CTNF 18/800,635 CTNF 97623 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 11, 15, 16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 11, lines 8-9, “sending to the wireless device an RRCReconfiguration message Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1)” should read “sending to the wireless device an RRCReconfiguration message via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1)”. In claim 15, lines 1-2, “Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB3)” should read “Signal Radio Bearer 3 (SRB3)”. In claim 16, lines 11-12, “send to the wireless device an RRCReconfiguration message Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1)” should read “send to the wireless device an RRCReconfiguration message via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1)”. In claim 20, line 2, “Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB3)” should read “Signal Radio Bearer 3 (SRB3)” . Appropriate correction is required. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. Claim 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12063536 B2 (hereinafter Patent1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Regarding claim 1 , Patent1 teaches A method performed by a wireless device, wherein the wireless device is operating with dual connectivity to a Master node and a Secondary node, and wherein the Master node and the Secondary node are both New Radio (NR) nodes, the method comprising ( Patent1 claim 1, A method performed by a wireless device, wherein the wireless device is operating with dual connectivity to a Master node and a Secondary node, and wherein the Master node and the Secondary node are both New Radio (NR) nodes, the method comprising: ): receiving measurement and/or reporting configuration information from a network ( Patent1 claim 1, receiving measurement and/or reporting configuration information from a network; ); determining that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received directly within an RRCReconfiguration message received via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) ( Patent1 claim 1, determining that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received directly within an RRCReconfiguration message received via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1); ); or determining that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Secondary Cell Group if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received in an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within an RRCReconfiguration message received via SRB1( Patent1 claim 1, determining that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Secondary Cell Group … if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received in an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within an RRCReconfiguration message received via SRB1; ); and performing measurements and/or reporting measurement results based on the determination as to whether the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group or the Secondary Cell Group ( Patent1 claim 1, performing measurements and/or reporting measurement results based on the determination as to whether the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group or the Secondary Cell Group. ). Regarding claim 6 , Patent1 teaches A wireless device, wherein the wireless device is operating with dual connectivity to a Master node and a Secondary node, and wherein the Master node and the Secondary node are both New Radio (NR) nodes, the wireless device comprising ( Patent1, claim 8, A wireless device, wherein the wireless device is operating with dual connectivity to a Master node and a Secondary node, and wherein the Master node and the Secondary node are both New Radio (NR) nodes, the wireless device comprising: ): processing circuitry; memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the wireless device is operative to ( Patent1, claim 8, processing circuitry; memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the wireless device is operative to: ): receive measurement and/or reporting configuration information from a network ( Patent1, claim 8, receive measurement and/or reporting configuration information from a network; ); determine, that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received directly within an RRCReconfiguration message received via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) ( Patent1, claim 8, determining that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received directly within an RRCReconfiguration message received via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1); ); or determining that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Secondary Cell Group if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received in an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within an RRCReconfiguration message received via SRB1 ( Patent1, claim 8, determining that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Secondary Cell Group … if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received in an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within an RRCReconfiguration message received via SRB1; ); and perform measurements and/or reporting measurement results based on the determination as to whether the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group or the Secondary Cell Group; and power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the processing circuitry ( Patent1, claim 8, perform measurements and/or reporting measurement results based on the determination as to whether the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group or the Secondary Cell Group; and power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the processing circuitry. ). Regarding claim 2 , Patent1 teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises reporting measurement results to either the Master node or the Secondary node based on the determination as to whether received reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group or the Secondary Cell Group ( Patent1, claim 2 , wherein the method comprises reporting measurement results to either the Master node or the Secondary node based on the determination as to whether received reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group or the Secondary Cell Group. ). Regarding claim 3 , Patent1 teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises receiving a configuration information from the network indicating a range of one or more of measurement identities, measurement object identities, and/or reporting configuration that are to be associated with the Secondary Cell Group ( Patent1, claim 3, wherein the method comprises receiving a configuration information from the network indicating a range of one or more of measurement identities, measurement object identities, and/or reporting configuration that are to be associated with the Secondary Cell Group. ). Regarding claim 4 , Patent1 teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the received measurement and/or reporting configuration comprises: first information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Master Cell Group; and/or second information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Secondary Cell Group ( Patent1, claim 4, wherein the received measurement and/or reporting configuration comprises: first information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Master Cell Group; and/or second information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Secondary Cell Group. ). Regarding claim 5 , Patent1 teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises, if SRB3 is not configured, reporting measurement results relating to the Secondary Cell Group in a Radio Resource Control message via the Master Cell Group ( Patent1, claim 7, wherein the method comprises, if SRB3 is not configured, reporting measurement results relating to the Secondary Cell Group in a Radio Resource Control message via the Master Cell Group. ). Regarding claim 7 , Patent1 teaches The wireless device of claim 6, wherein the instructions are such that the wireless device is operative to report measurement results to either the Master node or the Secondary node based on the determination as to whether received reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group or the Secondary Cell Group ( Patent1, claim 9, wherein the instructions are such that the wireless device is operative to report measurement results to either the Master node or the Secondary node based on the determination as to whether received reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group or the Secondary Cell Group. ). Regarding claim 8 , Patent1 teaches The wireless device of claim 6, wherein the instructions are such that the wireless device is operative to receive a configuration information from the network indicating a range of one or more of measurement identities, measurement object identities, and/or reporting configuration that are to be associated with the Secondary Cell Group ( Patent1, claim 10, wherein the instructions are such that the wireless device is operative to receive a configuration information from the network indicating a range of one or more of measurement identities, measurement object identities, and/or reporting configuration that are to be associated with the Secondary Cell Group. ). Regarding claim 9 , Patent1 teaches The wireless device of claim 6, wherein the received measurement and/or reporting configuration comprises: first information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Master Cell Group; and/or second information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Secondary Cell Group ( Patent1, claim 11, wherein the received measurement and/or reporting configuration comprises: first information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Master Cell Group; and/or second information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Secondary Cell Group. ). Regarding claim 10 , Patent1 teaches The wireless device of claim 6, wherein the instructions are such that the wireless device is operative to report, if SRB3 is not configured, measurement results relating to the Secondary Cell Group in a Radio Resource Control message via the Master Cell Group ( Patent1, claim 14, wherein the instructions are such that the wireless device is operative to report, if SRB3 is not configured, measurement results relating to the Secondary Cell Group in a Radio Resource Control message via the Master Cell Group. ). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 5-7, 10, 11-12, 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180309628 A1 by Wu (hereinafter Wu), in view of “Introduction of NR-DC”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #103bis R2-1814893, Chengdu, China, 8 - 12 September 2018 (hereinafter R2-1814893) . Regarding claim 6 , Wu teaches A wireless device, wherein the wireless device is operating with dual connectivity to a Master node and a Secondary node, and wherein the Master node and the Secondary node are both New Radio (NR) nodes ( Wu Fig. 1, [0013] The communication device 100 may be configured to communicate with the BS 102 and the BS 104 according to dual connectivity (DC). That is, the communication device 100 may perform a transmission/reception via both the BS 102 and the BS 104. One of the BSs 102 and 104 may be a master BS (MBS) and the other one of the BSs 102 and 104 may be a secondary BS (SBS). the BSs 102 or 104 may be a gNB. Note: both BS 102 and 104 can be a NR node. The BS 102 is the master gNB, the BS 104 is the secondary gNB. ), the wireless device comprising: processing circuitry ( Wu [0015] In FIG. 2, the communication device 20 may be a communication device shown in FIG. 1. The communication device 20 may include at least one processing circuit 200. ); memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the wireless device is operative to ( Wu [0015] The communication device 20 may include at least one storage device 210. The at least one storage device 210 may be any data storage device that may store program codes 214, accessed and executed by the at least one processing circuit 200. Examples of the at least one storage device 210 include but are not limited to ... read-only memory (ROM), flash memory, random-access memory (RAM) .): receive measurement and/or reporting configuration information from a network ( Wu Fig. 5 [0049] Step 504: The UE receives a first measurement configuration via the RRC connection from the first BS, wherein the first measurement configuration comprises a first measurement identity and a first MO identity. [0051] Step 508: The UE receives a second measurement configuration from the second BS via the first BS or via a SRB configured to the communication device by the second BS, wherein the second measurement configuration comprises a second measurement identity and a second MO identity. ); determine, that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master node, via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) ( Wu [0013] The communication device 100 may be configured to communicate with the BS 102 and the BS 104 according to dual connectivity (DC). That is, the communication device 100 may perform a transmission/reception via both the BS 102 and the BS 104. One of the BSs 102 and 104 may be a master BS (MBS) and the other one of the BSs 102 and 104 may be a secondary BS (SBS). [0017] A process 30 in FIG. 3 is utilized in a network including a first BS (e.g., the BS 102 in FIG. 1) and a second BS (e.g., the BS 104 in FIG. 1). [0019] Step 302: The first BS configures a radio resource control (RRC) connection to a UE. [0020] Step 304: The first BS transmits a first measurement configuration via the RRC connection to the UE, wherein the first measurement configuration comprises a first measurement identity and a first measurement object (MO) identity. [0027] the RRC connection includes a SRB which is a master cell group (MCG) bearer configured by the first BS. Note: the first BS (BS 102 in Fig. 1) is a master BS (MBS), the second BS (BS 104 in Fig. 1) is a secondary BS (SBS). MCG SRB is the SRB 1. ); determining that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Secondary node, via SRB1 ( Wu [0022] Step 308: The second BS transmits a second measurement configuration to the UE via the first BS, wherein the second measurement configuration comprises a second measurement identity and a second MO identity. [0027] the RRC connection includes a SRB which is a master cell group (MCG) bearer configured by the first BS. the second BS transmits the second measurement configuration to the first BS, and the first BS transmits the second measurement configuration to the UE via the SRB of the RRC connection. [0036] the first BS may transmit a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including a SCG configuration configuring the second BS as the SBS to the UE, via the RRC connection. Note: the first BS (BS 102 in Fig. 1) is a master BS (MBS), the second BS (BS 104 in Fig. 1) is a secondary BS (SBS). MCG SRB is SRB1. ); Wu does not explicitly teach the master node is related to a Master Cell Group, the Master Cell Group configuration if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received directly within an RRCReconfiguration message received , and the secondary node is related to a Secondary Cell Group, the Secondary Cell Group configuration if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received in an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within an RRCReconfiguration message received . R2-1814893 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the master node is related to a Master Cell Group ( R2-1814893 page 2, Master Cell Group: in MR-DC, a group of serving cells associated with the Master Node, comprising of the SpCell (Pcell) and optionally one or more Scells. ), the Master Cell Group configuration if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received directly within an RRCReconfiguration message received ( R2-1814893 page 5, 4.2.1 Control Plane In MR-DC, the UE has a single RRC state, based on the MN RRC and a single C-plane connection towards the Core Network. each radio node has its own RRC entity (E-UTRA version if the node is an eNB or NR version if the node is a gNB) which can generate RRC PDUs to be sent to the UE. RRC PDUs generated by the SN can be transported via the MN to the UE. The MN always sends the initial SN RRC configuration via MCG SRB (SRB1). When transporting RRC PDU from the SN, the MN does not modify the UE configuration provided by the SN. page 11, 7.4 Handling of combined MN/SN RRC messages When both MCG and SCG reconfiguration is required due to the need for coordination with the MN, the SN RRC reconfiguration message is encapsulated in an MN RRC message that also carries the corresponding MCG reconfiguration that ensures that the combined configuration can be jointly processed by the UE . Note: MN RRC message (i.e. RRC Reconfiguration) contains MCG configuration. ) , the secondary node is related to a Secondary Cell Group ( R2-1814893 page 3, Secondary Cell Group: in MR-DC, a group of serving cells associated with the Secondary Node, comprising of the SpCell (PSCell) and optionally one or more Scells. ), the Secondary Cell Group configuration if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received in an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within an RRCReconfiguration message received ( R2-1814893 page 5, 4.2.1 Control Plane In MR-DC, the UE has a single RRC state, based on the MN RRC and a single C-plane connection towards the Core Network. each radio node has its own RRC entity (E-UTRA version if the node is an eNB or NR version if the node is a gNB) which can generate RRC PDUs to be sent to the UE. RRC PDUs generated by the SN can be transported via the MN to the UE. The MN always sends the initial SN RRC configuration via MCG SRB (SRB1). When transporting RRC PDU from the SN, the MN does not modify the UE configuration provided by the SN. page 11, 7.4 Handling of combined MN/SN RRC messages When both MCG and SCG reconfiguration is required due to the need for coordination with the MN, the SN RRC reconfiguration message is encapsulated in an MN RRC message that also carries the corresponding MCG reconfiguration that ensures that the combined configuration can be jointly processed by the UE . Note: MN RRC message (i.e. RRC Reconfiguration) contains the encapsulated (i.e. embedded) SN RRC reconfiguration message. SN RRC contains SCG configuration. ). By modifying Wu’s teachings of determine, that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master node, via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1); with R2-1814893‘s teachings of the master node is related to a Master Cell Group, the Master Cell Group configuration if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received directly within an RRCReconfiguration message received, the modification results in determine, that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received directly within an RRCReconfiguration message received via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1); By modifying Wu’s teachings of determining that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Secondary node, via SRB1; with R2-1814893‘s teachings of the secondary node is related to a Secondary Cell Group, the Secondary Cell Group configuration if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received in an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within an RRCReconfiguration message received, the modification results in determining that the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Secondary Cell Group if the measurement and/or reporting configuration information is received in an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within an RRCReconfiguration message received via SRB1. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu with R2-1814893’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting multi-connectivity operation using E-UTRA and NR radio access technologies ( R2-1814893 Chapter 1 Scope ). Wu teaches perform measurements and/or reporting measurement results based on the determination as to whether the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master node or the Secondary node ( Wu [0052] Step 510: The UE transmits a first measurement report associated to the first measurement configuration via the RRC connection to the first BS. [0053] Step 512: The UE transmits a second measurement report associated to the second measurement configuration via the first BS or via the SRB to the second BS. ); R2-1814893 teaches the master node is related to a Master Cell Group, the secondary node is related to a Secondary Cell Group ( R2-1814893 page 2, Master Cell Group: in MR-DC, a group of serving cells associated with the Master Node, comprising of the SpCell (Pcell) and optionally one or more Scells. page 3, Secondary Cell Group: in MR-DC, a group of serving cells associated with the Secondary Node, comprising of the SpCell (PSCell) and optionally one or more Scells. ). By modifying Wu’s teachings of perform measurements and/or reporting measurement results based on the determination as to whether the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master node or the Secondary node with R2-1814893’s teachings of the master node is related to a Master Cell Group, the secondary node is related to a Secondary Cell Group, the modification results in perform measurements and/or reporting measurement results based on the determination as to whether the received measurement and/or reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group or the Secondary Cell Group; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as modified by R2-1814893 with R2-1814893’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting multi-connectivity operation using E-UTRA and NR radio access technologies ( R2-1814893 Chapter 1 Scope ). power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the processing circuitry ( inherent ). Claim 1 recites similar limitations of claim 6, is thus rejected under similar rational. Regarding claim 16 , Wu teaches A network node configured as a gNB of a New Radio (NR) Radio Access Technology (RAT), wherein the gNB is a Master node to a wireless device operating with dual connectivity to the Master node and a NR Secondary node ( Wu Fig. 1, [0013] The communication device 100 may be configured to communicate with the BS 102 and the BS 104 according to dual connectivity (DC). That is, the communication device 100 may perform a transmission/reception via both the BS 102 and the BS 104. One of the BSs 102 and 104 may be a master BS (MBS) and the other one of the BSs 102 and 104 may be a secondary BS (SBS). the BSs 102 or 104 may be a gNB. Note: both BS 102 and 104 can be a NR node. The BS 102 is the master gNB, the BS 104 is the secondary gNB. ), the network node comprising: processing circuitry ( Wu [0012] In FIG. 1, the wireless communication system 10 is composed of a communication device 100, a base station (BS) 102 and a BS 104 for illustrating the structure of the wireless communication system 10. [0013] In one example, the BSs 102 or 104 may be a gNB. [0015] In FIG. 2, the communication device 20 may be a communication device or the network shown in FIG. 1. The communication device 20 may include at least one processing circuit 200 .); memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network node is operative to ( Wu [0015] The communication device 20 may include at least one storage device 210. The at least one storage device 210 may be any data storage device that may store program codes 214, accessed and executed by the at least one processing circuit 200. Examples of the at least one storage device 210 include but are not limited to ... read-only memory (ROM), flash memory, random-access memory (RAM) .): determine measurement and/or reporting configuration information for the wireless device relating to the Master node ( Wu [0013] The communication device 100 may be configured to communicate with the BS 102 and the BS 104 according to dual connectivity (DC). That is, the communication device 100 may perform a transmission/reception via both the BS 102 and the BS 104. One of the BSs 102 and 104 may be a master BS (MBS) and the other one of the BSs 102 and 104 may be a secondary BS (SBS). [0017] A process 30 in FIG. 3 is utilized in a network including a first BS (e.g., the BS 102 in FIG. 1) and a second BS (e.g., the BS 104 in FIG. 1). [0019] Step 302: The first BS configures a radio resource control (RRC) connection to a UE. [0020] Step 304: The first BS transmits a first measurement configuration via the RRC connection to the UE, wherein the first measurement configuration comprises a first measurement identity and a first measurement object (MO) identity. Note: the first BS (BS 102 in Fig. 1) is a master BS (MBS), the second BS (BS 104 in Fig. 1) is a secondary BS (SBS) ); receive from the Secondary node measurement and/or reporting configuration information for the wireless device relating to the Secondary node ( Wu [0022] Step 308: The second BS transmits a second measurement configuration to the UE via the first BS, wherein the second measurement configuration comprises a second measurement identity and a second MO identity. Note: the first BS (BS 102 in Fig. 1) is a master BS (MBS), the second BS (BS 104 in Fig. 1) is a secondary BS (SBS) ); send to the wireless device an RRCReconfiguration message via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1), wherein the RRCReconfiguration message includes one or both of: the measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Master node; and the measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Secondary node ( Wu [0020] Step 304: The first BS transmits a first measurement configuration via the RRC connection to the UE, wherein the first measurement configuration comprises a first measurement identity and a first measurement object (MO) identity. [0022] Step 308: The second BS transmits a second measurement configuration to the UE via the first BS, wherein the second measurement configuration comprises a second measurement identity and a second MO identity. [0027] the RRC connection includes a SRB which is a master cell group (MCG) bearer configured by the first BS. the second BS transmits the second measurement configuration to the first BS, and the first BS transmits the second measurement configuration to the UE via the SRB of the RRC connection. [0036] the first BS may transmit a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including a SCG configuration configuring the second BS as the SBS to the UE, via the RRC connection. Note: the first BS (BS 102 in Fig. 1) is a master BS (MBS), the second BS (BS 104 in Fig. 1) is a secondary BS (SBS). MCG SRB is SRB1. ), Wu does not explicitly teach the master node is related to a Master Cell Group, the secondary node is related to a Secondary Cell Group, Master Cell Group directly within the RRCReconfiguration message; the Secondary Cell Group within an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within the RRCReconfiguration message. R2-1814893 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the master node is related to a Master Cell Group, the secondary node is related to a Secondary Cell Group ( R2-1814893 page 2, Master Cell Group: in MR-DC, a group of serving cells associated with the Master Node, comprising of the SpCell (Pcell) and optionally one or more Scells. page 3, Secondary Cell Group: in MR-DC, a group of serving cells associated with the Secondary Node, comprising of the SpCell (PSCell) and optionally one or more Scells. ), Master Cell Group directly within the RRCReconfiguration message; the Secondary Cell Group within an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within the RRCReconfiguration message ( R2-1814893 page 5, 4.2.1 Control Plane In MR-DC, the UE has a single RRC state, based on the MN RRC and a single C-plane connection towards the Core Network. each radio node has its own RRC entity (E-UTRA version if the node is an eNB or NR version if the node is a gNB) which can generate RRC PDUs to be sent to the UE. RRC PDUs generated by the SN can be transported via the MN to the UE. The MN always sends the initial SN RRC configuration via MCG SRB (SRB1). When transporting RRC PDU from the SN, the MN does not modify the UE configuration provided by the SN. page 11, 7.4 Handling of combined MN/SN RRC messages When both MCG and SCG reconfiguration is required due to the need for coordination with the MN, the SN RRC reconfiguration message is encapsulated in an MN RRC message that also carries the corresponding MCG reconfiguration that ensures that the combined configuration can be jointly processed by the UE . Note: MN RRC message contains MCG configuration and the encapsulated (i.e. embedded) SN RRC reconfiguration message. SN RRC contains SCG configuration. ). By modifying Wu’s teachings of determine measurement and/or reporting configuration information for the wireless device relating to the Master node; receive from the Secondary node measurement and/or reporting configuration information for the wireless device relating to the Secondary node; send to the wireless device an RRCReconfiguration message via Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1), wherein the RRCReconfiguration message includes one or both of: the measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Master node; and the measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Secondary node; with R2-1814893’s teachings of the master node is related to a Master Cell Group, the secondary node is related to a Secondary Cell Group, Master Cell Group directly within the RRCReconfiguration message; the Secondary Cell Group within an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within the RRCReconfiguration message, the modification results in determine measurement and/or reporting configuration information for the wireless device relating to a Master Cell Group; receive from the Secondary node measurement and/or reporting configuration information for the wireless device relating to a Secondary Cell Group; send to the wireless device an RRCReconfiguration message Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1), wherein the RRCReconfiguration message includes one or both of: the measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Master Cell Group directly within the RRCReconfiguration message; and the measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Secondary Cell Group within an RRCReconfiguration message that is embedded within the RRCReconfiguration message; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu with R2-1814893’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting multi-connectivity operation using E-UTRA and NR radio access technologies ( R2-1814893 Chapter 1 Scope ). power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the processing circuitry ( inherent ). Claim 11 recites similar limitations of claim 16, is thus rejected under similar rational. Regarding claim 2 , Wu in view of R2-1814893 teaches The method of claim 1, based on the determination as to whether received reporting configuration information relates to the Master Cell Group or the Secondary Cell Group ( See Wu [0013], [0017], [0019], [0020], [0022], [0027] and [0036] and R2-1814893 page 2, 3, 5 and 11cited above in rejection of claim 6 ). Wu teaches wherein the method comprises reporting measurement results to either the Master node or the Secondary node ( Wu [0052] Step 510: The UE transmits a first measurement report associated to the first measurement configuration via the RRC connection to the first BS. [0053] Step 512: The UE transmits a second measurement report associated to the second measurement configuration via the first BS or via the SRB to the second BS. ). Claim 7 recites similar limitations of claim 2, is thus rejected under similar rational. Regarding claim 12 , Wu in view of R2-1814893 teaches The method of claim 11, wherein measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Master Cell Group was sent directly within the RRCReconfiguration message on SRB1 ( See Wu [0020], [0022], [0027] and [0036] and R2-1814893 page 2, 3, 5 and 11cited above in rejection of claim 16 ), Wu teaches receiving from the wireless device associated measurement results ( Wu [0052] Step 510: The UE transmits a first measurement report associated to the first measurement configuration via the RRC connection to the first BS. ). Claim 17 recites similar limitations of claim 12, is thus rejected under similar rational. Regarding claim 15 , Wu in view of R2-1814893 teaches The method of claim 11. Although Wu teaches wherein the method further comprises, receiving from the wireless device measurement results relating to the secondary node in a Radio Resource Control message ( Wu [0053] Step 512: The UE transmits a second measurement report associated to the second measurement configuration via the first BS. [0027] The first BS receives the second measurement report via the SRB of the RRC connection. Note: the second measurement configuration is related to the second BS. The first BS (BS 102 in Fig. 1) is a master BS (MBS), the second BS (BS 104 in Fig. 1) is a secondary BS (SBS). ), Wu does not explicitly teach in response to Signal Radio Bearer 3 (SRB3) not being configured, the secondary node is related to the Secondary Cell Group. R2-1814893 teaches in response to Signal Radio Bearer 3 (SRB3) not being configured ( R2-1814893, page 11, When SRB3 is not configured, reports for measurements configured by the SN are sent on SRB1. Note: SRB1 is the MCG SRB. ), the secondary node is related to the Secondary Cell Group ( R2-1814893, page 3, Secondary Cell Group: in MR-DC, a group of serving cells associated with the Secondary Node. ). By modifying Wu’s teachings of wherein the method further comprises, receiving from the wireless device measurement results relating to the secondary node in a Radio Resource Control message with R2-1814893’s teachings of in response to Signal Radio Bearer 3 (SRB3) not being configured, the secondary node is related to the Secondary Cell Group, the modification results in wherein the method further comprises, in response to Signal Radio Bearer 3 (SRB3) not being configured, receiving from the wireless device measurement results relating to the Secondary Cell Group in a Radio Resource Control message. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as modified by R2-1814893 with R2-1814893’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting multi-connectivity operation using E-UTRA and NR radio access technologies ( R2-1814893 Chapter 1 Scope ). Claim 5, 10 and 20 recite similar limitations of claim 15 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 8, 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of R2-1814893 as applied to claim s 1, 6, 11 and 16 above, and further in view of “Remaining issues of measurement in NR-DC”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting#104 R2-1816570, Spokane, US, 12th - 16th Oct. 2018 (hereinafter R2-1816570) . Regarding claim 13 , Wu in view of R2-1814893 teaches The method of claim 11. Wu in view of R2-1814893 does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises sending to the wireless device a configuration information indicating a range of one or more of measurement identities, measurement object identities, and/or reporting configuration that are to be associated with the Secondary Cell Group. R2-1816570 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the method further comprises sending to the wireless device a configuration information indicating a range of one or more of measurement identities, measurement object identities, and/or reporting configuration that are to be associated with the Secondary Cell Group ( R2-1816570 page 2 , Section 2.3 Handling of measurement objects, identities and reporting configurations, For MR-DC, RAN2 will specify separate signalling requirements for the maximum numbers of MeasObjectID, ReportConfigID and MeasID in MN and SN .). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as modified by R2-1814893 with R2-1816570’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting measurement of NR-DC ( R2-1816570 page 2 ). Claim 3, 8, 18 recite similar limitations of claim 13 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 9, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of R2-1814893 as applied to claim s 1, 6, 11 and 16 above, and further in view of “NR Radio Resource Control (RRC) Protocol specification”, 3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.3.0 Release 15 (hereinafter 38.331) and R2-1816570 . Regarding claim 14 , Wu in view of R2-1814893 teaches The method of claim 11. Wu in view of R2-1814893 does not explicitly teach wherein the measurement and/or reporting configuration sent to the wireless device comprises: first information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Master Cell Group; and/or second information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Secondary Cell Group. 38.331 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the measurement and/or reporting configuration sent to the wireless device comprises: first information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Master Cell Group ( 38.331 page 117 , RRCReconfiguration-IEs ::= SEQUENCE { … measConfig MeasConfig OPTIONAL, -- Need M … } ); It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as modified by R2-1814893 with 38.331’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting measurement report ( 38.331 page 216 ). 38.311 does not explicitly teach second information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Secondary Cell Group. R2-1816570 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches second information elements and/or fields containing measurement and/or reporting configuration information relating to the Secondary Cell Group ( R2-1816570 page 3, section 2.1, add one new IE container measConfig-scg with type of OCTET STRING in NR RRCReconfiguration message for SCG measurement configuration. In this way, the measurement configurations of MN and SN use different IEs .). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as modified by R2-1814893 and 38.311 with R2-1816570’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting measurement of NR-DC ( R2-1816570 page 2 ). Claim 4, 9, 19 recite similar limitations of claim 14 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to David Z Sun whose telephone number is (571)270-0750. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 0800am-0500pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Moo Jeong can be reached at 571-272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 2 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 3 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 4 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 5 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 6 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 7 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 8 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 9 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 10 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 11 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 12 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 13 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 14 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 15 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 16 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 17 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 18 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 19 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 20 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 21 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 22 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 23 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 24 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 25 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/800,635 Page 26 Art Unit: 2418