DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17026866, filed on 9/21/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/12/2024, 8/29/2024, 2/7/2025, and 8/25/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa (20130107105) hereafter Ishikawa.
Regarding claims 15, 28, and 29, Tsukamoto discloses an optical apparatus comprising: a first driver (19B) configured to move a focus lens (41) in an optical axis direction (shown in fig. 5); a second driver (18B) configured to move the first driver (19B) in the optical axis direction (fig. 5); and a controller (23B) configured to control driving of the first driver (19B), wherein both the first driver (19B) and the second driver (18B) move the focus lens (41) during zooming, and wherein the controller (23B) controls driving of the first driver (18B) based on a moving amount of the first driver by the second driver (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 16, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 15, further comprising a position detector configured to detect a position of the focus lens, wherein the controller controls driving of the first driver based on a moving amount of the first driver by the second driver and the position of the focus lens detected by the position detector (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 17, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the controller determines a first target focus position that is a target position of the focus lens using first data relating to an in-focus position of the focus lens corresponding to the zoom position and an estimated zoom position that is estimated to be a zoom position after a predetermined time passes, and wherein the controller controls driving of the first driver using the first target focus position and a first moving amount that is estimated to be a moving amount of the first driver by the second driver after the predetermined time passes (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 18, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the controller calculates a driving amount of the focus lens by the first driver based on the position of the focus lens detected by the position detector, the first target focus position, and the first moving amount, and controls driving of the first driver based on the driving amount (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 19, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first driver includes a movable part configured to move the focus lens, wherein the controller determines a first target driving position that is a target position of the focus lens within a movable range of the focus lens in the first driver using second data relating to an in-focus position of the movable part of the first driver corresponding to the zoom position, and an estimated zoom position that is estimated to be a zoom position after a predetermined time passes, and wherein the controller controls driving of the first driver using the first target driving position and a second moving amount as a moving amount of the first driver by the second driver (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 20, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the controller calculates a current position of the focus lens within a movable range of the focus lens in the first driver using the second moving amount and the position of the focus lens detected by the position detector, and controls driving of the first driver based on the first target driving position and the current position (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 21, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the controller controls driving of the first driver using the position of the focus lens detected by the position detector and a second target focus position that is a target position of the focus lens, and wherein the second target focus position is determined based on a second moving amount as a moving amount of the first driver by the second driver and the second target driving position that is the target position of the focus lens within a movable range of the focus lens in the first driver (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 22, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the controller controls driving of the first driver based on a deviation between the position of the focus lens detected by the position detector and the second target focus position (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 23, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the controller controls driving of the first driver using a second target driving position that is a target position of the focus lens within a movable range of the focus lens in the first driver, and a current position of the focus lens within a movable range of the focus lens in the first driver, and wherein the current position is calculated using a second moving amount as a moving amount of the first driver by the second driver, and the position of the focus lens detected by the position detector (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 24, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 23, wherein the controller controls driving of the first driver based on a deviation between the current position and the second target driving position (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 25, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 21, further comprising a movable part detector configured to detect a position of a movable part relative to a base part in the first driver, wherein the controller acquires the second moving amount using the position of the focus lens detected by the position detector and the position of the movable part detected by the movable part detector (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 26, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first driver includes a motor, and wherein the second driver includes a cam mechanism configured to move the first driver by a cam (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 27, Tsukamoto discloses the optical apparatus according to claim 15, wherein each of the first driver and the second driver includes a motor (fig. 5, par. [0064]-[0073]).
Double Patenting
Claims 15-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12117667 hereafter Homma. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of Homma read on or make obvious claims 15-29 of the instant invention.
Regarding claim 15, Homma discloses an optical apparatus comprising: a first driver configured to move a focus lens in an optical axis direction; a second driver configured to move the first driver in the optical axis direction; and a controller configured to control driving of the first driver, wherein both the first driver and the second driver move the focus lens during zooming, and wherein the controller controls driving of the first driver based on a moving amount of the first driver by the second driver (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 28, Homma discloses a control method of an optical apparatus that includes a first driver configured to move a focus lens in an optical axis direction, and a second driver configured to move the first driver in the optical axis direction, wherein both the first driver and the second driver move the focus lens during zooming, the control method comprising: acquiring a moving amount of the first driver by the second driver; and controlling driving of the first driver based on the moving amount of the first driver by the second driver (see claim 13).
Regarding claim 29, Homma discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that causes to execute a control method a computer in an optical apparatus that includes a first driver configured to move a focus lens in an optical axis direction, and a second driver configured to move the first driver in the optical axis direction, wherein both the first driver and the second driver move the focus lens during zooming, wherein the control method comprising: acquiring a moving amount of the first driver by the second driver; and controlling driving of the first driver based on the moving amount of the first driver by the second driver (see claim 14).
Regarding claims 16-27, Homma discloses the limitations therein (see claims 2-12).
Conclusion
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872