DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment filed on January 2, 2026 has been reviewed.
Claims 7, 8 and 14 are cancelled in the amendment.
Claims 1, 9, 10 and 15 are amended in the amendment.
Claims 1-6, 9-13 and 15-16 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claims 15 lacks the necessary physical articles or objects to constitute a machine or a manufacture within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 101. They are clearly not a series of steps or acts to be a process nor are they a combination of chemical compounds to be a composition of matter. As such, they fail to fall within a statutory category.
At least one data exit gateway in claim 15 configured to carry out the steps of the method according to claim 1; since the specification does not define that the data exit gateway as hardware or software, the data exit gateway in claim 15 is interpreted as software.
Thus, the claim 15 does not meet the definition of a machine and thereby does not fall under any of the patent eligible statutory categories.
Claim 16 is likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (US 2022/0255224 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tran, in view of Moiseenko et al. (US 2017/0373975 A1), hereinafter referred to as Moiseenko.
With respect to claim 1, Tran teaches A method for sending an internet data packet from at least one sender via a data entry gateway connected to an Information Centric Networking (ICN) infrastructure to at least one receiver via a data exit gateway (the network device comprise a virtual information-centric networking (ICN) server of an ICN virtual network (VN), and adapted to provide the cached content to a virtual user-specific serving gateway (v-u-SGW) of a served user equipment (UE) upon request, para. 0281), wherein the at least one sender is configured as a data host in an end-to-end communication environment (the hosts form a network of independent providers where devices send and receive data to the Internet, para. 0154), the method comprising the steps of:
capturing an internet data packet with an ICN entry module of a data entry gateway (content cached in network devices of wireless network or radio access network (RAN) in anticipation that a mobile device or user will want to access the content in the future, para. 0281);
creating a data name string for a data payload transported in the internet data packet (the content cache table associate a name of the content with a network address of the network device or the virtual IVN server included in the network device, para. 0281);
storing an association between the data name string and an identification sequence for identifying the internet data packet in an identification map (the content cache table associate a name of the content with a network address of the network device or the virtual IVN server included in the network device, para. 0281);
encapsulating the internet data packet in an ICN data packet (the cached content is stored by the network device in an information-centric networking (ICN) format, para. 0281);
passing the ICN data packet to a forwarding module in order to be stored in a content storage module of the forwarding module (the cached content is stored by the network device in an information-centric networking (ICN) format, para. 0281), and to be forwarded upon receipt of a respective data interest packet by the forwarding module, the data interest packet indicating a data request by the receiver (the v-u-SGW may translate the cached content from the ICN format to a user-specific format upon receiving the cached content pursuant to a content request, para. 0281).
Tran does not explicitly teach
the at least one sender and the at least one receiver following a communication protocol to transmit information across an Internet Protocol (IP) network between the at least one sender and the data entry gateway and the at least one receiver and the data exit gateway,
wherein the communication protocol between the at least one sender and the at least one receiver is selected from a group consisting of: a User Datagram Protocol (UDP), a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), a Multicast Protocol, .
However, Moiseenko teaches
the at least one sender and the at least one receiver following a communication protocol to transmit information across an Internet Protocol (IP) network between the at least one sender and the data entry gateway and the at least one receiver and the data exit gateway (when TCP data transfer is unidirectional, the process of pulling data involves two proxies: one proxy (e.g., a forward running on network node 104) receives TCP segments from the TCP sender and converts them into ICN Data messages, and another proxy (e.g., a reverse proxy running on network node 106) transmits Interest messages retrieving these Data messages, which are translated back to TCP segments sent to the TCP receiver, para. 0025),
wherein the communication protocol between the at least one sender and the at least one receiver is selected from a group consisting of: a User Datagram Protocol (UDP), a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) (when TCP data transfer is unidirectional, the process of pulling data involves two proxies: one proxy (e.g., a forward running on network node 104) receives TCP segments from the TCP sender and converts them into ICN Data messages, and another proxy (e.g., a reverse proxy running on network node 106) transmits Interest messages retrieving these Data messages, which are translated back to TCP segments sent to the TCP receiver, para. 0025) in order to allow for the effective exchange of data or information as taught by Moiseenko (para. 0096), a Multicast Protocol, .
Therefore, based on Tran in view of Moiseenko, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Moiseenko to the method of Tran in order to allow for the effective exchange of data or information as taught by Moiseenko (para. 0096).
With respect to claim 3, Tran in view of Moiseenko teaches The method according to claim 1 as described above,
Further, Moiseenko teaches further comprising the step of:
receiving an ICN acknowledgement message with the ICN entry module, the ICN acknowledgement message acknowledging receipt of the ICN data packet by a receiver of the internet data packet (ICN proxy 402 receives an acknowledgement Interest message 404; the Interest message 404 includes a name that has a sequence number and a TCP ACK; the TCP/ICN proxy 402 can send an ACK 406 to the TCP sender; the TCP/ICN proxy 402 can receive an Interest message 414 that acknowledges the receipt of the ICN data message 412, where the ACK identifies the highest sequence number from the data segments encapsulated in the ICN Data message, para. 0060) in order to allow for the effective exchange of data or information as taught by Moiseenko (para. 0096).
Therefore, based on Tran in view of Moiseenko, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Moiseenko to the method of Tran in order to allow for the effective exchange of data or information as taught by Moiseenko (para. 0096).
With respect to claim 4, Tran in view of Moiseenko teaches The method according to claim 3 as described above,
Furthermore, Moiseenko teaches further comprising the step of:
communicating an acknowledgement of receipt by sending an internet acknowledgement packet to the at least one sender from the data entry gateway (ICN proxy 402 receives an acknowledgement Interest message 404; the Interest message 404 includes a name that has a sequence number and a TCP ACK; the TCP/ICN proxy 402 can send an ACK 406 to the TCP sender; the TCP/ICN proxy 402 can receive an Interest message 414 that acknowledges the receipt of the ICN data message 412, where the ACK identifies the highest sequence number from the data segments encapsulated in the ICN Data message, para. 0060) in order to allow for the effective exchange of data or information as taught by Moiseenko (para. 0096).
Therefore, based on Tran in view of Moiseenko, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Moiseenko to the method of Tran in order to allow for the effective exchange of data or information as taught by Moiseenko (para. 0096).
With respect to claim 5, Tran teaches The method according to claim 4, further comprising the step of:
caching the ICN data packet at the data entry gateway (the cached content is stored by the network device in an information-centric networking (ICN) format, and the v-u-SGW translate the cached content from the ICN format to a user-specific format upon receiving the cached content pursuant to a content request, para. 0281; also see para. 0283).
With respect to claim 9, Tran teaches A method for receiving with at least one receiver an internet data packet from at least one sender via a data exit gateway connected to an Information Centric Networking (ICN) infrastructure (the network device comprise a virtual information-centric networking (ICN) server of an ICN virtual network (VN), and adapted to provide the cached content to a virtual user-specific serving gateway (v-u-SGW) of a served user equipment (UE) upon request, para. 0281), wherein the at least one receiver is configured as a data client in an end-to-end communication environment (the hosts form a network of independent providers where devices send and receive data to the Internet, para. 0154), the method comprising the steps of
creating a data image of at least as part of an identification map containing data name strings for identifying respective data payloads transported in internet data packets potentially requested by the at least one receiver (the content cache table associate a name of the content with a network address of the network device or the virtual IVN server included in the network device; content cached in network devices of wireless network or radio access network (RAN) in anticipation that a mobile device or user will want to access the content in the future, para. 0281), and containing identification sequences for identifying the internet data packets (the content cache table associate a name of the content with a network address of the network device or the virtual IVN server included in the network device, para. 0281);
verifying a reachability of at least one sender of the internet data packets (an instability analyzer reports base station stability and reachability to avoid getting stuck in a suboptimal network, para. 0276);
passing a data interest packet indicating a data request by the at least one receiver to a forwarding module in order to be forwarded to an ICN entry module (the cached content is stored by the network device in an information-centric networking (ICN) format, para. 0281);
receiving with an ICN exit module of the data exit gateway an ICN data packet corresponding to the data interest packet and encapsulating an internet data packet (the cached content is stored by the network device in an information-centric networking (ICN) format, and the v-u-SGW translate the cached content from the ICN format to a user-specific format upon receiving the cached content pursuant to a content request; the v-u-SGW then relay the cached content having the user-specific format to a served UE; after the content is pushed to the network device, the content forwarding service manager (CFM) update a content cache table to indicate that the content has been cached at the network device, para. 0281);
consulting the data image of the identification map for finding a name string identifying the data payload and the respective identification sequence of the internet data packet (the content cache table associate a name of the content with a network address of the network device or the virtual IVN server included in the network device, para. 0281);
mapping the internet data packet into an IP address of the at least one receiver based on the identification sequence (the cached content is stored by the network device in an information-centric networking (ICN) format, and the v-u-SGW translate the cached content from the ICN format to a user-specific format upon receiving the cached content pursuant to a content request; the v-u-SGW then relay the cached content having the user-specific format to a served UE; after the content is pushed to the network device, the content forwarding service manager (CFM) update a content cache table to indicate that the content has been cached at the network device, para. 0281);
extracting the internet data packet from the received ICN data packet (the cached content is stored by the network device in an information-centric networking (ICN) format, and the v-u-SGW translate the cached content from the ICN format to a user-specific format upon receiving the cached content pursuant to a content request; the v-u-SGW then relay the cached content having the user-specific format to a served UE; after the content is pushed to the network device, the content forwarding service manager (CFM) update a content cache table to indicate that the content has been cached at the network device, para. 0281); and
sending the internet data packet to the at least one receiver having the mapped IP address (the v-u-SGW translate the cached content from the ICN format to a user-specific format upon receiving the cached content pursuant to a content request, para. 0281).
Tran does not explicitly teach
the at least one sender and the at least one receiver following a communication protocol to transmit information across an Internet Protocol (IP) network between the at least one sender and the data entry gateway and the at least one receiver and the data exit gateway,
wherein the communication protocol between the at least one sender and the at least one receiver is selected from a group consisting of: a User Datagram Protocol (UDP), a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), a Multicast Protocol, .
However, Moiseenko teaches
the at least one sender and the at least one receiver following a communication protocol to transmit information across an Internet Protocol (IP) network between the at least one sender and the data entry gateway and the at least one receiver and the data exit gateway (when TCP data transfer is unidirectional, the process of pulling data involves two proxies: one proxy (e.g., a forward running on network node 104) receives TCP segments from the TCP sender and converts them into ICN Data messages, and another proxy (e.g., a reverse proxy running on network node 106) transmits Interest messages retrieving these Data messages, which are translated back to TCP segments sent to the TCP receiver, para. 0025),
wherein the communication protocol between the at least one sender and the at least one receiver is selected from a group consisting of: a User Datagram Protocol (UDP), a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) (when TCP data transfer is unidirectional, the process of pulling data involves two proxies: one proxy (e.g., a forward running on network node 104) receives TCP segments from the TCP sender and converts them into ICN Data messages, and another proxy (e.g., a reverse proxy running on network node 106) transmits Interest messages retrieving these Data messages, which are translated back to TCP segments sent to the TCP receiver, para. 0025) in order to allow for the effective exchange of data or information as taught by Moiseenko (para. 0096), a Multicast Protocol, .
Therefore, based on Tran in view of Moiseenko, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Moiseenko to the method of Tran in order to allow for the effective exchange of data or information as taught by Moiseenko (para. 0096).
With respect to claim 11, Tran teaches The method according to claim 9 as described above,
Tran does not explicitly teach further comprising the steps of:
receiving at the data exit gateway an internet acknowledgement packet from the at least one receiver; and
sending an ICN acknowledgement message with the ICN exit module to a data entry gateway, the ICN acknowledgement message acknowledging receipt of the internet data packet by the at least one receiver.
However, Moiseenko teaches further comprising the steps of:
receiving at the data exit gateway an internet acknowledgement packet from the at least one receiver (ICN proxy 402 receives an acknowledgement Interest message 404; the Interest message 404 includes a name that has a sequence number and a TCP ACK; the TCP/ICN proxy 402 can send an ACK 406 to the TCP sender; the TCP/ICN proxy 402 can receive an Interest message 414 that acknowledges the receipt of the ICN data message 412, where the ACK identifies the highest sequence number from the data segments encapsulated in the ICN Data message, para. 0060); and
sending an ICN acknowledgement message with the ICN exit module to a data entry gateway, the ICN acknowledgement message acknowledging receipt of the internet data packet by the at least one receiver (ICN proxy 402 receives an acknowledgement Interest message 404; the Interest message 404 includes a name that has a sequence number and a TCP ACK; the TCP/ICN proxy 402 can send an ACK 406 to the TCP sender; the TCP/ICN proxy 402 can receive an Interest message 414 that acknowledges the receipt of the ICN data message 412, where the ACK identifies the highest sequence number from the data segments encapsulated in the ICN Data message, para. 0060) in order to allow for the effective exchange of data or information as taught by Moiseenko (para. 0096).
Therefore, based on Tran in view of Moiseenko, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Moiseenko to the method of Tran in order to allow for the effective exchange of data or information as taught by Moiseenko (para. 0096).
With respect to claim 12, Tran teaches The method according to claim 9, further comprising the step of:
caching the internet data packet at the data exit gateway (the cached content is stored by the network device in an information-centric networking (ICN) format, and the v-u-SGW translate the cached content from the ICN format to a user-specific format upon receiving the cached content pursuant to a content request, para. 0281; also see para. 0283).
With respect to claim 15, Tran teaches A vehicle comprising at least one data exit gateway configured to carry out the steps of the method according to claim 9 (the network device comprise a virtual information-centric networking (ICN) server of an ICN virtual network (VN), and adapted to provide the cached content to a virtual user-specific serving gateway (v-u-SGW) of a served user equipment (UE) upon request, para. 0281; in aircraft communication, para. 0079-0080).
With respect to claim 16, Tran teaches The vehicle of claim 15, wherein the vehicle is an aircraft (the network device comprise a virtual information-centric networking (ICN) server of an ICN virtual network (VN), and adapted to provide the cached content to a virtual user-specific serving gateway (v-u-SGW) of a served user equipment (UE) upon request, para. 0281; in aircraft communication, para. 0079-0080).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (US 2022/0255224 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tran, in view of Moiseenko et al. (US 2017/0373975 A1), hereinafter referred to as Moiseenko, and further in view of Muscariello (US 2018/0242218 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Tran in view of Moiseenko teaches The method according to claim 1 as described above,
Tran in view of Moiseenko does not explicitly teach further comprising the step of:
deleting the association of the data name string and the identification sequence from the identification map.
However, Muscariello teaches further comprising the step of:
deleting the association of the data name string and the identification sequence from the identification map (data is split into packets, uniquely identified by a content name; a namespace allows content to be referenced by content name using a name-prefix included in Interest and Data packets; a name-prefix is a hierarchical tokenized name for content that contains a sequence of name, para. 0042; the CS can be potentially useful to satisfy future Interest packets that received from downstream ICN node; a PIT is a table that stores the state associated with unsatisfied Interests (e.g., an entry is added into the PIT when a new Interest packet arrives and the entry is removed when it is satisfied by reception of a corresponding Data packet, para. 0050) improve efficiency, better scalability with respect to information as taught by Muscariello (para. 0004).
Therefore, based on Tran in view of Moiseenko, and further in view of Muscariello, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Muscariello to the method of Tran in view of Moiseenko in order to improve efficiency, better scalability with respect to information as taught by Muscariello (para. 0004).
With respect to claim 10, Tran teaches The method according to claim 9, further comprising the step of:
updating the data image of the identification map upon receipt of the data interest packet by a data entry gateway (the cached content is stored by the network device in an information-centric networking (ICN) format, and the v-u-SGW translate the cached content from the ICN format to a user-specific format upon receiving the cached content pursuant to a content request; the v-u-SGW then relay the cached content having the user-specific format to a served UE; after the content is pushed to the network device, the content forwarding service manager (CFM) update a content cache table to indicate that the content has been cached at the network device, para. 0281).
Tran in view of Moiseenko does not explicitly teach
updating the data image of the identification map to take into account any deletion of a name string associated with the identified data payload from the entry identification map upon receipt of the data interest packet.
However, Muscariello teaches
updating the data image of the identification map to take into account any deletion of a name string associated with the identified data payload from the entry identification map upon receipt of the data interest packet (The process of updating an existing entry in the PIT and discarding an Interest is sometimes referred to as Interest aggregation, para. 0051; data is split into packets, uniquely identified by a content name; a namespace allows content to be referenced by content name using a name-prefix included in Interest and Data packets; a name-prefix is a hierarchical tokenized name for content that contains a sequence of name, para. 0042; the CS can be potentially useful to satisfy future Interest packets that received from downstream ICN node; a PIT is a table that stores the state associated with unsatisfied Interests (e.g., an entry is added into the PIT when a new Interest packet arrives and the entry is removed when it is satisfied by reception of a corresponding Data packet, para. 0050) improve efficiency, better scalability with respect to information as taught by Muscariello (para. 0004).
Therefore, based on Tran in view of Moiseenko, and further in view of Muscariello, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Muscariello to the method of Tran in view of Moiseenko in order to improve efficiency, better scalability with respect to information as taught by Muscariello (para. 0004).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (US 2022/0255224 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tran, in view of Moiseenko et al. (US 2017/0373975 A1), hereinafter referred to as Moiseenko, and further in view of Trossen (WO 2017/100543 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Tran in view of Moiseenko teaches The method according to claim 1 as described above,
Tran in view of Moiseenko does not explicitly teach further comprising the steps of:
receiving at the ICN entry module an interest join packet from the receiver, and
sending from the ICN entry module an IP join multicast packet to the at least one sender.
However, Trossen teaches further comprising the steps of:
receiving at the ICN entry module an interest join packet from the receiver (joining an IP multicast group as a receiver. In order for an IP-enabled WTRU to join a specific IP multicast group as a receiver, the receiving WTRU 407 may send 901 an IGMP join request (more specifically, a membership report for the IP multicast address) to its local NAP which acts as the receiving NAP 406 (with the local NAP being its local IP router) upon receiving 902 the IGMP join request, the NAP 406 may check 903 its internal DB for an appropriate row for the IP multicast address in the join request, para. 0059 and 0063; fig. 9), and
sending from the ICN entry module an IP join multicast packet to the at least one sender (the NAP 406 then send 907 an appropriate message, such as a publish_isub( ) message, for the CID.sub.C name towards the subscribers (i.e., the IP multicast senders); within such message, the NAP 406 may include its own NID information as well as the IP multicast address it intends to join, para. 0063; fig. 9) in order to facilitate communication between devices as taught by Trossen (para. 0044).
Therefore, based on Tran in view of Moiseenko, and further in view of Trossen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Trossen to the method of Tran in view of Moiseenko in order to facilitate communication between devices as taught by Trossen (para. 0044).
With respect to claim 13, Tran in view of Moiseenko teaches The method according to claim 9 as described above,
Tran in view of Moiseenko does not explicitly teaches further comprising the steps of:
receiving at the ICN exit module an IP multicast prune packet from the at least one receiver, and
sending from the ICN exit module a prune interest packet to an ICN entry module.
However, Trossen teaches further comprising the steps of:
receiving at the ICN exit module an IP multicast prune packet from the at least one receiver (joining an IP multicast group as a receiver. In order for an IP-enabled WTRU to join a specific IP multicast group as a receiver, the receiving WTRU 407 may send 901 an IGMP join request (more specifically, a membership report for the IP multicast address) to its local NAP which acts as the receiving NAP 406 (with the local NAP being its local IP router) upon receiving 902 the IGMP join request, the NAP 406 may check 903 its internal DB for an appropriate row for the IP multicast address in the join request, para. 0059 and 0063; fig. 9), and
sending from the ICN exit module a prune interest packet to an ICN entry module (the NAP 406 then send 907 an appropriate message, such as a publish_isub( ) message, for the CID.sub.C name towards the subscribers (i.e., the IP multicast senders); within such message, the NAP 406 may include its own NID information as well as the IP multicast address it intends to join, para. 0063; fig. 9) in order to facilitate communication between devices as taught by Trossen (para. 0044).
Therefore, based on Tran in view of Moiseenko, and further in view of Trossen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Trossen to the method of Tran in view of Moiseenko in order to facilitate communication between devices as taught by Trossen (para. 0044).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on January 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Regarding Applicant’s arguments in 35 U.S.C. § 101 Rejections section, “at least one data exit gateway” in claim 15 configured to carry out the steps of the method according to claim 1; since the specification does not define that the data exit gateway as hardware or software, “the data exit gateway” in claim 15 is interpreted as software.
Thus, the claim 15 does not meet the definition of a machine and thereby does not fall under any of the patent eligible statutory categories.
Therefore, the § 101 Rejections is maintained and repeated in this office action.
Regarding to applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 9-13 and 15-16 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the alternative rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
April 29, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447