DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 12-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabet et al (US 20150156693, hereinafter referred to as Tabet) in view of Pan et al (US 20210267015, hereinafter referred to as Pan) and further in view of Park et al (US 20190261425, hereinafter referred to as Park).
Re claim 1, Tabet teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE 106) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 7, Abstract), the method comprising:
(i) identifying that a plurality of serving cells is configured (configured primary cell and secondary cell) (Fig 7, Abstract, Par 0060, Par 0062, Par 0068, Par 0079-0082, Par 0086, Par 0090-0091);
(ii) receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (providing cross-carrier scheduling for D2D communication over PDCCH of the primary cell) on an active downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) of a first serving cell (primary cell channel used to transmit PDCCH, Fig. 6-7), wherein the PDCCH is addressed to a D2D specific (i.e., sidelink specific) RNTI Tabet does not disclose to address the PDCCH to a sidelink (SL) vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-V-RNTI) or SL-semi persistent scheduling- vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-SPS-V-RNTI));
Tabet discloses to address the PDCCH to a D2D specific RNTI but does not disclose to (iii) address the PDCCH to a sidelink (SL) vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-V-RNTI) or SL-semi persistent scheduling- vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-SPS-V-RNTI). Tabet also does not disclose to (iv) start a BWP inactivity timer associated with an active DL BWP of the second serving cell.
Re component (iii), Pan teaches to
(iii) address the PDCCH to a sidelink (SL) vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-V-RNTI) or SL-semi persistent scheduling- vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-SPS-V-RNTI) (Par 0075-0077, Par 0084-0088, Par 0134-0135, Claims 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabet by including the step to (iii) address the PDCCH to a sidelink (SL) vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-V-RNTI) or SL-semi persistent scheduling- vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-SPS-V-RNTI), as taught by Pan for the purpose of specifying sidelink resources allocated for V2X communication, as taught by Pan (Par 0134-0135).
Re component (iv), Park teaches to
(iv) start a BWP inactivity timer associated with an active DL BWP of the second serving cell (starting inactivity timer for an active DL BWP other than the default DL BWP) (Par 0266-0268, Par 0321-0326, Par 0332, Par 0325-0329, Par 0340-0341).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabet by including the step to (iv) start a BWP inactivity timer associated with an active DL BWP of the second serving cell, as taught by Park for the purpose of improving radio resource configuration to minimize interference on initial bandwidth parts, as taught by Park (Par 0305-0306).
Claim 7 recites a user equipment performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect claim 1. Tabet further teaches that the UE comprises at least one transceiver (radio, antenna); and at least one processor (processor) (Fig. 3, Par 0044).
Re claims 2, 8, 14, Tabet does not explicitly disclose that in case that a default DL BWP is configured and the active DL BWP of the second serving cell is not the default DL BWP, the BWP inactivity timer starts, or, in case that the default DL BWP is not configured and the active DL BWP of the second serving cell is not an initial DL BWP, the BWP inactivity timer starts.
Park teaches that in case that a default DL BWP is configured and the active DL BWP of the second serving cell is not the default DL BWP, the BWP inactivity timer starts (starting inactivity timer for an active DL BWP other than the default DL BWP) (Par 0266-0268, Par 0321-0326, Par 0332, Par 0325-0329, Par 0340-0341), or, in case that the default DL BWP is not configured and the active DL BWP of the second serving cell is not an initial DL BWP, the BWP inactivity timer starts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabet by including the step that in case that a default DL BWP is configured and the active DL BWP of the second serving cell is not the default DL BWP, the BWP inactivity timer starts, or, in case that the default DL BWP is not configured and the active DL BWP of the second serving cell is not an initial DL BWP, the BWP inactivity timer starts, as taught by Park for the purpose of improving radio resource configuration to minimize interference on initial bandwidth parts, as taught by Park (Par 0305-0306).
Re claims 5, 12, 17, 19, Tabet teaches that the second serving cell is the first serving cell (Primary cell) (Fig. 5-7, Abstract, Par 0028, Par 0060-0062, Par 0064, Par 0068-0070).
Re claim 13, Tabet teaches a method performed by a base station (UE) (BS 102) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 7, Abstract), the method comprising:
(i)configuring, to a user equipment (UE), a plurality of serving cells (configured primary cell and secondary cell) (Fig 7, Abstract, Par 0060, Par 0062, Par 0068, Par 0079-0082, Par 0086, Par 0090-0091);
(ii) transmitting, to the UE, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (providing cross-carrier scheduling for D2D communication over PDCCH of the primary cell) on an active downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) of a first serving cell (primary cell channel used to transmit PDCCH, Fig. 6-7), wherein the PDCCH is addressed to a D2D specific (i.e., sidelink specific) RNTI Tabet does not disclose to address the PDCCH to a sidelink (SL) vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-V-RNTI) or SL-semi persistent scheduling- vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-SPS-V-RNTI));
Tabet discloses to address the PDCCH to a D2D specific RNTI but does not disclose to (iii) address the PDCCH to a sidelink (SL) vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-V-RNTI) or SL-semi persistent scheduling- vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-SPS-V-RNTI). Tabet also does not disclose to (iv) start a BWP inactivity timer associated with an active DL BWP of the second serving cell.
Re component (iii), Pan teaches to
(iii) address the PDCCH to a sidelink (SL) vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-V-RNTI) or SL-semi persistent scheduling- vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-SPS-V-RNTI) (Par 0075-0077, Par 0084-0088, Par 0134-0135, Claims 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabet by including the step to (iii) address the PDCCH to a sidelink (SL) vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-V-RNTI) or SL-semi persistent scheduling- vehicle-radio network temporary identifier (SL-SPS-V-RNTI), as taught by Pan for the purpose of specifying sidelink resources allocated for V2X communication, as taught by Pan (Par 0134-0135).
Re component (iv), Park teaches to
(iv) start a BWP inactivity timer associated with an active DL BWP of the second serving cell (starting inactivity timer for an active DL BWP other than the default DL BWP) (Par 0266-0268, Par 0321-0326, Par 0332, Par 0325-0329, Par 0340-0341).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabet by including the step to (iv) start a BWP inactivity timer associated with an active DL BWP of the second serving cell, as taught by Park for the purpose of improving radio resource configuration to minimize interference on initial bandwidth parts, as taught by Park (Par 0305-0306).
Claim 18 recites a base station performing the steps recited in claim 13 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect claim 13. Tabet further teaches that the base station comprises at least one transceiver (radio, antenna); and at least one processor (processor) (Fig. 4, Par 0049-0052).
4. Claims 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabet, Pan, and Park as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Cirik et al (US 20190306842, hereinafter referred to as Cirik).
Re claims 3, 9, 15, Tabet does not explicitly disclose to identify whether there is ongoing random access procedure associated with the second serving cell, wherein the BWP inactivity timer starts in case that there is no ongoing random access procedure associated with the second serving cell.
Cirik teaches to identify whether there is ongoing random access procedure associated with the second serving cell (identifying the completion of a random access procedure by receiving DCI), wherein the BWP inactivity timer starts in case that there is no ongoing random access procedure associated with the second serving cell (BWP inactivity timer is started after the completion of a random access procedure (i.e., receiving a DCI) (Fig. 23, Fig. 26, Par 0004, Par 0260, Par 0281-0285, Par 0294-0295, Par 0314-0316, Par 0360).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabet by including the step to identify whether there is ongoing random access procedure associated with the second serving cell, wherein the BWP inactivity timer starts in case that there is no ongoing random access procedure associated with the second serving cell, as taught by Cirik for the purpose of “reducing and/or preventing timing misalignment and/or BWP misalignment between the base station and the wireless device” to improve latency, resource utilization and power consumption, as taught by Cirik (Par 0263).
5. Claims 4, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabet, Pan, and Park as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Thangarasa et al (US 20160234718, hereinafter referred to as Thangarasa).
Re claims 4, 10, 16, Tabet does not explicitly disclose that the second serving cell is a time division duplex (TDD) cell.
Thangarasa teaches that the second serving cell is a time division duplex (TDD) cell (Par 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabet by including the step that the second serving cell is a time division duplex (TDD) cell, as taught by Thangarasa for the purpose of “balancing device-to-device, D2D, traffic in a communications network”, as taught by Thangarasa (Par 0001).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473