DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Europe on August 10, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the EP23190858.3 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
“electric motor or inverter” of claim 8
“electric motor” of claims 13, 14
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3) because numbers, letters, and reference characters should not be placed in the drawing so as to interfere with its comprehension. Therefore, they should not cross or mingle with the lines. They should not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces. When necessary, such as indicating a surface or cross section, a reference character may be underlined and a blank space may be left in the hatching or shading where the character occurs so that it appears distinct.
The drawings are objected to because the figures are dark, blurry, cluttered, or a combination of those problems. This makes it difficult to discern the components depicted and fully understand the invention. For example:
The reference lines in figures 1 and 3 blend into the shaded regions.
Figures 4A and 4B, it’s unclear whether the reference character reads 413 or 4B, 613 or 6B. These are only a few examples, there are many occurrences with varying characters.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, “a circular base flange” and “a second flange portion” should be changed to “the circular base flange” and “the second flange portion”
Claim 12, “the sleeve subassembly is attached to elongated shaft portion” should be changed to “the sleeve subassembly is attached to the elongated shaft portion”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites, “a first collar integrally formed as part of the first portion; a second collar integrally formed as part of the second portion; wherein the seal element is disposed between the first collar and the insert or the second collar and the insert” is indefinite because the claim is attempting to divide the one busbar of claim 1 into two busbars. The first and second portions of the busbar (interpreted as the left and right portions) both extend partially into the aperture per claim 3. The collar applies a force on the seal located between the collar and the first or second portion extending partially into the aperture.
Requiring a collar integrally formed as part of the first and second portions of the busbar would create a middle portion between the two collars. The collars would prevent the middle portion of the busbar from passing through the insert of the aperture disposed within the carrier as claimed. This is supported by Applicant’s figures 1-3 which show two busbars 18a and 18b, each with a collar 20a and 20b. The figures show busbar 18a could be inserted into the aperture from the left side and busbar 18b is inserted from the right side. There is no support for a single busbar with integrated collars in two locations on the busbar.
For examining purposes the Examiner is interpreting the first and second portions of the busbar as a first and second busbar in accordance with the figures.
Dependent claims 5 and 6 are rejected, as they inherit the deficiency of claim 4.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the sleeve subassembly" and “the non-threaded portion of the bus bar” in lines 1-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claim 11 is rejected, as it inherits the deficiency of claim 10.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the sleeve subassembly" in lines 7 and 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gandrud (US 2005/0218733).
Regarding claim 1, Gandrud discloses a busbar connection assembly comprising:
a carrier (22 of Figure 3, 5);
an insert (18, 20 of Figure 1-3) disposed within the carrier, the insert having an aperture (28 of Figure 3, 5);
a busbar (12 of Figure 1-5) connected to and extending through the aperture;
a seal element (34 of Figure 3) in contact with the busbar and the insert;
wherein the seal element prevents flow between a first side of the carrier and a second side of the carrier (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Gandrud discloses the busbar (12 of Figure 1-5) further comprising a collar (14 of Figure 1-3) adjacent to and applying force to the seal element (34 of Figure 3) when the busbar is connected to the insert (18, 20 of Figure 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Gandrud discloses the busbar (12 of Figure 1-5) further comprising:
a first portion (left portion of 12) extending partially into the aperture (28 of Figure 3, 5); and
a second portion (right portion of 12) extending partially into the aperture;
wherein the collar (14 of Figure 1-3) is integrally formed as part of one of the first portion or the second portion, such that the seal element (34 of Figure 3) is located between the collar and the insert (18, 20 of Figure 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Gandrud discloses the busbar (12 of Figure 1-5) further comprising:
a first threaded portion (16 of Figure 1-5) of the first portion (left portion of 12); and
a second threaded portion (16 of Figure 1-5) of the second portion (right portion of 12);
wherein the first threaded portion extends into one side of the aperture (28 of Figure 3, 5) of the insert (18, 20 of Figure 1-3), and the second threaded portion extends into another side of the aperture of the insert.
Regarding claim 8, Gandrud discloses further comprising an assembly flange (14 of Figure 1-3) integrally formed as part of the bus bar (12 of Figure 1-5);
wherein an electric motor or inverter (Para. 0009) is connected to the assembly flange (via 44 of Figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Gandrud discloses further comprising:
a sleeve subassembly (24 of Figure 1-3); and
a non-threaded portion (see Figure 1-3) integrally formed as part of the bus bar (12 of Figure 1-5);
wherein the sleeve subassembly is connected to the non-threaded portion integrally formed as part of the bus bar (see Figure 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Gandrud discloses wherein the carrier (22 of Figure 3, 5) is part of the housing of an electric motor (Para. 0017).
Regarding claim 14, Gandrud discloses wherein the carrier (22 of Figure 3, 5) is connected to the housing of an electric motor (Para. 0017).
Regarding claim 15, Gandrud discloses wherein the busbar (12 of Figure 1-5) is press-fit into the insert (see Figure 1, 3; 18, 20 of Figure 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, Gandrud discloses a method for assembling a busbar connection assembly, the method comprising:
providing a carrier (22 of Figure 3, 5);
providing an insert (18, 20 of Figure 1-3);
providing a busbar (12 of Figure 1-5);
providing a collar (14 of Figure 1-3) integrally formed as part of the busbar;
providing a seal element (34 of Figure 3);
inserting the insert into the carrier (see Figure 3);
placing the seal element into the carrier such that the seal element is adjacent the insert (see Figure 3); and
inserting the busbar at least partially into the insert such that the seal element is located and compressed between the collar and an outer surface of the insert (see Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandrud (US 2005/0218733).
Regarding claims 4, 5, Gandrud discloses further comprising:
a first collar (14 of Figure 1-3) integrally formed as part of the first portion (12 of Figure 1-5);
wherein the seal element (34 of Figure 3) is disposed between the first collar and the insert (18, 20 of Figure 1-3) or the second collar and the insert (claim 4);
further comprising:
a first seal element (34 of Figure 3) mounted to the first portion (12 of Figure 1-5) such that the first seal element is located between the insert (18, 20 of Figure 1-3) and the first collar (14 of Figure 1-3) (claim 5).
Gandrud does not explicitly disclose a second collar integrally formed as part of the second portion [busbar #2] (claim 4);
a second seal element mounted to the second portion such that the second seal element is located between the insert and the second collar;
wherein the first seal element and the second seal element combine to prevent flow between the first side of the carrier and the second side of the carrier (claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a second collar on a second busbar with a second seal element of Gandrud for operational advantages such as primarily uninterrupted power continuity, system redundancy, and maintenance flexibility since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 6, 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 6 and claims dependent thereon, the prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious a busbar connection assembly as recited by independent claim 1, comprising:
a carrier;
an insert disposed within the carrier, the insert having an aperture;
a busbar connected to and extending through the aperture;
a seal element in contact with the busbar and the insert;
wherein the seal element prevents flow between a first side of the carrier and a second side of the carrier; and
the busbar further comprising a collar adjacent to and applying force to the seal element when the busbar is connected to the insert; and
the busbar further comprising:
a first portion extending partially into the aperture; and
a second portion extending partially into the aperture;
wherein the collar is integrally formed as part of one of the first portion or the second portion, such that the seal element is located between the collar and the insert; and
further comprising:
a first collar integrally formed as part of the first portion;
a second collar integrally formed as part of the second portion;
wherein the seal element is disposed between the first collar and the insert or the second collar and the insert; and
further comprising:
a first seal element mounted to the first portion such that the first seal element is located between the insert and the first collar; and
a second seal element mounted to the second portion such that the second seal element is located between the insert and the second collar;
wherein the first seal element and the second seal element combine to prevent flow between the first side of the carrier and the second side of the carrier; and
the carrier further comprising:
a first region, wherein the first portion extends through the first region and partially into the aperture of the insert;
a first transition region integrally formed as part of the first region;
a second region, wherein the insert is mounted in the second region of the carrier;
a third region, wherein the second region is disposed between the first region and the third region, the second portion extending through the third region and partially into the aperture of the insert; and
a second transition region integrally formed as part of the third region;
wherein the first seal element is located in the first transition region and the second seal element is located in the second transition region.
With respect to claim 10 and claims dependent thereon, the prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious a busbar connection assembly as recited by independent claim 1, comprising:
a carrier;
an insert disposed within the carrier, the insert having an aperture;
a busbar connected to and extending through the aperture;
a seal element in contact with the busbar and the insert;
wherein the seal element prevents flow between a first side of the carrier and a second side of the carrier; and
the sleeve subassembly further comprising:
a circular base flange partially surrounding the non-threaded portion of the bus bar;
a first flange portion integrally formed with the circular base flange;
a second flange portion integrally formed with the circular base flange; and
an outer connecting flange disposed between and connected to the first flange portion and the second flange portion;
wherein a portion of the first flange portion extends into a notch integrally formed as part of the carrier when the sleeve subassembly is connected to the bus bar preventing the rotation of the bus bar relative to the carrier.
With respect to claim 12 and claims dependent thereon, the prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious a busbar connection assembly as recited by independent claim 1, comprising:
a carrier;
an insert disposed within the carrier, the insert having an aperture;
a busbar connected to and extending through the aperture;
a seal element in contact with the busbar and the insert;
wherein the seal element prevents flow between a first side of the carrier and a second side of the carrier; and
further comprising
an elongated shaft portion; and
a fastening nut attached to the elongated shaft portion;
wherein the elongated shaft portion extends through the insert such that the insert is disposed between the fastening nut and the seal element, and the sleeve subassembly is attached to elongated shaft portion such that the fastening nut is located between the sleeve subassembly and the insert.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hoshika (US 7,557,478) discloses a motor, a busbar, and a sleeve subassembly.
Storsand (US 3,354,330) discloses an electric machine with busbar, flange, and an insulation sleeve.
Forveille (US 2014/0159519) discloses a busbar that can be integrated into an electric motor.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834