DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/06/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by N. A. Christensen (US Patent No. 0644128).
Regarding claim 1, Christensen discloses a system (i.e., such as system fig. 2; see for example fig. 2, Col. 1 lines 42+) comprising: a switching module (i.e., such as switching module P; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) with a first module terminal (i.e., such as first module terminal R; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) configured to electrically connect (i.e., such as P is configured to be electrically connected to either S for power OFF or R for power ON; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) the switching module (i.e., such as switching module P; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) to an electrical circuit (i.e., such as electrical circuit F; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+), and a second module terminal (i.e., such as second module terminal S; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) configured to connect in electrical series (of course) with a first breaker terminal (i.e., such as first breaker terminal H; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) of a circuit breaker (i.e., such as circuit breaker U^2; see for example fig. 2, Col. 1 lines 42+), wherein the circuit breaker (i.e., such as circuit breaker U^2; see for example fig. 2, Col. 1 lines 42+) has a first housing (i.e., such as first housing C; see for example fig. 2, Col. 1 lines 42+), wherein a switching device (i.e., such as switching device E; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) of the switching module (i.e., such as switching module P; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) is connected in electrical series (of course) between the first (i.e., such as first module terminal R; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) and second module terminals (i.e., such as second module terminal S; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) and is configured to switch (i.e., such as E configured to switch either ON/fig. 7 or OFF/fig. 6; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) between an ON state (i.e., such as ON state; for instance, when P is contacting R, thence, E is contacting B, the electrical circuit F is CLOSED and the power supply/source of current to the motor is ON; see for example the ON-state CKT in fig. 7, Col. 1 lines 42+) to allow (i.e., such as to close the electrical circuit F to supply current to the motor; for instance, when P is contacting R, thence, E is contacting B, the electrical circuit F is CLOSED and the power supply/source of current to the motor is ON; see for example the ON-state CKT in fig. 7, Col. 1 lines 42+) electrical current (i.e., such as electrical current the source of current in F; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) through the electrical circuit (i.e., such as electrical circuit F; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) and an OFF state (i.e., such as OFF state; for instance, when P is contacting S, thence, E is contacting A, the electrical circuit F is OPENED and the power supply/source of current to the motor is OFF; see for example the OFF-state CKT in fig. 6, Col. 1 lines 42+) to open (i.e., such as to open the electrical circuit F to cut the current supplied to the motor; for instance, when P is contacting S, thence, E is contacting A, the electrical circuit F is OPENED and the power supply/source of current to the motor is OFF; see for example the OFF-state CKT in fig. 6, Col. 1 lines 42+) the electrical circuit (i.e., such as electrical circuit F; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) to stop (i.e., such as to stop via opening the electrical circuit F to cut the current supplied to the motor; for instance, when P is contacting S, thence, E is contacting A, the electrical circuit F is OPENED and the power supply/source of current to the motor is OFF; see for example the OFF-state CKT in fig. 6, Col. 1 lines 42+) current flow therethrough (i.e., such as electrical current the source of current in F; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+), and wherein the switching module (i.e., such as switching module P; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+) has a second housing (i.e., such as second housing M; see for example fig. 2, Col. 1 lines 42+) that houses the switching device (i.e., such as switching device E; see for example figs. 6-7, Col. 1 lines 42+), and wherein the second housing (i.e., such as second housing M; see for example fig. 2, Col. 1 lines 42+) is configured to be mounted to (i.e., such as M is configured to be mounted to C; see for example fig. 2, Col. 1 lines 42+) the first housing (i.e., such as first housing C; see for example fig. 2, Col. 1 lines 42+) of the circuit breaker (i.e., such as circuit breaker U^2; see for example fig. 2, Col. 1 lines 42+).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Christensen teaches the invention set forth above. However, Christensen does not particularly teach wherein the switching device includes: a first contact electrically connected to the first module terminal; a second contact electrically connected to the second module terminal; a third contact electrically connected to an arm that is mounted in the second housing, the arm configured to rotate relative to the second housing around a pivot axis; and a fourth contact electrically connected to the arm, wherein in the ON state, the arm is pivoted to a first position relative to the second housing with the first and third contacts electrically connected to one another, and with the second and fourth contacts electrically connected to one another to electrically connect the first module terminal to the second module terminal through an electrical path that includes the arm and the first, second, third, and fourth contacts, and wherein in the OFF state, the arm is pivoted to a second position relative to the second housing with the first and third contacts spaced apart from one another, and with the second and fourth contacts spaced apart from one another to break open the electrical path so the first and second module terminals are not electrically connected in the OFF state.
Hence claim 3 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 4-17 depend on objected claim 3, consequently claims 4-17 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 18, Christensen teaches the invention set forth above. However, Christensen does not particularly teach further comprising: the circuit breaker with the first breaker terminal electrically connected to the second module terminal of the switching module and a second breaker terminal configured to electrically connect a circuit breaker mechanism of the circuit breaker to the electrical circuit, wherein the circuit breaker mechanism has an ON state to allow current flow through the electrical circuit and an OFF state to open the electrical circuit to stop current flow therethrough.
Hence claim 18 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claim 19 depends on objected claim 18, consequently claim 19 will also be deemed allowable.
Claims 21-22 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 21, N. A. Christensen (US Patent No. 0644128) substantially teaches the claim limitations as indicated in claim 1. However, Christensen does not teach or suggest a system comprising: a switching module comprising: a first module terminal configured to electrically connect the switching module to an electrical circuit; a second module terminal configured to connect in electrical series with a first breaker terminal of a circuit breaker; and a switching device connected in electrical series between the first module terminal and the second module terminal, the switching device is configured to switch between an ON state to allow electrical current through the electrical circuit and an OFF state to open the electrical circuit to stop current flow therethrough; and the circuit breaker comprising: a circuit breaker mechanism; the first breaker terminal electrically connected to the second module terminal; and a second breaker terminal configured to electrically connect the circuit breaker mechanism of the circuit breaker to the electrical circuit, wherein the circuit breaker mechanism has an ON state to allow current flow through the electrical circuit and an OFF state to open the electrical circuit to stop current flow therethrough.
Regarding claim 22, N. A. Christensen (US Patent No. 0644128) substantially teaches the claim limitations as indicated in claim 1. However, Christensen does not teach or suggest a system comprising: a switching module including: a first module terminal configured to electrically connect the switching module to an electrical circuit; a second module terminal configured to connect in electrical series with a first breaker terminal of a circuit breaker, wherein the circuit breaker has a first housing; and a switching device connected in electrical series between the first and second module terminals, the switching device is configured to switch between an ON state to allow electrical current through the electrical circuit and an OFF state to open the electrical circuit to stop current flow therethrough, wherein the switching module includes: a second housing that houses the switching device, wherein the second housing is configured to be mounted to the first housing of the circuit breaker; a first contact electrically connected to the first module terminal; a second contact electrically connected to the second module terminal; a third contact electrically connected to an arm that is mounted in the second housing, the arm configured to rotate relative to the second housing around a pivot axis; and a fourth contact electrically connected to the arm, wherein in the ON state, the arm is pivoted to a first position relative to the second housing with the first and third contacts electrically connected to one another, and with the second and fourth contacts electrically connected to one another to electrically connect the first module terminal to the second module terminal through an electrical path that includes the arm and the first, second, third, and fourth contacts, and wherein in the OFF state, the arm is pivoted to a second position relative to the second housing with the first and third contacts spaced apart from one another, and with the second and fourth contacts spaced apart from one another to break open the electrical path so the first and second module terminals are not electrically connected in the OFF state.
Claims 2 and 20 are cancelled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838