DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: combustion chamber pressure controller in claims 1, 10-11 & 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 & 102a2 as being anticipated by Klingbeil et. al. (US 10,683,796 B2).
Klingbeil ‘796 discloses the invention as follows:
1. An internal combustion engine arrangement (fig. 1) for a vehicle, the internal combustion engine arrangement comprising an internal combustion engine 110 comprising a reciprocating piston 117 connected to a crankshaft 119 arranged in a crankcase 115, and a combustion chamber 113, wherein the crankcase 115 and the combustion chamber 113 are arranged on a respective side, in a reciprocating direction, of the reciprocating piston 117, a combustion chamber pressure controller (e.g., supplemental boost supply 140, 340, 440; see fig. 1; col. 3, ln. 40-56 and col. 4, ln. 33-55) arranged in fluid communication with the combustion chamber 113 and configured to control a pressure level in the combustion chamber 113, and a control unit (e.g., processing unit 120; fig. 1) comprising processing circuitry (col. 6, ln. 54-67), the processing circuitry being configured to: determine a pressure level (implicitly taught; see disclosure below) in the combustion chamber 113, determine a pressure level (implicitly taught; see disclosure below) in the crankcase 115, and control the combustion chamber pressure controller 140, 340, 440 in response to a difference between the pressure level in the combustion chamber 113 and the pressure level in the crankcase 115 being below a predetermined threshold limit.
Note, Klingbeil discloses in col. 5, ln. 24-42 and col. 6, ln. 35-38 the following: “When the engine 110 is running under load or above idle, pressure in the combustion portion 113 of the cylinder 112 is generally sufficient for proper seating of the rings 220 and to prevent most or all of the oil in the crankcase portion 115 from entering the combustion portion 113. However, when the engine 110 is at idle, the pressure differential between the combustion portion 113 and the crankcase portion 115 resulting from use of air only from a conventional intake system and reduction in crankcase evacuation may not be sufficient to properly seat the rings 220 and/or prevent or sufficiently inhibit oil from entering the combustion portion 113 from the crankcase portion 115. Accordingly, as schematically depicted in FIG. 1, the supplemental boost supply 140 is used in various embodiments to provide the supplemental air supply 141 to increase the pressure in the combustion portion 113 in an amount sufficient to prevent or inhibit entry of oil from the crankcase portion 115 to the combustion portion 113 while at idle.”, and “The processing unit 120 in various embodiments receives feedback from one or more sensors configured to detect one or more parameters of the system 100.”.
Thus, it is clear that Klingbeil implicitly teaches the steps of determining both the pressures of the combustion chamber 113 and crankcase 115 using feedback from one or more sensors as clearly suggested and disclosed above in order to determine whether this pressure differential is either above or below a predetermined threshold limit for the activation/deactivation of the supplemental boost supply 140, 340 & 440 (fig. 1 & 3-4).
2. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 1, wherein the combustion chamber pressure controller is a turbine and/or a compressor 142 (fig. 1; col. 5, ln 66 thru col. 6, ln. 8).
3. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 1, wherein the combustion chamber pressure controller (e.g., see supplemental boost supply 340; fig. 3; col. 8, ln. 3-41) is a turbo arrangement comprising a turbine 342 arranged in downstream fluid communication with an exhaust port 316 to the combustion chamber (of cylinder 312) and a compressor 346 arranged in upstream fluid communication with an intake port 314 to the combustion chamber.
4. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 3, wherein the turbo arrangement 340 is an electrically controlled turbo arrangement (via controller 120; fig. 3; see col. 8, ln 3-26).
5. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 4, wherein the electrically controlled turbo arrangement 340 (fig. 3) comprises an electric turbo motor (e.g., supplemental assist motor 344) between the turbine 342 and the compressor 346.
6. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 5, wherein the electric turbo motor 344 is operatively coupled to the processing circuit (controller 120; see col. 8, ln. 3-26).
7. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 1, further comprising a supplementary motor (not shown; see col. 7, ln. 22-27) connected to the crankshaft 119, 130.
8. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 7, wherein the supplementary motor is an electric machine operatively coupled to the processing circuit 120 (col. 7, ln. 22-27).
9. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 8, wherein the electric machine is operable as an electric motor and as a generator (col. 7, ln. 22-27).
10. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 8, wherein the electric machine is electrically connected to the combustion chamber pressure controller 140 (fig. 1), the electric machine being configured to feed electric power to the combustion chamber pressure controller 140 (col. 7, ln. 22-27).
11. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 7, wherein the processing circuit (of controller 120) is further configured to: determine a desired output torque (again, implicitly taught) on the crankshaft 119, 130, and control the supplementary motor (of 140; not shown) and the combustion chamber pressure controller 140 contemporaneously in response to a difference between a current output torque and the desired output torque being above a predetermined torque threshold limit (implicit). As noted above, Klingbeil explicitly discloses the system utilizing the controller 120 to control the motor of combustion chamber pressure control 140 to drive a turbo at part load to provide more air, or to be used as a generator at full power to extract energy and limit peak pressure.
12. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 7, wherein the supplementary motor 442 (fig. 4) is directly attached to the crankshaft 119 (see col. 9, ln. 28-32).
13. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 1, further comprising a first pressure sensor and a second pressure sensor (again, this is implicitly taught by Klingbeil. As disclosed in col. 6, ln. 35-38, Klingbeil clearly teaches that the controller 120 receives feedback from one or more sensors configured to detect one or more parameters of the system 100. Thus, it is known to a person skilled in the art to recognize that such sensors would also include at least pressure sensors that are capable of sensing both the crankcase and combustion chamber pressures, as clearly disclosed by Klingbeil, in order to determine the pressure differential between the combustion chamber and crankcase in order to determine whether this differential is below/higher than a predetermined threshold limit for the control of the supplemental boost supply 140, 340 & 440 (as shown in fig. 1 & 3-4)).
14. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 13, wherein the first pressure sensor is configured to determine a first pressure value indicative of a pressure level in the combustion chamber (again, see discussion/disclosure above).
15. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 13, wherein the second pressure sensor is configured to determine a second pressure value indicative of a pressure level in the crankcase (again, see discussion/disclosure above).
16. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 13, wherein the first and second pressor sensors are operatively coupled to the processing circuit 120 (again, see discussion/disclosure above).
17. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry (of controller 120) is configured to determine the pressure level in the combustion chamber 113 from a memory comprising a plurality of stored pressure levels for a plurality of stored engine operating conditions. This is implicitly taught as Klingbeil teaches the activation/deactivation of the supplemental boost supply 140, 340 & 440 by the controller 120 based on known pressures within both the combustion chamber and crankcase during at least idling periods and/or low-load operations of the engine.
18. The internal combustion engine arrangement of claim 17, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the pressure level in the crankcase 115 from the memory, the memory further comprising a plurality of stored pressure levels in the crankcase for the plurality of stored engine operating conditions. This is implicitly taught as Klingbeil teaches the activation/deactivation of the supplemental boost supply 140, 340 & 440 by the controller 120 based on known pressures within both the combustion chamber and crankcase during at least idling periods and/or low-load operations of the engine.
With regards to claim(s) 20, the claim(s) is/are commensurate in scope with claim(s) 1, and is/are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingbeil ‘796.
With respect to claim 19, Klingbeil discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but is silent as to wherein the ICE is a hydrogen internal combustion engine. However, it is well established in the art of internal combustion engines to provide internal combustion engines with a variety of non-hydrocarbon fuel alternatives, such as hydrogen and/or alcohols, since it offers a more economical advantage over other types of readily available hydrocarbon fuels. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ICE of Klingbeil to utilize hydrogen as a type of fuel for the ICE as hydrogen offers a more economical advantage over other hydrocarbon fuels.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited prior arts all teach similar ICE control systems wherein the pressures of the combustion chamber and crankcase are monitored for the control of the PCV system in order to control the engine and its emissions.
HUNG Q. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/HUNG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747