DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The request for reconsideration filed on 09/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/24/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potucek et al. (US 2011/0267834 hereinafter refer as “Potucek”).
Regarding claim 1. Potucek discloses an underwater light (10/100, see Figs. 4 and 8, Para. 0026), comprising: a watertight housing including: (i) a lens (12a/102, see Figs. 3, 4, and 8, Para. 0026 and 0041) having an annular wall (12c, see Fig. 3, Para. 0026) and a recess formed by the annular wall (12c/104, see Figs. 3 and 8, Para. 0041), (ii) a rear housing plate having an internal lens (116, see Fig. 8, Para. 0042), and (iii) a rear housing (106, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) coupled to the lens (102, see Fig. 8); and a printed circuit board assembly (112, 114, 108, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) including: (i) a printed circuit board (112, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) having a front surface and a rear surface, the front surface including at least one light-emitting element (114, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041); and (ii) a heat sink (108, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) having an inner surface and a rear surface, the rear surface including a plurality of heat dissipating fins (see Fig. 8); wherein: the printed circuit board assembly (112, 114, 108, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) is positioned between the rear housing plate (116) and the rear housing (106, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) and enclosed by the lens (102) and the rear housing.
However, Potucek is silent with respect to “the printed circuit board is removable from the watertight housing and encapsulated by an optically transparent potting compound formed from a thermally conductive and electrically insulative material.”
Potucek further discloses another embodiment of the underwater light (see Fig. 9); wherein a printed circuit board (124, see Fig. 9, Para. 0043) is removable from the watertight housing (rear component 122, Fig. 9, Para. 0044) and encapsulated by an optically transparent potting (130, see Fig. 9, Para. 0007, 0043) compound formed from a thermally conductive and electrically insulative material.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the underwater light (100) to include an optically transparent potting as taught in another embodiment of the underwater light in order to encapsulate the at least one light-emitting element and/or the electronic assembly, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, using an optically transparent potting to encapsulate the at least one light-emitting element and/or the electronic assembly would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 2. Potucek further discloses the lens (12/102, see Fig. 3 and 8, Para. 0026) is formed of an electrically insulating material including one of glass or a polymeric material, and includes silicon dioxide formed within the lens, on an outer surface of the lens, or on an interior surface of the lens.
Regarding claim 3. Potucek further discloses the rear housing plate (116, see Fig. 8, Para. 0042) is positioned between the lens (102) and the rear housing (106, see Fig. 8), the lens recess receiving the annular projection of the rear housing plate.
However, Potucek is silent with respect to the plurality of notches of the rear housing plate engaging the rear housing such that the internal lens of the rear housing plate is positioned between the lens and the printed circuit board to direct or focus light generated by the at least one light-emitting element.
Potucek further discloses another embodiment of the underwater light (see Fig. 10); wherein a rear housing plate (158, see Fig. 10, Para. 0045) engaging a rear housing (150, see Fig. 10, Para. 0045) such that the internal lens of the rear housing plate is positioned between the lens (142) and the printed circuit board (152) to direct or focus light generated by the at least one light-emitting element.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the underwater light (100) so that the rear housing plate engage with the rear housing as suggested in another embodiment in order to effectively couple the rear housing and the rear housing plate, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an improved coupling between the two components.
Regarding claim 4. Potucek further discloses a watertight seal is formed between the two components, e.g., by 0-ring (118, SEE Fig. 8, Para. 0041) or other suitable means.
However, Potucek is silent with respect to a gasket between the lens and the rear housing plate.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Potucek by including a gasket so that the rear housing plate engage with the rear housing to effectively create a watertight seal formed between the two components, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an improved coupling between the two components.
Regarding claim 5. Potucek further discloses the rear housing (e.g. rear housing component 18-122, see Figs. 8 and 9, Para. 0026-0027 and 0044) is formed of at least one of a thermally conductive and electrically insulative polymer material or a chemical material including one of urethane, thermoplastic elastomer over molding, silicone or polyamide.
However, Potucek is silent with respect to the rear housing plate is formed of at least one of a thermally conductive and electrically insulative polymer material or a chemical material including one of urethane, thermoplastic elastomer over molding, silicone or polyamide.
Potucek further discloses the lens (12) could be formed from any suitable, electrically-insulating material, such as glass or a polymeric material (e.g., plastic, see Para. 0026).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Potucek by forming the rear housing plate from a thermally conductive and electrically insulative polymer material as suggested it is a suitable material for forming lens (12), since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding claim 6. Potucek further discloses a back plate (44, see Fig. 5, Para. 0031) having a front surface and a rear surface and being formed of a thermally conductive material, wherein the rear surface of the printed circuit board (40) is affixed to the front surface of the back plate and the rear surface of the back plate (44) is affixed to the inner surface of the heat sink, the back plate transferring heat from the printed circuit board through the back plate to the heat sink and an exterior of the rear housing (18, see Fig. 5, Para. 0031).
Regarding claim 7. Potucek further discloses comprising an electronics assembly (power and/or communications cable (connected to the PCB 124), see Figs. 9 and 10, Para. 0044) including control electronics and network electronics; wherein: the electronics assembly is encapsulated by the optically transparent potting compound, and the electronics assembly is molded to the rear housing and the rear housing is overmolded over the electronics assembly (see Para. 0037 and 0046).
Regarding claim 8. Potucek further discloses (see Figs. 5 and 8) the heat sink (108) is molded to the rear housing (e.g. rear component 106 of the light 100 includes a shaped region 110 that conforms to and contacts the heat-radiating structures of the heat sink 108, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) and the rear housing is molded to receive the plurality of heat dissipating fins of the heat sink, and the heat sink is formed of at least one of a thermally conductive and electrically insulative polymer material or a chemical material including one of urethane, thermoplastic elastomer overmolding, silicone or polyamide (see Para. 0041).
Regarding claim 10. Potucek discloses an underwater light (10/100, see Figs. 4 and 8, Para. 0026), comprising: a watertight housing including: (i) a lens (12a/102, see Figs. 3, 4, and 8, Para. 0026 and 0041) having an annular wall (12c, see Fig. 3, Para. 0026) and a recess formed by the annular wall (12c/104, see Figs. 3 and 8, Para. 0041), and (ii) a rear housing (106, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) coupled to the lens (102, see Fig. 8); a printed circuit board (112, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) having a front surface and a rear surface, the front surface including at least one light-emitting element (114, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041); and a heat sink (108, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) having an inner surface and a rear surface, the rear surface including a plurality of heat dissipating fins (see Fig. 8); wherein the printed circuit board assembly (112, 114, 108, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) is positioned between and enclosed by the lens (102) and the rear housing.
However, Potucek is silent with respect to “the printed circuit board is removable from the watertight housing and encapsulated by an optically transparent potting compound”
Potucek further discloses another embodiment of the underwater light (see Fig. 9); wherein a printed circuit board (124, see Fig. 9, Para. 0043) is removable from the watertight housing (rear component 122, Fig. 9, Para. 0044) and encapsulated by an optically transparent potting (130, see Fig. 9, Para. 0007, 0043) compound.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the underwater light (100) to include an optically transparent potting as taught in another embodiment of the underwater light in order to encapsulate the at least one light-emitting element and/or the electronic assembly, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, using an optically transparent potting to encapsulate the at least one light-emitting element and/or the electronic assembly would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 11. Potucek further discloses the lens (12/102, see Fig. 3 and 8, Para. 0026) is formed of an electrically insulating material including one of glass or a polymeric material, and includes silicon dioxide formed within the lens, on an outer surface of the lens, or on an interior surface of the lens.
Regarding claim 12. Potucek further discloses the rear housing (106, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) is formed of at least one of a thermally conductive and electrically insulative polymer material or a chemical material including one of urethane, thermoplastic elastomer over molding, silicone or polyamide.
Regarding claim 13. Potucek further discloses an internal lens (116, see Fig. 8, Para. 0042), wherein the internal lens is positioned between the lens (102) and the printed circuit board (112, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) to direct or focus light generated by the at least one light-emitting element.
Regarding claim 14. Potucek further discloses the heat sink (108) is positioned on a central inner surface of the rear housing (106, see Fig. 8), the heat sink being molded to the rear housing and the rear housing being overmolded over the heat sink, and the heat sink is formed of at least one of a thermally conductive and electrically insulative polymer material or a chemical material including one of urethane, thermoplastic elastomer overmolding, silicone or polyamide (see Para. 0041).
Regarding claim 15. Potucek further discloses the rear surface of the printed circuit board (112, see Fig. 8, Para. 0041) is affixed to the overmolded inner surface of the heat sink by a thermally conductive material including at least one of a grease, an adhesive or a potting compound (see Para. 0041), the thermally conductive material transferring heat from the printed circuit board through the thermally conductive material to the heat sink and an exterior of the rear housing.
Regarding claim 16. Potucek further discloses another embodiment of the underwater light (see Fig. 9) with a printed circuit board (124, see Fig. 9, Para. 0043) is removable from the watertight housing (rear component 122, Fig. 9, Para. 0044) and the electronics assembly (power and/or communications cable (connected to the PCB 124), see Figs. 9 and 10, Para. 0044) is encapsulated by the optically transparent potting (130, see Fig. 9, Para. 0007, 0043) compound and molded to the rear housing, the rear housing being overmolded over the electronics assembly.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the underwater light (100) to include an optically transparent potting as taught in another embodiment of the underwater light in order to encapsulate the at least one light-emitting element and/or the electronic assembly, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, using an optically transparent potting to encapsulate the at least one light-emitting element and/or the electronic assembly would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Claims 9 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potucek in view of Zhang et al. (US 2015/0184837 hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 9. Potucek further discloses a cable attachment assembly (160/202, see Figs. 10 and 12, Para. 0045 and 0048) including: a printed circuit board (PCB) adapter (152/192, see Figs. 10 and 12, Para. 0045, 0048) receiving at least one terminal post (e.g. 166/204, see Figs. 10 and 12, Para. 0046, 0048) of a PCB of an underwater light; a base connector (e.g. cable attachment assembly 160 includes a connector (not labeled) between the threaded bushing 162 and the PCB to provide the cable that is attached to a terminal post 166, see Fig. 10, Para. 0046) couplable to the PCB adapter, the base connector receiving an electrical cable supplying one or more of power or data for the underwater light.
However, Potucek is silent with respect to including a cap connector received by the base connector; a screw assembly received by the cap connector and coupling at least one conductor of the electrical cable to the at least one terminal post of the PCB; and a cap housing coupling the base connector to the PCB adapter.
Zhang teaches a universal LED bulb that includes a cap connector (connector plug 11, see Figs. 6, Para. 0161) received by a base connector (see Figs. 18, 19, and 26, Para. 0161); a screw assembly (see Figs. 20-22) received by the cap connector and coupling at least one conductor of the electrical cable to the at least one terminal post (e.g. contact pin 17, see Fig. 23-25, Para. 0161) of the PCB; and a cap housing coupling the base connector to the PCB adapter (4, see Figs. 18 and 26, Para. 0157, 0181).
Therefore, in view of Zhang, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Potucek by including a connector socket that includes a cap connector and a screw assembly for cooperatively connected to a connector plug on the underwater light. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an improved and reliable electric connection of the universal LED lamp is achieved.
Regarding claim 17. Potucek further discloses a cable attachment assembly (160, see Fig. 10, Para. 0045) including: a printed circuit board (PCB) (152, see Fig. 10, Para. 0045) adapter receiving at least one terminal post of a PCB of an underwater light; a base connector couplable to the PCB adapter, the base connector receiving an electrical cable supplying one or more of power or data for the underwater light; a cap (threaded bushing 162, 180, see Figs. 10 and 11, 0046) connector received by the base connector
However, Potucek is silent with respect to including a cap connector received by the base connector; a screw assembly received by the cap connector and coupling at least one conductor of the electrical cable to the at least one terminal post of the PCB; and a cap housing coupling the base connector to the PCB adapter.
Zhang teaches a universal LED bulb that includes a cap connector (connector plug 11, see Figs. 6, Para. 0161) received by a base connector (see Figs. 18, 19, and 26, Para. 0161); a screw assembly (see Figs. 20-22) received by the cap connector and coupling at least one conductor of the electrical cable to the at least one terminal post (e.g. contact pin 17, see Fig. 23-25, Para. 0161) of the PCB; and a cap housing coupling the base connector to the PCB adapter (4, see Figs. 18 and 26, Para. 0157, 0181).
Therefore, in view of Zhang, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Potucek by including a connector socket that includes a cap connector and a screw assembly for cooperatively connected to a connector plug on the underwater light. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an improved and reliable electric connection of the universal LED lamp is achieved.
Regarding claims 18 and 19. Potucek discloses a cable attachment assembly (132/160/202, see Figs. 9, 10, and 12, Para. 0044 and 0048) for an underwater light comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) (152, see Fig. 10, Para. 0045) adapter receiving at least one terminal post of a PCB of an underwater light; a base connector couplable (threaded bushing 162, see Fig. 10, Para. 0046) to the PCB adapter, the base connector receiving an electrical cable supplying one or more of power or data for the underwater light. Potucek further discloses a threaded bushing (162) that is threaded into a threaded aperture formed in the rear component (150), and forms a watertight seal with the rear component 150 by way of an O-ring 164 or other sealing means (see Fig. 10, Para. 0046).
However, Potucek is silent with respect to including a cap connector received by the base connector; a screw assembly received by the cap connector and coupling at least one conductor of the electrical cable to the at least one terminal post of the PCB; and a cap housing coupling the base connector to the PCB adapter; a plug nut forming a watertight seal between the electrical cable and the base connector.
Zhang teaches a universal LED bulb that includes a cap connector (connector plug 11, see Figs. 6, Para. 0161) received by a base connector (see Figs. 18, 19, and 26, Para. 0161); a screw assembly (see Figs. 20-22) received by the cap connector and coupling at least one conductor of the electrical cable to the at least one terminal post (e.g. contact pin 17, see Fig. 23-25, Para. 0161) of the PCB; and a cap housing coupling the base connector to the PCB adapter (4, see Figs. 18 and 26, Para. 0157, 0181).
Therefore, in view of Zhang, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Potucek by including a connector socket that includes a cap connector and a screw assembly for cooperatively connected to a connector plug on the underwater light. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an improved and reliable electric connection of the universal LED lamp is achieved.
Regarding claim 20. Potucek further discloses the at least one terminal post (166, see Para. 0046) is encapsulated with a potting compound.
Regarding claim 21. Potucek further discloses the at least one terminal post (166, see Para. 0046) is soldered to a conductor trace of the PCB.
Regarding claim 22. Potucek further discloses the at least one terminal post (166, see Para. 0046) extends through an aperture formed in the PCB adapter (i.e. projection 168 that extends through an aperture formed in the PCB 152, see Fig. 10, Para. 0046).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained and made FINAL.
Applicant contends that Potucek does not disclose a “removable” printed circuit board (PCB) because PCB (124) is mounted to rear component (122) and the rear component is sealed to the lens in a watertight manner. This argument is not persuasive because it relies on an unreasonably narrow interpretation of the claim term “removable.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims do not require that the PCB be externally accessible, tool-free removable, or removable without disassembly of the light. The claims merely require that the PCB be capable of being removed and replaced. A component that is separately formed and mounted to another component is removable, even if disassembly is required.
Potucek explicitly discloses that PCB (40/124, see Figs. 4 and 9) is a discrete component mounted to rear component (22/122, see 0027 and 0044). Because PCB (124) is not integrally formed with the rear component and is attached thereto, it is inherently capable of being detached and replaced. The O-ring seal described in Potucek pertains to the interface between the rear component and the lens and does not preclude removal of the PCB from the rear component.
Furthermore, Applicant’s own specification similarly describes a PCB mounted to a rear housing and removable for replacement (see Para. 0077). Thus, Potucek discloses the same structural relationship between the PCB and the rear housing as claimed. Any alleged distinction regarding ease, safety, or purpose of removal is not recited in the claims and does not impart patentable weight.
With respect to Claims 18–20, the printed circuit boards identified in Potucek (e.g., elements 152 and 192) are configured to electrically interface with other components of the lighting system and meet the claimed limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Zhang further evidences the well-known use of PCB-based electrical interface structures in lighting assemblies and provides additional motivation to combine.
Accordingly, Potucek, alone or in combination with Zhang, teaches or renders obvious the subject matter of Claims 1–22. The rejections of Claims 1–22 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are therefore maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875