DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
2 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
3 Claim(s) 1-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 20220345773 A1).
4 Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a display device comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from an external device, a first request signal requesting first performance information as performance information of the display device ([Abstract] reciting “The electronic device includes a receiver for connection to a source device, a memory storing one or more instructions, and a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to detect a first resolution of an input image received from the source device…);
a memory configured to store second performance information, the second performance information comprising a first data block and a second data block, wherein the first data block comprises first data, wherein the first data is a header that comprises a fixed pattern indicating the first performance information, and wherein the second data block comprises second data, wherein the second data comprises one or more block tags that identify one or more data blocks ([Abstract] reciting “…determine whether to modify extended display identification data (EDID) of the electronic device, based on whether the detected first resolution corresponds to the EDID, upon determining that the EDID is to be modified, modify the EDID, and receive, from the source device, an input image of a second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID.”; [0063] reciting “The base EDID block 210 may include a header 211 provided as a fixed pattern indicating an EDID file, display product identification information 212, EDID version information”); and
a controller configured to output, to the receiver and in response to the first request signal, the first performance information obtained from the first data, wherein the first performance information has a predetermined size, and wherein the receiver is configured to output the first performance information to the external device ([0063] reciting “The base EDID block 210 may include a header 211 provided as a fixed pattern indicating an EDID file, display product identification information 212, EDID version information 213, basic display parameters 214 defining characteristics such as video input type (analog or digital) of the display device, synchronization type, maximum horizontal and vertical sizes of the display, gamma transfer characteristics, power management function, color space, and basic video timing, color characteristics 215 defining RGB color space conversion technology used by the display device, timing information 216 of a resolution supported by the display device, an extension flag 217 indicating the number of usable additional extension blocks, and a checksum 218.”; [0088] reciting “The image processor 120 may process the image signal received from the receiver 110 and output the image signal to the display 130 under the control by the controller 190.”).
5 Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein: the controller is configured to identify the first performance information based on the first data, and the controller is configured to sequentially read the first performance information from the first data ([0051] reciting “The EDID may be information defining display performance or display capability of the display device 100 to display content, and include, for example, timing information and resolution information.”; [0068] reciting “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, in an EDID structure including a base EDID block and the third EDID extension block 240, timing information priority may be determined in the order of a preferred timing mode of the base EDID, a detailed timing mode of the base EDID, and an additional detailed timing mode defined in the extension block 240.”), the first performance information having a predetermined length ([0063] reciting “The base EDID block 210 may include a header 211 provided as a fixed pattern indicating an EDID file, display product identification information 212, EDID version information 213, basic display parameters 214 defining characteristics such as video input type (analog or digital) of the display device, synchronization type, maximum horizontal and vertical sizes of the display, gamma transfer characteristics, power management function, color space, and basic video timing, color characteristics 215 defining RGB color space conversion technology used by the display device, timing information 216 of a resolution supported by the display device, an extension flag 217 indicating the number of usable additional extension blocks, and a checksum 218.”).
6 Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches the display device of claim 2 (see claims 1-2 rejections above), wherein the memory is configured to store a command instructing the controller to read second information in the second data block ([0011] reciting “…to the source device, a state signal for controlling the source device to read the modified EDID, and, upon receiving an EDID request from the source device, receive, from the source device, the input image of the second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID, by providing the modified EDID to the source device.”),
wherein the second information is mapped onto first information among a plurality of pieces of information of the first performance information ([0062] reciting “The second block, i.e., the first EDID extension block 220, may serve as an extension block or indicate a block map. For example, when the EDID 200 includes a total of two blocks, the first EDID extension block 220 may serve as an extension block and, when the EDID 200 includes three or more blocks, the first EDID extension block 220 may indicate a block map including information about extension blocks.”), and
wherein the controller is configured to read the second information as the first information based on the command ([0011] reciting “…provide, to the source device, a state signal for controlling the source device to read the modified EDID, and, upon receiving an EDID request from the source device, receive, from the source device, the input image of the second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID, by providing the modified EDID to the source device.”; [0081] reciting “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the controller 530 may read the EDID including the display characteristics information from the display device 100, and control the image processor 520 to process an image based on the read EDID.”).
7 Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the display device of claim 2 (see claims 1-2 rejections above), but does not explicitly teach wherein the memory is configured to store mapping information ([0093] reciting “The EDID storage 170 may be a memory storing EDID, and store EDID including a manufacturer/product identifier, an EDID format version, and display characteristics information such as display parameters (e.g., supported resolutions and color formats) and audio formats.”), wherein the mapping information indicates a mapping of first information among a plurality of pieces of information of the first performance information onto second information in the second data block ([0062] reciting “The second block, i.e., the first EDID extension block 220, may serve as an extension block or indicate a block map. For example, when the EDID 200 includes a total of two blocks, the first EDID extension block 220 may serve as an extension block and, when the EDID 200 includes three or more blocks, the first EDID extension block 220 may indicate a block map including information about extension blocks.”), and wherein the controller is configured to read the second information as the first information based on the mapping information ([0011] reciting “…provide, to the source device, a state signal for controlling the source device to read the modified EDID, and, upon receiving an EDID request from the source device, receive, from the source device, the input image of the second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID, by providing the modified EDID to the source device.”; [0081] reciting “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the controller 530 may read the EDID including the display characteristics information from the display device 100, and control the image processor 520 to process an image based on the read EDID.”).
8 Regarding claim 5, Choi teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the mapping information comprises: third information identifying the first information ([0156] reciting “Referring to FIG. 10, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, the display device 100 may generate 2-block EDID by removing a first EDID extension block (e.g., a MAP block) and a third extension EDID block (e.g., a DisplayID block) from and leaving a base EDID block (e.g., a VESA block) and a second EDID extension block (e.g., a CEA block) in 4-block EDID corresponding to an HDMI port using EDID version 1.3.”);
the second data ([0067] reciting “Referring to FIG. 3, the third EDID extension block 240 may include DisplayID version information and revision information 241, a display type identifier 242, a first data block 243 including a detailed timing descriptor, a second data block 244 including a detailed timing descriptor, a third data block 245 including a detailed timing descriptor, and a checksum 246. One or more of the data blocks included in the third EDID extension block 240 may be used to define preferred timing information.”); and
fourth information identifying the second information ([0062] reciting “The second block, i.e., the first EDID extension block 220, may serve as an extension block or indicate a block map. For example, when the EDID 200 includes a total of two blocks, the first EDID extension block 220 may serve as an extension block and, when the EDID 200 includes three or more blocks, the first EDID extension block 220 may indicate a block map including information about extension blocks.”; [0165] reciting “In this case, the display device 100 may not modify but equally use information of the base EDID block 1211 and the second EDID extension block 1213 included in the original EDID 1210, for the base EDID block 1211 and the second EDID extension block 1213 included in the modified EDID 1220.”).
9 Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein: the receiver is configured to further receive, from the external device, a second request signal requesting the second performance information as performance information of the display device ([0011] reciting “The processor may be further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, upon completing modification of the EDID, provide, to the source device, a state signal for controlling the source device to read the modified EDID, and, upon receiving an EDID request from the source device, receive, from the source device, the input image of the second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID, by providing the modified EDID to the source device.”).
10 Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches the display device of claim 6 (see claims 1 and 6 rejections above), wherein: the controller is configured to identify the second data block based on the second data, and the controller is configured to output information of the second data block as the second performance information to the receiver ([0005] reciting “…determine whether to modify an extended display identification data (EDID) of the electronic device, based on whether the detected first resolution corresponds to at least one supported resolution associated with the EDID of the electronic device, upon determining that the EDID is to be modified, modify the EDID, and receive, from the source device, an input image of a second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID.”; [0081] reciting “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the controller 530 may read the EDID including the display characteristics information from the display device 100, and control the image processor 520 to process an image based on the read EDID.”).
11 Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein: the first performance information includes extended display identification data, and the second performance information includes display identification data ([Abstract] reciting “…and a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to detect a first resolution of an input image received from the source device, determine whether to modify extended display identification data (EDID) of the electronic device, based on whether the detected first resolution corresponds to the EDID…”; [0067] reciting “Referring to FIG. 3, the third EDID extension block 240 may include DisplayID version information and revision information 241, a display type identifier 242, a first data block 243 including a detailed timing descriptor, a second data block 244 including a detailed timing descriptor…”).
12 Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), further comprising a display configured to: display a first content based on the first performance information, the first content having a first resolution ([Abstract] reciting “…determine whether to modify extended display identification data (EDID) of the electronic device, based on whether the detected first resolution corresponds to the EDID”); and
display a second content based on the second performance information, the second content having a second resolution different from the first resolution ([0005] reciting “…a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to detect a first resolution of the input image received from the source device, determine whether to modify an extended display identification data (EDID) of the electronic device, based on whether the detected first resolution corresponds to at least one supported resolution associated with the EDID of the electronic device, upon determining that the EDID is to be modified, modify the EDID, and receive, from the source device, an input image of a second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID.”).
13 Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches an operation method of a display device, the method comprising: receiving a first request signal requesting first performance information of the display device ([0011] reciting “…upon completing modification of the EDID, provide, to the source device, a state signal for controlling the source device to read the modified EDID, and, upon receiving an EDID request from the source device, receive, from the source device, the input image of the second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID, by providing the modified EDID to the source device.”);
reading the first performance information from second performance information based on the first request signal, the second performance information comprising the first performance information; obtaining first information of the first performance information based on second information read from the second performance information ([0011] reciting “The processor may be further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, upon completing modification of the EDID, provide, to the source device, a state signal for controlling the source device to read the modified EDID, and, upon receiving an EDID request from the source device, receive, from the source device, the input image of the second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID, by providing the modified EDID to the source device.”; [0015] reciting “The input image of the first resolution, received from the source device, may be generated by processing an image based on the first resolution set by default when the source device having read the EDID fails to parse the EDID.”); and
outputting the first performance information ([0006] reciting “…determine that the EDID is to be modified, and, upon determining that the detected first resolution corresponds to the at least one supported resolution associated with the EDID, output the received input image of the first resolution on a display without modifying the EDID.”).
14 Regarding claim 11, Choi teaches the operation method of the display device according to claim 10 (see claim 10 rejection above), wherein reading the first performance information from the second performance information comprises:
identifying the first performance information based on first data having a fixed pattern ([Abstract] reciting “…determine whether to modify extended display identification data (EDID) of the electronic device, based on whether the detected first resolution corresponds to the EDID, upon determining that the EDID is to be modified, modify the EDID, and receive, from the source device, an input image of a second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID.”; [0063] reciting “The base EDID block 210 may include a header 211 provided as a fixed pattern indicating an EDID file, display product identification information 212, EDID version information”); and
sequentially reading data having a predetermined size from the first data ([0063] reciting “The base EDID block 210 may include a header 211 provided as a fixed pattern indicating an EDID file, display product identification information 212, EDID version information 213, basic display parameters 214 defining characteristics such as video input type (analog or digital) of the display device, synchronization type, maximum horizontal and vertical sizes of the display, gamma transfer characteristics, power management function, color space, and basic video timing, color characteristics 215 defining RGB color space conversion technology used by the display device, timing information 216 of a resolution supported by the display device, an extension flag 217 indicating the number of usable additional extension blocks, and a checksum 218.”).
15 Regarding claim 12, Choi teaches the operation method of the display device according to claim 10, wherein obtaining first information of the first performance information based on second information read from the second performance information comprises (see claim 10 rejection above):
identifying the first information based on mapping information; detecting a data block based on the mapping information, the data block comprising the second information; identifying the second information in the data block based on the mapping information; and mapping the data of the second information onto the first information ([0062] reciting “The second block, i.e., the first EDID extension block 220, may serve as an extension block or indicate a block map. For example, when the EDID 200 includes a total of two blocks, the first EDID extension block 220 may serve as an extension block and, when the EDID 200 includes three or more blocks, the first EDID extension block 220 may indicate a block map including information about extension blocks.”).
16 Regarding claim 13, Choi teaches the operation method of the display device according to claim 10 (see claim 10 rejection above), wherein:
the first performance information includes extended display identification data, and the second performance information includes display identification data ([Abstract] reciting “…and a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to detect a first resolution of an input image received from the source device, determine whether to modify extended display identification data (EDID) of the electronic device, based on whether the detected first resolution corresponds to the EDID…”; [0067] reciting “Referring to FIG. 3, the third EDID extension block 240 may include DisplayID version information and revision information 241, a display type identifier 242, a first data block 243 including a detailed timing descriptor, a second data block 244 including a detailed timing descriptor…”).
Regarding claim 14, Choi teaches the operation method of the display device according to claim 10 (see claim 10 rejection above), further comprising:
receiving a second request signal requesting second performance information of the display device ([0011] reciting “The processor may be further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, upon completing modification of the EDID, provide, to the source device, a state signal for controlling the source device to read the modified EDID, and, upon receiving an EDID request from the source device, receive, from the source device, the input image of the second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID, by providing the modified EDID to the source device.”);
reading the second performance information based on the second request signal ([0011] reciting “…a state signal for controlling the source device to read the modified EDID, and, upon receiving an EDID request from the source device, receive, from the source device, the input image of the second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID, by providing the modified EDID to the source device.”); and
outputting the second performance information ([Abstract] reciting “…upon determining that the EDID is to be modified, modify the EDID, and receive, from the source device, an input image of a second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID.”).
17 Regarding claim 15, Choi teaches an electronic system comprising: a first source device configured to output a first request signal requesting first performance information, the first performance information comprising performance information of a display device ([0051] reciting “The EDID may be information defining display performance or display capability of the display device 100 to display content, and include, for example, timing information and resolution information.”; [0133] reciting “Depending on parsing performance of the source device 500, the source device 500 may fail to parse the EDID received from the display device 100. For example, the EDID may include three blocks and the source device 500 may parse 2-block EDID but may not parse 3-or-more-block EDID. For example, the source device 500 may not parse a DisplayID block or a Map block other than a base EDID block such as a VESA block or a CEA block. For example, the source device 500 may not parse the first byte information of each extension block.”);
a second source device configured to output a second request signal requesting second performance information, the second performance information comprising performance information of the display device ([0012] reciting “The processor may be further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, upon receiving the input image of the second resolution from the source device, release a display screen mute state and display the received input image of the second resolution on a display.”); and
a display device configured to output, based on the first request signal, at least a subset of the second performance information as the first performance information to the first source device, and configured to output, based on the second request signal, the second performance information to the second source device ([0011] reciting “The processor may be further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, upon completing modification of the EDID, provide, to the source device, a state signal for controlling the source device to read the modified EDID, and, upon receiving an EDID request from the source device, receive, from the source device, the input image of the second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID, by providing the modified EDID to the source device.”; [0012] reciting “The processor may be further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, upon receiving the input image of the second resolution from the source device, release a display screen mute state and display the received input image of the second resolution on a display.”).
18 Regarding claim 16, Choi teaches the electronic system of claim 15 (see claim 15 rejection above), wherein the first performance information comprises first data having a fixed pattern identifying the first performance information ([Abstract] reciting “…determine whether to modify extended display identification data (EDID) of the electronic device, based on whether the detected first resolution corresponds to the EDID, upon determining that the EDID is to be modified, modify the EDID, and receive, from the source device, an input image of a second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID.”; [0063] reciting “The base EDID block 210 may include a header 211 provided as a fixed pattern indicating an EDID file, display product identification information 212, EDID version information”), and
wherein the display device is configured to output, based on the first request signal, the first performance information having a predetermined size from the first data ([0063] reciting “The base EDID block 210 may include a header 211 provided as a fixed pattern indicating an EDID file, display product identification information 212, EDID version information 213, basic display parameters 214 defining characteristics such as video input type (analog or digital) of the display device, synchronization type, maximum horizontal and vertical sizes of the display, gamma transfer characteristics, power management function, color space, and basic video timing, color characteristics 215 defining RGB color space conversion technology used by the display device, timing information 216 of a resolution supported by the display device, an extension flag 217 indicating the number of usable additional extension blocks, and a checksum 218.”; [0088] reciting “The image processor 120 may process the image signal received from the receiver 110 and output the image signal to the display 130 under the control by the controller 190.”).
19 Regarding claim 17, Choi teaches the electronic system of claim 15 (see claim 15 rejection above), wherein: the first source device is configured to read the first performance information based on a first slave address, and the second source device is configured to read the second performance information based on a second slave address different from the first slave address ([0011] reciting “The processor may be further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, upon completing modification of the EDID, provide, to the source device, a state signal for controlling the source device to read the modified EDID, and, upon receiving an EDID request from the source device, receive, from the source device, the input image of the second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID, by providing the modified EDID to the source device.”; [0105] reciting “The source device 500 may determine whether an HPD signal has a high level higher than or equal to a preset certain voltage level, and read the EDID from the display device 100 according to an inter-integrated circuit (I2C) bus protocol when the HPD signal has a high level. Therefore, the display device 100 may control the source device 500 to read the EDID of the display device 100, by controlling the HPD line 340.”).
20 Regarding claim 19, Choi teaches the electronic system of claim 15 (see claim 15 rejection above), wherein: the second performance information includes a plurality of areas, and a first area of the plurality of areas comprises the first performance information on a first resolution, and a second area of the plurality of areas comprises information on a second resolution different from the first resolution ([0005] reciting “…a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to detect a first resolution of the input image received from the source device, determine whether to modify an extended display identification data (EDID) of the electronic device, based on whether the detected first resolution corresponds to at least one supported resolution associated with the EDID of the electronic device, upon determining that the EDID is to be modified, modify the EDID, and receive, from the source device, an input image of a second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID.”; [0062] reciting “To include information based on high-resolution/high-frequency specification enhancement of the display device, the EDID may include one or more data blocks to have an expandable structure. For example, the EDID may include one base EDID block and one or more EDID extension blocks. Referring to FIG. 2, EDID 200 may include four blocks, i.e., a base EDID block 210, a first EDID extension block 220, a second EDID extension block 230, and a third EDID extension block 240. The first block, i.e., the base EDID block, may be a mandatory block and have, for example, EDID version 1.3 or higher. The base EDID block 210 may also be called a Video Electronics Standards Association (VESA) block. The second block, i.e., the first EDID extension block 220, may serve as an extension block or indicate a block map.”).
21 Regarding claim 20, Choi teaches the electronic system of claim 19 (see claims 15 and 19 rejections above), wherein the first source device is configured to output a first content signal with the first resolution based on the first performance information ([0006] reciting “The processor may be further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, upon determining that the detected first resolution does not correspond to the at least one supported resolution associated with the EDID, determine that the EDID is to be modified, and, upon determining that the detected first resolution corresponds to the at least one supported resolution associated with the EDID, output the received input image of the first resolution on a display without modifying the EDID.”),
wherein the second source device is configured to output a second content signal with the second resolution based on the second performance information ([Abstract] reciting “…based on whether the detected first resolution corresponds to the EDID, upon determining that the EDID is to be modified, modify the EDID, and receive, from the source device, an input image of a second resolution, generated based on the modified EDID.”), and
wherein the second resolution is higher than the first resolution ([0017] reciting “The first resolution may indicate a low resolution including at least one of 480p or 576p, and the second resolution may be higher than the first resolution.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
22 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
23 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
24 Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20220345773 A1) in view of Hazama et al. (US 20040039927 A1) and McGraw et al. (US 6300980 B1).
25 Regarding claim 18, Choi teaches the electronic system of claim 17 (see claims 15 and 17 rejections above), and although could teach wherein: the first slave address is A0h and A1h, and the second slave address is A4h and A5h ([0177] reciting “The display device 100 may write the EDID modified as described above, in a memory to be accessed and read by the source device 500. The display device 100 may modify and use EDID whenever an event for EDID modification occurs, or may store original EDID and modified EDID together and select and use the stored modified EDID when the modified EDID is required.”), prior art from Hazama can teach this limitation further.
26 Hazama teaches wherein: the first slave address is A0h and A1h ([0050] reciting “In the communication according to the I.sup.2C bus method, slave addresses are allotted to the respective slave devices. For example, typically, address "A0h" is allotted for reading and address "A1h" is allotted for writing in transmitting and receiving of EDID. Further, address "76h" is allotted for reading and address "77h" is allotted for writing at the receiver according to the HDCP method. The interface circuit 36 of this embodiment is designed so as to respond when slave address "A0h" and "A1h" allotted for EDID responses are specified as well as slave addresses "7Ah" and "7Bh" allotted for the receiver according to the HDCP method.”)…
27 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Choi) to incorporate the teachings of Hazama to provide a clearer method that provides A0h and A1h for the slave address methods and the EDID methods as taught by the teachings of Choi. Doing so would have the slave address to be allotted to the respective slave devices as stated by Hazama ([0050] recited).
28 Choi in view of Hazama could teach wherein: …, and the second slave address is A4h and A5h (see above), prior art from McGraw can teach this limitation further.
29 McGraw teaches wherein: …, and the second slave address is A4h and A5h ([Page 4-5]: see figures below; [Page 6; Column 5, Lines 59-67] reciting “The first EDID extension block will be at I.sup.2 C address A0h, offset 80h. The next EDID extension block will be at I.sup.2 C address A2h, offset 00h. The next EDID extension will be at I.sup.2 C address A2h, offset 80h, and so on. If there is more than one EDID extension, each EDID extension block should be checked for the above signature. The address and offset at which the signature are found establish slave read address (SRA), slave write address (SWA), and start-of-block (SOB) for the control panel interface.”).
30 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Choi in view of Hazama) to incorporate the teachings of McGraw to provide a clearer method that provides A4h and A5h for the slave address methods and the EDID methods as taught by the teachings of Choi. Doing so would perform the standard procedure for positive identification as stated by McGraw ([Page 5; Column 5, Lines 41-42] recited).
Conclusion
31 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ho et al. (US 20180041784 A1) teaches broadcasts signals that utilizes EDID with data blocks and performance information.
32 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHNNY TRAN LE whose telephone number is (571)272-5680. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thu: 7:30am-5pm; First Fridays Off; Second Fridays: 7:30am-4pm.
/JOHNNY T LE/Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614