DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Application filed on August 12, 2024 has been reviewed.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 12, 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2025/0141787 A1), herein after referred to as Chen.
With respect to claim 1, Chen teaches A device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor (a processor, para. 0493); and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations (the computer-readable storage medium stores instructions run on a computer enabled to perform any one or more operations, para. 0510), the operations comprising:
maintaining color mapping data containing a mapping between a first color associated with a first domain and a second color associated with a second domain (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus belongs to a first domain, both the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus belong to a second domain, and the first communication apparatus is connected to the second communication apparatus through the third communication apparatus, para. 0014), wherein the first and second colors represent a network intent of the first domain and the second domain, respectively (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute.; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022);
in response to a Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) update from an egress provider edge router (egress-PE) connected to a destination customer network (the second communication apparatus is an edge node in a network domain, as an egress PE, para. 0229; the first target path is one of the following: a segment routing SR internet protocol version 6 policy SRv6 policy, a segment routing multi-protocol label switching policy SR MPLS policy, para. 0098), receiving a request for an end-to-end segment routing (SR) policy from an ingress provider edge router (ingress-PE) (the first communication apparatus is an edge node in a network domain, as an ingress PE, para. 0228; sending a second BGP message to the third communication apparatus, to advertise the second BGP route, where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067), wherein the BGP update includes a prefix of the destination customer network and the second color (where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067);
using the color mapping data, determining the first color corresponding to the second color and determining the first color to be associated with the first domain (based on the second target path that matches the second color attribute, to effectively ensure that a service intent can be met when the service packet is forwarded between border nodes in different domains, para. 0023; Color attribute carried by the SRv6 TE policy, where BGP routes with a same color attribute can use the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0190; the service network head point matches the color attribute and next-hop information carried in the route with the SRv6 TE policy to forward service traffic; the color attribute defines an application-level network SLA policy, para. 0192); and
providing the end-to-end SR policy reflecting the network intent to the ingress-PE (the controller computes the SRv6 TE policy and delivers the SRv6 TE policy to the head point through the BGP neighbor relationship, para. 0198; as BGP egress policy or a BGP ingress policy, para. 0222).
With respect to claim 2, Chen teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise computing the end-to-end SR policy using constraints defined by the network intent in connection with the first domain and the second domain (the controller computes the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0198; the color and endpoint information added to the SRv6 TE policy through configuration; the color attribute defines an application-level network SLA policy; network paths planned based on specific service intent, para. 0192; color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, para. 0276; based on the second target path that matches the second color attribute, to effectively ensure that a service intent can be met when the service packet is forwarded between border nodes in different domains, the PE3 iterate the second BGP route to an SRv6 policy between the PE3 and the MC3 based on the second color attribute and the second next-hop address, para. 0280).
With respect to claim 4, Chen teaches The device of claim 3, wherein the BGP update is not modified by border routers and propagates across the first domain and the second domain (an intermediate node as the MC3, the PE3, the PE1, and the MC1 does not modify the VPN route, para. 0165; the second communication apparatus advertise a BGP message as the first BGP message or the second BGP message to the third communication apparatus that belongs to the same domain as the second communication apparatus, and the second communication apparatus advertise an SRv6 service route to the first communication apparatus that belongs to a domain different from that of the second communication apparatus, to transmit a corresponding service packet based on path planning in each domain, para. 0014).
With respect to claim 6, Chen teaches A system comprising a set of hierarchical controllers including:
a first controller associated with the first domain (the first communication apparatus 1300 includes a receiving unit 1301 and a processing unit 1302, para. 0460);
a second controller associated with a second domain (the second communication apparatus includes a transceiver unit and a processing unit, para. 0445); and
a third controller in communication with the first controller and the second controller and including the device of claim 1 (the first communication apparatus belongs to a first domain, the second communication apparatus belongs to a second domain, and the first communication apparatus is connected to the second communication apparatus through a third communication apparatus; the first communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus are respectively a head node and an egress node of the first target path, para. 0061).
With respect to claim 7, Chen teaches The system of claim 6, wherein the third controller operates as a parent controller and the first controller and the second controller operate as a child controller the first communication apparatus belongs to a first domain, the second communication apparatus belongs to a second domain, and the first communication apparatus is connected to the second communication apparatus through a third communication apparatus; the first communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus are respectively a head node and an egress node of the first target path, para. 0061, and wherein the first controller requests the third controller to provide the end-to-end SR policy in response to the BGP update received at the ingress-PE and including the second color (the second communication apparatus is an edge node in a network domain, as an egress PE, para. 0229; the first target path is one of the following: a segment routing SR internet protocol version 6 policy SRv6 policy, a segment routing multi-protocol label switching policy SR MPLS policy, para. 0098; the first communication apparatus is an edge node in a network domain, as an ingress PE, para. 0228; sending a second BGP message to the third communication apparatus, to advertise the second BGP route, where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067; where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067), and upon determination that a destination of the end-to-end SR policy is not within the first domain (the second communication apparatus is an edge node in a network domain, as an egress PE, para. 0229; the first target path is one of the following: a segment routing SR internet protocol version 6 policy SRv6 policy, a segment routing multi-protocol label switching policy SR MPLS policy, para. 0098; the first communication apparatus is an edge node in a network domain, as an ingress PE, para. 0228; sending a second BGP message to the third communication apparatus, to advertise the second BGP route, where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067; where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067).
With respect to claim 8, Chen teaches The system of claim 6, wherein the operations further comprise:
maintaining a first network intent definition configured to achieve the network intent of the first domain at the first controller (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus belongs to a first domain, both the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus belong to a second domain, and the first communication apparatus is connected to the second communication apparatus through the third communication apparatus, para. 0014); and
maintaining a second network intent definition configured to achieve the network intent of the second domain at the second controller (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus belongs to a first domain, both the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus belong to a second domain, and the first communication apparatus is connected to the second communication apparatus through the third communication apparatus, para. 0014).
With respect to claim 9, Chen teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise:
computing, with the first controller, a first path using the first network intent definition associated with the first domain (after receiving the first BGP message, the first communication apparatus obtain a second BGP message based on the first BGP message, where the second BGP message is used to advertise a second BGP route; and send the second BGP message to a third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus may further receive a third BGP message, where the third BGP message includes a second routing prefix, a third next-hop address, and a third color attribute, an address segment of the second routing prefix is a second address segment of the second communication apparatus, para. 0024);
computing, with the second controller, a second path using the second network intent definition associated with the second domain (after receiving the first BGP message, the first communication apparatus obtain a second BGP message based on the first BGP message, where the second BGP message is used to advertise a second BGP route; and send the second BGP message to a third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus may further receive a third BGP message, where the third BGP message includes a second routing prefix, a third next-hop address, and a third color attribute, an address segment of the second routing prefix is a second address segment of the second communication apparatus, para. 0024); and
transmitting the first path and the second path to the third controller (after receiving the first BGP message, the first communication apparatus obtain a second BGP message based on the first BGP message, where the second BGP message is used to advertise a second BGP route; and send the second BGP message to a third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus may further receive a third BGP message, where the third BGP message includes a second routing prefix, a third next-hop address, and a third color attribute, an address segment of the second routing prefix is a second address segment of the second communication apparatus, para. 0024).
With respect to claim 10, Chen teaches The system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise:
composing, with the third controller, the end-to-end SR policy using the first path and the second path (the SRv6 TE policy includes the following three parts: Head point: a node that generates the SRv6 TE policy; Color: an extended community attribute carried by the SRv6 TE policy, where BGP routes with a same color attribute can use the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0189-0190); and
sending the composed end-to-end SR policy to the ingress-PE via the first controller (the controller computes the SRv6 TE policy and delivers the SRv6 TE policy to the head point through the BGP neighbor relationship, para. 0198; as BGP egress policy or a BGP ingress policy, para. 0222).
With respect to claim 11, Chen teaches A non-transitory machine-readable medium (the computer-readable storage medium, para. 0510), comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor (the computer-readable storage medium stores instructions run on a computer enabled to perform any one or more operations, para. 0510; a processor, para. 0493), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
maintaining color mapping data defining mappings of different colors associated with different domains, wherein the different domains correspond to different autonomous systems (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus belongs to a first domain, both the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus belong to a second domain, and the first communication apparatus is connected to the second communication apparatus through the third communication apparatus, para. 0014), and wherein different colors are mapped to be used as keys to identify each corresponding network intent of the different domains (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute.; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022);
in response to a Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) update from an egress provider edge router (egress-PE) connected to a destination customer network (the second communication apparatus is an edge node in a network domain, as an egress PE, para. 0229; the first target path is one of the following: a segment routing SR internet protocol version 6 policy SRv6 policy, a segment routing multi-protocol label switching policy SR MPLS policy, para. 0098), receiving a request for an end-to-end segment routing (SR) policy indicative of an end-to-end path from an ingress provider edge router (ingress-PE) (the first communication apparatus is an edge node in a network domain, as an ingress PE, para. 0228; sending a second BGP message to the third communication apparatus, to advertise the second BGP route, where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067), wherein the BGP update includes a prefix of the destination customer network and a first color (where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067);
using the color mapping data, determining a first domain associated with the first color and determining a second color to be associated with a second domain and mapped to the first color (based on the second target path that matches the second color attribute, to effectively ensure that a service intent can be met when the service packet is forwarded between border nodes in different domains, para. 0023; Color attribute carried by the SRv6 TE policy, where BGP routes with a same color attribute can use the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0190; the service network head point matches the color attribute and next-hop information carried in the route with the SRv6 TE policy to forward service traffic; the color attribute defines an application-level network SLA policy, para. 0192); and
generating the end-to-end SR policy reflecting each network intent definition configured in the first domain using the first color and configured in the second domain using the second color and providing the end-to-end SR policy to the ingress-PE (the SRv6 TE policy includes the following three parts: Head point: a node that generates the SRv6 TE policy; Color: an extended community attribute carried by the SRv6 TE policy, where BGP routes with a same color attribute can use the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0189-0190; the controller computes the SRv6 TE policy and delivers the SRv6 TE policy to the head point through the BGP neighbor relationship, para. 0198; as BGP egress policy or a BGP ingress policy, para. 0222).
With respect to claim 12, Chen teaches The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise:
storing network intent definitions of the different domains, identified by each of the different colors (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute.; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022), wherein each of the network intent definitions contains one or more requirements or constraints configured to be customized for each different domain (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute.; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022); and
computing the end-to-end SR policy by reflecting the one or more requirements or constraints in the stored network intent definitions (the controller computes the SRv6 TE policy and delivers the SRv6 TE policy to the head point through the BGP neighbor relationship, para. 0198; as BGP egress policy or a BGP ingress policy, para. 0222).
With respect to claim 13, Chen teaches The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise accessing network intent definitions of the different domains identified by each of the different colors (based on the second target path that matches the second color attribute, to effectively ensure that a service intent can be met when the service packet is forwarded between border nodes in different domains, para. 0023; Color attribute carried by the SRv6 TE policy, where BGP routes with a same color attribute can use the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0190; the service network head point matches the color attribute and next-hop information carried in the route with the SRv6 TE policy to forward service traffic; the color attribute defines an application-level network SLA policy, para. 0192), wherein the accessing the network intent definitions further includes accessing a network intent definition of the first domain with a first controller assigned to the first domain and accessing a network intent definition of the second domain is with a second controller assigned to the second domain (based on the second target path that matches the second color attribute, to effectively ensure that a service intent can be met when the service packet is forwarded between border nodes in different domains, para. 0023; Color attribute carried by the SRv6 TE policy, where BGP routes with a same color attribute can use the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0190; the service network head point matches the color attribute and next-hop information carried in the route with the SRv6 TE policy to forward service traffic; the color attribute defines an application-level network SLA policy, para. 0192; the controller computes the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0198; the color and endpoint information added to the SRv6 TE policy through configuration; the color attribute defines an application-level network SLA policy; network paths planned based on specific service intent, para. 0192; color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, para. 0276; based on the second target path that matches the second color attribute, to effectively ensure that a service intent can be met when the service packet is forwarded between border nodes in different domains, the PE3 iterate the second BGP route to an SRv6 policy between the PE3 and the MC3 based on the second color attribute and the second next-hop address, para. 0280).
With respect to claim 14, Chen teaches The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise:
computing a first path in the first domain using the first controller (after receiving the first BGP message, the first communication apparatus obtain a second BGP message based on the first BGP message, where the second BGP message is used to advertise a second BGP route; and send the second BGP message to a third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus may further receive a third BGP message, where the third BGP message includes a second routing prefix, a third next-hop address, and a third color attribute, an address segment of the second routing prefix is a second address segment of the second communication apparatus, para. 0024); and
computing a second path in the second domain using the second controller (after receiving the first BGP message, the first communication apparatus obtain a second BGP message based on the first BGP message, where the second BGP message is used to advertise a second BGP route; and send the second BGP message to a third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus may further receive a third BGP message, where the third BGP message includes a second routing prefix, a third next-hop address, and a third color attribute, an address segment of the second routing prefix is a second address segment of the second communication apparatus, para. 0024),
wherein the first path reflects one or more requirements or constraints configured to be customized for the first domain and the second path reflects the one or more requirements or constraints configured to be customized for the second domain (after receiving the first BGP message, the first communication apparatus obtain a second BGP message based on the first BGP message, where the second BGP message is used to advertise a second BGP route; and send the second BGP message to a third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus may further receive a third BGP message, where the third BGP message includes a second routing prefix, a third next-hop address, and a third color attribute, an address segment of the second routing prefix is a second address segment of the second communication apparatus, para. 0024).
With respect to claim 15, Chen teaches The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the generating the end-to-end SR policy further comprises composing the end-to-end SR policy using the first path received from the first controller and the second path received from the second controller (the SRv6 TE policy includes the following three parts: Head point: a node that generates the SRv6 TE policy; Color: an extended community attribute carried by the SRv6 TE policy, where BGP routes with a same color attribute can use the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0189-0190; the controller computes the SRv6 TE policy and delivers the SRv6 TE policy to the head point through the BGP neighbor relationship, para. 0198; as BGP egress policy or a BGP ingress policy, para. 0222).
With respect to claim 16, Chen teaches A method, comprising:
in response to a Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) update from an egress provider edge router (egress-PE) connected to a destination customer network (the second communication apparatus is an edge node in a network domain, as an egress PE, para. 0229; the first target path is one of the following: a segment routing SR internet protocol version 6 policy SRv6 policy, a segment routing multi-protocol label switching policy SR MPLS policy, para. 0098), receiving, by a processing system including a processor (a processor, para. 0493), a request for an end-to-end path from an ingress provider edge router (ingress-PE) (advertising the new BGP route, edge nodes of each area obtain a tunnel to a corresponding next hop through iteration based on a next hop and a color attribute of the received new BGP route, para. 0171; where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067), wherein the BGP update includes a prefix of the destination customer network and a first color (where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067);
using color mapping data, determining, by the processing system, a first domain associated with the first color and determining, by the processing system, a second color to be associated with a second domain and mapped to the first color (based on the second target path that matches the second color attribute, to effectively ensure that a service intent can be met when the service packet is forwarded between border nodes in different domains, para. 0023; Color attribute carried by the SRv6 TE policy, where BGP routes with a same color attribute can use the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0190; the service network head point matches the color attribute and next-hop information carried in the route with the SRv6 TE policy to forward service traffic; the color attribute defines an application-level network SLA policy, para. 0192), wherein the color mapping data define mappings of different colors associated with different domains color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus belongs to a first domain, both the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus belong to a second domain, and the first communication apparatus is connected to the second communication apparatus through the third communication apparatus, para. 0014, and the first color and the second color enable identification of a first intent and a second intent that belong to the first domain and the second domain, respectively (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022); and
generating, by the processing system, the end-to-end path reflecting each definition of the first and the second intents identified by the first color in the first domain and the second color in the second domain (ACC2 advertises, to the ACC1 by using the new BGP address family, a BGP route carrying a color attribute (referred to as a new BGP route for short); the new BGP route further includes an SRv6 SID corresponding to the new BGP route, so that a new end-to-end BGP tunnel from the ACC1 to the ACC2 is formed; advertising the new BGP route, edge nodes of each area obtain a tunnel to a corresponding next hop through iteration based on a next hop and a color attribute of the received new BGP route, para. 0171; where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067).
With respect to claim 17, Chen teaches The method of claim 16, further comprising:
storing, by the processing system, each definition of the first intent of the first domain and a second intent of the second domain (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus belongs to a first domain, both the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus belong to a second domain, and the first communication apparatus is connected to the second communication apparatus through the third communication apparatus, para. 0014), wherein the first intent definition contains a first set of requirements or constraints configured in the first domain, and the second intent definition contains a second set of requirements or constraints configured in the second domain (the controller computes the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0198; the color and endpoint information added to the SRv6 TE policy through configuration; the color attribute defines an application-level network SLA policy; network paths planned based on specific service intent, para. 0192; color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, para. 0276; based on the second target path that matches the second color attribute, to effectively ensure that a service intent can be met when the service packet is forwarded between border nodes in different domains, the PE3 iterate the second BGP route to an SRv6 policy between the PE3 and the MC3 based on the second color attribute and the second next-hop address, para. 0280), and wherein the first intent and the second intent are substantially identical (color values corresponding to a same service intent are different for different domains, the first communication apparatus modify the first color attribute to a second color attribute; the second color attribute indicates the first service intent in a domain of the third communication apparatus, para.0276); and
computing, by the processing system, the end-to-end path by reflecting the first set of requirements or constraints with respect to the first domain and the second set of requirements or constraints with respect to the second domain (ACC2 advertises, to the ACC1 by using the new BGP address family, a BGP route carrying a color attribute (referred to as a new BGP route for short); the new BGP route further includes an SRv6 SID corresponding to the new BGP route, so that a new end-to-end BGP tunnel from the ACC1 to the ACC2 is formed; advertising the new BGP route, edge nodes of each area obtain a tunnel to a corresponding next hop through iteration based on a next hop and a color attribute of the received new BGP route, para. 0171; where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067).
With respect to claim 18, Chen teaches The method of claim 16, further comprising:
requesting, by the processing system, a first path in the first domain from a first controller assigned to the first domain (after receiving the first BGP message, the first communication apparatus obtain a second BGP message based on the first BGP message, where the second BGP message is used to advertise a second BGP route; and send the second BGP message to a third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus may further receive a third BGP message, where the third BGP message includes a second routing prefix, a third next-hop address, and a third color attribute, an address segment of the second routing prefix is a second address segment of the second communication apparatus, para. 0024); and
requesting, by the processing system, a second path in the second domain from a second controller assigned to the second domain (after receiving the first BGP message, the first communication apparatus obtain a second BGP message based on the first BGP message, where the second BGP message is used to advertise a second BGP route; and send the second BGP message to a third communication apparatus, para. 0022; the first communication apparatus may further receive a third BGP message, where the third BGP message includes a second routing prefix, a third next-hop address, and a third color attribute, an address segment of the second routing prefix is a second address segment of the second communication apparatus, para. 0024).
With respect to claim 19, Chen teaches The method of claim 18, further comprising:
receiving, by the processing system, the first path in the first domain computed by the first controller based on a first set of constraints or requirements contained in the definition of the first intent which is configured in the first domain (the SRv6 TE policy includes the following three parts: Head point: a node that generates the SRv6 TE policy; Color: an extended community attribute carried by the SRv6 TE policy, where BGP routes with a same color attribute can use the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0189-0190);
receiving, by the processing system, the second path in the second domain computed by the second controller based on a second set of constraints or requirements contained in the definition of the second intent which is configured in the second domain (the SRv6 TE policy includes the following three parts: Head point: a node that generates the SRv6 TE policy; Color: an extended community attribute carried by the SRv6 TE policy, where BGP routes with a same color attribute can use the SRv6 TE policy, para. 0189-0190); and
generating the end-to-end path using the received first path and second path ()ACC2 advertises, to the ACC1 by using the new BGP address family, a BGP route carrying a color attribute (referred to as a new BGP route for short); the new BGP route further includes an SRv6 SID corresponding to the new BGP route, so that a new end-to-end BGP tunnel from the ACC1 to the ACC2 is formed; advertising the new BGP route, edge nodes of each area obtain a tunnel to a corresponding next hop through iteration based on a next hop and a color attribute of the received new BGP route, para. 0171; where the second BGP message includes the first routing prefix, a second next-hop address, and a second color attribute, the second next-hop address is an IP address of the first communication apparatus, and the second color attribute indicates the first service intent, para. 0067.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2025/0141787 A1), herein after referred to as Chen, in view of Shrivastava (US 2021/0385150 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Chen teaches The device of claim 1 as described above,
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the end-to-end SR policy is installed at the ingress-PE using the first color.
However, Shrivastava teaches wherein the end-to-end SR policy is installed at the ingress-PE using the first color (based on the color table, the ingress router install an active route (e.g., a keyed entry) in its forwarding plane to steer packets along the selected colored path (i.e., active route) of the segment routing policy, para. 0038) in order to allow a source node, such as ingress router, to control the path a packet takes through network as taught by Shrivastava (para. 0030).
Therefore, based on Chen in view of Shrivastava, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Shrivastava to the device of Chen in order to allow a source node, such as ingress router, to control the path a packet takes through network as taught by Shrivastava (para. 0030).
With respect to claim 20, Chen teaches The method of claim 19 as described above,
Chen does not explicitly teach comprising:
forwarding, by the processing system, the end-to-end path to the ingress-PE via the first controller such that the end-to-end path is installed at the ingress-PE using the first color.
However, Shrivastava teaches comprising:
forwarding, by the processing system, the end-to-end path to the ingress-PE via the first controller such that the end-to-end path is installed at the ingress-PE using the first color (based on the color table, the ingress router install an active route (e.g., a keyed entry) in its forwarding plane to steer packets along the selected colored path (i.e., active route) of the segment routing policy, para. 0038) in order to allow a source node, such as ingress router, to control the path a packet takes through network as taught by Shrivastava (para. 0030).
Therefore, based on Chen in view of Shrivastava, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Shrivastava to the method of Chen in order to allow a source node, such as ingress router, to control the path a packet takes through network as taught by Shrivastava (para. 0030).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2025/0141787 A1), herein after referred to as Chen, in view of Dhody (US 2023/0336471 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Chen teaches The device of claim 1 as described above,
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the device is configured to perform path computation element (PCE) functionality; and
wherein the operations further comprise receiving one or more parameters that are required by a PCE protocol (PCEP) from the ingress-PE.
However, Dhody teaches wherein the device is configured to perform path computation element (PCE) functionality (the control plane controller 120 communicates with the PCE 130, for instance using a PCEP, provides the PCE 130 with information used for path computation, receives the computed path from the PCE 130, and forwards the computed path to at least one of the nodes 112, para. 0060); and
wherein the operations further comprise receiving one or more parameters that are required by a PCE protocol (PCEP) from the ingress-PE (the control plane controller 120 communicates with the PCE 130, for instance using a PCEP, provides the PCE 130 with information used for path computation, receives the computed path from the PCE 130, and forwards the computed path to at least one of the nodes 112, para. 0060) in order to reduce the complexity due to sending the SR policy parameters with every candidate path as well as the complexity due to search for the availability of the SR policy that is sent with each candidate path from the PCE as taught by Dhody (para. 0030).
Therefore, based on Chen in view of Dhody, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dhody to the device of Chen in order to reduce the complexity due to sending the SR policy parameters with every candidate path as well as the complexity due to search for the availability of the SR policy that is sent with each candidate path from the PCE as taught by Dhody (para. 0030).
Contact Information
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
April 23, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447