & 0030] On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration)
It is noted that Parangattil does not explicitly disclose: receive, from the first computing device, first location information identifying the first location of the first computing device.
However, from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: receive, from the second computing device (network devices 102 and 104), second location information identifying the second location of the second computing device;
(Singla: para. [0019] Each of EA asset tags 102A and 104A, and asset tag 106A may communicate information to NMS 110. The information communicated to NMS 110 may include, but is not limited to environmental information representative of environmental conditions at or near network devices 102 and 104, as well as location information pertinent to the location of network devices 102 and 104. Asset tag 106A, being a conventional asset tag, may transmit location information to NMS 110 or to one or more network devices capable of receiving such information, e.g., network device 104) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Singla in the system of Parangattil. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the one or more EA asset tags may transmit location information indicative of the location of the network device in which the one or more asset tags are integrated. In this way, the location information obtained from conventional, non-environmentally aware asset tags can be supplemented with environmental data that the NMS, a user, or other management/controlling network element can use to facilitate or improve operation of the enterprise as a whole (Singla: para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 5, Parangattil and Singla teach the system of claim 1, further comprising: a first wireless communication subsystem (beacon(s) 252) that is located at the first location (Parangattil: Fig. 2 and para. [0030] Upon discovery 208 of an address, server connection, or another identifier for new access point 251 in the WLAN, processor 253 issues a location query 209 for new access point 251. The query includes the discovered identifier and enables detection 210 of new access point 251's location by beacon(s) 252. On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration. Fig. 1 and para. [0025] network 100 may detect physical location 116 of new access point 106. In some examples, physical location 116 may be detected over wireless link(s) 125 using one or more beacons 115 within range of new access point 106, Beacons 115 communicate with processor 102 over read/write links 145, which allows the processor to control the beacons and receive data from them. Para. [0029] Power up 201 of new access point 251 causes a transmission 202 of a wireless packet that renders new access point 251 discoverable in a wireless local area network WLAN). In some implementations, the beacon(s) 252 deployed in the WLAN coverage area may execute a continuous or periodic scan 203 for access points (APs) operating within their Bluetooth (or BLE) wireless signal detection range)
and wirelessly transmit the first location information via a network and to the configuration provisioning system. (Parangattil: para. [0025 & 0030] On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration)
It is noted that Parangattil does not explicitly disclose: that is configured to wirelessly receive the first location information from the first computing device and wirelessly transmit the first location information via a network and to the configuration provisioning system.
However, Singla from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: that is configured to wirelessly receive the first location information from the first computing device (Singla: para. [0019] Each of EA asset tags 102A and 104A, and asset tag 106A may communicate information to NMS 110. The information communicated to NMS 110 may include, but is not limited to environmental information representative of environmental conditions at or near network devices 102 and 104, as well as location information pertinent to the location of network devices 102 and 104. Asset tag 106A, being a conventional asset tag, may transmit location information to NMS 110 or to one or more network devices capable of receiving such information, e.g., network device 104)
and wirelessly transmit the first location information via a network and to the configuration provisioning system.
(Singla: para. [0022] User device 112 may be running asset management software, asset analytics software, map/location software, asset tag (conventional and EA asset tag) and beacon management software, etc. Flexible application programming interfaces (APIs), e.g., REST APIs, and software development kits (SDKs) can be provided to send asset tag/EA asset tag information to the desired management, analytics, and/or other software, as well as allow a user to control operation of an asset tag and/or EA asset tag/environmental sensor)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Singla in the system of Parangattil. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the one or more EA asset tags may transmit location information indicative of the location of the network device in which the one or more asset tags are integrated. In this way, the location information obtained from conventional, non-environmentally aware asset tags can be supplemented with environmental data that the NMS, a user, or other management/controlling network element can use to facilitate or improve operation of the enterprise as a whole (Singla: para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Parangattil and Singla teach the system of claim 1, further comprising: a first wireless communication subsystem (beacon(s) 252) that is located at the first location (Parangattil: Fig. 2 and para. [0030] Upon discovery 208 of an address, server connection, or another identifier for new access point 251 in the WLAN, processor 253 issues a location query 209 for new access point 251. The query includes the discovered identifier and enables detection 210 of new access point 251's location by beacon(s) 252. On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration. Fig. 1 and para. [0025] network 100 may detect physical location 116 of new access point 106. In some examples, physical location 116 may be detected over wireless link(s) 125 using one or more beacons 115 within range of new access point 106, Beacons 115 communicate with processor 102 over read/write links 145, which allows the processor to control the beacons and receive data from them. Para. [0029] Power up 201 of new access point 251 causes a transmission 202 of a wireless packet that renders new access point 251 discoverable in a wireless local area network WLAN). In some implementations, the beacon(s) 252 deployed in the WLAN coverage area may execute a continuous or periodic scan 203 for access points (APs) operating within their Bluetooth (or BLE) wireless signal detection range)
and wirelessly transmit the first location information via a network and to the configuration provisioning system. (Parangattil: para. [0025 & 0030] On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration)
It is noted that Parangattil does not explicitly disclose: that is configured to wirelessly transmit the first location information to the first computing device, and wherein the first computing device is configured to transmit the first location information via a network to the configuration provisioning system.
However, Singla from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: that is configured to wirelessly transmit the first location information to the first computing device, and wherein the first computing device is configured to transmit the first location information via a network to the configuration provisioning system. (Singla: para. [0019] Each of EA asset tags 102A and 104A, and asset tag 106A may communicate information to NMS 110. The information communicated to NMS 110 may include, but is not limited to environmental information representative of environmental conditions at or near network devices 102 and 104, as well as location information pertinent to the location of network devices 102 and 104. Asset tag 106A, being a conventional asset tag, may transmit location information to NMS 110 or to one or more network devices capable of receiving such information, e.g., network device 104) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Singla in the system of Parangattil. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the one or more EA asset tags may transmit location information indicative of the location of the network device in which the one or more asset tags are integrated. In this way, the location information obtained from conventional, non-environmentally aware asset tags can be supplemented with environmental data that the NMS, a user, or other management/controlling network element can use to facilitate or improve operation of the enterprise as a whole (Singla: para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, Parangattil and Singla teach the system of claim 6, Parangattil does not explicitly teach: wherein first computing device includes a wireless reader subsystem that is configured to receive a wireless tag that provides the first wireless communication subsystem and, in response, wirelessly read the first location information from the wireless tag.
However, Singla from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein first computing device includes a wireless reader subsystem
(Singla: para. [0021] a user device 112, e.g., a smart phone, may be used by enterprise personnel, such as an administrator, to access and view the information transmitted from one or more of EA asset tags 102A, 104A, and conventional asset tag 106A. It should be understood that user device 112, or other computing devices (not illustrated) receiving information from one or more of EA asset tags 102A, 104A, and/or asset tag 106A may be any type of computing device providing a user interface through which a user can interact with a software application) that is configured to receive a wireless tag (asset tag) that provides the first wireless communication subsystem and, in response, wirelessly read the first location information from the wireless tag. (Singla: para. [0019] Each of EA asset tags 102A and 104A, and asset tag 106A may communicate information to NMS 110. The information communicated to NMS 110 may include, but is not limited to environmental information representative of environmental conditions at or near network devices 102 and 104, as well as location information pertinent to the location of network devices 102 and 104. Asset tag 106A, being a conventional asset tag, may transmit location information to NMS 110 or to one or more network devices capable of receiving such information, e.g., network device 104) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Singla in the system of Parangattil. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the one or more EA asset tags may transmit location information indicative of the location of the network device in which the one or more asset tags are integrated. In this way, the location information obtained from conventional, non-environmentally aware asset tags can be supplemented with environmental data that the NMS, a user, or other management/controlling network element can use to facilitate or improve operation of the enterprise as a whole (Singla: para. [0040]).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 12-13, Parangattil teaches an Information Handling System (IHS), comprising: a processing system; and a memory system that is coupled to the processing system and that includes instructions that, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to provide a configuration provisioning engine that is configured to: (Parangattil: para. [0019] zero touch provisioning and Summary, Fig. 1 network system 100, Fig. 2 and Fig. 6 and para. [0043] processor 602 is coupled to non-transitory machine-readable storage medium 650, which contains instructions 651-657 for provisioning access point 616 with a configuration based on its connected port on switch 614 or its physical location as determined by beacon(s) 615 or controller 608) and Parangattil and Singla teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2 and 5-6, and therefore apparatus claims 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claims 14-15 and 18-20, Parangattil teaches a method for performing zero-touch provisioning of computing devices based on locations of those computing devices, comprising: (Parangattil: para. [0019] zero touch provisioning and Summary, Fig. 1 network system 100, Fig. 2 and Fig. 6 and para. [0043] processor 602 is coupled to non-transitory machine-readable storage medium 650, which contains instructions 651-657 for provisioning access point 616 with a configuration based on its connected port on switch 614 or its physical location as determined by beacon(s) 615 or controller 608) and Parangattil and Singla teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2 and 5-7, and therefore method claims 14-15 and 18-20 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parangattil and Singla as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deck et al. EP4391471A1, hereinafter Deck.
Regarding claim 3, Parangattil and Singla teach the system of claim 1, the configuration provisioning system is configured to:
retrieve, first information (desired configuration) identifying at least one capability of the first computing device; and (Parangattil: para. [0020] access points are discoverable on power-up and can be provisioned with the desired configuration. Abstract - profile stores copies of desired configurations and associates them directly or indirectly with switch ports, physical locations, or both. Para. [0002] When a new access point is added to an existing network, it must be provisioned with the desired configuration before it can begin communicating. para. [0030] Upon discovery 208 of an address, server connection, or another identifier for new access point 251 in the WLAN, processor 253 issues a location query 209 for new access point 251. The query includes the discovered identifier and enables detection 210 of new access point 251's location by beacon(s) 252. On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration)
verify that the at least one information of the first computing device supports the first configuration prior to providing the first configuration to the first computing device to configure the first computing device with the first configuration.
(Parangattil: Fig. 2 and para. [0030] Upon discovery 208 of an address, server connection, or another identifier for new access point 251 in the WLAN, processor 253 issues a location query 209 for new access point 251. The query includes the discovered identifier and enables detection 210 of new access point 251's location by beacon(s) 252. On receiving the location of new access point 251, processor 253 can execute a reading 211 of the configuration associated with that location from profile 255 stored in data store 254, followed by a provisioning 212 of new access point 251 with the configuration. Para. [0002] When a new access point is added to an existing network, it must be provisioned with the desired configuration before it can begin communicating)
It is noted that Parangattil and Singla do not explicitly disclose: retrieve, from the first computing device, first capability information identifying at least one capability of the first computing device; and verify that the at least one capability of the first computing device.
However, Deck from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: retrieve, from the first computing device (device), first capability information (capabilities) identifying at least one capability of the first computing device; and
(Deck: para. [0043] For initiating the provisioning, on the other hand, the device may send to the LAP server more detailed identification information about itself, preferably also including the ID-code, e.g., including additional identification information like the device type, the manufacturer, operating parameter values, and/or its network/communication capabilities) verify that the at least one capability of the first computing device (Deck: para. [0016 & 0032] provisioning of the device, which may include setting up the network capabilities of the device and providing the device with (initial) configuration data, in order to enable the device to commence operations in the system. para. [0043-0048] For initiating the provisioning, on the other hand, the device may send to the LAP server more detailed identification information about itself, preferably also including the ID-code, e.g., including additional identification information like the device type, the manufacturer, operating parameter values, and/or its network/communication capabilities) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Deck in the system of Parangattil and Singla. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for provisioning of the device, which may include setting up the network capabilities of the device and providing the device with (initial) configuration data, in order to enable the device to commence operations in the system (Deck: para. [0016]), and by providing information not only about the identity but also about the location of the device already during pre-registration, the above-discussed need to have this information available in modern systems is automatically "built in" into the disclosed procedure of registering and provisioning of the device. In addition, the location information can also be used to further improve the security and robustness of the method against unauthorized uses or attacks (Deck: para. [0017]).
Regarding claim 10, Parangattil and Singla teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 3, and therefore system claim 10 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 16, Parangattil and Singla teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 3, and therefore method claim 16 is rejected using the same rationales.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418