DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a third gain associated with a derivative component at least one of the first, second, and third gains”. It’s not clear if applicant intends to recite “a third gain associated with a derivative component”.
Claims 2-4 are rejected for depending from claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the comparison" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shearer et al. (US 6,108,587) in view of Araki et al. (CN103057071).
Regarding claim 1, Shearer et al. discloses a method for normalizing control of an injection molding machine 10, the method comprising:
Obtaining, form a model database 70, a model 78 for a first injection molding machine and a model for the mold (see col. 1, line 55-67, col. 5, line 28-45),
Determining an initial gain value 92 for a proportional-integral-derivative controller 98 that drives operation of a screw 22 of the first injection molding machine, the PID controller having (i) a first gain associated with a proportional component; (ii) a second gain associated with an integral component; and (iii) a third gain associated with a derivative component; and
Setting, using the initial gain value, at least one of the first second, and third gains of the PID controller (see col. 6, line 57-col. 8, line 22, fig. 1-6). Shearer et al. does not teach obtaining a model for a second injection molding machine, analyzing the model of the mold and the model of the second molding machine to determine a correlation between injection molding machine parameters and mold cycle performance for the mold, and applying the correlation to parameters within the model of the first injection molding machine. However, Araki et al. teaches an injection molding machine management system, the management system has multiple management units, and one management unit consists of multiple injection molding machines, a management unit 10, and any number of display units 20. The information managed by the management device 10 includes production information such as molding quality information for each cycle of the injection molding machine, information related to the operation status of the injection molding machine information related to the operation of the injection molding machine, information related to the operation of the injection molding machine, molding conditions, and production schedules obtained from the injection molding machines as molding quality information for use in display or printing. The information stored in the storage section 38 of the first injection molding machine 30-1 can be transferred to other injection molding machines (see para 36-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shearer et al. with the teaching of Araki et al. to facilitate transferring production information between the management units to realized production management of a molding plant in a flexible manner.
Regarding claim 2, Shearer et al. discloses wherein setting the initial gain value comprises:
Setting, using the initial gain value, at least one of the first, second, or third gains of the PID controller to alter an injection pressure 18 of the injection molding machine (see col. 6, line 57-col. 8, line 22, fig. 1-6, abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Shearer et al. discloses wherein setting the initial gain value comprises:
Setting, using the initial gain value, at least one of the first, second, or third gains of the PID controller to alter an injection velocity of the injection molding machine (see abstract, fig. 2-3, claim 8, 11-12).
Regarding claim 4, Shearer et al. discloses based on the comparison and the model of the mold, adjusting characteristic 72 of the mold cycle (see fig. 6).
Conclusion
/X.H.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742