DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 4/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 18, line 1, “for cutting flat material” should be “for cutting a flat material” to avoid lack of antecedent issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“connection means” as recited in claim 6.
“respective connecting means” as recited in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, “at least partially surrounds a part of the machining device” with “for a machining device” of claim 1 is indefinite. Examiner notes that in claim 1 that “a machining device” not part of the arcuate cutting tool, however “surrounds” is a positive limitation that require the arcuate cutting tool to compare to the machining device, therefore the limitation is unclear if “a part” is required by the claim or just a functional limitation. The examiner suggests claiming “configured to surround” to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Antosh (US 2666485).
Regarding claim 1, Antosh teaches an arcuate cutting tool part for a machining device for cutting flat material, such as sheet metal, comprising:
a radially outer cutting edge area having at least one arcuate cutting edge (edge of 19);
an attachment arrangement for attachment to the machining device (see Figures 1-5);
a first coupling arrangement having a first coupling portion (1st 12, see Figure 1-5); and
a second coupling arrangement having a second coupling portion (2nd 12, see Figures 1-5),
wherein the arcuate cutting tool part defines a circumferential direction in accordance with an arcuate shape of the arcuate cutting tool part (see Figures 1-5), and
wherein at least one of the first and the second coupling arrangements are configured to be releasably coupled to at least one further arcuate cutting tool part in the circumferential direction (releasable via 30, see Figures 1-5),
wherein the arcuate cutting tool part is formed as a one-piece part (formed into one via 29, see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Antosh teaches the first and the second coupling arrangements are configured such that imaginary coupling to the respective other of the first and second coupling arrangements is provided (see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, Antosh teaches the first and the second coupling arrangements are coupled together by way of positive abutment with one another without an additional component arranged between the first and the second coupling arrangements (via 29, see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, Antosh teaches the first and the second coupling portions are configured to be at least partially complementary to each other (via 29, see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, Antosh teaches the first coupling portion and/or the second coupling portion have a groove and/or a protrusion, wherein the groove is configured to receive the protrusion.
Regarding claim 6, Antosh teaches at least one of the first and the second coupling arrangements has at least one recess for receive the connecting means (29, see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, Antosh teaches the connection means comprises a screw (30, see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 8, Antosh teaches a radially inner portion that at least partially surrounds a part of the machining device (see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, Antosh teaches the radially inner portion is arcuate, and wherein the part of the machining device comprises a guide cylinder (see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 10, Antosh teaches the at least one arcuate cutting edge has the shape of a segment of a circle (see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 11, Antosh teaches the arcuate cutting tool part has the shape of a segment of a ring (see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, Antosh teaches the arcuate cutting tool part has a substantially constant thickness at least in the radial direction (see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 13, Antosh teaches the attachment arrangement comprises one or more fastening holes for at least partially receiving a respective connecting means for attachment to the machining device (see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 14, Antosh teaches the fastening holes are arranged along a pitch circle (see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 15, Antosh teaches An arcuate cutting tool for a machining device for cutting flat material, the arcuate cutting tool comprising:
a first cutting tool part (17), comprising:
a first radially outer cutting edge area (19) having at least one first arcuate cutting edge; a first attachment arrangement for attachment to the machining device (see Figures 1-5); and
a first set of coupling arrangements (12), wherein the first arcuate cutting tool part defines a first circumferential direction in accordance with a first arcuate shape of the first cutting tool part (see Figures 1-5), and
a second cutting tool part (other 17), comprising:
a second radially outer cutting edge area (other 19) having at least one second arcuate cutting edge; a second attachment arrangement for attachment to the machining device (see Figures 1-5);
a second set of coupling arrangements (other 12), wherein the second arcuate cutting tool part defines a second circumferential direction in accordance with a second arcuate shape of the second cutting tool part (see Figures 1-5), and
wherein a coupling arrangement of the second set of coupling arrangements is coupled to a coupling arrangement of the first set of coupling arrangements (see Figures 1-5),
wherein at least one of the first cutting tool part and the second cutting tool part is a one piece part (forming one part via mating elements 29 see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 16, Antosh teaches at least one connecting means for releasably coupling the first cutting tool part to the second cutting tool part (see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 17, Antosh teaches the first and the second cutting tool parts are similar (see Figures 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antosh (US 2666485) in view of Flaherty (US 20030205117 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Antosh teaches a machining device for cutting flat material, comprising:
a cutting device arrangement configured to cut the flat material (see Figures 1-5), comprising:
a radially outer cutting edge area (19) having at least one arcuate cutting edge;
an attachment arrangement for attachment to the machining device (two 12s, see Figures 1-5);
a first coupling arrangement (12) having a first coupling portion (see Figures 1-5); and
a second coupling arrangement (other 12) having a second coupling portion (see Figures 1-5),
wherein the cutting device arrangement defines a circumferential direction in accordance with an arcuate shape of the cutting device arrangement (see Figures 1-5), and wherein at least one of the first and the second coupling arrangements are configured to be releasably coupled to another cutting device arrangement in the circumferential direction (see Figures 1-5),
wherein the cutting device arrangement part is a one-piece part (via mating portion 29, see Figures 1-5).
Antosh fails to teach a base including a support table for the flat material, the base defining a feed direction in which the flat material can be fed into the machining device.
Flaherty teaches a machining device including cutting elements (58) and a base (22) including a support table (top of 22) for the flat material, the base defining a feed direction in which the flat material can be fed into the machining device (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antosh to use the cutting element of Antosh for each of the cutting element in the system of Flaherty, as taught by Flaherty and Antosh, in order to provide a removable cutting system to increase the life of the machine (col. 1 lines 1-45 of Antosh).
Regarding claim 19, modified Antosh further teaches the cutting device arrangement comprises a first cutting device configured to cut the flat material transversely to the feed direction (as modified, see Figure 1 of Flaherty), wherein the machining device further comprises a second cutting device arrangement comprising a second cutting device configured to cut the flat material in the feed direction (as modified, see Figure 1 of Flaherty), wherein the second cutting device arrangement defines a second circumferential direction in accordance with a second arcuate shape of the second cutting device arrangement (as modified, see Figure 1 of Flaherty), and wherein the second cutting device arrangement comprises: a second radially outer cutting edge area having at least one second arcuate cutting edge (as modified, see Figure 1 of Flaherty); a second attachment arrangement for attachment to the machining device; and at least one coupling arrangement configured to be releasably coupled to the first cutting device (as modified, see Figure 1 of Flaherty).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 7/22/2026