DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 10-12, 14, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al, US 2023/0014613 in view of Hao et al, US 2026/0058768 hereafter Hao.
As for claim 1, Je discloses:
A method performed by a first base station in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a measurement report from a terminal; ([0173], The BS receives the measurement report)
transferring, to a second base station, a handover request message (Fig. 6, 624, 626, [0226]-[0228], [0233], The source BS transmits a handover request 626 message of transmitting information required for preparing the handover to the target B) including information for transferring an artificial intelligence (AI) model; ([0292]-[0294], [0297], the request includes information of the neural network model used for identifying the target cell for the AI-based handover. [0356], the handover request may include at least one of neural network structure information (NN index), input information (NN input list), target cell information (target cell ID), and neural network weight information (W index).)
determining a first AI model for transferring the AI model of the terminal ([0357], The BS may reconfigure the neural network model for the AI-based handover on the basis of the neural network-related information (NN/Weights) received from the UE.) and AI information of the terminal previously received from the terminal, ([0228], the previously received handover request may include at least one of neural network structure information (NN index), input information (NN input list), target cell information (target cell ID), and neural network weight information (W index).)
transferring, to the terminal, the determined first AI model and a message for performing handover. ([0289], Providing, to the UE, a neural network model from the configuration information of the AI-based handover parameters.)
Je does not explicitly disclose determining a first AI model for transferring the AI model of the terminal based on a response message for a handover request…the handover request including response information to the information for transferring the AI model received from the second base station.
However, Hao discloses determining a first AI model for transferring the AI model of the terminal based on a response message for a handover request (Hao, Fig. 7, 701, 702, 703, 704, [0067]-[0068], Determining/selecting the ML step 704 based on the response message steps 702/703 for the HO request step 701)…the handover request including response information to the information for transferring the AI model received from the second base station. (Hao, Fig. 7, 701, 702, 703, [0067]-[0068], The Handover Request Acknowledgement 702 includes a model ID list indicating ML models supported by the target base station 100.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Je with determining a first AI model for transferring the AI model of the terminal based on a response message for a handover request…the handover request including response information to the information for transferring the AI model received from the second base station as taught by Hao to provide more efficient selection of ML models. (Hao, [0050])
As for claims 2 and 11,
wherein the AI information of the terminal includes at least one of a name of the AI model of the terminal, a size of the AI model of the terminal, an AI support case of the terminal, a use case requirement for the AI of the terminal, a case requiring update for the AI model of the terminal, or vendor information of the terminal. (Hao, [0044], the base station may provide capability information indicating ML models that are supported by the base station, e.g., in terms of a list of identifiers (IDs) of ML models supported by the base station.)
As for claim 4, Je discloses:
A method performed by a terminal in a communication system, the method comprising:
transferring, to a first base station, a measurement report; ([0173], Transferring, to the BS, a measurement report) and
receiving a first artificial intelligence (AI) model ([0289]-[0290], The UE may acquire a neural network model provided by the BS from the configuration information of the AI-based handover parameters. ) and a message for performing handover from the first base station, ([0295], The UE receives the target cell handover configuration message from the serving BS.)
wherein the first AI model is an AI model determined for transferring an AI model of the terminal, ([0289] The UE may acquire a neural network model provided by the BS from the configuration information of the AI-based handover parameters.) based on AI information of the terminal ([0290], The UE may acquire input values to be input into the acquired neural network model. The input values may be result values measured by the UE).
Je does not explicitly disclose wherein the first AI model is an AI model determined with AI information of the second base station.
However, Hao discloses wherein the first AI model is an AI model determined with AI information of the second base station. (Hao, Fig. 7, 701, 702, 703, 704, [0067]-[0068], The model is a model determined at step 704 with the model ID list from the target base station steps 702/703)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Je with wherein the first AI model is an AI model determined with AI information of the second base station as taught by Hao to provide more efficient selection of ML models. (Hao, [0050])
As for claim 7, Je discloses:
A method performed by a second base station in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first base station, a handover request message (Fig. 6A, 626, [0225]-[0227], receiving, from a first base station, a handover request message 626) including information for determining a first artificial intelligence (AI) model for transferring an AI model of a terminal; ([0292]-[0294], the request includes information of the neural network model used for identifying the target cell for the AI-based handover. [0356], the handover request may include at least one of neural network structure information (NN index), input information (NN input list), target cell information (target cell ID), and neural network weight information (W index).) and
transferring, to the first base station, a response message to a handover request, ([0227], When the preparation for the HO is completed, the target BS transmits handover request 628 including the information required for the connection of the UE to the target BS.)
wherein the first AI model is an AI model determined with AI information of the terminal ([0290], The UE may acquire input values to be input into the acquired neural network model. The input values may be result values measured by the UE).
Je does not explicitly disclose the handover request including response information to information for determining the first AI model for transferring an AI model of the terminal,…wherein the first AI model is an AI model determined with AI information of the second base station…
However, Hao discloses the handover request including response information to information for determining the first AI model for transferring an AI model of the terminal (Hao, Fig. 7, 701, 702, 703, 704, [0067]-[0068], the HO request step 701 having a response message steps 702/703 used from determining/selecting the ML step 704 at the terminal),…wherein the first AI model is an AI model determined with AI information of the second base station. (Hao, Fig. 7, 701, 702, 703, 704, [0067]-[0068], The model is a model determined with the model ID list from the target base station) (Hao, Fig. 7, 701, 702, 703, [0067]-[0068], The Handover Request Acknowledgement 702 includes a model ID list indicating ML models supported by the target base station 100.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Je with the handover request including response information to information for determining the first AI model for transferring an AI model of the terminal,…wherein the first AI model is an AI model determined with AI information of the second base station as taught by Hao to provide more efficient selection of ML models. (Hao, [0050])
As for claim 10, this claim is analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 because the corresponding method claim 1 can be used to practice the apparatus of claim 10.
As for claim 12, Je discloses wherein transfer of the first AI model is scheduled by the first base station, and wherein the information for transferring the AI model is for requesting the AI information of the second base station. ([0288], The UE may receive scheduling information. The UE may acquire structure information and weight information in order to acquire a neural network model for the AI-based handover on the basis of the scheduling information. [0376], the UE may make a request for information such as ScheduleInformation by transmitting a scheduling information request message related to the AI HO to the BS.)
As for claim 14, this claim is analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 because the corresponding method claim 1 can be used to practice the apparatus of claim 14.
As for claim 17, this claim is analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as claim 7 because the corresponding method claim 1 can be used to practice the apparatus of claim 17.
As for claim 18, Je discloses wherein the handover request message further includes the AI information of the terminal and a transmitter indicator for indicating a transmitter of an AI model, ([0292]-[0294], the request includes information of the neural network model used for identifying the target cell for the AI-based handover. [0356], the handover request may include at least one of neural network structure information (NN index), input information (NN input list), target cell information (target cell ID), and neural network weight information (W index).) and wherein the controller controls to: determine the first AI model based on the AI information of the terminal and the AI information of the second base station, ([0292]-[0294], the request includes information of the neural network model used for identifying the target cell for the AI-based handover. [0356], the handover request may include at least one of neural network structure information (NN index), input information (NN input list), target cell information (target cell ID), and neural network weight information (W index).)
Je does not explicitly transfer, to the first base station indicated as a transmitter of the first AI model by the transmitter indicator, the determined first AI model.
However, Hao discloses transfer, to the first base station indicated as a transmitter of the first AI model by the transmitter indicator, the determined first AI model. (Hao, Fig. 7, 701, 702, 703, 704, [0067]-[0068], Transmit at step702, to the source station that initiated by a Handover Request 701, the list of the ML model IDs supported by the target base station used for determination in step 704. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Je with wherein the first AI model is an AI model determined with AI information of the second base station as taught by Hao to provide more efficient selection of ML models. (Hao, [0050])
As for claim 19, Je discloses wherein the handover request message further includes the AI information of the terminal and a transmitter indicator for indicating a transmitter of an AI model, ([0292]-[0294], the request includes information of the neural network model used for identifying the target cell for the AI-based handover. [0356], the handover request may include at least one of neural network structure information (NN index), input information (NN input list), target cell information (target cell ID), and neural network weight information (W index).) and wherein the controller controls to: determine the first AI model based on the AI information of the terminal and the AI information of the second base station, schedule transfer of the first AI model by the second base station indicated as the transmitter of the first AI model, and transfer, to the terminal, the determined first AI model based on the scheduling. ([0288], The UE may receive scheduling information. The UE may acquire structure information and weight information in order to acquire a neural network model for the AI-based handover on the basis of the scheduling information. [0376], the UE may make a request for information such as ScheduleInformation by transmitting a scheduling information request message related to the AI HO to the BS.)
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 3, 5-6, 8-9, 13, 15-16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469