CDETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/10/26 with respect to claims 1-6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-6 has been withdrawn. Murphy fails to disclose wherein the balloon is sized and configured to be inflatable within the lumen of the first catheter when the distal end of the second catheter is flush with the distal end of the first catheter, such that in the inflated state the balloon is retained within the lumen of the first catheter.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/26 with respect to claims 7-14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner notes Murphy discloses the port in the side wall of the second catheter being proximal to the radially outwardly projecting bump (shown in figure 2B; Examiner further discloses the guidewire and bump are slidingly received within the second catheter and configured to have the claimed configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9, 10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murphy US 2016/0220793.
Regarding claim 7, Murphy discloses a blood flow occlusion flushing device, comprising: a first catheter 18 having a proximal end, a distal end, and a lumen extending through the first catheter from the proximal end to the distal end (figures 1, 9, sleeve 18, for example, see annotated figure 9 below); a second catheter 5 disposed within the lumen of the first catheter (figures 1, 9, shaft 5, for example, see annotated figure 9 below), the second catheter having a proximal end, a distal end, and a lumen extending through the second catheter from the proximal end to the distal end (see annotated figure 9 below), the second catheter being axially movable with respect to the first catheter (paragraph 0030, sleeve 18 is slidable along surface of shaft 5), the second catheter having a port 11 in the sidewall proximate the distal end of the second catheter (see annotated figure 9 below); a guidewire 20 disposed within the lumen of the second catheter (shown for example, figure 2A), the guidewire being axially movable with respect to the second catheter (paragraph 0032, wire 20 moves within shaft 5 to seal or unseal ports), the guidewire having a proximal end and a distal end (figure 2A, proximal end expending at the proximal end of shaft 5 at portion 21, distal end at the distal end of the guidewire 20, adjacent enlarged portion 22), the guidewire having a first diameter that is less than an inner diameter of the second catheter (guidewire 20 is slidably placed within second catheter 5, therefore, less than the inner diameter of the second catheter, for example, figure 2A) , the guidewire having a radially outwardly projecting bump 22 proximate the distal end of the guidewire (figure 2A), the radially outwardly projecting bump having an outer diameter that is approximately equal to an inner diameter of the second catheter at the distal end of the second catheter such that when the radially outwardly projecting bump is aligned with the distal end of the second catheter (figure 2A, portion 22 seals against shaft 5), the radially outwardly projecting bump being in sealing contact with the inner diameter of the second catheter at the distal end of the second catheter such that a fluid deliverable through the lumen of the second catheter via the proximal end and exiting the port in the sidewall of the second catheter such that the port in the sidewall of the second catheter is proximal to the radially outwardly projecting bump (projecting bump moves distally to expose ports 11 to allow fluid flow into the balloon 2, see annotated figure 2B below, while sealing the distal end).
Regarding claim 8, Murphy further discloses an inflatable balloon 2 connected to an outer circumferential surface of the second catheter at the distal end of the second catheter (inflatable balloon, paragraph 0029, figures 1, 9), the balloon being movable between a collapsed state and an inflated state (paragraph 0029, in unexpanded state when being delivered, expanded when infused with an inflation medium), the inflatable balloon being fixedly connected to the outer circumferential surface of the second catheter at a proximal end of the balloon and at a distal end of the balloon (figures 1, 9; fixed an proximal and distal end of the balloon while the center is expanded during inflation).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Murphy discloses wherein the balloon having at least one port 51 between the proximal end of the balloon and the distal end of the balloon (figure 9 below), wherein the at least one port 51 in the balloon being disposed at the proximal end of the balloon (figure 9, ports 51 disposed and facing the proximal end of the catheter).
Regarding claim 14, Murphy discloses wherein the radially outwardly projecting bump 22 is a radiopaque marker (radiopaque markers on seal member 22, paragraph 0037).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy US 2016/0220793 in view of Ogle US 11,229,445.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Murphy discloses various components of the treatment catheter may include radiopaque markers to assist in visualizing the position of the various components, wherein the second catheter has a second radiopaque marker proximal to and distal to the balloon (paragraph 0037, radiopaque markers 26 may be on each the proximal and distal side of the balloon on the catheter shaft or along sleeve 18 or on seal member 22 at the sealed distal end, for example, figure 4), but fails to explicitly disclose the second catheter having a first radiopaque marker proximal to and proximal the balloon, wherein the second catheter has a second radiopaque marker proximal to and distal to the balloon. Examiner notes the radiopaque member is placed proximal to the balloon, but appears to be placed on the first catheter 18, not the second catheter 5.
However, Ogle teaches a catheter comprising a balloon and profusion ports, the catheter may comprise one or more marker bands or other imageable components to position the balloon and ports relative the target location. Ogle teaches there is generally significant design flexibility for placement of the radiopaque elements and a person of ordinary skill can manage such placement as necessary to achieve convenience for the corresponding procedures (column 17, lines 19-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Murphy with radiopaque markers on the second catheter, proximal or distal to the balloon or at the sealed distal end, as taught by Ogle, that it is known in the art to adjust the placement of the radiopaque markers as necessary for achieving the desired mechanical performance for a corresponding procedure.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy US 2016/0220793 in view of Wainwright et al. US 2024/0198039.
Regarding claim 13, Murphy discloses the device essentially as claimed as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the distal end of the first catheter has a radially outwardly flared opening.
Wainwright et al. teaches a catheter that may be designed to flare outward to a slightly larger diameter at the distal end, various infusion catheters designs being contemplated, the can provide backflow (paragraph 0039), the widening of the distal end of a catheter may provide easier entrance of a clot (paragraph 0055) or place delivery devices within the lumen to place tools distal to the catheter (paragraph 0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Murphy with a radially outwardly flared opening, as taught by Wainwright et al. and known in the art to provide a catheter design that can allow for easier entrance of clots or placement of devices within the lumen or vessel distal to the catheter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art Murphy US 2016/0220793 discloses a retrograde blood flow occlusion flushing device comprising a first catheter, a second catheter and a balloon movable between a collapsed state and an inflated state, but fails to disclose wherein the balloon is sized and configured to be inflatable within the lumen of the first catheter when the distal end of the second catheter is flush with the distal end of the first catheter, such that in the inflated state the balloon is retained within the lumen of the first catheter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA C LAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771