DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saccagano US 20070023611 (hereinafter Saccagano).
Re. Cl. 13, Saccagano discloses: A method of sensor device assembly (Fig. 7), comprising: coupling a base (4, Fig. 7) plate to a vehicle (Paragraph 0024, Lines 9-11); coupling a first end (right end of annotated support arm in annotated figure 7) of a support arm (see annotated figure 7) to the base plate and a second end (left end of annotated support arm in annotated figure 7) of the support arm to a platform (1a, Fig. 1), coupling the platform to a top enclosure located on top of the platform (see annotated figure 7 and 8, Fig. 1), wherein the top enclosure includes an opening (9, Fig. 7) located at a distal end of the top enclosure (see Fig. 7 end of the top enclosure which is distal to base 4); coupling a sensor (7, Fig. 1-2) to the platform (see Fig. 1-2), wherein the sensor includes a sensor wire (7a, Fig. 1-2) that extends from the sensor to the platform (see Fig. 1-2, as passing through 18 discussed in Paragraph 0036), wherein at least a portion of the sensor is exposed through the opening located at the distal end of the top enclosure (see Fig. 7, the sensor 7 must be exposed through the opening so that it captures images as intended); and coupling the sensor to the vehicle via the sensor wire such that the sensor is communicatively coupled to electronics of the vehicle (Paragraph 0025, Lines 8-12).
Re. Cl. 14, Saccagano discloses: the sensor is coupled to the platform at a distal end of the platform away from the base plate (see Fig. 7).
Re. Cl. 18, Saccagano discloses: the distal end of the top enclosure has a semi-circular shape (see Fig. 7, the annotated portion of the top enclosure is curved as part of the mirror assembly and therefore has an at least partial semi-circular shape) that extends from a first side surface of the top enclosure to a second side surface of the top enclosure, and wherein the first side surface is opposite to the second side surface (see Fig. 7, front a front to a rear side of the top enclosure).
Re. Cl. 20, Saccagano discloses: the base plate is coupled to a front region of the vehicle (Paragraph 0024, Lines 9-11; by being secured to an outside of the vehicle, the base plate would be at least indirectly coupled to a front region of the vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saccagano in view of Brester US 2008/0100939 (hereinafter Brester).
Re. Cl. 1, Saccagano discloses: A method of sensor device assembly (Fig. 7), comprising: coupling a first end (right end of annotated support arm in annotated figure 7) of one or more support arms (see annotated figure 7) to a base plate (4, Fig. 7); coupling a second end (left end of annotated support arm in annotated figure 7) of the one or more support arms to a bottom housing platform (1a, Fig. 1); coupling a sensor (7, Fig. 1 and 7) to the bottom housing platform (see Fig. 7, via 6), wherein the sensor is located at an end of the bottom housing platform (see Fig. 7, left end of 1a); coupling a mirror to a bracket (5, Fig. 1) that extends from the bottom housing platform (see Fig. 1); a light emitting device (light, Paragraph 0025, Lines 8-12); connecting the sensor to the light emitting device via electrical wires inserted through the one or more support arms (Paragraph 0025, Lines 8-12 and Paragraph 0036, Lines 6-9); and coupling the top housing enclosure to the bottom housing platform (see annotated figure 7 and 8, Fig. 1), wherein the top housing enclosure has an opening through which at least some surface of the sensor is exposed (see 9, Fig. 1-2).
Re. Cl. 3, Saccagano discloses: a first shape of an exterior surface of the top housing enclosure is the same as a second shape of an exterior surface of the bottom housing platform (see Fig. 1-2, the shape of the annotated portion of the top housing enclosure matches the shape of 1a).
Re. Cl. 5, Saccagano discloses: coupling the base plate to a hood of a vehicle (Paragraph 0024, Lines 9-11; by being secured to an outside of the vehicle, the base plate would be at least indirectly coupled to a hood of the vehicle).
Re. Cl. 6, Saccagano discloses: the at least some surface of the sensor is recessed from an edge of the top housing enclosure at a first end distal to the base plate (see Fig. 1-2 and 7, the sensor 7 is located behind 8 and thus is recessed from a front edge of the top housing).
Re. Cl. 9, Saccagano discloses: the bottom housing platform has a first end proximal to the base plate and a second end distal to the base plate (see Fig. 1 and 7).
Re. Cl. 12, Saccagano discloses: the base plate includes an inner surface and an outer surface, wherein the inner surface and the outer surface are substantially flat, convex (see Fig. 1, the inner (top) and outer surfaces (bottom) of 1a are convex and curved outward), or concave.
Re. Cl. 1, Saccagano does not specify where the light emitting device is and therefore does not disclose the light emitting device attached to a top housing enclosure. Brester discloses an electronics module for mirrors (Fig. 1) which includes a sensor (22, Fig. 1) and a light emitting device (26, Fig. 1) which communicates with the driver certain conditions (Paragraph 0029, Lines 1-5). Re. Cl. 1, Brester discloses attaching the light emitting device to a top housing enclosure (see Fig. 1, by being assembled as part of the overall mirror device 10, the light emitting device 26 is attached to an upper portion of the housing 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Saccagano device to have its light emitting device attached to the top housing enclosure as disclosed by Brester with reasonable expectation of success since Brester states that such a modification would be desirable when the vehicle is backing up to indicate the proximity of the vehicle to objects such as objects alongside of or behind the vehicle (Paragraph 0029, Lines 4-7).
Claims 2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saccagano in view of Brester as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9 and 12 above, and further in view of Dickinson US 5889624 (hereinafter Dickinson).
Re. Cls. 2 and 7-8, the combination of Saccagno in view of Brester does not disclose the one or more support arms are oriented at an oblique angle with respect to a surface of the base plate (Cl. 2), the electrical wires are inserted through one or more support arms via one or more apertures in the base plate (Cl. 7) or at least one of the one or more apertures has a shape that is equal to or wider than one end of the one or more support arms (Cl. 8). Dickinson discloses a mirror device (Fig. 1) which includes a base plate (78, Fig. 1), a support arm (16, Fig. 1) and a housing (12, Fig. 1). Re. Cl. 2, Dickinson discloses the support arm is oriented at an oblique angle with respect to a surface of the base plate (see Fig. 1, the arm 16 extends obliquely upward from 78) and the base plate includes an aperture (see Fig. 1 and 3; between 64 and 66). Re. Cl. 7, Dickerson discloses the electrical wires are inserted through one or more support arms via one or more apertures in the base plate (see Fig. 3). Re. Cl. 8, Dickerson discloses at least one of the one or more apertures has a shape that is equal to or wider than one end of the one or more support arms (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support arm and base plate configuration of Saccagno to be as disclosed by Dickinson since Dickinson states that such a modification enables the device to be pivotally mounted flush to a door (Col. 3, Lines 64-67 and Col. 4, Lines 7-10).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saccagano in view of Brester as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9 and 12 above, and further in view of Frank US 2018/0032822 (hereinafter Frank).
Re. Cl. 4, Saccagno discloses that the sensor is a variety of devices that provides images to a vehicle occupant in the form of light and/or sound warning signals to avoid a collision but does not disclose the sensor is a LIDAR sensor. Frank discloses a mirror device (Fig. 2a-b) which employs LIDAR sensors (105a, 105b) to provide data about the area surrounding the vehicle (Paragraph 0010, Lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor in Saccagno to be a LIDAR sensor as disclosed by Frank since Frank states that such a modification provides data for mapping physical features of sensed objects with a very high resolution and can target a wide range of materials, including non-metallic objects, rocks, rain drops, chemical compounds, etc. (Paragraph 0026, Lines 10-14).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saccagno in view of Brester as applied to claims 11, 3, 5-6, 9 and 12 above, and further in view of Cummins US 4640142 (hereinafter Cummins).
Re. Cl. 10, Saccagno discloses that the mirror is movable relative to the housing but does not explicitly disclose that movement is pivotal movement. Cummins discloses a mirror device (Fig. 1) which includes a housing (20, Fig. 2) that receives a mirror (26, Fig. 1) that is movable mounted within the housing in a pivotal manner (see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Saccagno device to have the mirror pivotally coupled to the housing as disclosed by Cummins since Cummins states that such a modification enables the mirror to accommodates most drivers of automobiles (Col. 2, Lines 15-17).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saccagno in view of Brester as applied to claims 11, 3, 5-6, 9 and 12 above, and further in view of Boddy US 5483385 (hereinafter Boddy).
Re. Cl. 11, Saccagano in view of Brester does not disclose the base plate is enclosed by a first base plate enclosure and a second base plate enclosure. Boddy discloses a method of supporting a mirror relative to a vehicle (Fig. 3) which includes a base plate (54, Fig. 3) that is enclosed by a first base plate enclosure (70, Fig. 3) and a second base plate enclosure (57, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Saccagano base plate to be enclosed as disclosed by Boddy with reasonable expectation of success since Boddy states that such a modification provides an aesthetic cover (Col. 4, Lines 8-12) and prevents unwanted rubbing and forms a weather sealant (Col. 3, Lines 52-54).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saccagano in view of Frank.
Re. Cl. 15, Saccagno discloses that the sensor is a variety of devices that provides images to a vehicle occupant in the form of light and/or sound warning signals to avoid a collision but does not disclose the sensor is a LIDAR sensor. Frank discloses a mirror device (Fig. 2a-b) which employs LIDAR sensors (105a, 105b) to provide data about the area surrounding the vehicle (Paragraph 0010, Lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor in Saccagno to be a LIDAR sensor as disclosed by Frank since Frank states that such a modification provides data for mapping physical features of sensed objects with a very high resolution and can target a wide range of materials, including non-metallic objects, rocks, rain drops, chemical compounds, etc. (Paragraph 0026, Lines 10-14).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saccagano Dickinson.
Re. Cls. 16-17, Saccagano discloses the platform includes a first through hole that extends from a top surface of the platform to a bottom surface of the platform (see 18, Fig. 1) and the first end of the support arm is coupled to the base plate and the second end of the support arm is coupled to the platform (see Fig. 7). Re. Cls. 16-17, Saccagano does not disclose the base plate includes a second through hole (Cl. 16) or the first through hole and the second through hole are respectively located (Cl. 17). Dickinson discloses a mirror device (Fig. 1) which includes a base plate (78, Fig. 1), a support arm (16, Fig. 1) and a housing (12, Fig. 1). Re. Cl. 16, Dickinson discloses base plate includes a second through hole (see Fig. 1 and 3; between 64 and 66). Re. Cl. 17, Dickerson discloses the first through hole and the second through hole are respectively located (see Fig. 3, so that wires 50, 52 may pass through).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support arm and base plate configuration of Saccagno to be as disclosed by Dickinson since Dickinson states that such a modification enables the device to be pivotally mounted flush to a door (Col. 3, Lines 64-67 and Col. 4, Lines 7-10).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saccagno in view Cummins.
Re. Cl. 19, Saccagno discloses coupling the platform to a mirror bracket (5, Fig. 1); and coupling the mirror bracket to a mirror (see Fig. 1) and the mirror is movable relative to the housing but does not explicitly disclose that movement a ball swivel mounting fixture which allows pivoting in different directions. Cummins discloses a mirror device (Fig. 18) which includes a mirror bracket (220) coupled to a mirror (212) via a ball swivel mounting fixture (224) that enables the mirror to pivot in different directions (see Fig. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Saccagno device to have the mirror pivotally coupled to the housing as disclosed by Cummins since Cummins states that such a modification enables the mirror to accommodates most drivers of automobiles (Col. 2, Lines 15-17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Englander US 2010/0079883, Foote US 2012/0081915, Hamlin US 2018/0186292 and Lang US 6642840 disclose other known vehicle mirrors which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632