Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (US 2025/0007677).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses a communication method, comprising: receiving multiple transmission configuration indicators (TCIs) from a network device (fig. 7, steps 710 and 720; paras. 90 and 96; note: codepoints and TCIs); receiving at least one message from the network device (step 710 and 720), wherein the at least one message is usable to determine at least one TCI of the multiple TCIs and at least two TCIs of the multiple TCs (paras. 91, 94 and 100; note: TCI or TCIs for PDSCH, PUSCH, PDCCH and PUCCH transmissions for TRPs and/or repetitions; steps 715 and 725; paras. 97, 100 and 104; note: RRC configuration message used with DCI to determine TCIs for channel transmissions), the at least one TCI is usable for transmission of a first channel (steps 715 and 725), and the at least two TCIs of the multiple TCIs are usable for transmission of a second channel (steps 715 and 725; note: TCI or TCIs for PDSCH, PUSCH, PDCCH and PUCCH transmissions for TRPs and/or repetitions); and one of: receiving or sending the first channel based on the at least one TCI of the multiple TCs (steps 715-725; fig. 5; paras. 76 (especially starting at line 16), 100, 106 and 108; note: TCIs for a repetition of a PDSCH/PUSCH); or receiving or sending the second channel based on the at least two TCIs of the multiple TCs (steps 715-725; fig. 5; paras. 76 (especially starting at line 16), 100, 106 and 108; note: TCIs for a repetition of another PDSCH/PUSCH).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one message comprises a first message, and the first message is usable to indicate the at least one TCI of the multiple TCIs and the at least two TCs of the multiple TCs (steps 710 and 720; paras. 90 and 96; note: respective TCI data as a message of an RRC configuration message).
Regarding claim 3, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one message comprises a second message and a third message, the second message is usable to indicate the at least one TCI of the multiple TCs, and the third message is usable to indicate the at least one TCI of the multiple TCIs or the at least two TCIs of the multiple TCs (steps 710 and 720; paras. 90 and 96; note: respective TCI data as a message of an RRC configuration message).
Regarding claim 4, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one message comprises a fourth message and a fifth message, the fourth message indicates is usable to indicate the at least one TCI of the multiple TCs, and the fifth message indicates is usable to indicate at least another TCI of the multiple TCs; and the method further comprises: determining the at least one TCI of the multiple TCIs based on the fourth message; and determining the at least two TCIs of the multiple TCIs based on the fourth message and the fifth message (steps 710 and 720; paras. 90 and 96; note: data as a message of an RRC configuration message; para. 98; note: mapping of TCIs to codepoints where a message is a TCI state and a codepoint for a PDSCH/PUSCH is mapped to two TCI states).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one message comprises a sixth message, and the sixth message is usable to indicate at least a part of TCIs of the multiple TCs; and the method further comprises: determining the at least one TCI of the multiple TCIs or the at least two TCIs of the multiple TCIs from the at least the part of TCIs of the multiple TCIs based on a preset criterion (steps 710 and 720; paras. 90 and 96; note: data as a message of an RRC configuration message; para. 98; note: mapping of TCIs to codepoints as a preset criterion where a message is a TCI state and a codepoint for a PDSCH/PUSCH is mapped to one or two TCI states).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the preset criterion comprises at least one of the following: respective identifiers of the at least the part of TCIs of the multiple TCs (steps 710 and 720; paras. 90 and 96; note: data as a message of an RRC configuration message; para. 98; note: mapping of TCIs to codepoints as a preset criterion where a message is a TCI state and a codepoint for a PDSCH/PUSCH is mapped to one or two TCI states); or an order of the at least the part of TCIs of the multiple TCs (steps 710 and 720; paras. 90 and 96; note: data as a message of an RRC configuration message; para. 98; note: mapping of TCIs to codepoints where a message is a TCI state and a codepoint for a PDSCH/PUSCH is mapped to two TCI states)
Regarding claim 7, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 5, further comprising: receiving a seventh message from the network device, wherein the seventh message is usable to indicate the preset criterion (steps 710 and 720; paras. 90 and 96; note: data as a message of an RRC configuration message; para. 98; note: mapping of TCIs to codepoints as a preset criterion where a message is a TCI state and a codepoint for a PDSCH/PUSCH is mapped to one or two TCI states).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the sixth message is further usable to indicate the preset criterion (steps 710 and 720; paras. 90 and 96; note: data as a message of an RRC configuration message; para. 98; note: mapping of TCIs to codepoints as a preset criterion where a message is a TCI state and a codepoint for a PDSCH/PUSCH is mapped to one or two TCI states).
Regarding claims 10-17, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 1-8, respectively, from the perspective of the network device.
Regarding claims 19-20, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 1-2, respectively. In addition, Yuan discloses an apparatus (figs. 2 and 7, item 120; paras. 47, 52 and 212), comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more processors being configured to execute non-transitory instructions thereby causing the apparatus to perform the method of claims 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2025/0279869).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan fails to disclose the method according to claim 5, further comprising: sending capability information to the network device, wherein the capability information indicates a is usable to indicate the preset criterion that is supported by a terminal device. However, Matsumura discloses this feature (paras. 76, 125, 787-788 and 809-810; note: RRC messaged capability for codepoints, single DCI, TRPs and joint TCI states; paras. 789-819). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sending capability information to the network device, wherein the capability information indicates a is usable to indicate the preset criterion that is supported by a terminal device in the invention of Yuan. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing proper communication for a device as is known in the art (Matsumura, paras. 76, 125 and 787-819; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claims 18, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 9.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462