DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “possible simultaneous viewing on a user interface (UI) associated with a home-based electric vehicle charger.” It is unclear as to whether possible “simultaneous viewing on the user interface” means that there are simultaneous views or there are no simultaneous views. The use of “possible” seems to suggest that there may not be simultaneous views. For the purposes of proper examination of the claim, the examiner is interpreting the claim to mean simultaneous viewing on the user interface.
Claim 24 recites “a user interface associated with a home-based electric vehicle (EV) charger.” It is unclear as to exactly what this means. Is the UI on the computing device or the home-based electric vehicle charger? The limitation “providing representations of the plurality of media items to the UI” and “receiving a selection representing a subset of the plurality of media items from the UI” seem to suggest that the UI may be at/in the at least one computer device. However, the limitation “transmitting the subset of the plurality of media items to the UI” suggests that the plurality of media items is transmitted to a UI that may be at the home-based electric vehicle charger (i.e., the UI is not at/in the at least one computing device). Therefore, it is unclear as to what “a user interface associated with a home-based electric vehicle (EV) charger” implies in the claim. For the purposes of proper examination of the claim, the examiner is interpreting the claim to mean a UI on the computing device or home-based electric vehicle (EV) charger.
Claims 45 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, for the same reasons given for claim 24 above.
Claims 25-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, by virtue of being dependent on claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-36 and 44-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brimacombe US 20140028255.
Regarding claim 24, Brimacombe discloses a method implemented on at least one computing device (50, see fig. 2, [0016]), the method comprising:
determining a plurality of media items (66, 68, 70, 72, see [0018]) for possible simultaneous viewing on a user interface (UI) associated with a home-based electric vehicle (EV) charger (consumer-focused content 66, 68, 70, 72, from advertisers/owners, see [0011], [0018]-[0020]);
providing representations of the plurality of media items to the UI (see fig. 3, [0018], [0028]);
receiving a selection representing a subset of the plurality of media items from the UI (see fig. 3, select ad, see [0018], [0028]); and
transmitting the subset of the plurality of media items to the UI (see [0018], [0028]).
Regarding claim 25 as applied to claim 24, Brimacombe further discloses wherein determining the plurality of media items is based on a profile of a user of the home-based EV charger (see preference, [0023], [0028]).
Regarding claim 26 as applied to claim 25, Brimacombe further discloses wherein the profile includes user information provided by the user (see preference, user’s number, [0023], [0028]).
Regarding claim 27 as applied to claim 26, Brimacombe further discloses wherein the user information comprises user survey information (see preference, user’s number, [0023], [0028]).
Regarding claim 28 as applied to claim 27, Brimacombe further discloses wherein the user survey information is requested during a user EV charger account registration by the user (see [0017], [0028]).
Regarding claim 29 as applied to claim 26, Brimacombe further discloses wherein the user information comprises user social networking information (see preference, user’s number, [0023], [0028]).
Regarding claim 30 as applied to claim 26, Brimacombe further discloses wherein the user information comprises user professional networking information (see preference, user’s number, [0023], [0028]).
Regarding claim 31 as applied to claim 26, Brimacombe further discloses wherein the user information comprises user technical professional organization information (see preference, user’s number, [0023], [0028]).
Regarding claim 32 as applied to claim 26, Brimacombe further discloses wherein the user information includes user purchasing information (see preference, user’s number, [0023], [0028]).
Regarding claim 33 as applied to claim 32, Brimacombe further discloses
wherein the user purchasing information includes user home ownership information and the user home ownership information includes a user physical address (see [0025]).
Regarding claim 34 as applied to claim 25, Brimacombe further discloses wherein each media item of the plurality of media items is associated with a distinct sponsor for offsetting a cost of the home-based electric EV charger (see [0008], [0018]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 35 as applied to claim 34, Brimacombe further discloses wherein a first media item of the subset of the plurality of media items is a background for the UI (see fig. 3, 66-72, [0018]).
Regarding claim 36 as applied to claim 35, Brimacombe further discloses wherein the background is branded by a first sponsor (see fig. 3, 66-72, [0018], [0020], [0028]).
Regarding claim 44 as applied to claim 24, Brimacombe further discloses wherein the UI is implemented within the home-based EV charger (see fig. 3, [0018]).
Regarding claim 45, Brimacombe discloses a computing device (50, see fig. 2, [0016]) comprising:
a memory (inherent feature in EVSE 50, see [0016], [0028]); and
at least one processor (inherent feature in EVSE 50, see [0016], [0028]) configured for:
determining a plurality of media items (66, 68, 70, 72, see [0018]) for possible simultaneous viewing on a user interface (UI) associated with a home-based electric vehicle (EV) charger (consumer-focused content 66, 68, 70, 72, from advertisers/owners, see [0011], [0018]-[0020]);
providing representations of the plurality of media items to the UI (see fig. 3, [0018]); and
receiving a selection representing a subset of the plurality of media items from the UI (see fig. 3, select ad, see [0018], [0028]); and
transmitting the subset of the plurality of media items to the UI (see [0018], [0028]).
Regarding claim 46, Brimacombe discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (inherent feature in EVSE 50, see [0016], [0028]) to be implemented on at least one computing device including at least one processor (inherent feature in EVSE 50, see [0016], [0028]), the instructions when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one computing device (50, see fig. 2, [0016]) to perform a method, the method comprising:
determining a plurality of media items (66, 68, 70, 72, see [0018]) for possible simultaneous viewing on a user interface (UI) associated with a home-based electric vehicle (EV) charger (consumer-focused content 66, 68, 70, 72, from advertisers/owners, see [0011], [0018]-[0020]);
providing representations of the plurality of media items to the UI (see fig. 3, [0018]); and
receiving a selection representing a subset of the plurality of media items from the UI (see fig. 3, select ad, see [0018], [0028]); and
transmitting the subset of the plurality of media items to the UI (see [0018], [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Turner US 20110204847 discloses electric vehicle charging station advertising systems.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648