DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 08/12/2024. Claims 1-12 are pending for evaluation.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/12/2024 and 03/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “or” needs to be added in between the semicolon and provide between the end and the beginning of the two limitations such that the claim reads as “…entry of the second ADFUSIM; or provide, in the profile,…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “effected” needs to be replaced with the word “affected.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Each claim contains an acronym that is not spelled out on first use. For example, Claim 1 contains the acronym SIM; the claim needs to be amended such that it reads “…in a subscriber identity module (SIM) hosted in a mobile radio communication device,…” The following acronyms need to spelled out in the relevant claims:
Claim 1 – SIM and ADFUSIM
Claim 2 – AID
Claim 3 – OTA, EFDIR, EFAD, EFUST, EFLastADF, EF-SUCI_Calc, and DF5G/AFSUPI_NAI
Claim 6 – IMSI
Claim 7 – ADFISIM, 4G, and 5G
Claim 10 – 3G
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: the claims contain one or more acronyms that are not defined in the claims nor in the specification. For example, Claim 7 contains the acronym ADFISIM. The term “ADFISIM” in Claim 7 can stand for several relevant terms in the art such as, but not limited to, ADF IP Multimedia Services Identity Module (ADFISIM) or ADF Integrated SIM (ADFSIM). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim
Acronym
Interpretation Used for Examination Purposes
1
ADFUSIM
Application Dedicated File - Universal Subscriber Identity Module
3
EFAD
Elementary File Administrative Data
3
EFUST
Elementary File USIM Service Table
3
EFLastADF
Elementary File Last Application Dedicated File
3
EF-SUCI_Calc
Elementary File-Subscription Concealed Identifier_Calculation
3
DF5G
Dedicated File 5th Generation
3
AFSUPI_NAI
Application Function (AF) Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI)_ Network Access Identifier (NAI)
7
ADFISIM
Application Dedicated File (ADF) Internet Protocol (IP) Multimedia Services Identity Module (ADFISIM)
Table 1 below lists the acronyms which are not defined in the claims nor in the specification along with the interpretation of the acronyms used for examination purposes.
Table 1: Acronyms that are neither defined in the claims or specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khan et al. (US 20260012774), Khan hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Khan teaches a method, in a SIM hosted in a mobile radio communication device, for switching connectivity between a first mobile radio network and a second mobile radio network, the method comprising the steps (Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]; See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]):
(1) operate the SIM in connectivity in the first mobile radio network, making use of a profile hosted in the SIM, the profile including a first ADFUSIM file entry corresponding to the first mobile radio network (Fig. 4, step 404-406, Para. [0031-0043] - [0032] As shown, the process may begin with UE 102 and UICC 300 powering on and initializing in preparation for connecting to a wireless network (block 402). For example, an application identifier (AID) in UICC 300 may be initially set to default USIM 305 and UE 102 may retrieve identification information (e.g., IMSI, etc.) based on the AID. Assume for the purposes of this description that UE 102 is initially present in a geographical area covered by wireless network 100-2 (e.g., a private wireless network). [0033] Using the information from primary USIM 305, UE 102 sends an attach request message (404) to wireless network 100-2. For example, UE 102 may respond to broadcast signals from one of the wireless stations in wireless network 100-2, proceed through a random access channel (RACH) procedure, and establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the wireless station. After establishing the connection, UE 102 may transmit the attach request as a non-access stratum (NAS) message to the wireless station. [0034] Assuming that the received information correctly identifies a subscriber to wireless network 100-2, wireless network 100-2 returns an attach successful message (406) to UE 102, which then forwards a corresponding status message (408) to UICC 300. In some implementations, UICC 300 may be configured to execute 3GPP TS 31.111, entitled “Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM), Application Toolkit (USAT),” which defines a set of commands and procedures for use during 3GPP network operation phase. In such an implementation, status message 408 may include a network status envelope message; See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]),
(2) switch connectivity to operate the SIM in connectivity in the second mobile radio network, making use of a profile hosted in the SIM, the profile including a second ADFUSIM file entry corresponding to the second mobile radio network, wherein (Fig. 4, step 417-424, Para. [0031-0043] - [0036] Consistent with implementations described herein, upon receipt of reject message 416 from UE 102, UICC 300 may activate USIM switching application 308 to switch between primary USIM 305 to secondary USIM 307 (block 417). For example, USIM switching application 308 may modify the AID to USIM 307. UICC 300 may transmit a refresh message (418) to UE 102 instructing UE 102 to update its stored subscriber information. In response, UE 102 requests and receives (420) subscriber information from UICC 300 associated with USIM 307. [0037] Using the information from USIM 307, UE 102 then sends an attach request message (422) to wireless network 100-1. Assuming that the received information correctly identifies a subscriber to wireless network 100-1, wireless network 100-1 returns an attach successful message (424) to UE 102, which then forwards a corresponding status message (426) (e.g., a network status envelope message) to UICC 300; See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]):
the first ADFUSIM entry and the second ADFUSIM entry are included in the same profile (Fig. 3, Elements 300, 304, and 305, Para. [0027-0030] - [0027] FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating exemplary components of UICC 300 consistent with implementations described herein. As shown, UICC 300 may include a common file area 302, a first USIM area 304, a second USIM area 306, and a USIM Switching application 308… [0029] Consistent with embodiments described herein, UICC 300 may include two USIMs 305 and 307, information for which is stored in areas 304 and 306, respectively. USIM 305 may be associated with second wireless network 100-2 (e.g., a private wireless network) and USIM 307 may be associated with first wireless network 100-1 (e.g., a PLMN). Each USIM 305/307 may include various elementary and directory file information for that respective USIM identity, including an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), authentication keys, ciphering keys, integrity keys, etc.; See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043] );
the switch of connectivity from the first to the second mobile radio network is performed by switching a configuration of the profile from using the first ADFUSIM entry to using the second ADFUSIM entry (Fig. 4, step 417-424, Para. [0031-0043] - [0036] Consistent with implementations described herein, upon receipt of reject message 416 from UE 102, UICC 300 may activate USIM switching application 308 to switch between primary USIM 305 to secondary USIM 307 (block 417). For example, USIM switching application 308 may modify the AID to USIM 307. UICC 300 may transmit a refresh message (418) to UE 102 instructing UE 102 to update its stored subscriber information. In response, UE 102 requests and receives (420) subscriber information from UICC 300 associated with USIM 307. [0037] Using the information from USIM 307, UE 102 then sends an attach request message (422) to wireless network 100-1. Assuming that the received information correctly identifies a subscriber to wireless network 100-1, wireless network 100-1 returns an attach successful message (424) to UE 102, which then forwards a corresponding status message (426) (e.g., a network status envelope message) to UICC 300; See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]).
Examiner’s Note: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the claimed ADFUSIM is interpreted as USIM application/file structure selectable by an application identifier (AID), and the claimed “profile” is interpreted as the configuration hosted by UICC 300. Khan’s UICC 300 includes first and second USIM areas 304 and 306 containing respective USIMs 305 and 307, which correspond to different wireless networks. Khan switches connectivity by changing the active AID from USIM 305 to USIM 307 and refreshing the UE, thereby switching the UICC configuration from using the first USIM entry to using the second USIM entry while both entries are hosted in the same UICC profile.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Fig. 4 from Khan (US 20260012774). Examiners highlights and annotations show key mappings to Claim 1.)]
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2: Fig. 3 from Khan (US 20260012774). Examiners highlights and annotations show key mappings to Claim 1.)]
Regarding Claim 2, Khan teaches Claim 1.
Khan further teaches
for execution of step (1) operate the SIM in connectivity in the first mobile radio network, provide in an Elementary File Directory, EFDIR, provided in the SIM, an identifier entry, particularly AID, of the first ADFUSIM (Fig. 4, step 402-406, Para. [0031-0043] - [0032] As shown, the process may begin with UE 102 and UICC 300 powering on and initializing in preparation for connecting to a wireless network (block 402). For example, an application identifier (AID) in UICC 300 may be initially set to default USIM 305 and UE 102 may retrieve identification information (e.g., IMSI, etc.) based on the AID. Assume for the purposes of this description that UE 102 is initially present in a geographical area covered by wireless network 100-2 (e.g., a private wireless network); See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]);
for execution of step (2) switch connectivity to operate the SIM in connectivity in the second mobile radio network, remove the identifier entry, particularly AID, of the first ADFUSIM from the Elementary File Directory, EFDIR, and enter into the Elementary File Directory, EFDIR, an identifier entry, particularly AID, of the second ADFUSIM (Fig. 4, step 417, Para. [0031-0043] - [0036] Consistent with implementations described herein, upon receipt of reject message 416 from UE 102, UICC 300 may activate USIM switching application 308 to switch between primary USIM 305 to secondary USIM 307 (block 417). For example, USIM switching application 308 may modify the AID to USIM 307. UICC 300 may transmit a refresh message (418) to UE 102 instructing UE 102 to update its stored subscriber information. In response, UE 102 requests and receives (420) subscriber information from UICC 300 associated with USIM 307; See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]).
Examiner’s Note: Khan Fig. 3 and Para. [0027-0029] teach a common file area 302 which stores elementary files and directory files for all profiles on UICC 300, while USIMs 305 and 307 each include respective elementary and directory-file information. Under the BRI, this structure corresponds to the claimed EFDIR, and Khan’s modification of the active AID from USIM 305 to USIM 307 by switching application 308 (Khan Para. [0030]; Fig. 4, step 417-418) corresponds to removing or deselecting the first USIM identifier and entering or selecting the second USIM identifier to switch network connectivity.
Regarding Claim 3, Khan teaches Claim 1.
Khan further teaches
wherein along with the switch of the ADFUSIM, a switch of one or several of the following profile elements and/or file system entries is executed: an Authentication key; an OTA key or OTA key set; EFDIR; EFAD; EFUST; EFLastADF; EF-SUCI_Calc; DF5G/AFSUPI_NAI (Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030] - [0029] Consistent with embodiments described herein, UICC 300 may include two USIMs 305 and 307, information for which is stored in areas 304 and 306, respectively. USIM 305 may be associated with second wireless network 100-2 (e.g., a private wireless network) and USIM 307 may be associated with first wireless network 100-1 (e.g., a PLMN). Each USIM 305/307 may include various elementary and directory file information for that respective USIM identity, including an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), authentication keys, ciphering keys, integrity keys, etc.; Fig. 4, step 417, Para. [0031-0043] - [0036] Consistent with implementations described herein, upon receipt of reject message 416 from UE 102, UICC 300 may activate USIM switching application 308 to switch between primary USIM 305 to secondary USIM 307 (block 417). For example, USIM switching application 308 may modify the AID to USIM 307. UICC 300 may transmit a refresh message (418) to UE 102 instructing UE 102 to update its stored subscriber information. In response, UE 102 requests and receives (420) subscriber information from UICC 300 associated with USIM 307; See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]).
Examiner’s Note: Kahn Para. [0036] teaches that USIM Switching Application 308 switches between USIM 305 to USIM 307. Fig. 3 and Para. [0029] teach that each USIM includes its own elementary and directory file information (i.e., EFDIR) and authentication key (i.e., mapped to the authentication key in Claim 3). Therefore, switching from USIM 305 to USIM 307 also means switching the profile elements of EFDIR and authentication keys as claimed.
Regarding Claim 4, Khan teaches Claim 1.
Khan further teaches
wherein the switch of one or several of the following profile elements is executed by one of the following switch schedules:
provide, in the profile, only a profile element entry of only one ADFUSIM, containing the profile element entry of the first ADFUSIM, and for the switching update or overwrite the profile element entry of the first ADFUSIM with a profile element entry of the second ADFUSIM; provide, in the profile, only a profile element entry of only one ADFUSIM, containing a profile element entry of the first ADFUSIM, and for the switching create a profile element entry of the second ADFUSIM as a new profile element entry(Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030] - [0029] Consistent with embodiments described herein, UICC 300 may include two USIMs 305 and 307, information for which is stored in areas 304 and 306, respectively. USIM 305 may be associated with second wireless network 100-2 (e.g., a private wireless network) and USIM 307 may be associated with first wireless network 100-1 (e.g., a PLMN). Each USIM 305/307 may include various elementary and directory file information for that respective USIM identity, including an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), authentication keys, ciphering keys, integrity keys, etc.; Fig. 4, step 417, Para. [0031-0043] - [0036] Consistent with implementations described herein, upon receipt of reject message 416 from UE 102, UICC 300 may activate USIM switching application 308 to switch between primary USIM 305 to secondary USIM 307 (block 417). For example, USIM switching application 308 may modify the AID to USIM 307. UICC 300 may transmit a refresh message (418) to UE 102 instructing UE 102 to update its stored subscriber information. In response, UE 102 requests and receives (420) subscriber information from UICC 300 associated with USIM 307; See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]).
Examiner’s Note: Kahn Para. [0036] teaches that USIM Switching Application 308 switches between USIM 305 to USIM 307. Fig. 3 and Para. [0029] teach that each USIM includes its own elementary and directory file information (i.e., EFDIR) and authentication key (i.e., mapped to the authentication key in Claim 3). Therefore, switching from USIM 305 to USIM 307 also means switching to a new profile element as claimed.
Regarding Claim 6, Khan teaches Claim 1.
Khan further teaches
wherein one of the first and second mobile radio network is a public, IMSI-type mobile radio network, and the other mobile radio network is a private non-IMSI-type mobile radio network (Para. [0010] - The systems and methods described herein relate to allowing a user of a mobile device that includes only a single UICC for the mobile device, to efficiently access multiple wireless networks using two or more dedicated USIM components. For example, assume that a mobile device (e.g., a smart phone) subscribes to both a first wireless network (e.g., a private long term evolution (LTE) or fifth generation (5G) wireless network) and a second wireless network (e.g., a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN)). To secure access to the first wireless network, the UICC of the mobile device includes a first USIM and to secure access to the second wireless network, the UICC of the mobile device includes a second USIM; Fig. 3, Elements 305 and 307, Para. [0027-0030] - Consistent with embodiments described herein, UICC 300 may include two USIMs 305 and 307, information for which is stored in areas 304 and 306, respectively. USIM 305 may be associated with second wireless network 100-2 (e.g., a private wireless network) and USIM 307 may be associated with first wireless network 100-1 (e.g., a PLMN). Each USIM 305/307 may include various elementary and directory file information for that respective USIM identity, including an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), authentication keys, ciphering keys, integrity keys, etc.; See Also: Para. [0009-0012]; Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]).
Examiner’s Note: The examiner interprets the PLMN in Khan Para. [0029] as a public, IMSI-type mobile radio network and private 4G/5G networks as non-IMSI-type mobile radio networks.
Regarding Claim 11, Khan teaches Claim 1.
Khan further teaches
wherein the switching connectivity between the first mobile radio network and the second mobile radio network is initiated by a trigger event (Fig. 4, step 410, Para. [0031-0043] - [0035] Next, assume that UE 102 moves to a geographic location which is no longer adequately covered by wireless network 100-2, but which is covered by wireless network 100-1 (block 410). UE 102 initially attempts to attach to wireless network 100-1 by sending an attach request message (412) to wireless network 100-1 using the information previously retrieved from primary USIM 305. Because the identity associated with USIM 305 is not associated with a subscriber of wireless network 100-1, wireless network 100-1 returns an attach reject message (414) indicating that the UE 102 has not been attached to wireless network 100-1. In response to receiving message 414, UE 102 forwards a reject message (416) to UICC 300. For implementations which utilize the USAT, as described above, message 416 may include a network reject envelope message; See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner interprets UE 102 “moving to a geographic location which is no longer adequately covered by wireless network 100-2” and attempting to attach to wireless network 100-1 as the claimed “switching connectivity between the first mobile radio network and the second mobile radio network is initiated by a trigger event,” where the “trigger event” is mapped to the geographic movement of the UE.
Regarding Claim 12, Khan teaches Claim 1.
Khan further teaches
wherein the trigger event is or comprises one or several of the following: unavailability of the first mobile radio network at the device; user input at a user interface of the device; user entry of a machine readable code at the device (Fig. 4, step 410, Para. [0031-0043] - [0035] Next, assume that UE 102 moves to a geographic location which is no longer adequately covered by wireless network 100-2, but which is covered by wireless network 100-1 (block 410). UE 102 initially attempts to attach to wireless network 100-1 by sending an attach request message (412) to wireless network 100-1 using the information previously retrieved from primary USIM 305. Because the identity associated with USIM 305 is not associated with a subscriber of wireless network 100-1, wireless network 100-1 returns an attach reject message (414) indicating that the UE 102 has not been attached to wireless network 100-1. In response to receiving message 414, UE 102 forwards a reject message (416) to UICC 300. For implementations which utilize the USAT, as described above, message 416 may include a network reject envelope message; See Also: Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Seo et al. (US 20180013759), Seo hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Khan teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Khan does not expressly teach wherein the deactivating the profile element of the first ADFUSIM is effected by: remove the identifier entry, particularly AID, for profile element of the first ADFUSIM from the Elementary File Directory, EFDIR; and the activating of the profile element of the second ADFUSIM is effected by: enter into the Elementary File Directory, EFDIR, an identifier entry, particularly AID, for the profile element of the second ADFUSIM.
However, Seo teaches
wherein the deactivating the profile element of the first ADFUSIM is effected by: remove the identifier entry, particularly AID, for profile element of the first ADFUSIM from the Elementary File Directory, EFDIR; and the activating of the profile element of the second ADFUSIM is effected by: enter into the Elementary File Directory, EFDIR, an identifier entry, particularly AID, for the profile element of the second ADFUSIM (Fig. 2, elements 3300, 3310, 3320, 3321, and 3311, Para. [0077-0092] - [0086] Since EF.sub.DIR 3300 includes an identifier of an application installed in UICC, the terminal may select a necessary application by referring to its value at the time of UICC initialization and perform network access certification. In EF.sub.DIR 3300, it is necessary for an AID (Application Identifier) value of the network access application of the profile to be able to be added/deleted according to additional/deletion of the profile. An update access right of EFDIR 3300 is a manger certification (ADM), and a security for management of its value is also necessary; See Also: Para. [0040-0055]; Fig. 1, Para. [0056-0076]; Fig. 2, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 3, Para. [0093-0095]; Fig. 4, Para. [0096-0102]; Fig. 5, Para. [0103-0104]; Fig. 6, Para. [0105-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0122]; Fig. 8, Para. [0123-0129]; Fig. 9, Para. [0130-0136]; Fig. 10, Para. [0137-0149]; Fig. 11, Para. [0150-0157]; Fig. 12, Para. [0158-0174]).
Examiner’s Note: Seo’s Fig. 2 and Para. [0079, 0081, 0086] teach that EF_DIR 3300 stores the AIDS of ADF applications and that an IAD may be added or deleted from EF-DIR when a profile is added or deleted. Under the BRI, deleting the AID of the first ADFUSIM and adding the AID of the second ADFUSIM respectively deactivate the first profile element and activate the second profile element as claimed.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3: Fig. 2 of Seo (US 20180013759). Examiners highlights and annotations show the EFDIR 3300 in Fig. 2 storing AID entries that refer to respective ADF applications. The figure and Seo Para. [0086] supports removing the first ADFUSIM's AID and entering the second ADFUSIM's AID in EFDIR as recited in Claim 5.)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Khan’s invention of systems and methods related to “allowing a user of a mobile device that includes only a single UICC for the mobile device, to efficiently access multiple wireless networks using two or more dedicated USIM components” (Khan Para. [0010]) with Seo’s invention of an apparatus and method for “shared file management for a subscriber certification device, and to a shared file management method for a multi-profile environment, and a subscriber certification apparatus using the same” (Seo Para. [0002]) because Seo’s invention provides “a shared file management method that is efficient for a multi-profile environment” (Seo Para. [0007]) and “a subscriber certification apparatus using the shared file management method” (Seo Para. [0008]).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan and further in view of Chastain et al. (US 20150044995), Chastain hereinafter, and Chuang et al. (US 20230292109), Chuang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 7, Khan teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Khan does not expressly teach wherein the first mobile radio network is a 4G network, wherein the SIM includes an entry in ADFISIM for the first mobile radio network.
However, Chastain teaches
wherein the first mobile radio network is a 4G network, wherein the SIM includes an entry in ADFISIM for the first mobile radio network (Fig. 1, step 104, Para. [0015-0035] - [0031] In step 104, the Telco SEI can generate a package including configuration data to modify the UICC 208. The configuration data can comprise one or more authentication keys, one or more network access parameters, one or more service operator applications, or combinations thereof. In one embodiment, the service operator application can be a network-based application that configures the communication device 206 to comply with operational requirements of a communication system from which the communication device 206 receives communication services. The network-based application can be a subscriber identity module (SIM) application, a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) application, or an internet protocol multimedia services identity module (ISIM) application. The UICC executes the SIM application, the USIM application, or the ISIM application depending on whether the network of FIG. 1 operates as a 2G, 3G, LTE or IMS (IP Multimedia Subsystem) network; See Also Fig. 2, Figs. 3-4, Para. [0036-0039]; Figs. 5-6, Para. [0040-0043]; Figs. 7-8, Para. [0044-0066]).
Examiner’s Note: Chastain’s Fig. 1, steps 102-104 teaches modifying a UICC (i.e., the claimed SIM), and Para. [0031] teaches that the UICC may execute an ISIM application (i.e., the claimed ADFISIM) for a network operating as LTE (i.e., the claimed 4G network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Khan’s invention of systems and methods related to “allowing a user of a mobile device that includes only a single UICC for the mobile device, to efficiently access multiple wireless networks using two or more dedicated USIM components” (Khan Para. [0010]) with Chastain’s invention of “methods for provisioning universal integrated circuit cards” (Chastain Para. [0002]) because Chastain’s invention provides methods to configure the communication device to comply with the operational requirements of the network providing communication services (Chastain Para. [0031]).
Yet, Khan nor Chastain teach and the second mobile radio network is a 5G network, wherein the switch includes the additional step: create in the file system of the profile, for the second mobile radio network which is a 5G network, additional files required for SUCI calculation; if and/or as required, download to the SIM a SUCI calculation Applet designed for SUCI calculation making use of the additional files required for SUCI calculation.
However, Chuang teaches
and the second mobile radio network is a 5G network, wherein the switch includes the additional step: create in the file system of the profile, for the second mobile radio network which is a 5G network, additional files required for SUCI calculation; if and/or as required, download to the SIM a SUCI calculation Applet designed for SUCI calculation making use of the additional files required for SUCI calculation (Fig. 2, elements 238 and 224, Para. [0022-0028] - [0025] The UE 102, in some embodiments, further includes a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) 218 (e.g., a SIM “card”) that incorporates its own processor and memory (not shown) to store and execute various software applications separate from the processors 210 and memory 212 of the UE 102 (that is, separate from the ME components of the UE 102). Note that for purposes of the following description, reference to UICC can include reference to simulated or virtual SIM “cards” that are simulated in software, such as by the operating system or via a server-based application. Examples include iUICC, SoftSIM, and VirtualSIM. The software applications provisioned with the UICC 218 include a SIM 220 to facilitate connection and operation with, for example, a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) network or a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) network, as well as a USIM 222 to facilitate connection with Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) networks, 4G LTE networks, and 5G NR networks. The USIM 222 operates to identify the UE 102 to a network, and in particular, to either or both of provide SUCI calculation information 224 for use by a SUCI handling module 226 of the ME componentry of the UE 102 in generating a ME-calculated SUCI 228 or use these same SUCI calculation information 224 to calculate the SUCI and provide the calculated SUCI to the ME portion of the UE 102 as a USIM-calculated SUCI 230. [0026] The SUCI calculation information 224 can include any of a variety of parameters that may be utilized to generate an encrypted or otherwise concealed version of a unique identifier (e.g., SUPI 232) associated with the UE 102. To illustrate, in the context of a 5G NR implementation, 3GPP Technical Specification (TS) 133.501 provides that the SUCI calculation information 224 is stored in an elementary file (EF), designated “EFSUCl_Calc_Info”, and which contains data that represents an ordered priority list 234 and a home network (HN) public key list 236. The ordered priority list 234 represents a list of protection scheme identifiers in a designated priority order, each protection scheme identifier representing a corresponding protection scheme that may be employed to protect the SUPI 232 in generating a corresponding SUCI. Typically, the protection schemes included in the ordered priority list 234, and their ordered priority, are provisioned by the MNO. As for the protection schemes identified in the ordered priority list 234, each protection scheme represents one or more specific parameter values employed in the cryptographic function (e.g., an Elliptic Curve Integrated Encryption Scheme) used to encrypt the SUPI as part of the SUCI calculation. In the example context of 5G NR, 3GPP TS 133.501 provides for three protection scheme profiles: Null, Profile A, and Profile B. A Null protection scheme profile provides for no protection scheme; that is, the SUPI is provided as clear text without any encryption. Profiles A and B rely on use of the specific parameter values represented in a corresponding protection scheme. Further, in some embodiments, a proprietary protection scheme profile, such as one designated by the home public land mobile network (HPLMN), may also be employed. [0027] Correspondingly, the HN public key list 236 includes a list of HN public key identifier and corresponding HN public key pairs, each HN public key identifier/public key pair corresponding to a respective protection scheme identifier in the ordered priority list 234. The HN public key associated with a corresponding protection scheme is used as part of the encryption process for the SUPI using that protection scheme, and the HN public key identifier is provided as part of the SUCI 230 to allow the home network to identify the public key employed in encrypting the SUPI so that the home network can utilize the corresponding private key in decrypting the SUPI. [0028] As noted above, the SUCI provided by the UE 102 during the registration/attach procedure can be either a USIM-calculated SUCI or a ME-calculated SUCI, and the manner in calculating the SUCI typically is specified by the MNO or HPLMN. To illustrate, in a 5G NR implementation, the USIM 222 typically includes a USIM service table 238, implemented as an EF designated EFUST, that identifies those services that are available to the corresponding ME component of the UE 102. Two such services are particularly pertinent to the SUCI-based authentication process: service no124 (“Subscription identifier privacy support”) and service no125 (“SUCI calculation by the USIM”). If both service no124 and service no125 are specified in the USIM service table 238 as available, then SUCI calculation is to be performed by the USIM (that is, a USIM-calculated SUCI is to be used), whereas if service no124 is available but service no125 is unavailable, then SUCI calculation is to be performed by the ME (that is, a ME-calculated SUCI is to be used). Accordingly, the SUCI handling module 226 or other component of the UE 102 can determine whether the SUCI to be provided for an authentication process is to be a USIM-calculated SUCI or a ME-calculated SUCI by performing a reading of the USIM service table 238 and determining the availability statuses of services no124 and no125 as outlined above; See Also Para. [0013-0017]; Fig. 1, Para. [0018-0021]; Fig. 2, Para. [0022-0028]; Fig. 3, Para. [0029-0036]; Fig. 4, Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 5, Para. [0041-0045]; Para. [0046-0049]).
Examiner’s Note: Chuang Para. [0013-0017] teach UE 102 attaching to a 5G NR network (i.e., the claimed second mobile radio network). Fig. 2 and Para. [0025-0031] teach UICC 218 containing USIM 222 (i.e., the claimed profile and file system of the profile), including EFSUCI_Calc_Info with SUCI calculation information 224, ordered priority list 234, and HN public key list 236, and EFUST/USIM service table 238 used for SUCI calculation (i.e., the claimed additional files required for SUCI calculation).
The SUCI calculation applet limitation is conditional under “if and/or as required.” However, the Examiner notes ETSI 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), “Digital cellular telecommunications system (Phase 2+) (GSM); Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS); LTE; 5G; (U)SIM Application Programming Interface (API),” July 2023, 3GPP 2023 hereinafter, provided in the cited but not relied upon section, describes the uicc.usim.suci package enabling an applet to perform SUCI computation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and the second mobile radio network is a 5G network, wherein the switch includes the additional step: create in the file system of the profile, for the second mobile radio network which is a 5G network, additional files required for SUCI calculation; if and/or as required, download to the SIM a SUCI calculation Applet designed for SUCI calculation making use of the additional files required for SUCI calculation as taught by Chuang, in the combined system of Khan/Chastain, so that it would provide a method which includes “responsive to a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE failing to generate a USIM-calculated concealed identifier for the UE during an attach procedure to wirelessly connect the UE to a first network, implementing at least one failure recovery process to attempt to complete attachment of the UE to a network,” (Chuang Para. [0003]) thereby providing a UE means to “utilize one or more failure recovery procedures to attempt completion of attachment of the UE to the same network or a different network to help ensure that the UE does not remain attached to a network without access to services of the network due to authentication failure” (Chuang §Abstract).
Regarding Claim 8, Khan in view of Chastain and Chuang teaches Claim 7.
Yet, Khan nor Chastain teach wherein the additional files required for SUCI calculation are created along with switching the configuration to the second profile.
However, Chuang teaches
wherein the additional files required for SUCI calculation are created along with switching the configuration to the second profile (Fig. 5, step 507, Para. [0041-0045] - Another cause of a USIM SUCI calculation failure may be the failure of an MNO or HPLMN to properly provision the SUCI calculation information 224 or for such information to become corrupted or accidentally overwritten after provisioning. In such cases, this may be subsequently remedied by the MNO or HPLMN via an over-the-air (OTA) update to the USIM 222 (often referred to as a “SIM OTA update”) which either provisions the missing SUCI calculation information or overwrites bad information with updated information. As such, another trigger event that the UE 102 can employ is the receipt of an OTA update 507 for the USIM 222; See Also Para. [0013-0017]; Fig. 1, Para. [0018-0021]; Fig. 2, Para. [0022-0028]; Fig. 3, Para. [0029-0036]; Fig. 4, Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 5, Para. [0041-0045]; Para. [0046-0049] ).
Examiner’s Note: Chuang’s Fig. 3, step 314 and Fig. 5, steps 502-508, together with Para. [0041-0045], teach provisioning missing SUCI calculation information 224 (i.e., the claimed additional files required for SUCI calculation) to USIM 222 by OTA update 507 in Fig. 5 during reattachment to the 5G NR network. In the combined system of Khan/Chastain, this provisioning occurs along with switching the configuration to the second profile, as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the additional files required for SUCI calculation are created along with switching the configuration to the second profile as taught by Chuang, in the combined system of Khan/Chastain, so that it would provide a method which includes “responsive to a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE failing to generate a USIM-calculated concealed identifier for the UE during an attach procedure to wirelessly connect the UE to a first network, implementing at least one failure recovery process to attempt to complete attachment of the UE to a network,” (Chuang Para. [0003]) thereby providing a UE means to “utilize one or more failure recovery procedures to attempt completion of attachment of the UE to the same network or a different network to help ensure that the UE does not remain attached to a network without access to services of the network due to authentication failure” (Chuang §Abstract).
Regarding Claim 9, Khan in view of Chastain and Chuang teaches Claim 7.
Khan further teaches
wherein the second mobile radio network is a private mobile radio network (Para. [0010] - The systems and methods described herein relate to allowing a user of a mobile device that includes only a single UICC for the mobile device, to efficiently access multiple wireless networks using two or more dedicated USIM components. For example, assume that a mobile device (e.g., a smart phone) subscribes to both a first wireless network (e.g., a private long term evolution (LTE) or fifth generation (5G) wireless network) and a second wireless network (e.g., a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN)). To secure access to the first wireless network, the UICC of the mobile device includes a first USIM and to secure access to the second wireless network, the UICC of the mobile device includes a second USIM; Fig. 3, Elements 305 and 307, Para. [0027-0030] - Consistent with embodiments described herein, UICC 300 may include two USIMs 305 and 307, information for which is stored in areas 304 and 306, respectively. USIM 305 may be associated with second wireless network 100-2 (e.g., a private wireless network) and USIM 307 may be associated with first wireless network 100-1 (e.g., a PLMN). Each USIM 305/307 may include various elementary and directory file information for that respective USIM identity, including an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), authentication keys, ciphering keys, integrity keys, etc.; See Also: Para. [0009-0012]; Fig. 1A-1B, Para. [0013-0014]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0015-0026]; Fig. 3, Para. [0027-0030]; Fig. 4, Para. [0031-0043]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view Chuang and further in view of Niemi et al. (US 20200288537), Niemi hereinafter .
Regarding Claim 10, Khan teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Khan does not expressly teach wherein the first mobile radio network is a 5G network,… and the second mobile radio network is a 4G or 3G network.
However, Chaung teaches
wherein the first mobile radio network is a 5G network,… and the second mobile radio network is a 4G or 3G network (Fig. 1, Para. [0018-0021] - [0018] FIG. 1 illustrates an example cellular system 100 employing USIM-calculated SUCI failure recovery in accordance with some embodiments. The system 100 includes one or more UEs 102 that can be wirelessly connected to one or more core networks 104 via one or more base stations 106 using corresponding RATs. A UE 102 can include any of a variety of cellular-enabled devices, including cellular phones, cellular-enabled tablet computers, cellular-enabled laptop computers, mobile hotspots, vehicular entertainment systems, and the like. In the illustrated example, the base station 106-1 is part of a 5G NR radio access network (RAN) and thus enables wireless connections with UEs 102 via a 5G NR RAT (in this example considered to be the “preferred” RAT), whereas the base station 106-2 is part of a 4G LTE RAN and thus enables wireless connections with UEs 102 via a 4G LTE RAT (which in this example is considered to be the “legacy” or “non-preferred” RAT); See Also Para. [0013-0017]; Fig. 1, Para. [0018-0021]; Fig. 2, Para. [0022-0028]; Fig. 3, Para. [0029-0036]; Fig. 4, Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 5, Para. [0041-0045]; Para. [0046-0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Khan’s invention of systems and methods related to “allowing a user of a mobile device that includes only a single UICC for the mobile device, to efficiently access multiple wireless networks using two or more dedicated USIM components” (Khan Para. [0010]) with Chuang’s invention of a method which includes “responsive to a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE failing to generate a USIM-calculated concealed identifier for the UE during an attach procedure to wirelessly connect the UE to a first network, implementing at least one failure recovery process to attempt to complete attachment of the UE to a network,” (Chuang Para. [0003]) because it provides a UE means to “utilize one or more failure recovery procedures to attempt completion of attachment of the UE to the same network or a different network to help ensure that the UE does not remain attached to a network without access to services of the network due to authentication failure” (Chuang §Abstract).
However, Khan nor Chuang expressly teach wherein the first mobile radio network is a 5G network, wherein the SIM includes an entry in EFUST for the first mobile radio network, and the second mobile radio network is a 4G or 3G network, wherein the switch includes the additional step: disable EFUST of the first mobile network.
However, Niemi teaches
wherein the first mobile radio network is a 5G network, wherein the SIM includes an entry in EFUST for the first mobile radio network, and the second mobile radio network is a 4G or 3G network, wherein the switch includes the additional step: disable EFUST of the first mobile network (Fig. 2, element 111, Para. [0034-0040] - [0035] As shown in FIG. 2, the UE 110 may include a Universal Integrated Circuit Card (UICC) 111 and a Mobile Equipment (ME) 112, wherein the ME 112 is coupled to the UICC 111. [0036] The UICC 111 may include a plurality of Elementary Files (EFs) for storing information, including subscriber information (e.g., the International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI)/Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI), and access class information, etc.), security information (e.g., encoding algorithm, and encoding parameters, etc.), location information, and others. [0037] The UICC 111 is also called a UMTS Subscriber Identity Module (USIM), CDMA SIM (CSIM), or SIM card, depending on the RAT in use. For example, in 4G LTE system, the UICC 111 may be called a USIM. [0038] In one embodiment, the UICC 111 may be a USIM card even when the UE 110 is currently registered with a 5G NR network. That is, the UE 110 is a 5G-capable UE using a non-5G UICC; Fig. 4, Para. [0055-0078] - [0059] Specifically, the ME may determine whether the UICC supports the first RAT, by checking an EF in the UICC, which is used for storing a USIM service table, wherein the USIM service table may indicate which services are available. [0060] In one embodiment, the first RAT may be the 5G NR technology, and the EF for storing the USIM service table may be the EFusT defined in the 3GPP Technical Specification (TS) 31.102, wherein the 5G specific service may be any one of service n° 122 to service n° 130; See Also Fig. 1, Para. [0016-0033]; Fig. 2, Para. [0034-0040]; Fig. 3, Para. [0041-0054]; Fig. 4, Para. [0055-0078]).
Examiner’s Note: Khan teaches switching the active AID from the first USIM to the second USIM; Chuang teaches switching from a 5G network to a 4G or 3G network (i.e., the claimed first mobile radio network is a 5G network and the second mobile network is a 4G or 3G network). Niemi Para. [0035-0038] and Para. [0059-0060] teach that UICC 111 may be a USIM containing EFUST with 5G-specific service information (i.e., the SIM includes an entry in EFUST for the first mobile radio network). Accordingly, switching away from the first USIM (as in Khan) deselects the first USIM and its associated EFUST (i.e., the claimed step of disabling the EFUST of the first mobile radio network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first mobile radio network is a 5G network, wherein the SIM includes an entry in EFUST for the first mobile radio network, and the second mobile radio network is a 4G or 3G network, wherein the switch includes the additional step: disable EFUST of the first mobile network as taught by Niemi, in the combined system of Khan/Chuang, so that it would provide “a method for handling location information, executed by a UE comprising a UICC and an ME” (Niemi Para. [0008]) thereby providing a UE means to “using a non-5G Universal Integrated Circuit Card (UICC) (e.g., USIM) in a 5G-capable UE” (Niemi Para. [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
ETSI 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), “Digital cellular telecommunications system (Phase 2+) (GSM); Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS); LTE; 5G; (U)SIM Application Programming Interface (API),” July 2023 teaches on pg. 15-16 a standardized uicc.usim.suci package that enables an applet registered with a USIM application to perform SUCI computation, including identification of the package by an AID and version in Annex C.
Hsu (US 20170019780) Para. [0031 and 0037-0040] teaches reading EFUST in a USIM and deactivating a radio access technology when the corresponding service is indicated as unavailable.
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468