In response to the requirement for restriction/election filed 9/16/2026, attorney elects group I (claims 1-8 and 16-20) without traverse, and cancels group II (claims 9-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20160174131 Shanmugalingam et al.
Referring to claim 21, Shanmugalingam et al disclose in Figures 1-8 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions (Figure 5A: ROM 22/RAM23/memory 24 store instructions to be executed by processor 21 to perform functions of control device 14) that, when executed by a processing system including a processor (Figure 5A: processor 21 of control device 14), cause the processing system to perform operations comprising:
Obtaining, from a data storage device (topology database 18), first data (topology represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UE11) representative of a first model (first model before state of UE 11 changes, such as when state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B) of at least a portion of a communication network (Figure 4: portion of LTE/EPC core network 10 where UE11 changes state, such as when state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B). Topology information is in database 18 of control device 14. The topology represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UE11. So, topology information for FTABs is obtained from database 18. Router 15 has a flow table FTAB15 and each switch 16A-16C has a respective FTAB16. Control device 14 determines the routing information for packets and stores the routing information in FTAB. FTAB formats comprise MACsrc, MACdest, IPsrc, IPdest, ACTION, and CNT which is used to route packets in the network from source to destination.
Obtaining (from MME 17), based on the first data, an input (MME 17 informs control device 14 of the states of UEs, such as when state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B) identifying a modification associated with the communication network (modifying IP address of BS that UE11 is attached to from IP address of BS 13A to IP address of BS 13B). Sections 0140-0142, 0168, 0186, 0187, 0196, and 0206-0208 disclose an example: when the state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B, the routing information for packets stored in FTABs changes accordingly. Since the state of UE 11 changes to be connected to different BSs, data must be filtered differently through the network and FTABs are updated accordingly.
Causing, based on the input, an operation associated with the communication network to be performed (modifying IP address of BS that UE11 is attached to from IP address of BS 13A to IP address of BS 13B). Sections 0140-0142: MME 17 informs control device 14 that UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B. Using the OpenFlow protocol, control device 14 modifies the entry in FTAB15 of switch 15, the entry in FTAB16 of router 16A, and the entry in FTAB16 of router 16B to change that packets for UE11 should be routed to BS 13B instead of BS 13A.
Modifying the first data to incorporate at least the modification, resulting in second data (update FTABs to indicate changes in the state of UE11; wherein only the portion of the network that was affected by the change in the state of UE11 is updated). Topology information is in database 18 of control device 14. The topology represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UEs 11. Sections 0140-0142: when the state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B, control device 14 updates the corresponding topology information in the database 18 to reflect this change, wherein the portion of the network affected by the change are UE11, BS 13A, BS 13B, switch 16A, switch 16B, and router 15.
Storing the second data in the data storage device (topology database 18). The topology in database 18 represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UEs 11. The system updates database 18 to indicate changes in the state of UE11, wherein only the portion of the network that was affected by the change in the state of UE 11 is updated. Control device 14 has an updating module 14C that receives updated topology information and then stores the updated topology information into database 18. Refer to Sections 0006-0028 and 0102-0213.
Referring to claim 23, Shanmugalingam et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein the input identifying the modification comprises an input identifying a change to a value of a parameter (IP address of BS that UE11 is attached to) associated with a communication device (switch 16A-16C or router 15) of the communication network (change IP address of BS that UE11 is attached to from an IP address of BS 13A to an IP address of BS 13B). Sections 0140-0142: MME 17 informs control device 14 that UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B. Using the OpenFlow protocol, control device 14 modifies the entry in FTAB15 of switch 15, the entry in FTAB16 of router 16A, and the entry in FTAB16 of router 16B to change that packets for UE11 should be routed to BS 13B instead of BS 13A.
Refer to Sections 0006-0028 and 0102-0213.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160174131 Shanmugalingam et al in view of U.S Publication No. 20190312945 to Cooppan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20170099532 to Kakande et al.
Referring to claim 1, Shanmugalingam et al disclose in Figures 1-8 a device (control device 14), comprising:
A processing system including a processor (Figure 5A: processor 21 of control device 14).
A memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations (Figure 5A: ROM 22/RAM23/memory 24 store instructions to be executed by processor 21 to perform functions of control device 14), the operations comprising:
Obtaining, from a data storage device (topology database 18), first data (topology represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UE11) representative of a first model (first model before state of UE 11 changes, such as when state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B) representative of a portion of a communication network (Figure 4: portion of LTE/EPC core network 10 where UE11 changes state, such as when state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B) ... Topology information is in database 18 of control device 14. The topology represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UE11. So, topology information for FTABs is obtained from database 18. Router 15 has a flow table FTAB15 and each switch 16A-16C has a respective FTAB16. Control device 14 determines the routing information for packets and stores the routing information in FTAB. FTAB formats comprise MACsrc, MACdest, IPsrc, IPdest, ACTION, and CNT which is used to route packets in the network from source to destination.
Subsequent to the obtaining of the first data, obtaining (from MME 17) an input (MME 17 informs control device 14 of the states of UEs, such as when state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B) that identifies a modification to be made to a value of a parameter (IP address of BS that UE11 is attached to) of a communication device (switch 16A-16C or router 15) of the communication network form a first value (UE11 is attached to BS 13A, which is an IP address of BS 13A) to a second value (UE11 is attached to BS 13B, which is an IP address of BS 13B). Sections 0140-0142, 0168, 0186, 0187, 0196, and 0206-0208 disclose an example: when the state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B, the routing information for packets stored in FTABs changes accordingly. Since the state of UE 11 changes to be connected to different BSs, data must be filtered differently through the network and FTABs are updated accordingly.
… the communication device to modify the value of the parameter from the first value to the second value. Sections 0140-0142: MME 17 informs control device 14 that UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B. Using the OpenFlow protocol, control device 14 modifies the entry in FTAB15 of switch 15, the entry in FTAB16 of router 16A, and the entry in FTAB16 of router 16B to change that packets for UE11 should be routed to BS 13B instead of BS 13A.
Modifying the first data to incorporate at least the modification of the value of the parameter, resulting in second data (update FTABs to indicate changes in the state of UE11; wherein only the portion of the network that was affected by the change in the state of UE11 is updated). Topology information is in database 18 of control device 14. The topology represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UEs 11. Sections 0140-0142: when the state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B, control device 14 updates the corresponding topology information in the database 18 to reflect this change, wherein the portion of the network affected by the change are UE11, BS 13A, BS 13B, switch 16A, switch 16B, and router 15.
Saving the data to the data storage device. The topology in database 18 represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UEs 11. The system updates database 18 to indicate changes in the state of UE11, wherein only the portion of the network that was affected by the change in the state of UE 11 is updated. Control device 14 has an updating module 14C that receives updated topology information and then stores the updated topology information into database 18. Refer to Sections 0006-0028 and 0102-0213.
Shanmugalingam et al do not disclose … obtaining, from a data storage device, first data representative of a first model representative of a portion of a communication network responsive to a search query …
Cooppan et al disclose in Sections 0063-0067 wherein UE requests a network model from a server, and then the server sends to UE a model of the network devices. UE can request a network model of portion of the network, such as the model for any network-connected devices 130. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … obtaining, from a data storage device, first data representative of a first model representative of a portion of a communication network responsive to a search query … One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to request updated network model to facilitate data communication for UE.
Shanmugalingam et al and Cooppan et al do not disclose … issuing a command to the communication device to modify the value of the parameter from the first value to the second value …
Kakande et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0032 and 0049-0055 wherein a network comprises a network controller and switches, each including a forwarding table, to indicate paths among the switches, and each switch is identified by an IP address. If the network controller detects path changes in the network, the network controller sends a command to the switches to update or change their forwarding tables. Refer to Sections 0016-0086. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … issuing a command to the communication device to modify the value of the parameter from the first value to the second value … One would have been motivated to do so so that a network controller can command a switches to modify their routing tables so that packets will be forwarded correctly.
Referring to claim 16, Shanmugalingam et al disclose in Figures 1-8 a method (performed by control device 14), comprising:
Obtaining, by a processing system including a processor (Figure 5A: processor 21 of control device 14), first data (topology represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UE11) representative of a first model (first model before state of UE 11 changes, such as when state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B) of an element (UE11) of a communication network (Figure 4: portion of LTE/EPC core network 10 where UE11 changes state, such as when state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B). Topology information is in database 18 of control device 14. The topology represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UE11. So, topology information for FTABs is obtained from database 18. Router 15 has a flow table FTAB15 and each switch 16A-16C has a respective FTAB16. Control device 14 determines the routing information for packets and stores the routing information in FTAB. FTAB formats comprise MACsrc, MACdest, IPsrc, IPdest, ACTION, and CNT which is used to route packets in the network from source to destination.
Subsequently, obtaining (from MME 17), by the processing system, an input (MME 17 informs control device 14 of the states of UEs, such as when state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B) that identifies a modification to be made to a value of a parameter (IP address of BS that UE11 is attached to) of a communication device (switch 16A-16C or router 15) of the communication network form a first value (UE11 is attached to BS 13A, which is an IP address of BS 13A) to a second value (UE11 is attached to BS 13B, which is an IP address of BS 13B) … Sections 0140-0142, 0168, 0186, 0187, 0196, and 0206-0208 disclose an example: when the state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B, the routing information for packets stored in FTABs changes accordingly. Since the state of UE 11 changes to be connected to different BSs, data must be filtered differently through the network and FTABs are updated accordingly.
… modify the value of the parameter from the first value to the second value. Sections 0140-0142: MME 17 informs control device 14 that UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B. Using the OpenFlow protocol, control device 14 modifies the entry in FTAB15 of switch 15, the entry in FTAB16 of router 16A, and the entry in FTAB16 of router 16B to change that packets for UE11 should be routed to BS 13B instead of BS 13A.
Modifying, by the processing system, the first data to incorporate at least the modification of the value of the parameter, resulting in second data (update FTABs to indicate changes in the state of UE11; wherein only the portion of the network that was affected by the change in the state of UE11 is updated). Topology information is in database 18 of control device 14. The topology represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UEs 11. Sections 0140-0142: when the state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B, control device 14 updates the corresponding topology information in the database 18 to reflect this change, wherein the portion of the network affected by the change are UE11, BS 13A, BS 13B, switch 16A, switch 16B, and router 15.
Saving the data to a data storage device (database 18). The topology in database 18 represents the connections that exist between router 15, switches 16A-16C, BSs 13, and UEs 11. The system updates database 18 to indicate changes in the state of UE11, wherein only the portion of the network that was affected by the change in the state of UE 11 is updated. Control device 14 has an updating module 14C that receives updated topology information and then stores the updated topology information into database 18. Refer to Sections 0006-0028 and 0102-0213.
Shanmugalingam et al do not disclose … subsequently, obtaining, by the processing system, an input that identifies a modification to be made to a value of a parameter of a communication device of the communication network form a first value to a second value, wherein the obtaining the input comprises obtaining the input at a user interface …
Cooppan et al disclose in Sections 0063-0067 wherein UE requests a network model from a server at a user interface, and then the server sends to UE a model of the network devices. UE can request a network model of portion of the network, such as the model for any network-connected devices 130. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … subsequently, obtaining, by the processing system, an input that identifies a modification to be made to a value of a parameter of a communication device of the communication network form a first value to a second value, wherein the obtaining the input comprises obtaining the input at a user interface … One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to request updated network model at a user interface to facilitate data communication for UE.
Shanmugalingam et al and Cooppan et al do not disclose … issuing a command, by the processing system, to the communication device, the command operative to modify the value of the parameter from the first value to the second value …
Kakande et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0032 and 0049-0055 wherein a network comprises a network controller and switches, each including a forwarding table, to indicate paths among the switches, and each switch is identified by an IP address. If the network controller detects path changes in the network, the network controller sends a command to the switches to update or change their forwarding tables. Refer to Sections 0016-0086. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … issuing a command, by the processing system, to the communication device, the command operative to modify the value of the parameter from the first value to the second value … One would have been motivated to do so so that a network controller can command a switches to modify their routing tables so that packets will be forwarded correctly.
Claims 2, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160174131 Shanmugalingam et al in view of U.S Publication No. 20190312945 to Cooppan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20170099532 to Kakande et al, and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 5872783 to Chin.
Referring to claim 2, Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, and Kakande et al do not disclose subsequent to the obtaining of the first data, presenting a rendering of the first model in accordance with the first data, wherein the obtaining of the input occurs subsequent to the presenting of the rendering.
Chin discloses in Column 1 lines 13-48 wherein forwarding decisions pertaining to output ports of a LAN switch selected to receive an input packet are rendered in accordance with routing information contained in a forwarding table of the switch; the switch uses the 48-bit destination address of the packet to search for an appropriate entry of the table specifying the selected output ports for receiving the packet (claimed “subsequent to the obtaining of the first data, presenting a rendering of the first model in accordance with the first data”). So, forwarding/routing information must be rendered by a switch to determine routes in the network. Although Chin does not disclose the claimed “the obtaining of the input occurs subsequent to the presenting of the rendering”, the routing information must be rendered so that packets can be routed through the network before a model of a portion of the network, as disclosed by Shanmugalingam et al, can be obtained. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include subsequent to the obtaining of the first data, presenting a rendering of the first model in accordance with the first data, wherein the obtaining of the input occurs subsequent to the presenting of the rendering. One would have been motivated to do so to render the routing information for use before processing.
Referring to claim 17, Shanmugalingam et al and Kakande et al do not disclose presenting, by the processing system, a rendering of the first model in accordance with the first data, wherein the presenting the rendering of the first model comprises rendering the first model …
Chin discloses in Column 1 lines 13-48 wherein forwarding decisions pertaining to output ports of a LAN switch selected to receive an input packet are rendered in accordance with routing information contained in a forwarding table of the switch; the switch uses the 48-bit destination address of the packet to search for an appropriate entry of the table specifying the selected output ports for receiving the packet (claimed “presenting, by the processing system, a rendering of the first model in accordance with the first data, wherein the presenting the rendering of the first model comprises rendering the first model …”). So, forwarding/routing information must be rendered by a switch to determine routes in the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include presenting, by the processing system, a rendering of the first model in accordance with the first data, wherein the presenting the rendering of the first model comprises rendering the first model … One would have been motivated to do so to render the routing information for use before processing.
Shanmugalingam et al, Kakande et al, and Chin et al do not disclose … wherein the presenting the rendering of the first model comprises rendering the first model at the user interface.
Cooppan et al disclose in Sections 0063-0067 wherein UE requests a network model from a server at a user interface, and then the server sends to UE a model of the network devices. UE can request a network model of portion of the network, such as the model for any network-connected devices 130, and the network model is presented at the user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the presenting the rendering of the first model comprises rendering the first model at the user interface. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to view the network model at the user interface.
Referring to claim 22, Shanmugalingam et al and Kakande et al do not disclose presenting … a rendering of the first model in accordance with the first data.
Chin discloses in Column 1 lines 13-48 wherein forwarding decisions pertaining to output ports of a LAN switch selected to receive an input packet are rendered in accordance with routing information contained in a forwarding table of the switch; the switch uses the 48-bit destination address of the packet to search for an appropriate entry of the table specifying the selected output ports for receiving the packet. So, forwarding/routing information must be rendered by a switch to determine routes in the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include presenting … a rendering of the first model in accordance with the first data. One would have been motivated to do so to render the routing information for use before processing.
Shanmugalingam et al, Kakande et al, and Chin et al do not disclose presenting, at a user interface, a rendering of the first model in accordance with the first data.
Cooppan et al disclose in Sections 0063-0067 wherein UE requests a network model from a server at a user interface, and then the server sends to UE a model of the network devices. UE can request a network model of portion of the network, such as the model for any network-connected devices 130, and the network model is presented at the user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include presenting, at a user interface, a rendering of the first model in accordance with the first data. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to view the network model at the user interface.
Claims 3 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160174131 Shanmugalingam et al in view of U.S Publication No. 20190312945 to Cooppan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170099532 to Kakande et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20070036076 to Boggs et al.
Referring to claim 3, Shanmugalingam et al disclose in Figures 1-8 modifying the first data based on an addition of a second communication device to the communication network, a removal of a third communication device from the communication network (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or a combination thereof (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0140-0142, 0168, 0186, 0187, 0196, and 0206-0208 disclose an example: when UE11 is registered to BS 13A (claimed “addition of a second communication device to the communication network”) the routing information for packets stored in FTABs changes accordingly to reflect that packets for UE11 will be forwarded to BS 13A, since UE11 is added to the network to BS 13A. Refer to Sections 0006-0028 and 0102-0213.
Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, and Kakande et al do not disclose modifying the first data based on an addition of a second communication device to the communication network, a removal of a third communication device from the communication network, or a combination thereof.
Boggs et al disclose in Section 0010 wherein a network model is updated whenever there is an addition or removal of a network element. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include modifying the first data based on an addition of a second communication device to the communication network, a removal of a third communication device from the communication network, or a combination thereof. One would have been motivated to do so to keep the network updated with any additions or removals of devices.
Referring to claim 25, Shanmugalingam et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein the modification associated with the communication network comprises adding a communication device to the communication network, removing a communication device from the communication network (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or a combination thereof (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0140-0142, 0168, 0186, 0187, 0196, and 0206-0208 disclose an example: when UE11 is registered to BS 13A (claimed “adding communication device to the communication network”) the routing information for packets stored in FTABs changes accordingly to reflect that packets for UE11 will be forwarded to BS 13A, since UE11 is added to the network to BS 13A. Refer to Sections 0006-0028 and 0102-0213.
Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, and Kakande et al do not disclose wherein the modification associated with the communication network comprises adding a communication device to the communication network, removing a communication device from the communication network, or a combination thereof.
Boggs et al disclose in Section 0010 wherein a network model is updated whenever there is an addition or removal of a network element. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the modification associated with the communication network comprises adding a communication device to the communication network, removing a communication device from the communication network, or a combination thereof. One would have been motivated to do so to keep the network updated with any additions or removals of devices.
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160174131 Shanmugalingam et al in view of U.S Publication No. 20190312945 to Cooppan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170099532 to Kakande et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20070027937 to McGrattan et al.
Referring to claim 4, Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, and Kakande et al do not disclose wherein first metadata is associated with the first data in the data storage device, and wherein the operations further comprise: saving second metadata associated with the second data to the data storage device, wherein the first metadata includes a first timestamp and the second metadata includes a second timestamp.
McGrattan et al disclose in Section 0058 wherein a database stores metadata associated with each data block of a plurality of data blocks (claimed “first data” and “second data”), wherein the metadata can include a timestamp for each data block (claimed “first timestamp” and “second timestamp”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein first metadata is associated with the first data in the data storage device, and wherein the operations further comprise: saving second metadata associated with the second data to the data storage device, wherein the first metadata includes a first timestamp and the second metadata includes a second timestamp. One would have been motivated to do so to store metadata and corresponding timestamps to facilitate data communication.
Referring to claim 18, Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, and Kakande et al do not disclose associating, by the processing system, first metadata is associated with the first data in the data storage device; saving, by the processing system, second metadata associated with the second data to the data storage device, wherein the first metadata includes a first timestamp and the second metadata includes a second timestamp.
McGrattan et al disclose in Section 0058 wherein a database stores metadata associated with each data block of a plurality of data blocks (claimed “first data” and “second data”), wherein the metadata can include a timestamp for each data block (claimed “first timestamp” and “second timestamp”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include associating, by the processing system, first metadata is associated with the first data in the data storage device; saving, by the processing system, second metadata associated with the second data to the data storage device, wherein the first metadata includes a first timestamp and the second metadata includes a second timestamp. One would have been motivated to do so to store metadata and corresponding timestamps to facilitate data communication.
Claims 5 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160174131 Shanmugalingam et al in view of U.S Publication No. 20190312945 to Cooppan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170099532 to Kakande et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20190199597 to Valisammagari et al.
Referring to claim 5, Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, and Kakande et al do not disclose wherein the obtaining first data representative of a first model of a portion of a communication network comprises: obtaining data corresponding to a selectable region, wherein the selectable region is associated with one or more PNFs.
Valisammagari et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0018, 0027, 0049, 0043, 0045, 0053, and 0058 wherein a graphical user interface allows a user to design network topology, interconnect network elements, and create network services in a model, wherein the network topology includes network elements such as VNFs and PNFs. The user can select a portion of the network topology with a PNF in order to modify or delete the PNF. Refer to Sections 0016-0095. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the obtaining first data representative of a first model of a portion of a communication network comprises: obtaining data corresponding to a selectable region, wherein the selectable region is associated with one or more PNFs. One would have been motivated to do so so that a user can determine a portion of the network with a PNF, thereby allowing the user to design network topology.
Referring to claim 26, Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, and Kakande et al do not disclose wherein the first model represents a selectable region associated with one or more PNFs.
Valisammagari et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0018, 0027, 0049, 0043, 0045, 0053, and 0058 wherein a graphical user interface allows a user to design network topology, interconnect network elements, and create network services in a model, wherein the network topology includes network elements such as VNFs and PNFs. The user can select a portion of the network topology with a PNF in order to modify or delete the PNF. Refer to Sections 0016-0095. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first model represents a selectable region associated with one or more PNFs. One would have been motivated to do so so that a user can determine a portion of the network with a PNF to modify or delete the PNF, thereby allowing the user to design network topology.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160174131 Shanmugalingam et al in view of U.S Publication No. 20190312945 to Cooppan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170099532 to Kakande et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190199597 to Valisammagari et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230031777 to IJntema et al.
Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, and Kakande et al do not disclose wherein the obtaining data corresponding to a selectable region comprises: obtaining data corresponding to a selectable region associated with a specific entity …
Valisammagari et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0018, 0027, 0049, 0043, 0045, 0053, and 0058 wherein a graphical user interface allows a user to design network topology, interconnect network elements, and create network services in a model, wherein the network topology includes network elements such as VNFs and PNFs (claimed “specific entity”). The user can select a portion of the network topology with a PNF in order to modify or delete the PNF. Refer to Sections 0016-0095. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the obtaining data corresponding to a selectable region comprises: obtaining data corresponding to a selectable region associated with a specific entity … One would have been motivated to do so so that a user can determine a portion of the network with a PNF to modify or delete the PNF, thereby allowing the user to design network topology.
Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, Kakande et al, and Valisammagari et al do not disclose wherein the obtaining data corresponding to a selectable region comprises: obtaining data corresponding to a selectable region associated with a specific entity that performs a specific networking function.
IJntema et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0007, 0044, and 0125-0138 wherein a PNF performs specific networking functions, such as routing or switching. Refer to Sections 0123-0158. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the obtaining data corresponding to a selectable region comprises: obtaining data corresponding to a selectable region associated with a specific entity that performs a specific networking function. One would have been motivated to do so since a PNF conventionally performs a specific networking function.
Claims 7, 8, 19, 20, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160174131 Shanmugalingam et al in view of U.S Publication No. 20190312945 to Cooppan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170099532 to Kakande et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170140007 to Agarwal et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20050120032 to Liebich.
Referring to claim 7, Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, and Kakande et al do not disclose wherein the operations further comprise: receiving an input search query, the input search query specifying one or more search parameters; searching … the first data, in the data storage device according to the input search query; and retrieving one or more models of interest based on a match with the input search query.
Agarwal et al disclose in Figures 1-14 and Sections 0121-0122 wherein there a plurality of network plan models. A user inputs a search query in a GUI specifying search parameters, such as measures and dimensions of network plan models, and then search results of the network plan models that match the search parameters are presented to the user. Refer to Sections 0022-0142. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the operations further comprise: receiving an input search query, the input search query specifying one or more search parameters; searching … the first data, in the data storage device according to the input search query; and retrieving one or more models of interest based on a match with the input search query. One would have been motivated to do so to allow a user to search metadata according to a search query, and retrieve corresponding models, thereby allowing the user to retrieve preferred models.
Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, Kakande et al, and Agarwal et al do not disclose … searching metadata, including first metadata associated with the first data, in the data storage device according to the input search query …
Liebich et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0058-0075 wherein a user can define a network model based on metadata, such as defining element types and defining a hierarchy between object types. Refer to Sections 0036-0098. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … searching metadata, including first metadata associated with the first data, in the data storage device according to the input search query … One would have been motivated to do so to allow the user to search network models according to metadata, such as.
Referring to claim 8, Shanmugalingam et al, Cooppan et al, Kakande et al, and Liebich do not disclose wherein the operations further comprise: presenting the first model according to one or more formats, including one or more of a visual presentation and an audio presentation.
Agarwal et al disclose in Figures 1-14 and Sections 0029, 0037, 0041, 0042, 0080, 0106-0108 and 0118-0121 wherein there a plurality of network plan models that can be presented to the user using a visual representation via a GUI . Refer to Sections 0022-0142. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the operations further comprise: presenting the first model according to one or more formats, including one or more of a visual presentation and an audio presentation (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form). One would have been motivated to do so so that a user can view the network model in a visual presentation to allow for modifications.
Referring to claim 19, refer to the rejection of claim 7.
Referring to claim 20, refer to the rejection of claim 8.
Referring to claim 27, refer to the rejection of claim 7.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160174131 Shanmugalingam et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170099532 to Kakande et al.
Shanmugalingam et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein the operation associated with the communication network comprises … the communication device (switch 16A-16C or router 15) to change the value of the parameter (IP address of BS that UE11 is attached to) from the first
value (UE11 is attached to BS 13A, which is an IP address of BS 13A) to the second value (UE11 is attached to BS 13B, which is an IP address of BS 13B). Sections 0140-0142, 0168, 0186, 0187, 0196, and 0206-0208 disclose an example: when the state of UE11 changes from being attached to BS 13A to being attached to BS 13B, the routing information for packets stored in FTABs changes to reflect that the IP address of BS that UE11 is attached to is changed from BS 13A to BS 13B. Refer to Sections 0006-0028 and 0102-0213.
Shanmugalingam et al do not disclose wherein the operation associated with the communication network comprises issuing a command to the communication device to change the value of the parameter from the first value to the second value.
Kakande et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0032 and 0049-0055 wherein a network comprises a network controller and switches, each including a forwarding table, to indicate paths among the switches, and each switch is identified by an IP address. If the network controller detects path changes in the network, the network controller sends a command to the switches to update or change their forwarding tables. Refer to Sections 0016-0086. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the operation associated with the communication network comprises issuing a command to the communication device to change the value of the parameter from the first value to the second value. One would have been motivated to do so so that a network controller can command a switches to modify their routing tables so that packets will be forwarded correctly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2017/0235785 to Feltham et al disclose in Figures 1-6 wherein a network model is established comprising connections between routers. Refer to Sections 0033-0092.
U.S. Publication No. 20180123957 to Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0057-0075 wherein when a node is added or deleted to the network, the node updates a routing table of the parent node with the node-added or node-deleted message. Refer to Sections 0019-0078.
U.S. Publication No. 20190342390 to Iancu et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0097-0101 wherein a server updates the rows/records in a routing table according to relevant changes, such as adding or removing nodes. Refer to Sections 0023-0153.
U.S. Publication No. 20010033646 to Porter et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0004-00046 wherein a routing table includes nodes and trunks to destination nodes; the routing table is updated when nodes are added or deleted to the network. Refer to Sections 0023-0040.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
September 23, 2026