DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the communication filed on 8/12/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner Note
The examiner is here to serve, to assist, and to help applicant to the very best of his ability. The Primary Patent Examiner position is a position of serving and it is an honor to externally serve the applicant and attorney and to internally serve junior examiners and supervisors. The goal of the examiner is to work with and assist applicant to move cases along as efficiently as possible.
Applicant is encouraged to call examiner to schedule an interview if applicant has any questions about this action, wants to discuss any possible paths forward, has proposed amendments to the claims to run by the examiner, or for any other issues that applicant would like to discuss.
Examiner can normally be reached at (571) 270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov, Monday-Friday, from about 6 AM - 10 PM EST and if your call is missed examiner will try to return call quickly, thank you.
Priority
This application claims priority of KR10-2023-0152381, filed 11/7/2023. The assignee of record is SAMSUNG ELECTRONICS CO., LTD. The listed inventor(s) is/are: KIENIG, Jan; STEFANSKI, Szymon; KWIATKOWSKI, Gracjan.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 8/12/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 & 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims provided that all other rejections under 35 USC 101/112 (if any) are obviated upon upcoming amendments/arguments without raising new issues that necessitate further consideration/search.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-11, 14-16, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP (3GPP TS 29.507 version 17.9.0 Release 17, 4/2023; hereinafter 3GPP507).
For Claim 1, 3GPP507 teaches a method by a core network entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (3GPP 4.1.1 The Access and Mobility Policy Control Service, as defined in 3GPP TS 23.502 [3] and 3GPP TS 23.503 [4], is provided by the Policy Control Function (PCF).):
receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), a request for a control plane configuration for a user equipment (UE) (3GPP507 4.2.2.1 To request policies from the PCF, the NF service consumer (e.g. AMF) shall send an HTTP POST request with: "{apiRoot}/npcf-am-policy-control/v1/policies" as Resource URI and the PolicyAssociationRequest data structure as request body that shall include:
- Notification URI encoded as "notificationUri" attribute;
- SUPI encoded as "supi" attribute; and
- if the feature "SliceSupport" or the feature "DNNReplacementControl" is supported in the NF service consumer and the UE is registered via a 3GPP access, the allowed NSSAI in the 3GPP access encoded in the "allowedSnssais" attribute;
Please see screenshot of 3GPP507 Fig 4.2.2.1-1 below, thank you:
);
generating the control plane configuration for the UE based on the received request for the control plane configuration (3GPP507 4.2.2.1 Upon the reception of this HTTP POST request, the PCF shall:
- assign a policy association ID;
- determine the applicable policy (taking into consideration and optionally modifying the possibly received UE AMBR, UE-Slice-MBR(s) for the allowed NSSAI, Service Area Restrictions and/or RFSP index);
- for the successful case, send a HTTP "201 Created" response with the URI for the created resource in the "Location" header field); and
transmitting, to the AMF, the generated control plane configuration (3GPP507 4.2.2.1
- for the successful case, send a HTTP "201 Created" response with the URI for the created resource in the "Location" header field
NOTE 3: The assigned policy association ID is part of the URI for the created resource and is thus associated with the SUPI.
and the PolicyAssociation data type as response body including:
- conditionally AMF Access and Mobility Policy (see clause 4.2.2.3), i.e.:
a) if the PCF received the "servAreaRes" attribute in the request, Service Area Restrictions encoded as "servAreaRes" attribute; and/or
b) if the PCF received the "rfsp" attribute in the request, RAT Frequency Selection Priority (RFSP) Index encoded as "rfsp" attribute; and/or
c) if the feature "UE-AMBR_Authorization" is supported and the PCF received the "ueAmbr" attribute in the request, the authorized UE-AMBR encoded as "ueAmbr" attribute;
d) if the feature "UE-Slice-MBR_Authorization" is supported and the PCF received the "ueSliceMbrs" attribute in the request, the corresponding authorized UE-Slice-MBR(s) encoded as "ueSliceMbrs" attribute; and/or
e) if the feature "AMInfluence" is supported, the PCF for the UE determines that the access and mobility policies may be influenced by the traffic of PDU session(s) and local operator policies indicate that the PCF for the UE shall subscribe with the PCF for the PDU session for established/terminated PDU session(s) event notifications via the AMF and the SMF, the PCF for the UE information within the "pcfUeInfo" attribute, and the DNN and S-NSSAI of the concerned PDU session(s) within the "matchPdus" attribute. The "pcfUeInfo" attribute shall include the PCF for the UE callback URI via which the PCF(s) for the PDU session shall send notifications about the related PDU session(s) established/terminated events within the "callbackUri" attribute, and if available, the associated PCF for the UE instance ID, PCF set ID, and the level of SBA binding within the "bindingInfo" attribute;
f) if the feature "5GAccessStratumTime" is supported and the PCF receives the access stratum time distribution parameters from the TSCTSF as defined in 3GPP TS 29.534 [26], the 5G access stratum time distribution parameters encoded as "asTimeDisParam" attribute as defined in clause 4.2.2.3.6;).
For Claim 2, 3GPP507 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the control plane configuration comprises: generating the control plane configuration for the UE based on information about a network slice associated with the UE (3GPP507 4.2.2.1 When a UE registers and a UE context is being established, the AMF can obtain Service Area Restrictions, RFSP index, subscribed UE-AMBR, subscribed UE-Slice-MBR(s) and GPSI(s) from the UDM during the Access and Mobility Subscription Data retrieval procedure, the list of NWDAF instance IDs used for the UE and their associated Analytic ID(s) consumed by the AMF and the allowed NSSAI and the Target NSSAI from local configuration or from the NSSF during the slice selection procedure and shall decide based on local policies whether to request policies from the PCF.).
For Claim 3, 3GPP507 teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the request for the control plane configuration comprises the information about the network slice associated with the UE (3GPP507 4.2.2.1 the PolicyAssociationRequest data structure as request body that shall include… the allowed NSSAI in the 3GPP access encoded in the "allowedSnssais" attribute).
For Claim 4, 3GPP507 teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: obtaining, from a network slicing management system, the information about the network slice associated with the UE (3GPP507 4.2.2.1 AMF may obtain Allowed NSSAI and Target NSSAI).
For Claim 5, 3GPP507 teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the information about the network slice associated with the UE comprises at least one of: a network slice instance identification (NSI ID); a network slice subnet instance ID (NSSI ID); a slice/service type (SST) and slice differentiator (SD); a slice characteristic; a UE ID (3GPP507 4.2.2.1 GPSI); and a UE group.
For Claim 8, 3GPP507 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the request for the control plane configuration comprises: receiving, from the AMF, the request for the control plane configuration for the UE, based on the AMF having received a registration request for the UE (3GPP570 4.2.2.1 AMF creates policay association during UE registration).
For Claim 10, 3GPP507 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the request for the control plane configuration comprises: receiving, from the AMF, the request for the control plane configuration for the UE, based on the AMF having received a notification about a change in a network slice configuration (3GPP570 4.2.3.1 AMF invokes a policy update when a trigger occurs.
3GPP507 4.2.3.1 The AMF as NF service consumer invokes this procedure when a policy control request trigger (see clause 4.2.3.2) occurs. When a policy control request trigger that does not require the subscription as defined in table 5.6.3.3-1 (e.g. Service Area Restriction change trigger) occurs, the NF service consumer (e.g. AMF) shall always invoke the procedure. When a policy control request trigger requires the subscription as defined in table 5.6.3.3-1 (e.g. location change trigger) occurs, the NF service consumer shall only invoke the procedure if the PCF has subscribed to that event trigger. If an AMF knows by implementation specific means that the UE context has been transferred to an AMF with another GUAMI within the AMF set, it may also invoke this procedure to update the Notification URI and the GUAMI.).
For Claim 11, 3GPP507 teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the notification about the change in the network slice configuration is received from at least one of the core network entity (3GPP507 4.2.3.1 if a Service Area restriction change occurred, the Service Area Restrictions (see clause 4.2.2.3.1) as obtained from the UDM encoded as "servAreaRes" attribute) or a network slicing management system.
For Claim(s) 14, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim(s) 15, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 3 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 16, 3GPP507 teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the apparatus to: obtain, from a network slicing management system, the information about the network slice associated with the UE (3GPP507 4.2.2.1).
For Claim(s) 20, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP570 in view of Carames et al. (US 20220030417 A1, published 1/27/2022; hereinafter Car).
For Claim 6, 3GPP570 teaches the method of claim 2, 3GPP570 does not explicitly teach wherein the generating of the control plane configuration comprises: identifying at least one preferred control plane configuration (PCPC) matched with the information about the network slice associated with the UE; and determining a value of each of at least one parameter for the control plane configuration based on the at least one PCPC
However, Car teaches wherein the generating of the control plane configuration comprises: identifying at least one preferred control plane configuration (PCPC) matched with the information about the network slice associated with the UE (Car does not explicitly use the term PCPC, but Car provides the functional equivalent, Car ¶ 0036 Policy query 315 may request access management policies for UE device 180 or, more specifically, policy query 315 may request a 5G operation mode policy for UE device 180. Policy query 315 may request, for example, information about operation mode capabilities of UE device (e.g., NSA and/or SA).); and determining a value of each of at least one parameter for the control plane configuration based on the at least one PCPC (Car ¶ 0075 The network device sends the RFSP value to an access management function in the wireless core network for controlling selection of the 5G NSA operation mode or 5G SA operation mode.
Please see screenshot of Car Fig. 3B below, thank you:
).
Car and 3GPP570 are analogous art because they are both related to 5G.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the policy techniques of Car with the system of 3GPP507 to provide for network-based selection of a UE device's 5G operation mode (Car ¶ 0018).
For Claim 7, 3GPP507-Car teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the determining of the value of each of the at least one parameter for the control plane configuration comprises at least one of: obtaining the value from a PCPC having a highest priority from among the at least one PCPC; obtaining the value from a PCPC associated with at least one of a network slice instance (NSI) or a network slice subnet instance (NSSI) with a highest priority from among the at least one PCPC; obtaining the value from a PCPC comprising a matching value according to a predetermined policy; obtaining the value according to a PCPC policy; obtaining the value using at least one of an artificial intelligence (AI) or a machine learning (ML) algorithm; and determining a default value as the value, based on the at least one PCPC not defining the value for the at least one parameter (Car ¶ 0036-0038).
For Claim 9, 3GPP570 teaches the method of claim 8, 3GPP570 does not explicitly teach wherein the registration request comprises a requested network slice selection assistant information (NSSAI). However, Car teaches wherein the registration request comprises a requested network slice selection assistant information (NSSAI) (Car ¶ 0043).
For Claim 17, 3GPP570 teaches the apparatus of claim 15, 3GPP570 does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the apparatus to: identify at least one preferred control plane configuration (PCPC) matched with the information about the network slice associated with the UE; and determine a value of each of at least one parameter for the control plane configuration based on the at least one PCPC. However, Car teaches wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the apparatus to: identify at least one preferred control plane configuration (PCPC) matched with the information about the network slice associated with the UE (Car ¶ 0036); and determine a value of each of at least one parameter for the control plane configuration based on the at least one PCPC (Car ¶ 0036).
For Claim 18, 3GPP570-Car teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the apparatus to perform at least one of: obtaining the value from a PCPC having a highest priority from among the at least one PCPC; obtaining the value from a PCPC associated with a network slice instance (NSI) or network slice subnet instance (NSSI) with a highest priority from among the at least one PCPC; obtaining the value from a PCPC comprising a matching value according to a predetermined policy; obtaining the value according to a PCPC policy; obtaining the value using at least one of an artificial intelligence (AI) or a machine learning (ML) algorithm; and determining a default value as the value, based on the at least one PCPC not defining the value for the at least one parameter (Car ¶ 0036-0038).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed below, thank you:
i. US 20210100061 A1, Uplink Or Downlink Session Duplication
Please see PTO-892 for additional listing of relevant prior art made of record but not relied upon, thank you.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael Keller at (571)270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Moo Jeong can be reached on 571-272-9617.
/MICHAEL A KELLER/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418