DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information disclosure statement of 11/07/2024 has been received and reviewed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the motor" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-12, 14-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190186181 to Robertson.
Regarding claim 1, Robertson discloses:
A release apparatus (fig 1) for a door holder and release system (1), the release apparatus comprising: a magnet (14); a drive (16) operatively coupled to the magnet; and an energy storage device (20c) operatively coupled to the drive; wherein the energy storge device is configured to be operatively coupled to a power supply (20a) for storing energy in the energy storage device; and wherein during a disengagement event when the power supply is reduced, the energy storage device powers the drive to switch the magnet to reduce a magnetic field of the magnet (see figs and 7 and paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 2, Robertson discloses:
The release apparatus of claim 1, wherein the magnet is a switchable permanent magnet (it is switched on or off via a pulse of electric current).
Regarding claim 3, Robertson discloses:
The release apparatus claim 1, wherein the energy storage device comprises a capacitor (20c is a capacitor).
Regarding claim 11, Robertson discloses:
The release apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a controller (20d) comprising: one or more memories having computer readable code stored thereon (programs that 20d is set to perform, see paragraph 0049); and one or more processing devices (microcontroller, see paragraph 0049) operatively coupled to the one or more memories, wherein when executed the computer readable code is configured to cause the one or more processing devices to: receive a selection of a holding force (increase in attraction) for the magnet; and activate the drive to adjust the magnet to set the holding force (see paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 12, Robertson discloses:
The release apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a controller (20d) comprising: one or more memories having computer readable code stored thereon(programs that 20d is set to perform, see paragraph 0049); and one or more processing devices (microcontroller, see paragraph 0049) operatively coupled to the one or more memories, wherein when executed the computer readable code is configured to cause the one or more processing devices to: receive a signal (command input) to activate the drive; and engage the drive to reduce the magnetic field from the magnet (see paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 14, Robertson discloses:
A door holder and release system (fig 1), the system comprising :a door holder (door holder unit) configured to be operatively coupled with a door (door, fig 1); a release apparatus (1) configured for operative coupling with a support (18), the release apparatus comprising: a magnet (14); a drive (16) operatively coupled to the magnet; and an energy storage device (20c) operatively coupled to the drive; wherein the energy storge device is configured to be operatively coupled to a power supply (20a) for storing energy in the energy storage device; and wherein during a disengagement event when the power supply is interrupted, the energy storage device powers the drive to switch the magnet to reduce a magnetic field of the magnet (see paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 15, Robertson discloses:
The door holder and release system of claim 14, wherein the magnet is a switchable permanent magnet (it is switched on or off via a pulse of electric current), and wherein the energy storage device comprises a capacitor (20c is a capacitor).
Claim 19 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 20, Robertson discloses:
A method (figs 6 and 7) of controlling a release apparatus (fig 1) of a door holder and release system (1), the release apparatus comprising a magnet (14), a drive (16) operatively coupled to the magnet, and an energy storage device (20c) operatively coupled to the drive, the method comprising: identifying a disengagement event; and activating the drive using the energy storage device to power the drive to reduce a magnetic field of the magnet (see paragraph 0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190186181 to Robertson.
Regarding claim 6, Robertson does not specifically teach wherein the energy storage device utilizes 10 milliamps or less to charge the energy storage device. However, Robertson does teach a power supply utilizing a current to charge the energy storage device. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to alter the milliamps of the power supply so that it could have many values usable in a variety of applications, including 10 or less milliamps since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Robertson does not specifically teach wherein the power supply operatively coupled to the energy storage device comprises a 12V, 18V, 24V, or 120V power supply. However, Robertson does teach a power supply comprising a voltage. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to alter the voltage of power supply so that it could have many values usable in a variety of applications, including 12V, 18V, 24V, or 120V since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 17 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 6 above.
Claim 18 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 4-5, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190186181 to Robertson in view of GB 2450991 to Goddard.
Regarding claim 4, Robertson does not explicitly disclose:
The release apparatus of claim 1, wherein the energy storage device comprises a battery. However, Goddard teaches that it is well known in the art for an energy storage device to be a capacitor or a battery (page 2 line 18). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the battery as taught by Goddard into the assembly of Robertson at least because doing so requires the simple substitution of one known feature for another and could be accomplished without undue experimentation and would yield the same result, providing an energy storage device. See MPEP 2143, subsection I.B. (3).
Regarding claim 5, Robertson does not explicitly disclose:
The release apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a drive train operatively coupled to the magnet and the drive; wherein the drive is a motor or an actuator; and wherein the drive train increases torque or reduces current of the motor or the actuator.
However, Goddard teaches that it is well known in the art for: a drive train (48, 50, 52) operatively coupled to the magnet and the drive; wherein the drive is a motor (44) or an actuator; and wherein the drive train increases torque or reduces current of the motor or the actuator (page 6, lines 7-10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Goddard into Robertson at least because doing so would provide a mechanical method of reversing the magnet, thereby adding additional safety and control over the state of the door holder.
Regarding claim 13, Robertson discloses:
The release apparatus of claim 12, wherein the signal is a loss of power from the power supply (power supply turns off).
Robertson does not explicitly disclose: and wherein engaging the motor to reduce the magnetic field comprises using the energy storage device to provide the power the motor.
However, Goddard teaches the use of an energy storage device (capacitor or battery) to provide power to the motor (page 8 lines 30-34 and page 9 lines 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Goddard into Robertson at least because doing so would provide a mechanical method of reversing the magnet via the motor, thereby adding additional safety and control over the state of the door holder.
Claim 16 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 5 above.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190186181 to Robertson in view of CN 201352364 to Liu.
Regarding claim 8, Robertson does not explicitly disclose:
The release apparatus of claim 1, wherein the power supply operatively coupled to the energy storage device comprises power over ethernet.
However, Liu teaches that it is well known in the art for a power supply to comprise power over ethernet (last 2 paragraphs of page 2 of attached translation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power over ethernet as taught by Liu into the assembly of Robertson at least because doing so requires the simple substitution of one known feature for another and could be accomplished without undue experimentation and would yield the same result, providing a power supply. See MPEP 2143, subsection I.B. (3).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190186181 to Robertson in view of US 20230008687 to Hasenstein.
Regarding claim 9, Robertson discloses:
The release apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a sensor (20e)
Robertson does not explicitly disclose: a sensor for sending a signal to indicate a status of the magnet.
However, Hasenstein teaches that it is well known in the art to utilize multiple different sensors including a sensor (MBS) for sending a signal to indicate a status of the magnet (paragraph 0020). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hasenstein into Robertson at least because doing so would provide a system monitoring to control the door holder and prevent unwanted situations.
Regarding claim 10, Robertson in view of Hasenstein discloses:
The release apparatus of claim 9, wherein the sensor is a magnetic bond sensor (MBS), and the signal indicates when the magnet is engaged or disengaged or a magnet holding force (see paragraph 0020, Hasenstein).
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675