Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-12, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eriksson (US 20170269787 A1, hereinafter “Eriksson”).
Regarding claim 1, Eriksson clearly discloses a light source control apparatus (Fig. 7), comprising:
an eye movement tracking light source, a proximity detection light source and a control circuit, the control circuit being respectively connected to the eye movement tracking light source and the proximity detection light source, wherein the control circuit is configured to control the eye movement tracking light source and the proximity detection light source to be alternately turned on. (“eye movement tracking light source” → Eye tracker VCSEL array 120 (IR/NIR emitters) used to illuminate the user’s eyes ([0062] (“Eye-tracker 502 includes an array 120 of VCSELs… project infra-red… towards the user…”); also [0037]; “proximity detection light source” → Proximity sensor emitters 100 (VCSELs in some embodiments) emitting for gesture/touch detection ([0067] (“emitters 100 … of proximity sensor 501 are activated…”); [0070] (“emitters 100 … provided for proximity sensor 501… In some embodiments, emitters 100 are VCSELs.”); [0038]; “control circuit … respectively connected to [both]” → Shared controller 701 synchronously activates the eye-tracker emitters/cameras and proximity emitters/detectors ([0070] (“…synchronously activated by a single, shared controller 701.”; “configured to … be alternately turned on” → Explicit non-overlap requirement: eye-tracker VCSELs are not activated while proximity emitters are activated (time intervals kept separate); [0071] (“important that eye-tracker VCSELs 120 are not activated while proximity sensor emitters 100 are activated…”); FIG. 4 described at [0071]).
Regarding claim 2, Eriksson clearly discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is configured to: control the eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a first predetermined time period, and then control the proximity detection light source to be turned off after being turned on for a second predetermined time period; or control the proximity detection light source to be turned off after being turned on for a second predetermined time period, and then control the eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a first predetermined time period (Predetermined time intervals for eye-tracker → Eye tracker capture interval 930 (illumination + capture) and readout/process 932 ([0071] (“eye-tracker 502 takes time interval 930 to capture images … and additional time interval 932 to read out … and process…”; Predetermined time interval for proximity → Proximity detection cycle interval 931 (activate emitters, detect at receivers, process) ([0071] (“proximity sensor 501 takes a time interval 931 to complete a detection cycle…”; Sequential ordering (one then the other) → [0071] says intervals 930 and 931 are “kept separate” to avoid cross-detection; FIG. 4 shows time-multiplexing; [0071], FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Eriksson discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the eye movement tracking light source comprises: a first eye movement tracking light source and a second eye movement tracking light source; and the control circuit is specifically configured to: control the first eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a first predetermined time period, and then control the proximity detection light source to be turned off after being turned on for a second predetermined time period, and then control the second eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a third predetermined time period (Eye tracker uses multiple VCSELs → array 120 includes “plurality” of VCSELs; can be activated individually or in groups; [0037] (“plurality of first VCSELs”); [0065]-[0066] (“VCSELs activated individually… or multiple VCSELs activated at once…”; E1 then proximity then E2 → Eriksson supports time-multiplexed activation between eye-tracker and proximity sensor. It also supports sequential selection of different VCSELs over iterations; “iteratively repeat… selectively activating”; [0037] (iterative identify + selectively activate); [0065]-[0066]; [0071] (non-overlap)).
Regarding claim 6, Eriksson discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the eye movement tracking light source is periodically turned on according to a first cycle time (Eye-tracker VCSEL activation occurs in repeated operational cycles (method flow repeats; iterative activate/identify/selectively activate) ([0065]-[0066] (operations 1001–1003 repeat; “iteratively repeat” identify + activate); [0037] (iteratively repeat steps); Eriksson provides discrete time intervals (e.g., 930 for capture) but not a named “cycle time” parameter. Still, the repeated capture/processing loop implies periodic activation)).
Regarding claim 7, Eriksson discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the proximity detection light source is periodically turned on according to a second cycle time, wherein the second cycle time is N times of the first cycle time, where N is a positive integer ([0071]; do not activate simultaneously; separate intervals; FIG. 4 describes time intervals and overlap constraints).
Regarding claim 8, Eriksson discloses the apparatus of any of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is connected to respective electrical elements through an integrated circuit bus (Eriksson discloses connectivity (controller/processor “connected to” sensors; “communication port”; HID output); [0035]-[0036] (processor connected to proximity + eye tracker; communication port); [0060]-[0061] (HID formats); [0070] (shared controller activates).
Regarding claim 9, Eriksson discloses a light source control method comprising: controlling an eye movement tracking light source and a proximity detection light source to be alternately turned on, wherein the method is applied to a control circuit, the control circuit being respectively connected to the eye movement tracking light source and the proximity detection light source ([0065]-[0069] (method flow activating eye-tracker then proximity; decision to combine outputs); [0071] (ensure eye VCSELs not activated while proximity emitters activated; FIG. 4 time-multiplexing)).
Regarding claim 10, Eriksson discloses method of claim 9, further comprising: controlling the eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a first predetermined time period, and then controlling the proximity detection light source to be turned off after being turned on for a second predetermined time period; or controlling the proximity detection light source to be turned off after being turned on for a second predetermined time period, and then controlling the eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a first predetermined time period (Predetermined time intervals for eye-tracker → Eye tracker capture interval 930 (illumination + capture) and readout/process 932 ([0071] (“eye-tracker 502 takes time interval 930 to capture images … and additional time interval 932 to read out … and process…”; Predetermined time interval for proximity → Proximity detection cycle interval 931 (activate emitters, detect at receivers, process) ([0071] (“proximity sensor 501 takes a time interval 931 to complete a detection cycle…”; Sequential ordering (one then the other) → [0071] says intervals 930 and 931 are “kept separate” to avoid cross-detection; FIG. 4 shows time-multiplexing (Support: [0071], FIG. 4)) and (Predetermined time intervals for eye-tracker → Eye tracker capture interval 930 (illumination + capture) and readout/process 932 ([0071] (“eye-tracker 502 takes time interval 930 to capture images … and additional time interval 932 to read out … and process…”; Predetermined time interval for proximity → Proximity detection cycle interval 931 (activate emitters, detect at receivers, process) ([0071] (“proximity sensor 501 takes a time interval 931 to complete a detection cycle…”; Sequential ordering (one then the other) → [0071] says intervals 930 and 931 are “kept separate” to avoid cross-detection; FIG. 4 shows time-multiplexing (Support: [0071], FIG. 4)).
Regarding claim 11, Eriksson discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the eye movement tracking light source comprises a first eye movement tracking light source and a second eye movement tracking light source, and the method further comprises: controlling the first eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a first predetermined time period, and then controlling the proximity detection light source to be turned off after being turned on for a second predetermined time period, and then controlling the second eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a third predetermined time period (Eye tracker uses multiple VCSELs → array 120 includes “plurality” of VCSELs; can be activated individually or in groups; [0037] (“plurality of first VCSELs”); [0065]-[0066] (“VCSELs activated individually… or multiple VCSELs activated at once…”; E1 then proximity then E2 → Eriksson supports time-multiplexed activation between eye-tracker and proximity sensor. It also supports sequential selection of different VCSELs over iterations (“iteratively repeat… selectively activating”; [0037] (iterative identify + selectively activate); [0065]-[0066]; [0071] (non-overlap)).
Regarding claim 12, Eriksson discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the control circuit is connected to a register, and the method further comprises: controlling the eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a first predetermined time period, then controlling the register to start and controlling the proximity detection light source to be turned off after being turned on for a second predetermined time period, wherein the register receives an optical signal fed back by processing the proximity detection light source, and transmits the optical signal to the control circuit for (Predetermined time intervals for eye-tracker → Eye tracker capture interval 930 (illumination + capture) and readout/process 932 ([0071] (“eye-tracker 502 takes time interval 930 to capture images … and additional time interval 932 to read out … and process…”; Predetermined time interval for proximity → Proximity detection cycle interval 931 (activate emitters, detect at receivers, process) ([0071] (“proximity sensor 501 takes a time interval 931 to complete a detection cycle…”; Sequential ordering (one then the other) → [0071] says intervals 930 and 931 are “kept separate” to avoid cross-detection; FIG. 4 shows time-multiplexing (Support: [0071], FIG. 4)).
Regarding claim 14, Eriksson discloses the method of claim 9, wherein controlling the eye movement tracking light source and the proximity detection light source to be alternately turned on comprises: controlling the eye movement tracking light source to be turned on periodically according to a first cycle time, and/or controlling the proximity detection light source to be turned on periodically according to a second cycle time to complete the alternate turning on of the eye movement tracking light source and the proximity detection light source, wherein the second cycle time is N times of the first cycle time, where N is a positive integer (Eye-tracker VCSEL activation occurs in repeated operational cycles (method flow repeats; iterative activate/identify/selectively activate) ([0065]-[0066] (operations 1001–1003 repeat; “iteratively repeat” identify + activate); [0037] (iteratively repeat steps); Eriksson provides discrete time intervals (e.g., 930 for capture) but not a named “cycle time” parameter. Still, the repeated capture/processing loop implies periodic activation)).
Regarding claim 15, Eriksson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions are configured to cause a computer to perform acts comprising: controlling an eye movement tracking light source and a proximity detection light source to be alternately turned on, wherein the acts are applied to a control circuit, the control circuit being respectively connected to the eye movement tracking light source and the proximity detection light source ([0065]-[0069] (method flow activating eye-tracker then proximity; decision to combine outputs); [0071] (ensure eye VCSELs not activated while proximity emitters activated; FIG. 4 time-multiplexing)).
Regarding claim 16, Eriksson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, the acts further comprising: controlling the eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a first predetermined time period, and then controlling the proximity detection light source to be turned off after being turned on for a second predetermined time period; or controlling the proximity detection light source to be turned off after being turned on for a second predetermined time period, and then controlling the eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a first predetermined time period (Predetermined time intervals for eye-tracker → Eye tracker capture interval 930 (illumination + capture) and readout/process 932 ([0071] (“eye-tracker 502 takes time interval 930 to capture images … and additional time interval 932 to read out … and process…”; Predetermined time interval for proximity → Proximity detection cycle interval 931 (activate emitters, detect at receivers, process) ([0071] (“proximity sensor 501 takes a time interval 931 to complete a detection cycle…”; Sequential ordering (one then the other) → [0071] says intervals 930 and 931 are “kept separate” to avoid cross-detection; FIG. 4 shows time-multiplexing (Support: [0071], FIG. 4)).
Regarding claim 17, Eriksson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the eye movement tracking light source comprises: a first eye movement tracking light source and a second eye movement tracking light source, and the acts further comprise: controlling the first eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a first predetermined time period, and then controlling the proximity detection light source to be turned off after being turned on for a second predetermined time period, and then controlling the second eye movement tracking light source to be turned off after being turned on for a third predetermined time period (Eye tracker uses multiple VCSELs → array 120 includes “plurality” of VCSELs; can be activated individually or in groups; [0037] (“plurality of first VCSELs”); [0065]-[0066] (“VCSELs activated individually… or multiple VCSELs activated at once…”; E1 then proximity then E2 → Eriksson supports time-multiplexed activation between eye-tracker and proximity sensor. It also supports sequential selection of different VCSELs over iterations (“iteratively repeat… selectively activating”; [0037] (iterative identify + selectively activate); [0065]-[0066]; [0071] (non-overlap)).
Regarding claim 20, Eriksson discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein controlling the eye movement tracking light source and the proximity detection light source to be alternately turned on comprises: controlling the eye movement tracking light source to be turned on periodically according to a first cycle time, and/or controlling the proximity detection light source to be turned on periodically according to a second cycle time to complete the alternate turning on of the eye movement tracking light source and the proximity detection light source, wherein the second cycle time is N times of the first cycle time, where N is a positive integer (Eye-tracker VCSEL activation occurs in repeated operational cycles (method flow repeats; iterative activate/identify/selectively activate) ([0065]-[0066] (operations 1001–1003 repeat; “iteratively repeat” identify + activate); [0037] (iteratively repeat steps); Eriksson provides discrete time intervals (e.g., 930 for capture) but not a named “cycle time” parameter. Still, the repeated capture/processing loop implies periodic activation)).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4: Eriksson mapping: Optical feedback from prox source → Reflected light from object detected by detectors/photodiodes in proximity sensor. Support: [0059] (reflections detected by light detectors); [0038] (photodiode detectors receive reflected light from second VCSELs). Controller/processor receives detector outputs → Controller 701 (or processor) activates emitters/detectors; processing identifies location/gestures. Support: [0067] (“receivers 200 … activated … process reflections … identify location”); [0070] (controller activates); [0039]-[0040] (processor connected to emitters/detectors, activates detectors synchronously, calculates location). However, Eriksson does not expressly describe a “register” that is started, receives signals, and forwards them as a register to controller. It describes detectors outputting signals and processing/filtering by controller/processor/firmware and/or external host.
Claim 5: Eriksson has noise estimation and filtering in the proximity signal processing pipeline:
Noise parameter and tuning filters (IIR), calibration noise collection, MAD estimation. Support: [0091]-[0107] (noise parameter; IIR filter tuning; noise samples; MAD noise estimate). Filtering / normalization / removing noise disturbances. Support: [0099]-[0100] (“filtered to remove noise disturbances…”); [0106] (noise used to tune IIR filter for noise reduction). But the specific mechanism (“receive noise when emitter OFF” + subtract noise signal from optical signal) is not explicitly described in Eriksson as an ON/OFF paired sampling with subtraction. It’s more “calibrate noise / filter signals / normalize.”
Similarly in claims 13, 18 and 19.
Conclusion
/MONICA C KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844
2/7/2026