Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by AMICK (US Pub # 2005/0188790).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Amick discloses an X-ray shielding material and method of making, comprising sintering a body containing a metal binder and a metal powder of metal having an atomic number that is equal to or larger than an atomic number of the metal binder (W—Cu—Ni alloy comprises a metal binder of copper and nickel, and metal powder of Tungsten; [0003]). It is noted that the intended use of the apparatus (x-ray shielding) is not limiting of the structure of the claim. See MPEP 2111.02(II) for details.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Amick discloses wherein the metal binder is formed of at least one or more kinds of metal having an atomic number of 13 or larger, and the metal powder is formed of at least one or more kinds of metal having an atomic number of 56 or larger (W—Cu—Ni alloy; [0003]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Amick discloses the metal binder configured by any one of iron, copper, and nickel, and the metal powder is configured by tungsten (W—Cu—Ni alloy; [0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZOU et al. (US Pub # 20090185660) in view of AMICK (US Pub # 2005/0188790).
Regarding claims 4-6, ZOU discloses an X-ray inspection apparatus (FIG. 10) comprising: an X-ray generator that generates X-rays (source 214); an X-ray detector that detects the X-rays (detector assembly; [0049]); and a shielding member that shields the X-rays (FIG 2 shows anode shield 40 surrounding the anode source 38; [0034-0038]). ZOU does not disclose the X-ray shielding material according to Claims 1-3 is used as the shielding member. In the same field of x-ray shielding, AMICK discloses an x-ray shielding comprising the shielding material according to claims 1-3 ([0003]), with the benefit of being lighter than tungsten. In light of the teachings of AMICK, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine with the teachings of ZOU.
Regarding claim 7, ZOU discloses wherein a box that accommodates the X-ray generator and/or a housing in which the box is accommodated is formed by the shielding member (FIG 2).
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARGROVE (US Pub # 20080149864) in view of AMICK (US Pub # 2005/0188790).
Regarding claim 4, HARGROVE discloses an X-ray inspection apparatus (FIG. 1) comprising: an X-ray generator that generates X-rays (x-ray source implicit from x-ray scanner 103); an X-ray detector that detects the X-rays (detectors implicit from x-ray scanner 103; [0005-0006]); and a shielding member that shields the X-rays (strip curtains 202-205; FIG 2; [0030]). HARGROVE discloses the curtains comprising tungsten, but does not disclose the X-ray shielding material according to Claim 4 is used as the shielding member. In the same field of x-ray shielding, AMICK discloses an x-ray shielding comprising the shielding material according to claim 4 ([0003]), with the benefit of being lighter than tungsten. In light of the teachings of AMICK, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine with the teachings of ZOU.
Regarding claim 8, HARGROVE discloses wherein the shielding member is disposed in a curtain shape on a transport path on which an inspection object is transported from a transport inlet to a transport outlet inside the apparatus (FIG 2).
Conclusion
CASEY BRYANT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/CASEY BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884