DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: please update the priority statement at the beginning of the Specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22, 23 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "a hop bittering acid" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to consider stating "the hop bittering acid".
Claim 23 recites the limitation "a hop bittering acid" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to consider stating "the hop bittering acid".
Claim 27 recites the limitation "lupulone" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to consider stating "the lupulone".
Claim 27 recites the limitation "colupulone" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to consider stating "the colupulone".
Claim 27 recites the limitation "adlupulone" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to consider stating "the adlupulone".
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the un-isomerized acid" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to consider stating "the un-isomerized acids".
Claim 30 recites the limitation "an oil" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to consider stating "the oil".
Claim 30 recites the limitation "an emulsifier" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to consider stating "the emulsifier".
Claim 30 recites the limitation "a terpene" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to consider stating "the terpene".
Claim 30 recites the limitation "water" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to consider stating "the water".
Clarification and/or correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 30, 31, and 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Flemmens et al. (US 2021/0340472).
Regarding Claim 21, Flemmens (‘472) teaches an emulsified composition (See Abs., para. 53, FIG-1, claims.)
comprising: a flavorant matrix comprising a flavorant additive emulsified into a carrier system (See para. 53.); and a hop material infused with the flavorant matrix (See para. 53.); wherein: the flavorant additive comprises a hop bittering acid (See claim 10.), a hop oil (See claims 1, 2 and 4.); the hop material comprises hop pellets (See claim 4.); and the carrier system comprises an emulsifier (See para. 53, ester gum emulsifier.).
Regarding Claim 30, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein the carrier system comprises an oil, an emulsifier, a terpene, and water (See paras. 53, 61 and claims 1 and 4.).
Regarding Claim 31, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein the carrier system comprises the emulsifier and the emulsifier comprises xanthan gum (See para. 94.).
Regarding Claim 33, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein the carrier system comprises the terpene, and the terpene comprises α-bisabolol, borneol, carene, geraniol, limonene, linalool, myrcene, α-pinene, terpinolene (See para. 61, claims 1 and 4.).
Regarding Claim 34, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein the flavorant matrix further comprises a
weighting agent (See paras. 25, 28, 31, 32, 47, 48, 53 and 54.).
Regarding Claim 35, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein the composition is an edible composition (See Abs.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-24, 28, 29, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flemmens et al. (US 2021/0340472).
Regarding Claim 22, Flemmens (‘472) teaches the composition discussed above including wherein the flavorant additive comprises a hop bittering acid (See claims 1 and 10.), however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the flavorant additive comprises about 10% by weight or more of a hop bittering acid.
Applicant does not set forth any non-obvious unexpected results for providing one amount of acid over another. The claimed range is very broad and includes virtually all conceivable amounts. It would have been within the skill set of a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective filing date to select an amount of hop bittering acid that is effective to provide a food with the desired profile.
Regarding Claim 23, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein hop bittering acid comprises an alpha acid, a beta acid, an isomerized acid, or an un-isomerized acid (See claims 1 and 10.).
Regarding Claim 24, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein the hop bittering acid comprises the alpha acid (See claims 1 and 10.).
Regarding Claim 28, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein the hop bittering acid comprises the un-isomerized acids (See claims 1 and 10.).
Regarding Claim 29, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein the un-isomerized acid comprises an emulsified un-isomerized bittering acid or a non-emulsified un-isomerized bittering acid (See claims 1 and 10.).
Regarding Claim 32, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein the carrier system comprises the oil (See FIG-1, para. 53.), however, fails to expressly disclose the oil comprises argan oil, coconut oil, jojoba oil, or a medium chain triglyceride oil (MCT).
It would have been foreseeable, obvious and within the skill set of a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective filing date to select any known food grade oil that is effective to provide a food with the desired profile.
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flemmens et al. (US 2021/0340472) in view of Beddie (US 2022/0017838).
Regarding Claim 25, Flemmens (‘472) teaches the composition discussed above including alpha acid (See claims 1 and 10.), however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the alpha acid comprises humulone, cohumulone, adhumulone, or posthumulone.
Beddie (‘838) teaches a similar composition as taught by Flemmens (‘472) wherein the alpha acid comprises humulone for the purpose of proving a hops food with desired flavor (See paras. 2 and 91.).
It would have been foreseeable, obvious and within the skill set of a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective filing date to select humulone as the alpha acid to provide a food of desired profile.
Regarding Claim 26, Flemmens (‘472) teaches wherein the hop bittering acid comprises the beta acid (See claims 1 and 10.).
Regarding Claim 27, Flemmens (‘472) teaches the composition discussed above including beta acid (See claims 1 and 10.), however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the beta acid comprises lupulone, colupulone, or adlupulone.
Beddie (‘838) teaches a similar composition as taught by Flemmens (‘472) wherein the beta acid comprises lupulone for the purpose of proving a hops food with desired flavor (See paras. 2 and 91.).
It would have been foreseeable, obvious and within the skill set of a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective filing date to select lupulone as the beta acid to provide a food of desired profile.
Conclusion
/BRENT T O'HERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793 June 18, 2026